Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!
This was made in 81 with a bunch of old Hollywood Actors telling a Ghost Story. Not much that makes a movie worth seeing for me, as there are hundreds of bad horror-films from that period of time in a similar vain ( "Hell House", "Burnt Offerings" ) and I dislike nearly all of them. However, this is different. VERY different. The plot is good and the...
Published on Aug. 31 2000 by Leaf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Straub's masterful novel just doesn't lend itself to theatrical adaptation
It's been at least fifteen years since I read Peter Straub's Ghost Story, and I must admit I've forgotten almost everything about the actual story. What I do remember is my conviction that Straub's novel was truly a masterpiece of the horror genre. Straub is a complete writer, not some penny dreadful hack, and that almost guarantees that no film can possibly do any of...
Published on July 18 2006 by Daniel Jolley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Straub's masterful novel just doesn't lend itself to theatrical adaptation, July 18 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Story (DVD)
It's been at least fifteen years since I read Peter Straub's Ghost Story, and I must admit I've forgotten almost everything about the actual story. What I do remember is my conviction that Straub's novel was truly a masterpiece of the horror genre. Straub is a complete writer, not some penny dreadful hack, and that almost guarantees that no film can possibly do any of his writings justice. Movies revolve around characters and actions, and Straub's fiction really plays on a much higher level. Frankly, I'm surprised that anyone would even attempt to adapt Straub for the big screen. Robbed of its atmospheric build-up, Ghost Story (the film) proves quite incapable of immersing you in the dark shadows haunting the Chowder Club Society meetings. Unable to take on a life of its own onscreen, Ghost Story feels to me like an old made-for-TV movie.

The four elderly, distinguished gentlemen who make up the The Chowder Society have been trading ghost tales and scary stories for decades. For fifty years, however, not a one of them has ever even thought about mentioning the most disturbing story of all, one that they all secretly share. Eva was her name, a saucy little newcomer who had all four of their college-age hearts pitter-pattering as they stumbled over one another pitching woo in her general direction. It's weird enough for four best friends to all be wooing the same girl at the same time, but the director manages to make it even stranger and more confusing. Two of the guys constantly giggle like schoolgirls, none of them seem to have a clue about the essential nature of man-woman communications, and they all combine to make one of the film's most climactic scenes little more than pedestrian in terms of their emotional reactions.

As older gentlemen, the members of The Chowder Society are quite distinguished and refined. It's a solid core of aging actors: Fred Astaire, John Houseman, Melvyn Douglas, and Douglas Fairbanks, Jr. It's rather sad in a way, though, watching true Hollywood greats rapidly approaching the ends of their careers. Astaire's dancing days were long over by this point, but his often-overlooked acting ability is quite evident here - he, Houseman, and a young Alice Krige (Eva/Alma) basically carry the movie on their backs.

Ghost Story isn't a bad movie by any means; clearly, though, it falls far short of the mark set down in Straub's original novel. There's just an almost complete lack of atmosphere on display here, even during the most dramatic scenes. Moving at a preternaturally slow pace, the film will surely turn off a lot of younger fans expecting a lot of in-your-face action from start to finish. It's hard to assign much blame for the ordinariness of this movie, though, as it really comes down to the fact that Peter Straub's fiction just doesn't lend itself to theatrical adaptation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SENIOR SCARES, June 6 2004
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Story (DVD)
When I first saw GHOST STORY on its initial release, I found it to be an entertaining, if not faithful, adaptation of Peter Straub's frightening novel. Now, some 20 years later, I found the movie less entertaining. The main problem I think is the enigmatic nature of the ghost, Eva Galli or Alma Mosely. Was she evil or supernatural prior to her death? And why doesn't she kill Donald as she did his brother? Was she really alive when she went down in the car? And what in the world do the Bates have to do with anything? And the classic "I am You" line is powerless without an explanation.
John Irvin's direction is also lackluster and sober. Of all the classic actors involved, none of them showed the power they have possessed in other roles. Although a talented actor, Craig Wasson was woefully miscast. Only Alice Krige as the ghostly Alma and Jacqueline Brookes as Astaire's wife bring any luster or poignancy to the film.
It's not a bad film by any means, and it does have some frightening moments with a wonderful score by Phillipe Sarde. I wish someone would remake it, however, and bring out more of the wonderful scariness of the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Lame chiller, March 13 2003
This review is from: Ghost Story (VHS Tape)
In "Ghost Story", the old men who make up the "Chowder Society" bide their fading years in a freezing and apparently unending northeastern winter telling each other ghost stories. Then they start dying very unnatural deaths. We learn that the group - a close-knit old boy's club going back decades - has been living a sort of ghost story of their own, one that's supposed to exceed anything they've told each other. When the son of one of the old men dies under similarly mysterious circumstances, his twin brother returns to home to investigate. It seems that there's some link between a mystery woman both of the sons dated, and a strikingly similar woman who disappeared many years before when...
Oh, what's the use. This flick hasn't any surprises. Both Alma, the beautiful woman years earlier desired and destroyed by our aged anti-heroes, and the mystery woman loved by both sons, are one and the same. Alma (a very pre-assimilated-by-the-Borg Alice Krige), we learn, came to the home-town of the Chowders in a by-gone age, when life was good, the weather was warm and the old men were young enough to be played by Ken Olin. Sought, loved and seemingly shared by each of the men, Alma is killed in an outrageous fluke. The "Chowders" of course, being gentlemen, cannot consider answering for their admittedly unwitting homicide, and cover up their tracks. Sealing the secret with a vow of silence, they set themselves up for Alma's horrific vengeance from beyond the grave. Years later, when they are old enough to be played by John Houseman, Alma returns.
This flick was a major disappointment - even before I knew who Alice Krige was. When we first meet them, the Chowders are basically non-characters - already ghosts themselves. Our ghost is also a mystery - but for the wrong reasons. Instead of irony or poetic justice, you've got to wonder why she postponed vengeance until the Chowders are old enough to be at death's door. I'd accept that the Chowder's guilt gave Alma power them - but how does that net sweep the sons of one of her killers? Instead, the script just gives her the power to scare people into falling out of high-rise buildings and off of bridges and - when there are no cliffs or open windows around - the power to simply suck life out of the living. Alice Krige, as Alma, seems more alive than anybody else in this flick - until the script decides she needs some special effects and turns her into a rotting corpse. The story grants her the despair and rage of a lonely and cold death, giving her more dimension than anybody else in the story. Wisely, the story preserves her fate as a victim, even as she seeks to dispatch her killers. Still, her vengeance is hollow because none of her haunts seems alive enough to warrant her ectoplasmic revenge. The script is light on effects, implying that it was going for the subtle route - but that requires mystery, character and plot-power that this flick painfully lacks. The special effects are lackluster and the editing is incredibly sloppy. Near the end, the cinematographers seem to have forgotten what time of day a scene is set in. Rather than pick apart the irony of ghost stories (in which the dead come alive by their desire for justice, while the guilty living seem to be walking ghosts) the film plods until it reaches an ambiguous climax clear in only a single respect: this is the least scary movie will ever see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Travesty...., Sept. 14 2002
By 
Jack-O-Lantern (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Story (VHS Tape)
Knowing that "the movie is never as good as the book" doesn't help this horrific mess of a film. That being said, I saw the film when it came out 20 years ago, and it was bad then. Now, after having just put down the book, I would revise that rating down another notch to "atrocious."
I won't go on and on, but I do have a question: why bother basing a film on a book and utilizing almost none of the characterizations, plot nuances or, most importantly, sense of pervasive dread inherent in the novel and so completely necessary to films in this genre?
The book I literally could not put down, all the superlatives apply: engrossing, frightening, thought-provoking, evocative and suspenseful. The film unfortunately seems to have been written by someone who lifted the names and locations from the novel, while leaving out almost everything else.
A dream cast completely wasted (John Houseman, Melvyn Douglas, Fred Astaire, Douglas Fairbanks Jr.). Employing one of the worst actors in the business (Craig Wasson) to play the lead--not to mention opening the film with a mind-numbingly gratuitous shot of him plunging nude from a window--ugghhh, didn't need to see that AT ALL (not that there was much to see, ahem).
It all adds up to disaster and, worse, boredom. This film is a travesty in every sense of the word and an insult to Peter Straub--he should have sued.
This begs to be remade--only PLEASE this time do it right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Prancing Poofters On Parade, May 1 2002
By 
This review is from: Ghost Story (VHS Tape)
Even if I hadn't read the incredible book on which this movie is only nominally based, I'd still hate it. It's one of the least coherent, illogical messes ever committed to film.
It's hard to know where to begin blasting this movie. It's so melodramatic as to be frequently laughable, for starters. The soundtrack, which is sometimes hauntingly beautiful, is more often jarringly inappropriate.
The script is inconsistent, bringing up names out of nowhere and never explaining them (such as the name of the town in which the story takes place, which comes off sounding like a character who doesn't exist the way in which it is brought up), and introducing characters who drop out of the action equally inexplicably (Fenny Bates).
The two young lover leads, Craig Wasson and Alice Krige, have zero chemistry together (Krige moved on to better roles, at least). Wasson is cast in a dual role, playing both the lead and his brother, seeming no different at all except for a paste-on moustache, which is just bizarre, considering there is no mention of the two being twins and any other actor could have been cast. He also has the most comically inappropriate full frontal nude scene ever gratuitously thrown into a movie, again for no appreciable reason.
The effects are generally pretty bad - especially in the aforementioned comically inappropriate gratuitous full frontal nude scene, which is employed while Wasson's character falls unbelievably out of a window.
The entire reason for the ghost's haunting makes no sense at all, making her seem merely petty and not really sympathetic at all (considering her death was accidentally caused) - and why is she after Wasson's dual characters, anyway, considering they had nothing to do with her demise?
But the worst of all sins in this film is the portrayal of the haunted old men - splendid actors all, completely wasted in this awful mess - in their youth. They are all effeminate beyond belief, tittering like girls constantly, even dressing in drag for a party scene. They don't even bear much resemblance to their older counterparts.
This movie is just embarrassingly awful, in every way. Read Peter Straub's book instead, and see what the movie missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "REAL GRUMPY OLD MEN WITH SECRETS", July 30 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ghost Story (VHS Tape)
Beautiful ALICE KRIGE stars in this mind-bending extravaganza centred around the guilty thoughts of "possible" dirty old men. Something that happened during, shall we say an ungarded moment of passion, between the four male students and an alluring, seductive female new-comer to their village. A crime follows? Or does it? The quartet [Astaire, Houseman, Fairbanks Jr., Douglas] remain bound over the years, then with the passing of the moon, perhaps ...... something very old and nasty [with cronies] comes to life and starts a pattern of seduction, starting with the male offspring of one of the old guys!
During a one night stand with a [now reconstructed] beautiful stranger one sibling is thrown [?] from his high rise apartment [Craig Wasson in a dual role]. Unintelligble? That's how it goes, and the horror continues - and the original four are being dispatched one after the other. Based on the novel by Peter Straub it is not a perfect script. Lots of difficulties with the conclusion, but it is Alice Krige who triumphs in this movie - a maddening beauty, enough to drive anyone over the edge!.
Now, where is the DVD version? Please restore to wide-screen, with the deleted scenes please [including the sightless spectral Ms. Krige, a special effect considered too disturbing for 1981].
Another point of view? "Vertigo" Similar horror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars if cheap is scary, this is the scariest movie ever, March 11 2001
By 
D. D. Sullivan "mondoego" (the back of the Tides Restaurant, cowering with Mrs. Bundy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Story (VHS Tape)
Worse than there's any excuse for, this is a terrible screen version of Peter Straub's not bad 1979 gothic. It was obviously made on the cheap by people who didn't know much about horror movies but is inept in special ways. Why, for instance, does most of the movie take place in a series of poorly lit hallways? If there's a movie with more hallways in it than this one, I'm not aware of it. The movie makes a big deal about unfolding in the town of Milburn, which seems to be populated by about six people. When we do see a handful of extras, they look exactly like extras and you can sense them making an effort to be unobtrusive. Much of the movie apparently never made it to the screen; the end credits list several characters never seen. The movie, which never recovers from its awkward introductory scenes, comes to a dead halt during the campus flashback sequence, which was also the weakest, most "writerly" part of the book. Others reviewers here have mentioned the waste of Patricia Neal, the pained acting of Craig Wasson, and the porcelain beauty of Alice Krieg, who somehow survives the cinematographer's botch job (she outclasses the movie as a whole and has a great evil giggle to boot). To the list of complaints against the filmmakers, I'd like to add 1) the director's bizarre penchant for men in dresses (in a movie where practically nothing happens, there are not one but two such scenes); 2) editing and an overall narrative logic that rival the lunacy of "Mommie Dearest"; and 3) the hilariously bad "special effects" by Albert Whitlock, which are so primitive they'd put William Castle into despair. Do I have anything good to say about this movie? I liked opening credits and the musical score by Phillipe Sarde, which does musically what the idiot filmmakers should have done visually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, Aug. 31 2000
This review is from: Ghost Story (VHS Tape)
This was made in 81 with a bunch of old Hollywood Actors telling a Ghost Story. Not much that makes a movie worth seeing for me, as there are hundreds of bad horror-films from that period of time in a similar vain ( "Hell House", "Burnt Offerings" ) and I dislike nearly all of them. However, this is different. VERY different. The plot is good and the actors are believeable. Not one scene in the movie that doesn't make any sense. Suspenseful from the first second, the movie captured my attention and destroyed my well-sleeping abilities for almost two weeks. The appearences of the Ghost come completely unsuspected and they are CREEPY AS HELL! ALICA KRIEG'S make up ( if she actually plays the "THING" I mean ) is more than chilling, although you don't get to see her in her whole rotten glory just a few seconds. But this is enough to make you want to turn the lights on and hide in your Bed! Believe me! You remember the End of Psycho- the Discovery of Norman's Mother? These kind of scenes are happening every 15 minutes here, and they manage to be really shocking. All the actors do a great job ( Alica - where are you today? ) , and the direction absolutely succeeds. This is one of the best Horrormovies ever and it is very unfair to put it in one bag with pointless movies like "Hell House". Buy it, and maybe you will agree!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars stylish, flawed, July 21 2000
This review is from: Ghost Story (VHS Tape)
This is a fine, wonderfully atmospheric movie with a great cast. Alice Krige is just mesmerising as both the beautiful, doomed, Eva and the vengeful Alma. But did they leave a lot on the cutting room floor? I get the sense that Patricia Neal's entire performance ended up there.
The problem with the script, I think is that they tried to keep too much of Peter Straub's book, while cutting the heart out of it. (It's a great book, by the way- a real stay-up-all-night read) They lose the central premise of the "ghosts" being supernatural beings of extraordinary cleverness, evil, and humor. But in keeping some of these characters of the novel without explaining who they are, or what they are, you are sort of left saying "huh?" It also means that the four men central to the story are just plain not-very-nice when it comes right down to it. And it makes Eva's desire for revenge understandable, if not laudable
But all kvetching aside, this is a beautiful movie. It is shot in upstate New York (ably standing in for Vermont), and is one of the few movies I have ever seen to actually capture the other-wordliness that winter in New England can be. It is a fine musing on old age, lonelines, and regret, and manages dome real jump-outta-your-seat shocks, while making you care not only for the living, but for the dead as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No - No - No - No - No, April 17 2004
This review is from: Ghost Story (DVD)
This is the way you film a very poor adaptation of a well writen and very scary novel.
Here's the problem: Only a very small piece of the storyline from the book made it to the movie. Ordinarily I would have no issue with this. Except in this case hints of the rest of the plot from the book are included without explanation. Why does Alma say to Don "I am You"? What does that mean in the context of the story on film? It's not explained and doesn't make any sense at all. It is fully explained in the novel, and very well.
Why are Gregory and Fenny Bate even in the movie? They don't need to be to further the story. Especially because of the great side story told by Sears about them in the book.
This film has too many holes, too many unanswered questions and Lawrence Cohen's adaptation of Peter Straub's novel is nowhere near the great job he did with Stephen King's "Carrie".
Do yourself a favor - read the book. You will be much more satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Story
Ghost Story by John Irvin (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 8.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews