Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! BackBeat on DVD! A must own for all you rock fans
Ok, this is one of the greatest filmes of all time. First off, The cast memembers that they got to play the Beatles were very uncanney. You couldnt have picked a better cast! The Script was fantastic. Full of Great dialogue! and last, but certainlny not least, The Cinematography. What more can I say? The picture itself is beautiful! It totaly makes the movie. The...
Published on Dec 4 2003 by Vinnie Notabartolo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Needed Work But Was Okay
If you're looking for accurate info on the Beatles I don't know if this movie is the number one choice. But if you're into great Rock N Roll, this movie is pretty good. Stephen Dorff was very good and so was Ian Hart. Sheryl Lee was terrible and didn't fit the role. Sorry but her acting brought down the relationship between Stu and Astrid. Yet she and Dorff...
Published on June 21 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! BackBeat on DVD! A must own for all you rock fans, Dec 4 2003
This review is from: Backbeat (DVD)
Ok, this is one of the greatest filmes of all time. First off, The cast memembers that they got to play the Beatles were very uncanney. You couldnt have picked a better cast! The Script was fantastic. Full of Great dialogue! and last, but certainlny not least, The Cinematography. What more can I say? The picture itself is beautiful! It totaly makes the movie. The Characters themselves are so surreal, I just loved them all! They made you feel like you could have had a good chat with anyone of them. They brought to life a part of the Beatles that very little people saw. You must see this movie if you already havent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Treat for Beatles Fans, April 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Backbeat (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
This movie was so enjoyable. It really gave you the feel of that era and where the phenomenon of the Beatles started. It really emphasized how passionate John was about both his relationship with Stu and his desire to make music. It was so sad that Stu died at such a young age. He was very talented, but wasn't meant to be part of the Beatles. Loved it from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hamburg Days, Sept. 29 2013
By 
Bootsy Bass (Winnipeg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Backbeat (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
Its too bad they never had permission to use original Beatle tunes. All they could use was songs the Beatles covered. Expertly filmed and tell a (mostly) true story of the Beatles Hamburg days. recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic film - great music & a remarkable slice of rock music history., July 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Backbeat (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
The music in this film was recorded by some of the best rock singers going around when the film was made. As good as these recordings are, to me it just highlights what a great rock and roll singer John Lennon was....
There are some flat spots & weak moments, but the film mostly captures the energy & inspiration that became the Beatles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY A GREAT MOVIE, April 22 2004
By 
M. R. Sheffield (Herkimer, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Backbeat (DVD)
I got a kick out of the current "Spotlight" review of this DVD, the one referring to a portrayal of an unrequited "homosexual" love affair between Stuart Sutcliffe and John Lennon. People see what they want to see, I guess, but I didn't see that at all in this wonderful movie. Sure, the John Lennon and Stuart Sutcliffe characters experience a deep felt "love" for each other, but love in a non-sexual sense. A man can feel intense love for another man (or a woman for another woman, a mother and daughter for instance)and it doesn't have to be (nor is it usually) sexual. Maybe it takes a quite a few years to realize it, but sexual love is really the weakest kind of love out there. Sexual love often boils down to nothing more than lust, and the friendship between John Lennon and Stuart Sutcliffe that is portrayed in BACKBEAT is in a world apart from than that.
As most everyone has said, the movie is a absolute delight. The performances are all strong and the cinematography just right. It's one of those films you can watch over and over again, and see something different each time. Most highly recommended, especially to fans of early Beatle music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD release!, Dec 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Backbeat (DVD)
I taped Backbeat from cable two years ago. I had no idea how much my tape sucked until I saw the special features of the DVD. First off I taped it off a bad cable channel so the film was gray and full of snow the entire time. So when I heard the DVD version was coming out, I shouted for joy! I am a hugh Stephen Dorff fan ( he hasn't made many good movies ) which makes me buy any decent film he's been in. DVD lovers will enjoy this special edition release. It has the usual special features like commentary, but it has a screen test section! You get to see the actors studying the part! You get your money's worth buying this on DVD. The only complaint is the photo gallery section. The photos are scrunched in the corner. You can hardly see the pictures. Backbeat fans should get this on DVD now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Backbeat DVD is done right!, Aug. 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Backbeat (DVD)
I'm posting this review to let Backbeat fans know how great the extras are on the disc. The DVD is anamorphic widescreen. The features include the following: feature commentary with director Iain Softley, deleted scenes, interview with director Iain Softley, stills gallery, interview with actor Ian Hart, director's essay, casting sessions, and TV featurette.
Ian Hart is my favorite actor and this is the role that introduced me to him. Backbeat is my favorite film and I am thrilled with finally having it on DVD. This is a film that you will never forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A love story between 2 men...., July 27 2003
By 
Hulka (Washington DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Backbeat (DVD)
When perplexed Roger Ebert reviewed this movie, he joked that saying this movie is about the early Beatles is like saying Hamlet is about a gravedigger who meets a prince.
A synopsis of this movie is: John Lennon convinces Stuart Sutcliffe (Stephen Dorff), an art school friend, to join the band as a bass player. He agrees and off they go to Hamburg. The other band members are bewildered as to why John insists that such an untalented muscian as Stuart Suttcliffe is in the band in the first place. Paul and John have an argument over kicking Suttcliffe off the band, which results in John's threat to quit the band if Suttcliffe is asked to leave. In the meantime, Sutcliffe has met Astrid (Sheryl Lee), a bohemian photographer, who encourages him to pursue his interest in painting. John and Astrid spar over Suttcliffe's affection. After a violent confrontation with Stuart over Asrid, John finally accepts that Stuart is leaving him, and gets on with his life.
One might venture to ask WHY a movie that is supposed to be about the early Beatles has a plot revolving around the relationship between John Lennon and Stuart Suttcliffe?
Stuart Suttcliffe, 'the 5th Beatle' is actually a bit of trivia in the story of the Beatles. On the other hand, it's a key to understanding who John Lennon was.
This is a love story between two men, BEFORE the relatively NEW and rigid concept of orientation was established in the Sexual Revolution of the 70's and 80's. The fact that the intimacy between Lennon and Suttcliffe was never 'consumated' in an actual sex act doesn't detract from the powerful affection between them. It was just the way things were before homosexual Liberation.
This is a beautiful compelling movie. Buy it, rent it, watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love it but ..., July 2 2003
By 
This review is from: Backbeat (DVD)
The movie was a great way to show what Stuart was in the beatles.
The actors that played Stu, John and Paul are very incredible, i even found myself forgeting they were not the real deal. But the only part that bugged me was John singing a little richard song when We all know that Paul was the only one to sing those. Hey forget what i said it is a very good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Needed Work But Was Okay, June 21 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Backbeat (DVD)
If you're looking for accurate info on the Beatles I don't know if this movie is the number one choice. But if you're into great Rock N Roll, this movie is pretty good. Stephen Dorff was very good and so was Ian Hart. Sheryl Lee was terrible and didn't fit the role. Sorry but her acting brought down the relationship between Stu and Astrid. Yet she and Dorff surprisingly had chemistry. BackBeat is full of class and humorous charm. This film is not perfect by all means...but so so entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3649aa4)

This product

Backbeat (Collector's Edition)
Backbeat (Collector's Edition) by Iain Softley (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 13.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews