Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun - over the top action with humor & drama
True Lies is an action romp with several story lines that flow into each other for the big climax. Harry (Arnold) and Helen (Jamie Lee) are in a stereotypical middle-class marriage where the husband is totally career focused and because he is "successful" he thinks all is well at home. Helen is bored and miserable because she feels invisible to her husband. Their...
Published on June 21 2004 by Craig Matteson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Fun, Action Filled Adventure
True Lies is a fun action packed film. There's no question about that. Arnold Schwarzenegger is a spy whose been lying to his wife for the last 15 years saying he was a computer salesmen. The Mrs. finally does find out. Schwarzenegger starts to kick some serious [rear-end] as he gets involved with arms smuggling. Jamie Lee Curtis, as the wife, is entertaining. She seems...
Published on Nov. 5 2001 by Barry


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun - over the top action with humor & drama, June 21 2004
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
True Lies is an action romp with several story lines that flow into each other for the big climax. Harry (Arnold) and Helen (Jamie Lee) are in a stereotypical middle-class marriage where the husband is totally career focused and because he is "successful" he thinks all is well at home. Helen is bored and miserable because she feels invisible to her husband. Their daughter Dana (Eliza Dushku - Faith from Buffy) is alienated from them both and headed down a very bad path.
Harry has a secret life as a spy for a super secret government organization. His partner is Albert (Tom Arnold in his best role / performance anywhere) and they are closer to each other than to anyone else in their lives as they travel the world saving us all from the bad guys.
The terrorism they are battling could have been ripped from today's headlines. However, I doubt such a film could be made today because of political sensitivities. I was surprised how much of it held up.
But this film is about fun more than drama. The action is exciting, but preposterous and the scale of the action crescendos toward the final ridiculous aspect of Harry flying a Harrier jet while saving his daughter, fighting the big bad guy and fending off an attacking helicopter all at the same time. Another problem, a small one for this kind of action film, is the endless weapons fire focused at the heroes to no effect, while Helen can simply drop a machine pistol down the stairs and wipe out a platoon. It is a delightful seen, however. If you can suspend disbelief for this, the movie can be a lot of fun.
Many have called the film misogynistic, and I suppose you can see some of that in the film. But Bill Paxton's wonderful performance as the sleazebag Simon is easily the most despised person in the film and he is a male.
There are other find performances in the film. Faisal, played wonderfully by Grant Heslov (we should see more of him), is a terrific character who holds a lot of the story line together even though his role isn't that large. And Tia Carrere as the mercenary art dealer Juno is simply one of the best things in the movie. Art Malik is great as the villain Salim Abu Aziz. Mr. Malik provides the right kind of energy for such an over the top film. He provides the kind of passionate megalomania that makes all the fighting seem appropriate.
With all the sub-plots weaving in and out, the humor, and the fine performances, I think this is one of Arnold Schwartzenegger's best films. And I thought his pairing with Tom Arnold was great. Too bad we never saw them together again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Fun, Action Filled Adventure, Nov. 5 2001
This review is from: True Lies (VHS Tape)
True Lies is a fun action packed film. There's no question about that. Arnold Schwarzenegger is a spy whose been lying to his wife for the last 15 years saying he was a computer salesmen. The Mrs. finally does find out. Schwarzenegger starts to kick some serious [rear-end] as he gets involved with arms smuggling. Jamie Lee Curtis, as the wife, is entertaining. She seems to be having a lot of fun with this role. Tom Arnold(who I don't mention out loud that I really like)brings some nice comedic relief as Arnold's partner. The great Eliza Dushku is on hand as Ah-nold's and Jamie's daughter. Charlton Heston has a very small role as Schwarzenegger's boss. The comedy bits are pretty funny, and the action is high octane adrenaline. The end scene with the harrier jet is spectacular. Director James Cameron can always be counted on for big, over the top blockbusters. This is no exception. This
movie was easily Schwarzenegger's last great movie. You also get the added bonus of a semi-nude Jamie Lee, looking incredible, doing a dirty dance for her hubby. This is not Casablanca people. It's just a simple, fun adventure. Nice time waster. Have fun and enjoy it. You will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Widescreen Letterbox Format, Sept. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
I fail to see the logic in creating a DVD like this. While it is in widescreen format, it is in standard 4:3 (1.33:1) rather than anamorphic (sized for 16:9 widescreen TVs).
This was one of my favorite movies. The quality of the image on this DVD is passable. I hope they release it in anamorphic format sometime in the near future for people that own more-current television sets so we can fully enjoy the technology we spent our hard-earned dollars on.
I was very pleased with the audio. While it wasn't up to Superbit standards, I would give it 4 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film--no lies here . . ., Nov. 15 2004
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
The Amazon write up for this film implies Cameron doesn't like women. But Jamie Lee Curtis does look to be having fun. Yes, us men are going ga-ga for her as she is exploited. But (a) she raked in a heap of money (b) her stunning body has been immortalized in film and (c) how many women can claim to have turned on so many men at the same time with so little effort? (Hint: Curtis may very well be an alpha-female. Maybe and ENTJ.) The action sequences in this film, as in all Cameron films, have a serious true-to-life feel. Arnold may very well be a psychopath as he slaughters deranged terrorist after deranged terrorist utterly without remorse or even blinking an eye. But the way it's done you really get the feeling that the violence is essential to the story and had to be done this way. (Again, unlike Sum of All Fears, which is a major letdown once you know anything about plotting. Why is the leader of The Greatest Nation on Earth not levelheaded? The story's suspense derives entirely from the US President acting like a nincompoop. Which speaks well neither towards Clancy the democrat nor Clancy the patriot.) Which is why Cameron is better than Sam Peckinpah, who filmed Tarkovsky-like action sequences that often seemed out of place.
There's also enough gadgetry in this film to keep the editors of Maxim busy for at least a year. The subbasement of the building Arnold and co-star Tom Arnold work in is a standout true geek heaven. Cameron really delivers the goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ATTN Prof. Majer-O'Sickey, May 11 2004
By 
"mlemoyne" (Binghamton, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
As an action movie, I really enjoyed True Lies. It has a lot of funny scenes in it that I truly liked. However, I did not feel that way about the way Helen was depicted throughout. She starts out as the hum-drum housewife--completely de-sexualized, and thus completely unfulfilled as a person. It is only when she puts on some lipstick and tears the dress apart that she starts to feel excited about her life--as we can tell by the way she dances. I feel like the movie is furthering stereotypes of boring housewives this way. It's as though the message is to break out of line, get sexy-looking, and only then will you enjoy life. It's clear that Helen comes to define herself by what men (i.e. Harry) see in her, because the last we see of her is the ballroom scene in a gown slit up almost to her hip putting lipstick on again. Yes, Helen becomes comfortable with her sexuality. This can be a good thing, but it is shown as the only avenue towards self-fulfillment.
Other than that, I did enjoy the humor of this movie. So, if you can make yourself aware of the way that femininity is depicted throughout, then I'd say to go ahead and watch it. Otherwise, caveat emptor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JAMIE STEALS THE SHOW, April 22 2004
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
Jamie Lee Curtis continues to be one of our most overlooked and underappreciated actresses. She was brilliant in FREAKY FRIDAY, the penultimate heroine in HALLOWEEN, and a sick mommy in MOTHER'S BOYS. In this bombastic James Cameron action thriller, Curtis plays the wife of Arnold Schwarzenegger, a man who has hidden the fact that he is spy from his wife in 17 years of marriage! To her, he's just a boring computer salesman with a stuck up, disinterested daughter (Elisha Dushku in one of her first roles). Jamie, looking for adventure in her life, teams up with a car salesman who pretends he's a secret agent (played with wonderful timing by the dependable Bill Paxton). Meanwhile, Arnie and his partner (well played by Tom Arnold) think Jamie's having an affair with Paxton. This all gets mixed up in the true plot of a demented terrorist (the appropriately evil Art Malik) out to blow up US cities. Tia Carrere is along for the ride in the role of a beautiful but deadly curator. Add Charlton Heston as Arnie's boss, and you have a talented cast. Cameron knows how to do action films; the finale involving the airplanes and the bridge is terrific. This movie is unabashedly entertaining, and even though it's a little too long (almost two and a half hours), Cameron keeps the action interesting. Not bad for a California governor, Arnie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True Lies - An extremely entertaining action/drama film!, Feb. 9 2004
By 
K. Wyatt "ssintrepid" (Cape Girardeau, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
"True Lies" is quite simply, one of the most entertaining, fast paced and hilarious films that Arnold Schwarzenegger has ever starred in. From the very first time I saw this movie in the theater to several viewings both in VHS and DVD format, I've found that the superior script and exceptional acting in this film entertains every time. I've read of and heard many lament over some aspects of this film and the best I could say to those is that quite often the movies that Hollywood produces are a sensationalism of real life events and ultimately a movie such as this one is for entertainment not making statements about any one group or individual and as a medium for entertainment, this film succeeds completely!
Performance wise, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Jamie Lee Curtis, Tom Arnold, Bill Paxton, Tia Carrere and Art Malik all deserve great honors and the accolades they received for their respective parts in this film. "True Lies" was probably Arnold Schwarzenegger's best overall performance both in the action and the dramatic sense. Jamie Lee Curtis couldn't have been any better in this role and I can honestly say that I was impressed with Tom Arnold's performance in this movie whereas any other film or show I've seen him in I was not impressed. I believe the only other movie I've seen that Art Malik was in was "The Living Daylights" and in both that movie and this one his work has been exceptional.
Say what you may like about director James Cameron but you would definitely have to admit that prior to the current but most likely "temporary" culmination of his career as a director with the movie "Titanic" and heading off to run the "Dark Angel" television series, few directors could come close to matching his accomplishments. "True Lies" was James Cameron's fifth highly successful hit in a row and with this movie and "Titanic" one could definitely say that during this run of box office hits, he had the pulse of the fans as he wrote screenplays and directed these extraordinary films.
The Premise:
Harry Tasker (Arnold Schwarzenegger) is a high speed "spook" working for a highly secretive government agency that is a watch dog/operator spook agency that identifies and handles terrorist threats to the United States. Along with his handler Albert Gibson (Tom Arnold), they uncover a major terrorist operation which is bent on using nuclear warheads against the US to accomplish its goals. As Harry, Albert and their organization are working to uncover the terrorists plot; his family becomes heavily involved in the story which is where Helen Tasker (Jamie Lee Curtis) comes in to play and some extremely hilarious scenes involving Simon (Bill Paxton). What follows from there is one of the most hilarious and exciting action/drama films to have come out of the nineties.
I highly recommend this film to any and all who are interested in seeing a great, fast paced, highly intriguing and hilarious action/drama movie and aren't interested in reading too much into the plot or the characters in the plot that are used as plot devices. {ssintrepid}
Special Features:
-Original Theatrical Trailer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MANY MANY BEST THAN A LL JAMES BOND 007, Jan. 25 2004
By 
This review is from: True Lies (VHS Tape)
ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER ! I HAD NOT SAID WHITCH THIS MAN WAS THE BEST ACTOR ? OF COURSE YES !!! HE WAS THE BEST IN THIS MOVIE SAME AND ALSO SUPERIOR AT A AGENT OF ...ITS MAJESTY ENGLISH ... THE QUEEN ! IN DESPITE THA'S A REMAKE OF A FRENCH MOVIE WITH THIERRY LHERMITTE .... THIS NEW FILM IS VERY MUCH BETTER THANT THE FIRST ... WITH JAMIE LEE CURTIS WHO IS HIS WIFE... THERE IS UNINTERRUPTEDS ACTIONS WHITH THIS !!! HE SPEAK RUSSIAN and ARABIAN an of course GERMAN and HAS MANY TALENTS and a MAN WHO'S ABLE TO DO THAT CAN MAKE EVERY THINGS !!! THER IS ALSO HUMOUR WITTINESS FACETIOUSNESS BUT IN THE FIRST TIME SMARTNESS FOR THIS STORY DOMINATED BY THE BEST ACTOR AT MY HUMBLE BELIEF !!! NOT DEAD TIME ! STILL AGAIN ALWAYS ENTERTAINING ENTERTAINMENT ENTALL OF THE ACTORS ARE ALSO GOODS IN THIS MAGNIFICENT STORY WITH ALL INGREDIENTS OF SPYS ACTION HUMOUR ! REALY THE BEST OF THE BEST ACTOR ! 300% ADRENALIN AND CERTAINS MOMENTS FEAR AND ALSO DIZZINESSS SPLENDID ............... WHAT ! ...... --This text refers to the DVD edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On Arnold's acting resume "True Lies" would be his best film, Aug. 17 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: True Lies (DVD)
Now might be a good time to check out "True Lies" once again, simply because most of the principles are in the news a lot these days. After all, Arnold Swarzenegger is running for governor of California, Jamie Lee Curtis is getting great reviews for her work in the new version of "Freaky Friday," a network has shown enough faith in Eliza Dushku to star her in a new television series "Tru Calling," and Tom Arnold is hosting a sports talk show on television while being dissed by ex-wife Roseanne Barr as she prepares for her new reality show. Of course, you have to wonder whatever happened to James Cameron, the director of this 1994 action comedy (my own guess is that the spirit of David O. Sleznick is whispering in Cameron's ear, "Okay, now that you're 'King of the World' what are you going to do next?").
Arnold is Harry Tasker, a special agent for a super secret government organization, but his wife Helen (Curtis), thinks he is just a boring computer salesman. While he is dealing with cracking a ring of international terrorists, she is looking for a little more excitement in her life. Ironically, she thinks she has found this in a fast talking used car salesman who hits on lonely wives by pretending he is a secret agent. Of course, the irony gets a bit more intense as the movie progresses and the chief attraction is that Harry is trying to save his marriage along with the free world. If there is one lesson this film teaches, then it would clearly be the old adage that it takes two to tango.
This week my thinking is that "True Lies" is ultimate Arnold Swarzenegger film, combining the action of the "Terminator" films with the appealing comedy of "Kindergarten Cop." This is a film that is able to have it both ways when it comes to Arnold's cinematic persona, being faithful to his larger than life action sequences while also carrying off some tongue-in-cheek parody. Meanwhile, Curtis turns in the second best performance of her career, which I can now say because I just saw her best in "Freaky Friday" this afternoon. Tom Arnold has never been better an the second banana, which is something he probably knows, and Charlton Heston has a choice bit part as the head of the secret organization for which Harry works. I have heard there is supposed to be a sequel to this film, which might be derailed by Arnold's candidacy (especially if he gets elected), but that might be just as well because a sequel could not be better than the original in this case.
Schwarzenegger movies will be on hiatus, at least in California, for the next couple of months. Fortunately, the movies of actors running for political office are a lot more accessible today than they were went Ronald Reagan was running for president (Note: "Bedtime for Bonzo" is a very good B-comedy and primarily a joke to those who have not seen the film). If you are thinking of watching a Schwarzenegger movie to mull over his viability as a political candidate, then "True Lies" seems the obvious choice. As for me, I watched it again because I wanted to see more of the funny (and sexy) Jamie Lee Curtis, and Laurie Strode just does not suffice any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hints re Fanaticism and its effects on terrorism, Aug. 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: True Lies (VHS Tape)
8/15/03 The movie hit home to all income groups(1.low income terrorist) ,their front being involved as a Ms. Merchant for the 2.Smithsonian Institute(wealthy income),and 3.Harry(actor Arnold Schwarzenegger) and his "middle class" family in what could never happened in reality involved in his life as an "undercover agent'(and even being rescued individually by him at intense minutes in the picture)...Hitting all classes it1. appeals to those who enjoy violence2.with the Society Hill set,those who like to feel affluence is still daunting and 3. despite all that violence where "all the bad guys" are demolished that the "middle class family' are the " last minutes" in the movie along with Harry's pals following as usual in the van as his protection,living the 'American Dream',with their teen age daughter back to being Harry's "little pumpkin" vs earlier scenes of her on the back of a motorcycle after stealing money from his jacket pocket(with a little extra to the American Dream of Harry and his wife(played by actress Jamie Lee Curtis) dancing in the ballroom belonging to High Society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Lies (Bilingual)
True Lies (Bilingual) by James Cameron (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews