Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun - over the top action with humor & drama
True Lies is an action romp with several story lines that flow into each other for the big climax. Harry (Arnold) and Helen (Jamie Lee) are in a stereotypical middle-class marriage where the husband is totally career focused and because he is "successful" he thinks all is well at home. Helen is bored and miserable because she feels invisible to her husband. Their...
Published on June 21 2004 by Craig Matteson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun to watch
True Lies is a fun film, bubble gum for the eyes, a spoof of the spy genre. I enjoy it once or twice a year.
Published on March 5 2002 by Michael E Wright


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun - over the top action with humor & drama, June 21 2004
By 
Craig Matteson (Saline, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
True Lies is an action romp with several story lines that flow into each other for the big climax. Harry (Arnold) and Helen (Jamie Lee) are in a stereotypical middle-class marriage where the husband is totally career focused and because he is "successful" he thinks all is well at home. Helen is bored and miserable because she feels invisible to her husband. Their daughter Dana (Eliza Dushku - Faith from Buffy) is alienated from them both and headed down a very bad path.
Harry has a secret life as a spy for a super secret government organization. His partner is Albert (Tom Arnold in his best role / performance anywhere) and they are closer to each other than to anyone else in their lives as they travel the world saving us all from the bad guys.
The terrorism they are battling could have been ripped from today's headlines. However, I doubt such a film could be made today because of political sensitivities. I was surprised how much of it held up.
But this film is about fun more than drama. The action is exciting, but preposterous and the scale of the action crescendos toward the final ridiculous aspect of Harry flying a Harrier jet while saving his daughter, fighting the big bad guy and fending off an attacking helicopter all at the same time. Another problem, a small one for this kind of action film, is the endless weapons fire focused at the heroes to no effect, while Helen can simply drop a machine pistol down the stairs and wipe out a platoon. It is a delightful seen, however. If you can suspend disbelief for this, the movie can be a lot of fun.
Many have called the film misogynistic, and I suppose you can see some of that in the film. But Bill Paxton's wonderful performance as the sleazebag Simon is easily the most despised person in the film and he is a male.
There are other find performances in the film. Faisal, played wonderfully by Grant Heslov (we should see more of him), is a terrific character who holds a lot of the story line together even though his role isn't that large. And Tia Carrere as the mercenary art dealer Juno is simply one of the best things in the movie. Art Malik is great as the villain Salim Abu Aziz. Mr. Malik provides the right kind of energy for such an over the top film. He provides the kind of passionate megalomania that makes all the fighting seem appropriate.
With all the sub-plots weaving in and out, the humor, and the fine performances, I think this is one of Arnold Schwartzenegger's best films. And I thought his pairing with Tom Arnold was great. Too bad we never saw them together again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Widescreen Letterbox Format, Sept. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
I fail to see the logic in creating a DVD like this. While it is in widescreen format, it is in standard 4:3 (1.33:1) rather than anamorphic (sized for 16:9 widescreen TVs).
This was one of my favorite movies. The quality of the image on this DVD is passable. I hope they release it in anamorphic format sometime in the near future for people that own more-current television sets so we can fully enjoy the technology we spent our hard-earned dollars on.
I was very pleased with the audio. While it wasn't up to Superbit standards, I would give it 4 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun to watch, March 5 2002
By 
Michael E Wright (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
True Lies is a fun film, bubble gum for the eyes, a spoof of the spy genre. I enjoy it once or twice a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Fun, Action Filled Adventure, Nov. 5 2001
This review is from: True Lies (VHS Tape)
True Lies is a fun action packed film. There's no question about that. Arnold Schwarzenegger is a spy whose been lying to his wife for the last 15 years saying he was a computer salesmen. The Mrs. finally does find out. Schwarzenegger starts to kick some serious [rear-end] as he gets involved with arms smuggling. Jamie Lee Curtis, as the wife, is entertaining. She seems to be having a lot of fun with this role. Tom Arnold(who I don't mention out loud that I really like)brings some nice comedic relief as Arnold's partner. The great Eliza Dushku is on hand as Ah-nold's and Jamie's daughter. Charlton Heston has a very small role as Schwarzenegger's boss. The comedy bits are pretty funny, and the action is high octane adrenaline. The end scene with the harrier jet is spectacular. Director James Cameron can always be counted on for big, over the top blockbusters. This is no exception. This
movie was easily Schwarzenegger's last great movie. You also get the added bonus of a semi-nude Jamie Lee, looking incredible, doing a dirty dance for her hubby. This is not Casablanca people. It's just a simple, fun adventure. Nice time waster. Have fun and enjoy it. You will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Anamorphic, No buy. Get with the program FOX., May 26 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
No Anamorphic, No buy. Get with the program FOX. I don't care if it's STAR WARS PM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the DVD is not anamorphic as Amazon claims it to be, May 24 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
I'm disappointed that so far none of Fox's titles are anamorphic. Hopefully Alien Legacy Box will be like they said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars great movie, March 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
i love this movie but dont buy it the blu-ray release will be this years for 2014.and the quality on my hd tv of this movie suck.so dont buy it.is a lost of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bon suspense, Feb. 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
Le film true lie est arrivé en bon état conforme à l’annonce faite par le vendeur. Il s’agit d’un bon film que je recommande à tous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great movie, Feb. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Lies (Bilingual) (DVD)
One of Arnold Schwarzenegger's best movie and I just loved it. Lots of action and great story and well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars macro view on poor quality recording, Feb. 10 2014
By 
John Lederman (Stratford, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: True Lies (Bilingual) (DVD)
Went to amazon looking for comments about the poor DVD transfer of True Lies, which it really is. Got intrigued by the one star reviews of sexism and racism (some on-line too) and tried to figure out why I like this movie.

First of all, it is so clearly an unreal spoof. I can’t understand the vituperative comments about sexism and racism except from the POV of people who think movies have way more influence than they ought to, although I do acknowledge, with some people they do. This movie is so clearly not reality, and Cameron has gone out of his way to make that rather obvious in so many deliberately ridiculous silly scenes, so to criticize it like it has an influence over our values and morality and behaviour makes it sound like those critics don’t have much respect for people and their self-determination and regard most of us as rather weak-minded and not very perceptive. Ok.

Picking apart certain scenes on an isolated micro-level and ignoring the larger context is the fallacy that almost all critics make, from journalism to academia, for the sum of the parts can change the meaning of the whole. When I started to think of this film within its whole context it became even more fascinating.

Jamie Lee Curtis’s part, and she herself, as well as Schwarzenegger, have been criticized for being degrading to women. In a larger context though, the film is about her evolution and as a whole charts the emancipation of women. She starts as a June Cleaver caricature, the dutiful, adoring and somewhat blind and ignorant wife to a more worldly dominant man. But she is bored to death with that role and seeks to break out. Initially she does that in the direction of having an affair. Then she realizes that is empty and she seeks a bigger more significant fulfillment. She takes on a mission. As in history, that is still first guided and overly controlled by men. She is locked in the little concrete room. Men put her there. Women in history helped get themselves there and keep themselves there too. By the end of the interrogation there though, she realizes, as have women in history, that she wants to be true to fixing her boredom and her need to care, and also she “needed to feel alive,” in a world and a marriage where she felt taken for granted and was… and also allowed herself to be for 15 years. But no more. What ensues is a conversation all spouses should have with each other through a relationship, albeit face to face, and too few do: how to continue to be fulfilled and find meaning. Then she more or less smashes her way out of her prison, physically and psychologically.

After that we witness her liberation: the tentative first steps going to the hotel room, stumbling on the way, (and note the previous scenes: the reality of the dirt under her finger nails, the ripping away of all the stupid frills on her dress). In the room she is again tempted to be what the man wants, realizes it’s ridiculous and degrading, then the absolute defiance and refusal to be what men define and demand, and to be accepted on her own merit in her own way, learning along the way. Isn’t that what we all want and do? The world gets in the way from time to time, but by the end of the film clearly she and her husband embark on missions as equals, and her, apparently, without all the training he must have had, she is just a natural at it. They are now more or less equal, and clearly better more passionate partners (the tango).

The anti-Arab criticism of this film is similar hogwash. Most of it comes from pre-9/11, but even after, the fact is, in the world some Arabs are villains sometimes. If you listen to the BBC news, barely a day goes by where there is not a suicide bombing somewhere in the middle east. Sometimes others are villainous. It is a film. This is a particular film and needed a particular context. Clearly caricatured. Clearly a parody. More about fanaticism. Try and get it. Try and get over yourself.

Sometimes there are universal themes and symbols, sometimes not. So I post this review under the one star section not because it is a one star film, far from it, but that’s where it needs to be read. True Lies is humorous, symbolic, perhaps inspiring us to learn something, if we have the eyes to see, and entertaining all along the way. The DVD transfer though is truly a one star thing, so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6af68b8)

This product

True Lies (Bilingual)
True Lies (Bilingual) by James Cameron (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 11.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews