Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Woman's Day
A pretty young novelist rents a secluded cabin in the woods in order to have a nice, quiet place in which to hunker down and start writing the great American novel. But instead of peace and serenity, she ends up as the victim of brutal rape and torture at the hands of a band of semi-literate rednecks. She somehow survives the ordeal, though, and after regaining her...
Published on June 30 2004 by Michael R Gates

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Attention all Joe Bob Briggs Fans!
I bought this DVD for one reason and one reason only: Joe Bob Briggs. As an avid watcher of Monstervision, my Saturday nights have been dull and barren without my weekly Joe Bob fix (and yes, I know that makes me a geek and a loser -- ask me if I care!). So when I saw that he does a full-length commentary on this particular DVD, I really had no choice but to buy it. I...
Published on March 7 2004 by Blue Ridge Book Lover


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Contrived, Dull, and Melodramatic, Feb. 22 2004
By 
IAN "IAN" (The World of Movies) - See all my reviews
I Spit on your Grave is first and foremost, an awful title for a film. The word "art" should never again be associated with this contrived and melodramatic film. The rape scenes are filmed from the rapists' point of view, and are FAR too long, in the sense that after 20 minutes, they lose their power, thus it becomes pornography. According to this sexploitation movie, revenge is a churchoing solution to violence. Something unforgivably dull about this movie is that there is NO soundtack. You would think they would learn that music is powerful after the harmonica scene, but unfortunately not. "I'm telling you (the town) it's too peaceful" is an example of the laughable dialouge that painfully ensues.
Save yourself the misery and instead buy the powerful, artistic rape film "Last House on the Left" which is great whatever you classify it as, horror, rape, revenge, or 70's darkness. But sadly, I Spit works on no levels, so don't waste you're money on it like I did.
Last Note- I Spit on Your Grave shows the rape victim get dirtier as she is sexually assaulted, and she is olny clean when she kills her assailents 'gloriously'. In Last House on the Left, it is the killers that become dirty and discusting after destroying their victim's innocence and lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars BARFARAMA!, Feb. 19 2004
This review is from: I Spit on Your Grave (VHS Tape)
Yuuch! what the hell is up with that, this is not a horror film it's only mad ass violance. I did not know what hell I was watching I give the movie credit for it's nice scenery of big green trees and river oh yeah and the chick camille was nice too, but the rest of film can go in the garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars BARFARAMA!, Feb. 19 2004
This review is from: I Spit on Your Grave (VHS Tape)
Yuuch! what the hell is up with that, this is not a horror film it's only mad ass violance. I did not know what hell I was watching I give the movie credit for it's nice scenery of big green trees and river oh yeah and the chick camile was nice too, but the rest of film can go in the garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spit is a classic of it's time. -Mixter of other Cliche's., Feb. 18 2004
By A Customer
This is a wildly intense horror film of it's time. -"I
Spit On Your Grave." -Grapples many horror cliches on
screen. -Camille Keaton. -Plays a women victim of rape
and unless she can put a stop two it. -She can. -This
movie holds the barrier for wes cravens. -The Last
House On The Left. -Which was the best movie ever
made. -And I think. -The director might of that
and write his own version of rape and torture. -I
may just give away a little on this film. -It starts
out as the nice girl going on vacation and is
confronted by some hoods and they beat her up
in a cabin and she escapes and enact a bloody
revenge on the hoods. -I saw this movie some time ago on
Video. -VHS. -And the movie looked grainy in it's hay day.
this makes the perfect transfer now on DVD. -I am glad
that; -Horror; -Garu. -Joe Bob Briggs. -Still cares about
the horror genera. -I hope he keeps it up the day he dies.
I can't believe they did not ask him two do a commentary
for; -The Texas Chainsaw Massacre. -Special Edition. -And
The Last House On the Left. -The two films that Monster
vision never allowed two show. -TNT. -Was sinsere on
cinsor part. -Briggs. -Is the best commentator.
I've wish they make him. -President.. -Of; -DVD Horror.
Back two the Indy Horror slasher. -This is The Last House On
The Left; -clone. -It is one of the second best and I do
compare it two that flick. -Ms. -Keaton. -Does a good job.
Specially she may be related to. -Mr. -Batman. -Him self.
Michael Keaton. -I don't care how badly the critics squash
these movies. -Their good. -They just tell a story like it
is. -Specially. -I know the kid is mentally handicap.
I seen the part where she is sunbathing on a boat and
spotting the guys. -Their I said. -This is a great horror
movie. -In it's dark nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What A Movie!, Feb. 18 2004
For a very long time, I contemplated purchasing the movie. After reading reviews about it, I decided to purchase the Millennium Edition. I was not let down! This movie is one of the best I have ever seen, as far as violence and revenge go. It is a gut-wrenching flick! If you're looking for hot babes getting naked , forget about it! But, if you can tolerate watching an attractive big city girl get raped (several times, mind you) and then get revenge on her attackers, you will definitely be interested in this one. All I can say, I am glad to have the movie in my hands now, and I can watch it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW WHAT A RAPE MOVIE, Feb. 11 2004
By 
Nicholas F. Dandrea (bellmore ny 11710, new york United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
when i first saw this movie i thought it wasen't gonna be that good. BUT BOY WAS I WRONG. this movie was so strong with violence and rape that i thought i was watching a real rape scene. the girl in this film played a part that i never seen anyone play in a movie. she was incredible. if you like a action packed gore rape movie then this is the one. because the rape scene in this movie blew the death wish movies away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wow..........oh yeah did i mention Wow, Nov. 28 2003
By 
A. Simmons "HENDRIX" (PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let me first start off by saying that i am horror fan thru and thru but this was somthin i wasn't really expecting in a movie.
I heard about this movie from people, about how shocking it was and how just plain raw it was. Now i have seen all The Faces of Death and alot of gore in my day, but this was different.This movie made my stomach turn with its vivid depiction of rape.I mean the rape sequences in this movie are unparallel to anything i have ever seen or want to see for that matter. I gave it four stars just because of how powerful of a movie it really is.
The revenge plot to the movie is sweet the kills kinda like friday the 13th... the film it self is low budget but i think thats why its good, gives it a sense of realism. Let me warn you if you think this is another Halloween or Texas Chainsaw Massacre your dead wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Long before Lorena Bobbit, there was Jennifer, Nov. 25 2003
By 
Jennifer is a writer who heads out to a country cabin to spend time writing her novel. What she didn't count on was the small town local yokels, a group of savage .... rednecks who see her as an easy target.
Which she is. They all set upon her and rape her one by one, in a fairly drawn out part of the movie. She is raped, then let go, then caught and raped again, then let go, then caught and raped again, and so forth. Finally, the "boys" convince the dim-witted grocery deliver boy to go back in and kill her, which he finds he cannot do, so he fakes it.
So what's a girl to do? Instead of reporting the crimes, Jennifer decides to get even. One by one, she picks her assailants off. The bathtub scene is not to be missed, and what separates this from the rest of the cheesily made 70's splatter films is her languid calmness as she sets about her business.
The down side of this is that the DVD version promises digital remastering. That's fine, but don't count on good sound quality, if they remastered the video they seemed to have forgotten about the audio. The sound is as bad as it was in the original.
What made this movie so scandelous back in the 70's was the nudity and what was, back then, a fairly realistic and brutally intact rape scene. Watching it again now, it is as cheesy as the rest of the movie, and yet still holds it's entertainment value against the newer and better made films.
If you are a fan of cheesy older splatter films, you will love this movie. If you are not, you might want to pick up something else. All in all, I give it four stars. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars i sat through this movie?!, Nov. 24 2003
By A Customer
i could almost say this movie is bad all around, with the terrible acting and 20 mintute rape scene. however i guess if you like a lot of 70's gore, this one might be right up your alley. my problem with this movie isnt so much about the violence, its that all the characters were kinda flat. the four of the rapists didnt have much personality, you have the lead rapist, matthew the dimwhitted one, then two other guys who bearly even talked in the movie. jennifer was also a dull character, although she did a better acting job then the 4 goons did.
the rape scene was like 20 mintutes long, and violent and explicit, but the revenge scenes were quick, the only interesting revenge scene was the one in the bathtub, it was something you couldnt seem to look away from. and the guy getting hung was ok, but the last 2 kills were hurried at the end. so that was a gripe with me, and i dont think the rape scene needed to be that long, for one to get the idea how awful rape is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great �Hack �Em Up� Film with Feminist Agenda, Nov. 15 2003
As a slasher movie, it stands the test of time. However, the movie and the story both need work. Since reality programming is now all the rage and people expect a sensibility of reality in their movies, I'll approach my review from the standpoint of the social aura that defines society as of 2003. In other words, I'll cover how the society and this movie feed off one another. It may not be fair to hold a piece from 1978 to the fires of 2003, but I'm going to do it anyway.
I would first make the woman less helpless. She's smart and sophisticated, like most city women, but she doesn't seem strong enough to live in the city. I would give her a bit more strength and common sense. Playing her as a helpless little girly-girl and a pure victim throughout most of the movie should offend most feminists.
However, the "helpless woman" is a powerful ideal that allows women in our modern society to play both sides of the fence in social and legal arenas. Women love to be strong, yet helpless. Empowered, yet underprivileged. Equal, yet they must receive special considerations. Sadly, this enigma is a social phenomenon that allows this movie to work well.
Only a woman can be a helpless killer.
To maintain this unique social power, feminists will turn a blind eye to all fiction and non-fiction characters that portray women in this light. The best way to avoid exposure of the feminist agenda in this script is to distract the moviegoer by pointing a finger directly at what one can visually see: The Rape Scenes.
These scenes are powerful on a disturbing level. But who is it that is committing the rapes? There are four "men" in this group. However, only two of the characters were effectively developed. The Alpha Male (the leader) and Matthew (the retarded man) were developed in such a way that you cared about them a little. However, they were depicted as back-wood country boys (ref: really stupid) who only think with the little head between their legs.
This is about as accurate a depiction of men as the character of the woman. Are women really this helpless and naïve? Are men really this stupid and hormone-driven? These characters are simplistic at best and offensive at worst.
To make the pack of men stronger, I would get rid of one of the miscellaneous friends and develop the third one more. Make the men a little bit smarter; bring the overall challenge to a higher level. People are more complex than what we see on this screen.
I would also get rid of a few scenes. The "Forgive Me" scene in the church was gratuitous at best. Does this woman need an excuse to kill? Does she require forgiveness? She has a good reason to want them dead. Reporting them to the police wouldn't result in a good slasher movie, though, unless the guys killed the one-man police force and brought more peril to the situation (a-la "Misery").
Even if the guys didn't rape her, she could use PMS as a legal defense and no jury would convict her.
Another scene that needs to be cut is the "Missing Husband" scene, where the Alpha Male's fat, bull-dykish, grumpy wife bounces around the yard outside the gas station, wondering where her loser husband has gone. She is not concerned that something bad may have happened to him. Her presence only serves to solidify the feminist agenda of this script.
If my observations do not convince you that feminist tone exists in the film, how about the original title. "Day of the Woman" says it all.
This agenda is so overwhelming that everybody misses the FOURTH rape. What I'm talking about is the rape of Matthew. He just wanted to fit in with the guys and got sucked into their idiocy and mayhem. It was most disturbing when the leader was showing him how to kill with a knife, sending him in the house to do the dirty work. In a feminist light, this shows the true cowardice of the men. However, it could be argued that, if the Alpha Male had carried out the stabbing, Matthew would have blabbed it out at the diner (which he blabs on himself later). Matthew was a pawn in their game.
Finally, I would move the scenes around. Having cut one of the male friends out of the picture, I would kill the least popular one first (maybe the guy wearing the suspenders). Then I'd take Matthew out, and finally blow my cinematic load with the bathroom scene. As the movie stands now, I think that the bathroom scene is the climax of the movie. After this scene, I didn't care about the other two. Having them team up on her was the only (partially) saving grace.
When I got my driver's license in 1980 at the age of 16, the first thing I did was drive to the big city from my little Indiana country town, go to the midnight movie, and see "I Spit On Your Grave." I couldn't wait for the slashing to begin.
Even with my teen hormones awhirl, the rape scenes were still disturbing to me. This gives me hope that all people are not victims of their hormones, especially men who commit the heinous act of rape and women who kill their spouses and children under the guise of PMS.
Those who say that this movie glorifies raping women are missing the bigger picture. Nobody has tackled the notion that there could be an insidious message that it's socially acceptable to kill a man or sever his member because he's "being a man" (insert feminist definition here).
This proves one thing; that this film allows a person to take away from it exactly what they bring into the theatre. The Mysogynist and Mysandrist alike (and normal folks), can revel in the shallow filthiness of this movie.
I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Spit On Your Grave-Mille
I Spit On Your Grave-Mille by Meir Zarchi (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 39.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews