Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another WB classic release
The second volume of the Golden collection is a must buy for everyone who purchased the first one. For people who don't have neither of the set, what are you waiting for? Run out and buy it.
This time, WB, included 60 animated shorts and tons of extras. Some of the favorites include: One Froggy Evening, What's Opera, Doc?, The Dover Boys, Bear for Punishment, Corny...
Published on Nov. 19 2004 by Lorenzo Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars bad menu
In the first volume, the menu shows a image of each cartoon. Not so in the second. It is very frustrating when you are looking for a specific cartoon.
Published on Oct. 26 2009 by Pierrepelletier


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another WB classic release, Nov. 19 2004
By 
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Golden Collection, Volume Two (DVD)
The second volume of the Golden collection is a must buy for everyone who purchased the first one. For people who don't have neither of the set, what are you waiting for? Run out and buy it.
This time, WB, included 60 animated shorts and tons of extras. Some of the favorites include: One Froggy Evening, What's Opera, Doc?, The Dover Boys, Bear for Punishment, Corny Concerto and much, much more. The 4 disc set is divided into one disc for Bugs Bunny, 2nd disc for Road Runner/Coyote and Duffy Duck/Porky Pig shorts, 3rd disc is comprised of Tweety/Sylvester and more Duffy Duck/Porky Pig and lastly the 4th disc is called All Stars. This fourth disc was my favorite since it included some of the mentioned shorts like One Froggy Evening and What's Opera, Doc? along with Three Little Bops and my new favorite I Love to Singa.
The presentation is excellent for all of the shorts as WB remastered them for this DVD release. Some of the extras include audio commentary, music only tracks, voice only tracks and short documentaries called "Behind the Tunes". There are much more extras included in this set.
Some people will be dissapointed in this set does not contain shorts with Marvin, Taz, Speedy, Foghorn Leghorn and Pepe Leppew. My guess is that these shorts will be coming in future volumes.
Please release more volumes of the Golden Collection WB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Clampett was the best Director/Animator., Nov. 7 2005
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Golden Collection, Volume Two (DVD)
Bob or 'Robert Clampett' was the best Director/Animator cartoons have ever had, and to find out exactly why that is, see the documentary contained on this set (DISC 3). Just listen to the uncontained enjoyment in John Kricfalusi's commentary on 'The Great Piggy-bank Robbery'. Unfortunately we never saw most of these screened on television because they concentrated on the years after Bob Clampett had left the studio, thank god for dvds, as now we can see what we all missed out on!
I can't wait for a Bob Clampett-exclusive dvd set, featuring all of his work. For now, get these and enjoy completely UNCENSORED Looney Tunes cartoons!
[...]
The Great Piggy Bank Robbery (1946)
Kitty Kornered (1946)
Book Revue (1946)
The Wearing of the Grin
Falling Hare (1943)
Tortoise Wins by a Hare (1943)
ETC. ETC. ETC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, June 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Golden Collection, Volume Two (DVD)
Would totally recommend this collection to any looney toon fan young or old! Have volumes 1,2,and three and plan to get the other 3 volumes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super, Dec 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Golden Collection, Volume Two (DVD)
It's convenient and i enjoy it. Try it i recommend it. Everyone should have it. i like it because it's fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Looney!, Nov. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Golden Collection, Volume Two (DVD)
Get the classic cartoons you remember in volume two! I think today's cartoons are pure garbage. Simply Classic cartoon the whole family can enjoy! Take a step back from work, Social Media, and spend time with the family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Golden Collection, Volume Two (DVD)
How can't you love these cartoons???

Two great disks with Tweety, Sylvester, Wile E. Coyote ad the road runner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back my childhood memories of watching bugs bunny. ..., Aug. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Golden Collection, Volume Two (DVD)
Brings back my childhood memories of watching bugs bunny. I watch with my neices and they too now are hooked .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tres bien,,,, quand il parle du ..., Aug. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Golden Collection, Volume Two (DVD)
Tres bien ,,,, quand il parle du doublage sa veut dire le langage ,,,,, il est en français :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Disney Cartoons, April 30 2007
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Golden Collection, Volume Two (DVD)
Hello. This is my review of Looney Tunes Golden Collection, vol. 2. This collection has Bugs Bunny cartoons, Roadrunner cartoons, Sylvester and Tweety cartoons, and Hollywood-themed cartoons, as well as some miscellaneous cartoons to round out the package. The "Golden Collections" would seem to be better than the "Walt Disney Treasures", because they aren't rare and don't have constant apologizing by Leonard Maltin. But anyway, back to the topic at hand. It seems that Warner Bros. is making a conscious effort to make every set in this collection sort of a "mixed bag" in terms of how good the cartoons are, which makes sense, because if you use up all the classics on one set, what will the rest have to offer? Therefore, I now present the best and worst of Looney Tunes.

The Best

Back Alley Oproar: An excellent short in which Elmer Fudd tries to stop Sylvester's loud singing so he can get some sleep. (Hunting wabbits is hard work!)As Greg Ford says on the cartoon's commentary, this was one of Sylvester's best performances.

The Dover Boys: A hilarious short by Chuck Jones which parodies some popular books of the time. It could have been quite dramatic, if not for a certain character who pops up inexplicably whenever it risks getting unfunny.

The "Roadrunner" series: A classic series of shorts, and classic for a reason. Just one note, though: They're best in small doses, and can get tedious after about 3 or 4 in a row.

You Ought to be in Pictures: A... well, not exactly a "cartoon", because it actually combines animation with live action! In the 30s, that was pretty amazing. Plus, the plot is nice, with Daffy convincing Porky to quit his job and work in live action films.

A Bear for Punishment: A cartoon in Chuck Jones' short-lived "Three Bears" series, which, from what I've seen, was wonderful, and should have gone on longer.

The Worst

Old Glory: A cartoon in which Uncle Sam shows Porky Pig why he should learn the Pledge of Allegiance, or something. The point is, it's really boring, and also extra-long. The other ones I'm about to mention may once have been funny, but I can't see anyone laughing at this, ever.

What's Opera, Doc?: Yes, some say this is a classic, but that would seem to be because of it's background art. And they have a point there; it does look nice. But the point is, it's not funny. If we want to see a pretty cartoon, we can watch a Silly Symphony. But Looney Tunes are supposed to be about comedy, not musical numbers that take up most of the show.

Hollywood Steps Out: A bunch of celebrity caricatures run around a nightclub. Sounds fun, right? The problem is, the celebrities caricatured are from back when this cartoon was made, and nobody today would recognize them. So in short, mildly weird people doing mildly weird things. Ha ha.

Have You Got any Castles?: Somewhat like "Hollywood Steps Out", only with books coming to life and a title that makes no sense. And also, no continuity between anything.

Book Revue: Essentially just "Have You Got Any Castles" with Daffy Duck showing up for a celebrity impression that's outdated, but still kinda funny. And there's a wolf, too.

So, let's see: plenty of hilarious adventures, and a few outdated caricatures. Overall, I'd say it sounds pretty fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Clampett, March 20 2010
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Golden Collection, Volume Two (DVD)
Although I had seen some of his cartoons a number of years ago, I was truly introduced to the great Bob Clampett in this second Looney Tunes set.

In fact, the sole reason someone should buy this is for Bob Clampett's cartoons. This set has been one of the better sets so far, and has me hoping I'll find more Clampett cartoons in the other sets.

Although I will say that the menus weren't the greatest, and the artwork at the opening menus were horrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Looney Tunes: Golden Collection, Volume Two
Looney Tunes: Golden Collection, Volume Two by Friz Freleng (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 66.15 CDN$ 18.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews