Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's finally coming!
Warner Bros. are finally releasing South Park's first season on DVD. **ALL** of the episodes from season one are on here, and it has some really good ones. I can't wait until it comes out because I will definitely buy it. If you're not sure which episodes are on the First Season, or forgot what they're about, here they are:
1. Cartman Gets An Anal Probe -...
Published on Oct. 19 2002 by Angela M. Healey

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised
I excitedly preordered this DVD set because like everyone, I know that the T&M commentaries would be as funny as the episodes themselves (See Cannibal: The Musical). This DVD set supposedly had a lot of extras that made buying it worthwhile, but I found out just after my DVD was shipped that they had pulled everything from the DVD, including the introductions that you...
Published on Dec 9 2002


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's finally coming!, Oct. 19 2002
Warner Bros. are finally releasing South Park's first season on DVD. **ALL** of the episodes from season one are on here, and it has some really good ones. I can't wait until it comes out because I will definitely buy it. If you're not sure which episodes are on the First Season, or forgot what they're about, here they are:
1. Cartman Gets An Anal Probe - 13-Aug-1997
Brief Plot: The boys rescue Kyle's little brother from aliens who have come to South Park.
2. Weight Gain 4000 - 27-Aug-1997
Kathie Lee Gifford presents the award to Cartman for winning the school's essay contest.
3. Volcano - 20-Aug-1997
The boys hunting trip is threatened by activity from a nearby volcano and a mysterious creature.
4. Big Gay Al's Big Gay Boat Ride - 3-Sep-1997
Stan's dog explores his sexuality.
5. An Elephant Makes Love To A Pig - 10-Sep-1997
A genetic engineering experiment unleashes Stans mutant twin.
6. Death - 17-Sep-1997
With the help of Stan's grandfather, the kids summon the Grim Reaper.
7. Pink Eye - 29-Oct-1997
Pinkeye interrupts Halloween festivities.
8. Damien - 4-Feb-1998
Jesus and Satan fight a battle for spiritual domination on Pay-Per-View which conflicts with Cartman's birthday party.
9. Starvin' Marvin - 19-Nov-1997
Government authorities mistake Cartman for a starving African child and send him to Ethiopia.
10. Mr. Hankey, The Christmas Poo - 17-Dec-1997
When Kyle's musical holiday pal Mr. Hankey shows up it makes for a memorable Christmas in South Park.
11. Tom's Rhinoplasty - 11-Feb-1998
A substitute teacher gets in between Stan and Wendy's relationship.
12. Mecha-Streisand - 18-Feb-1998
The boys find a prehistoric relic that spawns a monster that threatens to destroy the world.
13. Cartman's Mom is a Dirty Slut - 25-Feb-1998
When Cartman begins acting strange a guidance counselor suggests the cure lies with finding his father.
This is going to be great! With such episodes as 'Cartman Gets An Anal Probe' and 'Mr. Hankey The Christmas Poo', you would be crazy not to get it.
- Pez King
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised, Dec 9 2002
By A Customer
I excitedly preordered this DVD set because like everyone, I know that the T&M commentaries would be as funny as the episodes themselves (See Cannibal: The Musical). This DVD set supposedly had a lot of extras that made buying it worthwhile, but I found out just after my DVD was shipped that they had pulled everything from the DVD, including the introductions that you can get on the original individual DVDs. What's with that?? Don't buy it! And be careful about preordering!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs WAY Down for Warner Bros., Nov. 9 2002
By 
Joseph D. Scanlon Jr. "The Butcher" (saint louis, missouri United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My review of one star in no way reflects the quality of these great south park episodes. This is a review to reflect the dissapointment in warner brothers i have for not including the commentaries on these dvd's. This is an adult show, and from what i hear, trey and matt made adult commentaries. what am i supposed to do with the cd's? Press play on my dvd and cd player at the same time and hope that they are in unison. hey warner brothers! there is a reason south park is aired at 10p.m. eastern. You know why that is? BECAUSE IT'S NOT FOR KIDS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars South park ;the begening, Aug. 30 2006
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: South Park: The Complete First Season (DVD)
The foundation of south park is probably the weakest season but it had to start somewhere and they were of to a good start.The first season basicly introduced us to south park and the hit it would become.

With episodes like `cartman gets an anal probe` and `mecha-streisand`the first season is great,even if it would get a lot better the next few seasons but is still great to watch.It also is an awesome place to start for new south park fan.

I consider these episodes classic and i dont think that people shoul say`this show is rude,offensing,or whatever`because thats exactly why south park is fun to watch.It actually took animated cartoon to a level not reach before,sure the simpsons are funny but south park goes to the extreme.I dare anyone to say this show is for kids,and also we are well aware that its entertaiment.

Anyway this show is awesome and HILARIOUS.Kenny dies for the first times here.Here a list of the episodes included on south park season 1;

101-Cartman gets an anal probe

103-Volcano

102-Weight gain 4000

104-Big guay Al`s big guay boat ride

105-An elephant makes love to a pig

106-Death

107-Pink eye

109-Starvin`marvin

110-M.r hankey the christmas poo

108-Damien

111-Tom`s rhinoplasty

112-Meicha-streisand

113-Cartman`s mom is a dirty slut

The first episodes are great as they deal with;stan`s evil twin,barbara streisand,mr.hankey,aliens,and more the first season is a great purchase you can now find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cartoons Gone Wild, July 15 2004
By 
B-R-Mike M. (Old Lyme, CT USA) - See all my reviews
South Park is one of the funniest, crudest and most controversial shows in television history. Comedy Central's biggest hit to date has finally come to DVD so fans can enjoy the episodes again and again. The DVDs are better than the short lived VHS copies of the episodes that were popular for merchandise for the show and they contains tons of extras and unaired material from the shows history.
The first season of the show brought us such memorable moments as Cartman getting anal probed, the kids hunting while a volcano is about to erupt, and Kenny turning into a zombie. You can witness the filth and hilarity of Cartman, Stan, Kenny, and Kyle as they overcome the problems of their little mountain town and learn life lessons along the way in each hilarious episode.
The DVD contains extras like the documentary Going Down to South Park and their appearence on the Jay Leno show. The extras add to the entertainment of the episodes and gives a more indepth look at the show. The funniest is Cartman's "touching" rendition of O Holy Night.
Though the DVD lacks the lost episodes "Jesus vs Santa" and the more rare "Jesus vs Frosty" from the mix, this is a perfect gift for the South Park fan in your life. A hilarious DVD, this shows why South Park is one of the best shows ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Disentigration was the best album ever!", March 13 2004
By 
B-MAN "B" (Earth, occasionally. Until I get bored.) - See all my reviews
I received this for Christmas the year it came out and can't tell you how my heart filled with joy to have it! I guess that's fitting since Mr. Hankey the Christmas Poo makes his first appearance this season. South Park is a show that I never really saw until some time after it began on comedy central in 1997, but like many others, when I did see it I was hooked. This essential 3 DVD set includes the 13 episodes that make up Season one. Before this set arrived and before I owned DVDs (perish the thought!) I only had the first three VHS tape volumes totaling 6 episodes! So at that point I hadn't seen the majority of season one! I can still remember when there was so much talk that season sets wouldn't happen, but like Chef told Cartman - "You wait and you wait and you wait..." as did I and it finally came! Season one ran from August '97 to February '98 and includes the following:
Disc One:
01. Cartman gets an anal probe
02. Volcano
03. Weight Gain 4000
04. Big Gay Al's big gay boat ride
Disc Two:
05. An elephant makes love to a pig
06. Death
07. Pinkeye
08. Damien
Disc Three:
09. Starvin' Marvin
10. Mr. Hankey, the Christmas Poo
11. Tom's Rhinoplasty
12. Mecha-Streisand
13. Cartman's Mom is a dirty slut
Each disc includes the same set of South Park/Comedy Central promo commericals, but disc 3 has these additional features:
- Cartman's "O Holy Night" video
- Ned's "O Little town of Bethlehem" video
- Jay Leno's appearance on South Park (shown on Tonight Show)
- The South Park boys announce a cable ace award
Several fans have complained about the lack of episode commentary by Trey Parker & Matt Stone, but who can quibble with all 13 episodes at the push of a button? Besides each episode does include the "fireside" intros Trey & Matt did, which were the funniest of the three (the others being where they are "entertaining" senior citizens & the "makin' bacon" show) I was really happy they included them. South Park is here!
Thanks to Trey & Matt for the funny show and thanks to Robert Smith for destroying Mecha-Streisand!
Also Recommended:
More South Park!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A work of comedic brilliance, Feb. 6 2004
By 
N. Durham "Big Evil" (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first season of the highly controversial and crudely animated South Park made TV history as it pushed the limits of vulgarity on cable TV when it premiered on Comedy Central back in 1997. Not afraid to offend and full of disgusting gags and rampant profanity, there is a gleaming social commentary to it all that is hidden behind all the laughs. All 13 episodes from the first season are here as we are introduced to level headed Stan, the lone jewish boy Kyle, overweight Cartman, and ill-fated Kenny; four foul mouthed eight year olds living in the town of South Park, Colorado whose adventures range from encountering anal probing aliens (in the hilarious series premiere), to an assassination attempt on Kathie Lee Gifford, to outdueling the Grim reaper, encountering the infamous Mr. Hankey the Christmas Poo, and Cartman trying to find out who is father is. Isaac Hayes is also featured as the womanizing but wise Chef, while guest voices include George Clooney, and The Cure's Robert Smith. All in all, South Park is still one of the most unadulturated and unflinching comedies around today, and if you missed out on it when it premiered, now has never been a better time to give South Park a visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence!, Jan. 3 2004
By 
R. Chambers (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
They made a smart move by releasing this on DVD because south park is a classic! As for those who don't think so, WHO CARES!? Paramount and WB are making tons of money off people like me and I DONT CARE because it's well worth it! This is vulgar, disgusting, sickening, stupid humor, but guess what? I wouldn't have it any other way because this is SOUTH PARK and it's supposed to be dumb and vulgar! And for the brilliant mom who acted surprised when she showed this to her children...the opening of every episode warns you that it's intended for adults. There is a "TV MA" at the top of the screen telling you that it's for ADULTS. And if you missed these, perhaps the titles might lead you to believe they're for adults. "Cartman gets an anal probe" "An elephant makes love to a pig" and "Cartman's mom is a dirty slut"...If you aren't smart enough to realize that these points toward ADULT HUMOR then you deserved exactly what you got: A waste of money and an earful of uncomfortable questions from your kids!! I apologize to others for sounding off on here, but if this person wasn't so afraid to post her e-mail address, I'd have e-mailed her with my opinions..but what can you do?
And to Comedy Central and WB/Paramount......keep em coming!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this, ignore Johnny, Dec 18 2003
By 
Matt Berman (Larchmont, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Hey. First off, South Park is one of the most thought provoking, hiliarious, well thought out shows of our time. This season does not have a dull moment, and I would recomend it to anyone. Second, I see many others have done this already, but I have to say something to Johnny. Johnny, you seem like the kind of person who would rather just beilive whatever you are fed then go out and process your own ideas. South Park sends a great message, that message (amoung other things) is to think. South Park is not only hillarious, but it provides a diferent look on many events that are occuring in the world right now. If you, Johnny, can not seem to grasp that concept then please do not post reveiws. As you said, you have NEVER seen the show. I take it your just one of those self richous guys who just thinks that their opinon is the word of God. And on that note, cuss words? Come on, as comedian George Carlin once said, "there are no bad words, just bad intentions." I appologize to anyone that just wants to find out about the content of the DVD, but I just thought this had to be said. So in conclusion, Johnny is oblivious and self richous and South Park Season One is beyond amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jonathan Taylor Sucks, Dec 2 2003
By A Customer
I love South Park, I believe that it is the greatest show ever aside of The Simpsons. They have The third season coming out just in time for Christmas, which I am going to get. I don't care that they don't have that many special features, I just want to own all the seasons and I am happy. That really pisses me off when someone would choose Dragon Ball Z over South Park. Their was this other review, an angered parent trashing South Park because it's bad for children. All of the people who give South Park a bad review and would rather watch Dragon Ball Z. They beep the cuss words out. Try going to see the South Park movie. I love that movie even though there's cussing all through out. I just hate reviews who don't what they are talking about. That angered mother said that she is going to protest to get South Park off the air and she thinks we should do the same. She needs to stop and think all the pissed off people in the world if they South Park. To hell with her and to hell with Jonathan, that kid needs help. South Park and The Simpsons kick ass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South Park: The Complete First Season
South Park: The Complete First Season by Trey Parker (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 9.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews