Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Outstanding ... Incredible Cast
Wow, I was literally guilted into seeing this in the theatre; and what a good thing it was that I went.

I have this on DVD now and the documentary is excellent. This CANADIAN made movie (shot in Manitoba, NWT, and BC) has shot to the top of my favorite list. Everyone I show it too is stunned by the terrific cast, photography, and outstanding story (quality...
Published on June 21 2004 by Glenn Laycock

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars good movie bad dvd
I saw this movie with the cast and director during the Vancouver Film Festival a couple of years ago. It was a great film. It was filmed in a 2.35 : 1 aspect ratio. Unfortuately the dvd is cropped down to 1.85 : 1, thus cutting of a lot of the picture. Its too bad because the film utilizes the very widescreen extremely well to show off the vast Canadian landscape of the...
Published on March 24 2005 by Ray Kwok


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Outstanding ... Incredible Cast, June 21 2004
By 
Glenn Laycock (Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Snow Walker (DVD)
Wow, I was literally guilted into seeing this in the theatre; and what a good thing it was that I went.

I have this on DVD now and the documentary is excellent. This CANADIAN made movie (shot in Manitoba, NWT, and BC) has shot to the top of my favorite list. Everyone I show it too is stunned by the terrific cast, photography, and outstanding story (quality A1).

Berry Pepper (I did not know any of the cast before) is absolutely outstanding. Annabelle Piugattuk (has so much chemistry with the media...film) it hits the viewer hard; there is something about her that extremely likeable (same for Berry); the the two work together in a wonderful way (so rare).

I know that the storyline looks tough to take (winter, cold) but I guarantee that this one will delight. The Pilot is essentially reborn, or transformed, by his experience. Men will like Barry's performance as it is not at all mush ... tough and believable.

After watching it about 3 times, some noteworthy things. The Owl, I think symbolizes someone watching (the girl?); the pilot's flashbacks to the war; the last flashback hits me so hard; don't know why but I just well up now with the change that occurs in it (what does the Raven mean?). The message I think is that "we are not alone". Feminists will love it of course, Annabella is something like 4'8" tall and amazes all. Again, the sight of her makes me well up ... maybe I'm just an emotional wreck these days.

The Director is Charles Martin Smith -- from The Untouchables, or American Graffitti (the one that got so sick from drinking).

Oh, if you have Home Theatre Speakers the talk with the Raven (I think it is a Raven) will sound awesome on your speakers .. it was cool in the theatre). Interesting, the words you hear whispered, were accidentally recorded when Annabella was practicing quietly with herself and the microphone was left on -- they said they actually found it when going throught the tapes.

So buy this DVD; outstanding!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canadian classic, Aug. 22 2004
By 
Jeff Jacques (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Snow Walker (DVD)
Charles Martin Smith fell in love with the Canadian north when he starred in "Never Cry Wolf" 21 years ago. Now he returns to that beautiful, stark landscape as a director, and his love of the land is shown in the beautiful panoramic vistas that almost become a character unto themselves.
"The Snow Walker" is a simple story about cocky courier pilot Charlie (Barry Pepper) who reluctantly agrees to fly a young Inuit woman (Annabelle Piugattuk), sick with TB, to the hospital in Yellowknife. Naturally, things do not go as planned. The plane goes down and the two characters must fend for themselves in the barren landscape, their divergent personalities and cultural differences making things difficult at times, yet also enlightening. As days drag into weeks, a respectful bond grows between the pair and Charlie gradually comes to care for his companion, a member of a people Charlie had previously treated with cruel indifference.
Pepper, as always, is great, turning in a real performance as Charlie, a man facing his own survival and prejudices in the northern wilderness. And newcomer Piugattuk is delightful as the Inuit woman, her impressive performance showing us a culture we rarely have the opportunity to see. Small supporting roles by James Cromwell and Kiersten Warren are effective as well.
All in all, a very satisfying movie of survival and friendship against all odds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Stunning, Nov. 11 2006
By 
Kyle Jensen (Edmonton, Ab Can) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
The Snow Walker is a simple film which embodies the human spirit and teaches us to accept others for who they are.

Directed by Charles Martin Smith, this Canadian film is about a cocky bush pilot in the Canadian Arctic during the 1950's and the struggles he, and his extra passanger, endure after their plane goes down in the harsh, unforgiving tundra. During a routine run, Charlie (played by Barry Pepper), comes across a fishing party of Inuit people. After two of the men help Charlie with his cargo, he agrees to see something as per their request. What he discovers is a young Inuit girl. She is badly sick and needs to be in a hospital. After initial denail, the Inuit men persuade him with some ivory walrus tusks, a hefty trade he cannot refuse.

On their way to Yellowknife to find a hospital, their plane goes down because of engine failure. Unable to contact the outside world, this arrogant bigot, but somehow likeable man, is forced to try to survive on the unforgiving land.

The duo endure many hardships and Charlie learns that this young girl is far better off then he is. Even after his selfishness, she still helps him and heals him. What grows is an unbelieveable relationship (totally platonic) between the two people and really ends up and the centrepeice of the film.

An excellent film with great acting, directing, writing, everything is brilliant. Every frame you watch, you can see the love and respect Smith has for the beautiful land. An excellent feel-good film that should not be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing delivery time, May 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
this dvd arrived in record braking time.
when it got here it was in amazing shape and our customer was very happy to have it in their hands
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars touching movie, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
Good movie. A bush pilot and a young Inuit woman crash in the barren wilderness. They both survive and must face incredible odds to make it back to civilization. Even though she is very sick and weak, she helps him and nurses him back to health when he is hurt. They go as far as they can together, but eventually only one survives. very touching and heartwarming movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars canadian classic, Feb. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
Totally "unhollywood" and real. No attempts to dazzle and impress with cgi crap or fast action. You can do a lot with next to no budget if the storyline and acting are simple and poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Snow Walker, Jan. 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
Having flown in that area as a heli pilot I can relate to the beauty but harhness of the sub artic. I was impressed with the Inuit actress, and how the young cocky pilot learned to respect her survival skills and beauty as a person. Bill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "BugSmasher", Dec 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
I rated this movie at 4 Stars because of the very limited flying involved & with that Hollywood view of course on flying especially in an emergency situation such as a dead engine. I won't go into proper procedure or mention of flight training of the real world as Hollywood does need sensationalism, action, etc. It really is too bad that a lot of real life pilots are turned off with Hollywood's portrayal of the actual world of flying as most pilots will just walk away from the movie not watching the movie in it's entirety just as in of course the movie "Never Cry Wolf". But,I guess that's a Hollywood trait instilled into most movies. If a person can get past the above aircraft scenes in both movies "Snow Walker" & "Never Cry Wolf" both movies have a lot to offer. The scenery & landscapes are introduced in all their beauty & ruggedness. We have to thank Charles Martin Smith & crew for that. Also a glimpse into the Inuit world that I find refreshing as these people have been stereo-typed by the ignorance of the outside world as I & others have witnessed. Believe me my best friend worked out of Churchill as a Bush Pilot & I myself grew up next to a native family both working with & living amongst with close ties to last forever for both my friend & all of us. At least these two movies are revealing to other races that they the Inuit are very talented people being able to survive in conditions never dreamt of by most. As in Kanaalaq's sense of survival she just treated their predicament as another daily problem to overcome. She was never really on the verge of losing it like our pilot Charlie. (Just as with Tyler's saviour "Ootek" of course in the movie "Never Cry Wolf") Also as in real life Charlie is learning of a people that he had envisioned on a lower level to his own. How could anyone not fall in love with a lady of Kanaalag's beauty along with her real life talents of survival & heritage. The ruggedness of the terrain as the search pilot plainly referred to as death is brought to light & very true. James Cromwell played a very convincing part as the "Big Guy" in charge of the Air Service. I found the DVD extras very interesting & of course contemplated about the Polar Bear presence in the vicinity of the movie crew & actors. Charles Martin Smith has obviously fallen in love with the Canadian North & although there is a few low star ratings on these two movies at least Charles is giving the public a view into another part of this world most will never view in real life. Both survival & honour to others through giving up one's life enabling the other to survive. I found it touching as Charlie placed Kanaalag's sewing kit & few tools with her for her next voyage as she had taught Charley when together they buried the remains of the pilot they found in the wrecked Beech 18.Regardless of the Hollywood type aircraft scenes I feel both movies have something to offer. I still pull out "Never Cry Wolf" at least a few times per year & I firmly expect to do the same with "Snow Walker". 4 STARS for both movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic movie, Oct. 4 2013
By 
George Jones - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
When Charlie Halliday, an ex - WWII pilot, takes off in his bush plane in Canada's far north, his life is about to dramatically change, and he doesn't know it. When he delivers his cargo at a designated site, he's asked to take a sick, young Inuit woman to the hospital in Yellowknife. Reluctantly, he agrees as he's given a gift of valuable tusks. Charlie's always looking to make a buck. The plane crashes, stranding the two in the middle of the tundra, far away from any known civilization. The story continues from there, as we travel with Charlie and Kanaalaq on a journey of tremendous hardship and endurance. Charlie, in his selfish, egotistical manner, and his extreme prejudice against the Inuit, believes that it's all up to him to save them. Gradually, along their journey, he discovers that it's Kanaalaq who is saving him. During their time together, Charlie has a heart transplant and learns that his ignorance of the Inuit people has led him into the worst kind of bigotry.

I daresay that at least some of us find ourselves in Charlie, and we, too have a change of heart through experiencing this story. The beginning of the movie and often the language throughout, are rough, but I believe it's in keeping with the message of the story and needful to expose Charlie's character. The acting is superb. The photography amazing. The ending is a heart wringer. This is a story that is probably good for all of us to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars movie review, Sept. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
i had seen this movie on tv and wanted to purchase it so i found it on amazon. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Snow Walker
The Snow Walker by Charles Martin Smith (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 24.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews