Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best nothing beats a classic!
I grew up with this movie. I think I saw it for the first time on the wonderful world of Disney. Either that or Mom got it for me at the library & even she likes it.
Jodi foster is both brilliant & lovable! She's believable and as the child her issues where at least believable & somebody I could sypathise with. As an adult in a childs body well...
Published on June 29 2004 by M. M. Jones

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars SILENCE, CURSE YOUR SOUL! I'M SLEEPING!
This movie made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, like someone shoved a wool blanket into my stomach. If you loved Jodie Foster in 'Silence Of The Lambs', you'll love 'Freaky Friday'. Now, first off, I don't like 'Freaky'. Once someone gave me a 'freaky' present for Christmas, and do you know what was inside the box when I unwrapped it? A DEAD RAT! No one needs...
Published on Nov. 10 1999 by GRANT CORLESS! (grant@barking-...


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best nothing beats a classic!, June 29 2004
By 
M. M. Jones "poetsheart" (Chapel hill NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freaky Friday (Bilingual) (DVD)
I grew up with this movie. I think I saw it for the first time on the wonderful world of Disney. Either that or Mom got it for me at the library & even she likes it.
Jodi foster is both brilliant & lovable! She's believable and as the child her issues where at least believable & somebody I could sypathise with. As an adult in a childs body well hillarious! By the way Ben or Ape Face really showed talent. What happened to that kid? He was cute & delivered a preformance of giant perportion that added dynamic to both mother and daughter. Plus that ball game scene & his love & envy of his big sister. The kid had a real talent for delivering dialog, yet also proved though he first apears a little geek that he had a real little boys spirit.
The jokes where clean & in good taste. Yet timeless & funny. Nothing beats a great chase scene & that car chase was both exciting and funny.
I seached long & hard for a copy of the vhs but it'd been vaulted. just when I bought it used My VCR broke & I got a DVD player for my birthday. A week later the DVD came out. Purchase of that DVD is one of the first things I'll do with my next paycheck. It will be money well spent on a classic disney movie I could watch again & again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original 1977 FREAKY FRIDAY Is The Best!, June 13 2004
By 
Donato (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Freaky Friday (Bilingual) (DVD)
For a guy who likes Ingmar Bergman and other indy, artsy films, I guess it seems weird that I bought the DVD of the original FREAKY FRIDAY the minute it hit amazon. But, this film was made in the good old days of Disney, before they lost focus of their business and started behaving like most other monster corporations. This story has had at least 3 lives: the 2003 version (enjoyable), the 90's TV version (I never saw that one), and the one at hand. The original 1977 release gives us the unique pleasure of seeing two wonderful performers, Barbara Harris and Jodie Foster, going through their paces in this mother-daughter-switch tale. Barbara Harris is one of the great performers who never quite made the level of fame she deserved. Whether in her Broadway turns in ON A CLEAR DAY YOU CAN SEE FOREVER and THE APPLE TREE, to several good films, she had an amazing ability to be vulnerable in one moment and seamlessly turn into a glamourous, gutsy bombshell in the next. And her voice! This film and, perhaps, Hitchcock's FAMILY PLOT are nice samplings of her skill. Add in the very young Jodie Foster and you can't lose. (The DVD has a nice on-screen commentary by Foster, which proves how spontaneously articulate she is. Too bad they didn't get Harris to discuss her part.) As an added benefit, the screenplay is by source book author, Mary Rodgers (Richard Rodgers' daughter and author-composer in her own right). For those who like THE GILMORE GIRLS, which is a tremendous and enjoyable example of an almost-impossibly-idealistic relationship between a mother and her daughter, this film will be a nice reality check. Here the mother and daughter can't relate to each other at all until they go through the fiery baptism of spending a day in each other's body. Ultimately, this film provides us with 90-plus minutes of enjoyment and humor in the hands of the very talented cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun from start to finish, June 8 2004
This review is from: Freaky Friday (Bilingual) (DVD)
Freaky Friday is a hilarious film. It is filled with funny, quotable dialogue. The script is great, and what makes it all come together are the performances by it's stars. Jodie Foster is very good and entertaining as Annabel. Barbara Harris as Mrs. Andrews is so wonderful she steals the show. Her transformation into her teenage daughter trying to be a wife and mother is a blast. Barbara Harris has a wacky, rebelliousness that comes though in her performance. It's perfect. Her scenes with Boris (Annabel's teenage crush who lives across the street) and her son Ben, are especially funny.
The young Sparky Marcus as little Ben Andrews is adorable. His scene of confiding in his "mother" about his true feelings for sister Annabel is very touching. Marc McClure as Boris Harris (who makes a cameo appearance in 2003's Freaky Friday as Boris making a delivery) is great in his role as the allergy-prone object of Annabel's affections. Another standout character is Mrs. Schmauss the cleaning lady. Her interactions with "Mrs. Andrews" are side splitting.
The title song, "I'd Like To Be You For A Day", is really beautiful and compliments the sentiment in the film. Freaky Friday is a feel good film with a message that is obvious, but also has a subtle message throughout that reminds us not to take life too seriously. It seems to say "Enjoy the people you love, appreciate their individuality and struggles, and most of all, allow yourself to have fun on this crazy journey."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Disney, June 2 2004
By 
James D. Leverton (San Marcos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freaky Friday (Bilingual) (DVD)
At last, Disney DVD presents a fine, widescreen print of one of its '70's classics with an accompanying twenty-minute recollection by Jodie Foster of her formative years on the Disney lot. Although this DVD of the original "Freaky Friday" is not a special edition, it is exactly the kind of product we Disney fans and DVD purists have been begging for. Hopefully, good sales will lead to new widescreen releases of previously botched fullscreen DVDs of "Follow Me, Boys," "Son of Flubber," "The Gnome Mobile" and "Blackbeard's Ghost," among others.
One of the first of the popular body-switching genre, 1977's "Freaky Friday" is a fast-paced, perceptive comedy about a typical mother-and-daughter relationship and how the two react when they literally switch personalities for a day, with Foster's Annabel trapped in her mother's body, and Barbara Harris' Ellen going to junior high as Annabel. The complications are obvious but nonetheless funny and engaging, with Harris proving herself a skilled physical comedienne while skateboarding, playing baseball, and suffering through numerous pratfalls and humiliations. My only problem with Harris' performance is she seems to be playing Annabel too young--perhaps as a nine-year-old instead of a bright thirteen-year-old, so she's never entirely believable in the role. (Jamie Lee Curtis, on the other hand, nails the teenager-in-a-grownup-body role in the remake.) Foster, on the other hand, is just about perfect in her characterization of daughter/mother Annabel. Even in 1977 it was easy to see this phenomenal young talent was destined for great things as an actress. Indeed, "Freaky Friday" was part of an incredible string of top-notch performances Foster gave from 1973-1977 ("Tom Sawyer," "Echoes of a Summer," "Bugsy Malone," "Taxi Driver," "The Little Girl Who Lives Down the Lane" and "Candleshoe") that turned her into one of the finest (if not THE finest) child actresses of all time.
Rounding out the cast is a fine group of veteran actors: John Astin as Bill Andrews, Annabel's confused father; Patsy Kelly as the family's grumpy and unlikeable housekeeper; Dick Van Patten as Bill's boss; and Ruth Buzzi, in a funny cameo as a field hockey coach (her strategy: "Get Annabel Andrews and get her good!") Gary Nelson's direction is crisp, and the script by novelist Mary Rodgers perceptive for the time, although she was forced to change the plot somewhat to include that tired Disney '70's staple: a protracted slapstick car chase involving Ellen/Annabel outracing several police cars without facing any consequences whatsoever. Like most Disney films of the era, the production values are stellar and the film is colorful and reminiscent of a live-action cartoon. Even the opening cartoon-credit sequence is engaging.
Yes, there are some creepy sexual subtexts here (which Foster amusingly comments on in the documentary) involving Bill and neighbor-teen Boris (Marc McClure) both coming onto Ellen/Annabel, but they will go right over younger kids' heads and older kids will be as amused by it as their parents. Regardless, this is perfect family entertainment and will make a fine double-feature with the 2003 remake, which is equally good with its own merits. (I prefer Jamie Lee Curtis over Harris, and Foster over Lohan and think the remake is more successful in dealing with the sexual subtexts; i.e., the makers wisely scuttle the father's role and make Curtis a widow with a fiance played by Mark Harmon, which was the smartest of many changes made in the plot.)
So, once again, thank you, Disney, for a fine DVD of one of your best '70's films. Please, please, please follow this one up with more widescreen releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremly Funny!!!!!!!!, July 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Freaky Friday (Bilingual) (DVD)
I like this one MUCH better than the remake! Although the remake was still good. It is MUCH closer to the book. It was also more funny and I thought that Jodie Foster did an excellent job as Annabel! MUCH better than Lindsey Lohan. I also thought that Barbara Harris did a great job as Ellen. The Remake is not close to the book at all. After you see the orginal one, you'll probaly think that the remake isn't as good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FREAK ACCIDENT, CLASSIC FISH-OUT-OF-WATER COMEDY, June 1 2004
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Freaky Friday (Bilingual) (DVD)
"Freaky Friday" is a classic Disney comedy that required no remake. As a 'coming of age' film it sincerely examines the trials and tribulations of both parents and children without ever allowing either perspective to become condescendingly smug. After the hysteria that was Haley Mills had cooled in the late sixties the Disney studio began searching for a teenage successor that could ensure box office success in the 1970s. They found their heir apparent in the embodiment of tomboyish, Jodie Foster. In "Freaky Friday" Foster plays Annabelle, the belligerent teenager who can't wait to grow up. She envisions that her mother, Ellen (Barbara Harris) lives a life of elegance and luxury, and, as such, Annabelle longs for just one chance to revel in what she perceives to be the pampered existence of adulthood. Likewise, Ellen can't understand why her teenager daughter complains so much about being a teenager. Both women get a reality check when a 'freak' accident transposes their brains into each other's bodies thus affording them the opportunity to experience each other's lifestyle for one catastrophically hilarious day. John Astin, Dick Van Patten and Ruth Buzzi costar.
TRANSFER: A very nice, very clean looking, anamorphically enhanced presentation. Colors are rich, vibrant and bold. Age related artifacts are a rarity. Rear projection and special effects photography appears worse for the wear than the rest of film, but is only marginally distracting. Contrast and black levels are solid. Overall, the picture has a very smooth characteristic that is easy on the eyes. The audio is mono and somewhat strident but, at a moderate listening level, quite acceptable.
EXTRAS: A thorough retrospective by Jodie Foster and an interactive game.
BOTTOM LINE: Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FREAK ACCIDENT, CLASSIC FISH-OUT-OF-WATER COMEDY, June 1 2004
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Freaky Friday (Bilingual) (DVD)
"Freaky Friday" is a classic Disney comedy that required no remake. As a 'coming of age' film it sincerely examines the trials and tribulations of both parents and children without ever allowing either perspective to become condescendingly smug. After the hysteria that was Haley Mills had cooled in the late sixties the Disney studio began searching for a teenage successor that could ensure box office success in the 1970s. They found their heir apparent in the embodiment of tomboyish, Jodie Foster. In "Freaky Friday" Foster plays Annabelle, the belligerent teenager who can't wait to grow up. She envisions that her mother, Ellen (Barbara Harris) lives a life of elegance and luxury, and, as such, Annabelle longs for just one chance to revel in what she perceives to be the pampered existence of adulthood. Likewise, Ellen can't understand why her teenager daughter complains so much about being a teenager. Both women get a reality check when a 'freak' accident transposes their brains into each other's bodies thus affording them the opportunity to experience each other's lifestyle for one catastrophically hilarious day. John Astin, Dick Van Patten and Ruth Buzzi costar.
TRANSFER: A very nice, very clean looking, anamorphically enhanced presentation. Colors are rich, vibrant and bold. Age related artifacts are a rarity. Rear projection and special effects photography appears worse for the wear than the rest of film, but is only marginally distracting. Contrast and black levels are solid. Overall, the picture has a very smooth characteristic that is easy on the eyes. The audio is mono and somewhat strident but, at a moderate listening level, quite acceptable.
EXTRAS: A 'look back' featurette and interactive game - boring!
BOTTOM LINE: Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Original but try these two..., June 1 2004
By 
J. Aleman (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freaky Friday (Bilingual) (DVD)
OK, I like this original well enough.
I saw it on the Wonderfull World of Disney on TV and then repeats on Cable. I have to agree with some of the other posters that Annabelle being 13 makes the car driving funnier. And "Gomez Adams" as the Dad is also a great plus.
Yet, I personally like the 1st remake with Shelly Long / Gaby Hoffmann. (NOT out on DVD, but I am waiting) Given that its a worn out premise, I like the "feel" of this version. It a more modern look, with out the "too cool" look of the newest version. It has pretty good chemistry with the two leads.
I would also like to recommend another switched-bodies movie that is very cute. Its called "Wish upon a Star" with Danielle Harris / Catherine Heigl. It's a little sister / big sister switch. Just a fun little movie but that has a pretty nice message about sibling opposites understaing each other and getting along. This one is available on DVD, just type it into the search box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Totally Seventies, Nov. 29 2003
This review is from: Freaky Friday (VHS Tape)
First off, it's not as good as the 2003 remake. But it's still good. Barbara Harris as the mother is a hoot, she really captures Jodie Foster's character. Jodie Foster's acting isn't quite up to Harris' level, or Lindsay Lohan's, twenty-six years later. Unfortunately, I didn't see Freaky Friday (1977) until after I had seen the remake, so I couldn't help but compare them as I watched.
The car chase scene at the end is too long, but otherwise the story hangs together (as long as you buy the premise of mother and daughter switching bodies) and is a lot of fun. Although I wouldn't call it sophisticated, sometimes the humor is aimed a bit higher than the pre-teen crowd. Watch John Astin as Annabelle's (Josie Foster) dad perk up when his wife (with his daughter's mind) accidentally calls him "Daddy." The relationship between Annabelle's would-be boyfriend Boris and Annabelle (in her mother's body) doesn't go anywhere, but you can see that Boris wouldn't mind if it did.
And I loved seeing all that Seventies decor again. Trippy, man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fine Disney Fun!, Feb. 28 2003
By 
Aileen (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Freaky Friday (VHS Tape)
This movie has always been my favorite non-animated Disney movie ever since I was a little kid. As I grew up, I grew up, I came to like it more and more each time I saw it. I think that every teenager thinks that their parents have an easy life. Likewise for most parents who sometimes don't remember what it's like to be a teenager.
The basic plotline is that Annabel Andrews and her mother Ellen have an argument and, by some strange coincidence, wish "I wish I could be her for just one day". BANG! They automatically switch minds. They both find that they would rather be in their own shoes than each other's.
I think that this movie deserves to be released on DVD. I highly recommend this version over the remade 1995 version with Shelley Long (of "Cheers" fame). If you had to pick one version to buy, this one--from 1976--is the better choice. There are some scenes which would make you laugh out loud and hard (like the scene in the car where they switch back and all of a sudden Annabel herself is driving (and she's only 13!) or the scene where "Annabel"--remember, her body has her mother's mind in it, and she really doesn't have a clue about most things that go on in Annabel's life--is taking a typing test and accidently destroys the all the typewriters in the room!).
As I said, this version is the better one. I highly recommend that even if you haven't seen it, you should buy or rent it. I guarantee you'll be glad you did. I always feel much better about myself each time I watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freaky Friday (1976)(Quebec Version - French/English) (Version française)
CDN$ 6.25
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews