Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touchable...
This film marks several remarkable firsts: The first true representation of a David Mamet film script (although "The Verdict" in 1980 came first), the leading-man status of Kevin Costner (deservedly so, since despite disasters like "The Postman" and "3000 Miles to Graceland", he's a very good actor with a very impressive resume and an Oscar to boot), Sean Connery's first...
Published on July 13 2004 by James Donnelly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unexciting but entertaining.
The sets, and the cinematography are beautiful, and DePalma's direction is as good as always, particularly his long panning shots. However Costner is a disgrace to this movie. How this man was a leading man in hollywood only adds volumes to what was known as a terrible time for movies - the late 80s-to early 90s period. "I want to get Capone" Pay attention to...
Published on March 25 2004 by Lucian


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touchable..., July 13 2004
This film marks several remarkable firsts: The first true representation of a David Mamet film script (although "The Verdict" in 1980 came first), the leading-man status of Kevin Costner (deservedly so, since despite disasters like "The Postman" and "3000 Miles to Graceland", he's a very good actor with a very impressive resume and an Oscar to boot), Sean Connery's first Oscar win, also very much deserved, and most importantly, the first good film from Brian De Palma. People call films like "Body Double", "Carrie", "Blow Out" and "Dressed to Kill" classics... why they do, I have nary a clue. Those are some of the worst rip-off films in history. His "Hitchcockian" feeling is, to me, straight-up plagarism. He rips off plots and shots that are embarassing mish-moshes of Hitch's best (and worst) stuff. And did you see "Mission to Mars"? I didn't think so. And the only people that I can imagine that liked "Femme Fatale" were fans of the bathroom sequence (If you saw it, you know what I'm talking about). The only other film of his that was worth watching was "Mission: Impossible". But "The Untouchables" is a real work of art. I won't go into plot points, but I'll comment on the film's great points: 1) The dialogue is sparkling. Mamet makes these people real as opposed to just making them standard action caricatures (the young idealist, the grizzled old wise-man, the cocky rookie, and the dorky fifth-wheel). 2) The performances are top-notch. Costner, Connery, Martin Smith, Garcia, De Niro, and an underrated performance from Richard Bradford as Chief Dorsett really help to pull this film off. They give it all they got. They make the tragedy and drama and excitement and horror and triumpth of this film work. 3) The visuals are stunning. Stephen Burum really makes that camera work, especially with those beautiful shots of LaSalle Street. This film is a great revisionist telling of the Eliot Ness vs. Al Capone brawl. The film obviously takess a lot of liberties with history, but they really work, especially with the dispatching of one particularly bad man which in my opinion makes for the MOST satisfying film death EVER. It really makes you happy to watch this guy bite it ("Did he sound anything like THAT?!?"). This is a great film and I could not recommend it more highly. But go ahead and skip the rest of De Palma's 'classics'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love the movie and it's series, June 28 2004
By A Customer
hello,my name's aaron johnson
the reason i'm writting this review for the untouchables film
is because i've seen it so many times that i enjoy how malone says his famous line to elliot , the one about getting capone
anyway, the whole entire plot is excellent
especially when the federal agents try to stop capone's men in time
the other reason i'm writting in this review , is because i've seen the untouchables tv series
and i'm wondering this very question ;
"when will the untouchables tv series from 1993
be out on dvd"
because i think that people would enjoy the entire [whatever how many seasons it ran for [if it was one or two] of the series
i'm sure a lot of other customers would appreciate the untouchables tv series on dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious, flawed gangster film, Feb. 10 2014
By 
Jon Corelis (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Untouchables might be said to be less than the sum of its parts. Certain of those parts are very good indeed: Sean Connery gives an Oscar winning performance as a street-wise Irish-American cop, Robert De Niro is unforgettable as Al Capone (though he's not actually on screen that much), the atmosphere of Prohibition-era Chicago is elaborately and convincingly realized, and certain of the cinematic set-pieces, like the justly famous midnight shoot-out in Chicago's train station, are about as good as they can be. But against this, Kevin Costner's performance as Eliot Ness is wooden, the scenes with his family seem too goody-goody, as if the film were straining to make a point of the decent values he's defending, and, with the exception of Connery's character, it's hard to feel much empathy with either the good guys or the bad guys. All in all, an ambitious film which ends up being a bravura piece of film making but a good, not great, gangster movie. Rated R for occasional language and lots of graphic violence. Available in various DVD issues, including a recent Blu-Ray; I saw it on the 2004 Paramount standard DVD Collector's Edition, and I thought the DVD quality was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie, May 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I watched this when it came out decades ago and loved it then. I figured it was time to show it to my son, and he thoroughly enjoyed it too. Classic movie, the additional features were disappointing but then we just wanted to watch the movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Introduction to Gangsterhood, July 16 2003
By 
RLangdon80 "Ron" (Manila, Philippines) - See all my reviews
A superb cast of highly talented and big stars of Hollywood! I couldn't believe that a director like Brian de Palma would have an ensemble of actors of fine performances...Sean Connery, Kevin Costner, Andy Garcia, and yes, even Robert De Niro. It's an all-star cast in a movie full of adventure and crime-wreckening investigations! What more can you ask? I definitely commend the director for a breath-taking scene to which Agent Ness fiercely show a gun-fight scene to Al Capone's boys. Sean Connery is truly deserved to be awarded of Academy Best Supporting Actor, he played Jim Mallone...who was responsible in forming the The Untouchables...too bad, he has to die in the movie.
How I wish that The Untouchables did not dissolved so fast (because members were killed by Capone's boys) so that they will came up a face to face battle with Al Capone's gangster. Though it is sufficient that De Palma showed a fight scene somewhere at the bridge but it is better if he has another fight scene at the climax of the film but he did not.
This is a good introduction film for those people who want to know the nature of gangster and somehow, know Al Capone better. To be honest, I don't like gangster movie at first, but when I watched this film...oh boy...it is one hell of a ride! Maybe I should also watch The Godfather...don't you think?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of talk and a badge? Never., July 26 2001
By 
GLENN WHELAN (Winter Park, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the most entertaining distractions of the last quarter century, Brian DePalma's THE UNTOUCHABLES is great nostalgic fun. Filled with some great performances (Andy Garcia and Kevin Costner when their film work wasn't so self-indulgent, Robert DeNiro masterfully chewing the scenery to excess, and Sean Connery with a beautifully subtle turn as an irish beat cop), The film takes us into a comic world of prohibition Chicago, namely the battle between Al Capone's underworld and Elliot Ness' few uncorrupt police. Even with the comic depth of the story, the film is deeply graphic and bloody and definitely not for the squeamish or the pre-pubescent. DePalma's borrows from some of films early masters (Hitchcock, Eisentstein, Ford) to create the film's style. It, along with a great score by the prolific Ennio Morricone and fabulous production design (and great opening credits) makes the film. Let's do some good. The DVD is a nice widescreen transfer but lacks any other bells and whistles. Let's do some good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best in class, Aug. 30 2010
By 
This is one of the nest movies I have ever watched.
Its a one classic movie that you can see it anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Somebody messes with me, I'm gonna mess with him", Jan. 8 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I am what you could call a relatively new movie fan. I have always liked movies, but I didn't use to watch too many of them. Things have changed, but due to that previous attitude, I still have a lot of old movies to "discover". That is the reason why from time to time I find some jewels that were released a long time ago, but that are totally new to me. "The untouchables" (1987) is, of course, one of such movies.

This film is set in Chicago, during the prohibition, a time were mobsters had enormously increased their influence due to the contraband of alcohol. The most important of all mobsters was Al Capone (wonderfully played by Robert De Niro), whose influence was pervasive and somehow accepted by most as a fact of reality. Capone controlled Chicago with force and bribes, and a philosophy that the scriptwriter of this movie (David Mamet) summed up in a phrase that the actor that plays Capone said: "Somebody messes with me, I'm gonna mess with him".

Things change when a newcomer to the city, federal agent Elliot Ness, forms a small group to fight crime and target Capone's shady dealings. The team formed by Ness, an old Chicago cop (Sean Connery), a rookie police officer (Andy Garcia) and an accountant (Charles Martin Smith), replays in a highly entertaining way Brian de Palma's cinematographic version of the group called "The untouchables".

It is worthwhile to highlight the fact that you shouldn't expect a movie that tells the historical truth about that period in America's history. If that is your purpose, I think that you are likely to be sorely disappointed. However, if you want to watch a great film, with wonderful performances and marked by a dynamic pace, rent this movie :)

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish Film, Neat Edition, Nov. 12 2005
By 
Greg "neurosky" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Besides Sean Connery and Robert De Niro the actors in this low-budget film were mostly unheard of before this classic blockbuster hit the big screen. It made Keven Costner a star, and helped the careers of Andy Garcia and Charles Martin Smith as well. A chacter-driven, stylish gangster film, with De Niro giving a gang lord performance of the ranks of "the Godfather". His performance is truly remarkable to watch, but then so are those of the other actors. The story doesn't really go into gangster politics or how the Untouchables made their busts, it but it focuses instead on the characters -- the Untouchables family, Capone's family, and Ness' home family. (Family seems to be its central theme.) It's a great film to sit back with some popcorn or beer and enjoy.
This edition has special features which look into script, cast, the making and release of the film. It interviews Costner, Connery, Garcia, Smith, and its director, Brian DePalma, in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great gangster cartoon!, May 18 2004
By 
hjonkers (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
The Untouchables tells the story of four policemen who fight Al Capone during the prohibition of the 30's. Don't expect anything like The Godfather though: this movie merely aims at -sometimes cartoonish- entertainment. Don't be surprised with the stereotypical characters and story and the all too colourful 30's setting. It's just how this movie works. Robert de Niro's Al Capone is excellent as the funny bad guy, Kevin Costner and Sean Connery both fit excellently in their roles as two persistent police officers with a mission. Yes, several happenings in the story may be somewhat cliché, but it is nothing less an exciting movie to watch. Executions, shoot-outs, trials and much more: it's all here. It's still better to pinch something well than to invent something badly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa49b7af8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews