Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit long but good
This is a must have if you are a fan of Rock Hudson. I liked this miniseries but it takes a bit to get into it. If you get bored easily it may not be for you.
Published 4 months ago by Mark Feuer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hudson Rocks Martians on DVD
The 1980 television adaption of Ray Bradbury's book, The Martian Chronicles, spanning 293 minutes, in three parts, The Expeditions, The Settlers, and The Martians, stars film great, Rock Hudson, Darren McGavin(The Night Stalker), Bernie Casey(The Gargoyles, Revenge of the Nerds), Roddy McDowall(Planet of the Apes) and Fritz Weaver(Marathon Man, Tales from the Darkside),...
Published on July 16 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hudson Rocks Martians on DVD, July 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Martian Chronicles, the (DVD)
The 1980 television adaption of Ray Bradbury's book, The Martian Chronicles, spanning 293 minutes, in three parts, The Expeditions, The Settlers, and The Martians, stars film great, Rock Hudson, Darren McGavin(The Night Stalker), Bernie Casey(The Gargoyles, Revenge of the Nerds), Roddy McDowall(Planet of the Apes) and Fritz Weaver(Marathon Man, Tales from the Darkside), to name a few. The mini-series attempts to encapsulate the saga of Bradbury's jaunt to Mars and how Earth people would greet Martians upon first contact and visa versa. The British(Fries Entertainment) production lacked in impressive special effects compared to theatrical releases of the time(Star Wars, Logan's Run), but made effective use of makeup and contact lenses for the Martians, as well as an other-worldly, spiritually soothing soundtrack for the title's name-sake, although much of the music sounds dated by today's standards. MGM's 2 disc set seems to be devoid of any extras, similarly to MGM's recent and slightly disappointing DVD release of the apocalyptic tele-movie, The Day After(1983-Jason Robards;The UK version of The Day After has a running commentary track with director, Nicholas Meyers), but hopefully will maintain the color and crispness of the VHS three-tape set(Fries Classic Collection), not to be mistaken by other incarnations recorded at EP, and should actually be improved upon with the DVD format. The Martian Chronicles is slated to be released on DVD in its original mono soundtrack with English, French and Spanish subtitles. Despite any extra material, MGM, however, has thankfully authored this film to DVD for posterity, and I look forward to adding it to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit long but good, May 11 2014
By 
Mark Feuer (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Martian Chronicles, the (DVD)
This is a must have if you are a fan of Rock Hudson. I liked this miniseries but it takes a bit to get into it. If you get bored easily it may not be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great movie, March 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Martian Chronicles, the (DVD)
movie was great and I like to watch this over and over again. Brings back memories from when i read the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy can still be insightful, Sept. 21 2010
This review is from: Martian Chronicles, the (DVD)
I first saw this 15 years ago and I had been looking for it since. Its very focused on the cold war era, and the fears and predictions of the future. It is still true today that change in the way things are done needs to come and change good or bad is inevitable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spender, July 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Martian Chronicles, the (DVD)
loved it back in 1980.got video release from 1987 but it is edited hope this is full version.hope it will be released here in uk region2.it just encapsulated me when first released
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Martian Chronicles, the
Martian Chronicles, the by Rock Hudson (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 106.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews