Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! BackBeat on DVD! A must own for all you rock fans
Ok, this is one of the greatest filmes of all time. First off, The cast memembers that they got to play the Beatles were very uncanney. You couldnt have picked a better cast! The Script was fantastic. Full of Great dialogue! and last, but certainlny not least, The Cinematography. What more can I say? The picture itself is beautiful! It totaly makes the movie. The...
Published on Dec 4 2003 by Vinnie Notabartolo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
This movie is okay--at least there's a minimal resemblance to the real people. Based on what I've read about the Beatles over the years-there seems to be a bit of revisionism in this movie--examples are Stu Sutcliffe mentioning "8 days a week" and John, "A Hard Days Night" even though Paul says a taxi driver gave him the words, "8 days a...
Published on Feb. 15 2001 by Robert E VandenHeuvel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! BackBeat on DVD! A must own for all you rock fans, Dec 4 2003
This review is from: Backbeat (DVD)
Ok, this is one of the greatest filmes of all time. First off, The cast memembers that they got to play the Beatles were very uncanney. You couldnt have picked a better cast! The Script was fantastic. Full of Great dialogue! and last, but certainlny not least, The Cinematography. What more can I say? The picture itself is beautiful! It totaly makes the movie. The Characters themselves are so surreal, I just loved them all! They made you feel like you could have had a good chat with anyone of them. They brought to life a part of the Beatles that very little people saw. You must see this movie if you already havent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY A GREAT MOVIE, April 22 2004
By 
M. R. Sheffield (Herkimer, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Backbeat (DVD)
I got a kick out of the current "Spotlight" review of this DVD, the one referring to a portrayal of an unrequited "homosexual" love affair between Stuart Sutcliffe and John Lennon. People see what they want to see, I guess, but I didn't see that at all in this wonderful movie. Sure, the John Lennon and Stuart Sutcliffe characters experience a deep felt "love" for each other, but love in a non-sexual sense. A man can feel intense love for another man (or a woman for another woman, a mother and daughter for instance)and it doesn't have to be (nor is it usually) sexual. Maybe it takes a quite a few years to realize it, but sexual love is really the weakest kind of love out there. Sexual love often boils down to nothing more than lust, and the friendship between John Lennon and Stuart Sutcliffe that is portrayed in BACKBEAT is in a world apart from than that.
As most everyone has said, the movie is a absolute delight. The performances are all strong and the cinematography just right. It's one of those films you can watch over and over again, and see something different each time. Most highly recommended, especially to fans of early Beatle music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A love story between 2 men...., July 27 2003
By 
Hulka (Washington DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Backbeat (DVD)
When perplexed Roger Ebert reviewed this movie, he joked that saying this movie is about the early Beatles is like saying Hamlet is about a gravedigger who meets a prince.
A synopsis of this movie is: John Lennon convinces Stuart Sutcliffe (Stephen Dorff), an art school friend, to join the band as a bass player. He agrees and off they go to Hamburg. The other band members are bewildered as to why John insists that such an untalented muscian as Stuart Suttcliffe is in the band in the first place. Paul and John have an argument over kicking Suttcliffe off the band, which results in John's threat to quit the band if Suttcliffe is asked to leave. In the meantime, Sutcliffe has met Astrid (Sheryl Lee), a bohemian photographer, who encourages him to pursue his interest in painting. John and Astrid spar over Suttcliffe's affection. After a violent confrontation with Stuart over Asrid, John finally accepts that Stuart is leaving him, and gets on with his life.
One might venture to ask WHY a movie that is supposed to be about the early Beatles has a plot revolving around the relationship between John Lennon and Stuart Suttcliffe?
Stuart Suttcliffe, 'the 5th Beatle' is actually a bit of trivia in the story of the Beatles. On the other hand, it's a key to understanding who John Lennon was.
This is a love story between two men, BEFORE the relatively NEW and rigid concept of orientation was established in the Sexual Revolution of the 70's and 80's. The fact that the intimacy between Lennon and Suttcliffe was never 'consumated' in an actual sex act doesn't detract from the powerful affection between them. It was just the way things were before homosexual Liberation.
This is a beautiful compelling movie. Buy it, rent it, watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a love story....., June 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Backbeat [Import] (VHS Tape)
Like most bisexuals, I hold with the belief that your true sexual orientation is expressed by who you fall in love with, not necessarily about who you are having sex with, or even who you marry. Any sensitive person can see that the REAL love story here was the one between John Lennon and Stu Suttcliff.
Stu was John Lennon's first real crush, a love he expressed in his attachement toward Stu. But like so many same-sex innocent adolesencent or young adult homosexual crushes, it was never physically expressed.
Most gay or bisexual man can recite for you a number of these frustrating adolescent crushes. You knew that you felt a powerful emotional attraction to someone, but you were too young and ignorant to understand what it was. Or if you did understand it, you were too scared to do anything about it.
It is a mystery what Stu felt, and the movie is ambiguous about it as well. But what John felt is plainly obvious. This movie certainly sheds a lot of light on the nature of John Lennon, and adds more evidence to those who have pointed out the underlying gay aesthetics of the early Beatles.
Gay or straight, rent this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's the Goods..., Sept. 13 2000
By 
Greekfreak (Pusan Korea (South)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Backbeat [Import] (VHS Tape)
All the best musical documentary-based films succeed in doing one thing, even if nothing else--which is that they remind you how good the music was during it's day. There was some critical lambasting of the soundtrack, and it's use of non-British musicians/singers as a surrogate Beatles, but that's merely sour grapes, because none of the current British pop stars could have made this material work. NOW, onto the film.
It's true, Ian Hart (who's recently been called to reprise this role) as John Lennon steals the show; even if he doesn't physically resemble Lennon, his cynical rock-star-to-be persona is well represented here. Ditto the actor who plays Paul McCartney, but this is, after all, the John and Stu show. Cheryll Lee is mediocre as Astrid (how would WE know, anyway?), and Stephen Dorff pulls off the Liverpudlian accent quite admirably for an American actor.
Like Alan Parker's "The Committments", the music is the centrepiece of the film, but unlike that film, the story has more than enough substance to occupy our attention the whole way through. I especially liked the art-school/Ingrid subtext, making the viewer wonder if Lennon was looking for an 'Astrid' when he settled for Yoko.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie rocked and rolled, May 15 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Backbeat [Import] (VHS Tape)
This movie has everything from tear-jerking emotion to all-out action. The actors portraying the characters of John Lennon and Stuart Sutcliffe (Ian Hart and Stephen Dorff) are fantastic in their roles as do-or-die best friends. This movie really captured the rough and tumble action of the early days of the Beatles, and the heartbreakingly deep friendship between John and Stu. The acting is amazing and really grabs you by the heartstrings. I never cry during movies, but the ending to this one had me bawling, something that's very rare. But despite this, Backbeat is a wonderful mix of charismatic fun, tough attitudes, unbreakable friendships, betrayl, and of course great music. This is by far the best movie made about the Beatles, and even if you aren't a fan of theirs you won't be able to help yourself from liking this non-stop thrill ride of a movie. I also loved the way it gives long over-due credit to to my personal favorite member of the early group, Stuart Sutcliffe, who died before the band made it big, and left the future biggest band in the world, for love and to do what he wanted to do despite the fact that it was one of the hardest things he ever did because of his friendship with John. In short, this movie was a really well-crafted piece of entertainment that also serves to give respect to one of the least well-known but greatest painters of our time who was also a big influence on the greatest band of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD release!, Dec 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Backbeat (DVD)
I taped Backbeat from cable two years ago. I had no idea how much my tape sucked until I saw the special features of the DVD. First off I taped it off a bad cable channel so the film was gray and full of snow the entire time. So when I heard the DVD version was coming out, I shouted for joy! I am a hugh Stephen Dorff fan ( he hasn't made many good movies ) which makes me buy any decent film he's been in. DVD lovers will enjoy this special edition release. It has the usual special features like commentary, but it has a screen test section! You get to see the actors studying the part! You get your money's worth buying this on DVD. The only complaint is the photo gallery section. The photos are scrunched in the corner. You can hardly see the pictures. Backbeat fans should get this on DVD now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, Feb. 15 2001
By 
Robert E VandenHeuvel (Verona Beach, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Backbeat [Import] (VHS Tape)
This movie is okay--at least there's a minimal resemblance to the real people. Based on what I've read about the Beatles over the years-there seems to be a bit of revisionism in this movie--examples are Stu Sutcliffe mentioning "8 days a week" and John, "A Hard Days Night" even though Paul says a taxi driver gave him the words, "8 days a week" and Ringo is credited with "A Hard Days Night" as one of his more famous malapropisms. Despite these type incidents-the movie is still fairly enjoyable, although it's really the Stu and Astrid story with a lot of John Lennon. Paul to a slight degree and George and Pete are treated as insignificant characters. Still, it's worth watching if your a Beatle buff/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A graphic look at the making of legends., Jan. 10 2002
This review is from: Backbeat [Import] (VHS Tape)
Backbeat is a raunchy glimpse into the world of a Rock 'n Roll band in the making. Even though this movie is set before The Beatles were famous, it holds a distinction not far from the grunge holes and influences modern day rockers get their starts. If you're tired of hearing the numerous "Fab Saints" portrayal of the group, this is for you. It is hardcore, authentic, engaging, and retrospective look that passes as if it happened today. You'll miss Ringo, but a look at Stu Sutcliffe's relationship with Lennon, his death, and the former Pete Best on drums bring the story before Ringo to life. Astrid Kirchherr and Klaus Voorman are vividly portrayed in this wild ride of the early years. The Beatles...bad as they wanna be...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Had Mixed Feelings About This Movie At First., May 29 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Backbeat [Import] (VHS Tape)
When I first saw this movie, I wasn't sure what to make about it. I am a Beatles fan, and I always expected them to be perfectly faithful and never mean. I was wrong. This movie showed an evil side to Lennon and nice side to Stu. Now I realize that I enjoyed this movie. It was more realistic than any documentary film I have seen on them. Most movies about them talk about how perfect they were. And how smily and cheerful they were. This movie was not only sweet and funny, it was also tragic and real. So if you want to see a movie that is good, but also shows the truth behind the Beatles, this is a good pick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Backbeat (Collector's Edition)
Backbeat (Collector's Edition) by Iain Softley (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 13.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews