Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Episode list and more
It is so awesome the Rhino is giving us another Jem DVD in 2004. Like they did with the Transformers and some of their other series they are splitting this up as Season 3-part 1. No Stingers and it ends before the "Hollywood Jem" episodes. I suppose it keeps the price low and gives fans something to wait for. Lets just hope the remaining episodes come out before the...
Published on July 16 2004 by Dorrie Wheeler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced!
The episodes are as cheesy as expected, but of course great for nostalgic purposes. I'm sure younger kids today would even find them entertaining. But the price? They're charging over $70 CAD for three discs of cartoons? 19 short episodes? That's absolutely ridiculous. The only reason I bought it was because I saved over $25 by pre-ordering it.
The packaging is a tad...
Published on Sept. 26 2004 by VandafromCanada


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced!, Sept. 26 2004
By 
VandafromCanada "xcatwomanx" (Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jem:S3 Pt1 (DVD)
The episodes are as cheesy as expected, but of course great for nostalgic purposes. I'm sure younger kids today would even find them entertaining. But the price? They're charging over $70 CAD for three discs of cartoons? 19 short episodes? That's absolutely ridiculous. The only reason I bought it was because I saved over $25 by pre-ordering it.
The packaging is a tad bit better this time around, although it's disappointing to see that they used the same picture on the front as they did for the last box set. The pictures used inside are just small and sometimes pixelated screenshots from the episodes themselves. Again, there is a lot of Jem artwork out there, why not use it?
The menus are the same boring and tacky menus they used the last time around, and the special features are only okay. An interview with the singing voice of Jem, Britta Philips was kind of neat, but it would have been better had it not looked like it were shot in a dark closet. Everything about this DVD set seems pretty low budget--aside from the shelf price. If you can find it used or on sale then go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Episode list and more, July 16 2004
By 
This review is from: Jem:S3 Pt1 (DVD)
It is so awesome the Rhino is giving us another Jem DVD in 2004. Like they did with the Transformers and some of their other series they are splitting this up as Season 3-part 1. No Stingers and it ends before the "Hollywood Jem" episodes. I suppose it keeps the price low and gives fans something to wait for. Lets just hope the remaining episodes come out before the year is over.
I can't really see why to end the set after the episode #48 "Mardi Gras." The episode "Out of The Past" is so awesome (this is the Jacki Benton episode which gives a lot of background info on the Holograms and Jerrica's background. But I suppose it gives the next set a nice starting foundation. As a big Jem fan, #49 "Out of the Past," #50 "Britrock" and #51 "Journey Through Time" don't really fit with the "Hollywood Jem" and true season 3 episodes with The Stingers. So I would have included those episodes with this set.Also, the episodes early in this set are some of the wacky animation episodes-like "The Presidential Dillima."
Other highlights of this set include the introduction of Craig Phillips (Stormers Brother), Raya becomes the new drummer, Kimber and Stormer team up for a musical career in "The Bands Break Up," Danse becomes temporarily paralyzed, and Roxie throws a huge bash although secretly struggling with illiteracy.
As seen in some of the earlier episodes like "The Music Awards" Jem as a series tackles real life social issues-illiteracy, drug abuse, sensitivity towards people with disabilities, and more.
DVD ONE
The Talent Search 1
The Talent Search 2
Scandal
One Jem Too Many
The Bands Break Up
The Fan
Fathers Day
DVD TWO
The Treasure Hunt
Aztec Enchantment
Music Is Magic
The Jazz Player
Danse Time
Roxy Rumbles
Alone Again
DVD THREE
KJEM
Trick or Techrat
The Presidential Dilema
Rock 'n Roll Express
Mardi Gras
A must have set. Pre-order it so that Rhino continues to put out Jem at a fast pace! A good show for todays teens too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A DVD I would Recommend!!!, July 15 2004
This review is from: Jem:S3 Pt1 (DVD)
I am so excited about JEM - Season 3 Part 1 box set being released. It features 19 episodes as listed:
The Talent Search 1
The Talent Search 2
Scandal
One Jem Too Many
The Bands Break Up
The Fan
Father's Day
The Treasure Hunt
Aztec Entertainment
Music is Magic
The Jazz Player
Danse Time
Roxy Rumbles
Alone Again
KJEM
Trick or Techrat
The Presidential Dilemma
Rock and Roll Express
Mardi Gras
I just wish that they would release the remaining 20 episodes as soon as possible. If you can only get one DVD this year, make it this one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars truly outrageous, Sept. 17 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Jem:S3 Pt1 (DVD)
Don't listen to people who say this wasn't a good box set. Jem is the best cartoon ever made and not nearly as "cheesey" as the thundrcats which my husband bought. True Jem fans will love it as much as I did and I can't wait for all of the rest of the series to come out on DVD. It's been long waiting for season 3 part 2. I hope it comes out eventually. Next out should be She-Ra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars were are the stingers, July 23 2006
By 
This review is from: Jem:S3 Pt1 (DVD)
The jem dvd's are just like i remember them when i was young, now i can share them with my girls. i just wish rinho would release the last 20 episodes to complete the series!

it's a blast from the past and worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars jem dvd, April 3 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Jem:S3 Pt1 (DVD)
Does anybody know, when the next set will be sold?
Because it has been a while. Love the first 2 sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jem:S3 Pt1
Jem:S3 Pt1 by Ray Lee (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 89.99 CDN$ 62.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews