Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STRAP YOURSELF IN AND JOIN BUCK ROGERS !
Unlike a lot of old Sci-Fi shows coming to DVD this one includes the original two-hour pilot movie "Awakening" as it was shown in theatres. Climb into your Starfighter and join Buck, Wilma and the gang for all 37 galactic episodes spread out over 5 double sided discs. Yes that's right, five double sided discs from Universal Studios once again. The picture and sound are...
Published on May 29 2006 by The Critic

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Buck stops here
This show is corny at best. The acting not the best. But in my eyes the show has an entertainment value. It was an early version of all those space shows out there now and this is where they learned to write better shows. If you like to see something with more entertainment than good acting or writing I would suggest watching this series.
Published on June 22 2009 by Lise Vincent


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STRAP YOURSELF IN AND JOIN BUCK ROGERS !, May 29 2006
By 
The Critic "Movie Maniac" (Windsor, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buck Rogers In The 25th Century: The Complete Epic Series (5DVD) (DVD)
Unlike a lot of old Sci-Fi shows coming to DVD this one includes the original two-hour pilot movie "Awakening" as it was shown in theatres. Climb into your Starfighter and join Buck, Wilma and the gang for all 37 galactic episodes spread out over 5 double sided discs. Yes that's right, five double sided discs from Universal Studios once again. The picture and sound are well done and better than I remember seeing on television, but it's too bad the soundtrack wasn't remastered in 5.1 Dolby digital like the original Battlestar Galactica.

Created by Glen A. Larson "Buck Rogers in the 25th Century" with its lame special effects is really cheesy and dated by today's standards, but still fun to watch. The series premiered on September 20, 1979 after the two-hour pilot "Awakening" was successful as a theatrical movie release that I was fortunate to see at the Drive-In. Former soap star Gil Gerard stars as Buck Rogers a hot shot pilot who is accidentally time warped from 1987 into the 25th century. Following a global holocaust the Earth now finds itself embattled in an interplanetary war and its newest inhabitant has just become an intergalactic Starfighter pilot. Joining Buck in his galactic crusade to protect the Earth Defense Directorate is the Ultra hot Col. Wilma Deering played by former model Erin Gray.

Once again Universal Studios has failed miserably to give fans what they really want, bonus material! Gil Gerard and Erin Gray are still alive so why wasn't a cast interview or look back featurette included in this DVD release. It would have been nice to see the stars from the show again and get their thoughts about working together for this DVD release. Five galactic stars for "Buck Rogers in the 25th Century" for a cheesy fun filled time, but four stars for the way it was released to the fans of the show. As for Wilma Deering, she could take me for a ride in her Starfighter any day and I mean any day!

The Cast:
Capt. Buck Rogers - (Gil Gerard)
Col. Wilma Deering - (Erin Gray)
Twiki the Robot - (Felix Silla) voiced by (Mel Blanc)
Dr. Theopolis - (Eric Server)
Dr Elias Huer - (Tim O' Connor)
Hawk - (Thom Christopher) Second Season
The Narrator - (William Conrad)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Buck stops here, June 22 2009
By 
Lise Vincent "Splenda101" (Hull, PQ CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buck Rogers In The 25th Century: The Complete Epic Series (5DVD) (DVD)
This show is corny at best. The acting not the best. But in my eyes the show has an entertainment value. It was an early version of all those space shows out there now and this is where they learned to write better shows. If you like to see something with more entertainment than good acting or writing I would suggest watching this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buck Rogers In The 25th Century: The Complete Epic Series (5DVD) (DVD)
I love it great old tv show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great TV show from the 80's, March 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buck Rogers In The 25th Century: The Complete Epic Series (5DVD) (DVD)
If you like SCI-FI like i do....it's a good show, and i use to watch this when i was a kid.
It's old, and cheezy sometimes, but i love it!

Great seller, and product was perfect!!
thanks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buck is back, Jan. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buck Rogers In The 25th Century: The Complete Epic Series (5DVD) (DVD)
This was an amazing set of DVD's brought back a lot of good memories, even my children thought it was a brand new series because of the qualities of the video. Thought it was amazing even 30 years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, very charming 70's Sci-Fi ......, June 22 2013
By 
JT (RIchmond, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buck Rogers In The 25th Century: The Complete Epic Series (5DVD) (DVD)
I remembered this series along time ago. Also being a Logan's Run fan I just had to have this series. Yes it is silly, dated, laughable by today's standards, but that is part of what makes it so much fun. Gil Gerard had a certain presence and charm as the hero. Erin Gray was good in a supporting role. Dr. Theopolis and Tweekie were just silly but added to the story. The nice thing about owning this series is that one can pull it out anytime and watch it. This series had a good amount of action, certainly was not overly violent or gory, and was entertaining at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the theatrical release, Jan. 2 2005
By 
L. LeBlanc (New Brunswick Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buck Rogers In The 25th Century: The Complete Epic Series (5DVD) (DVD)
There is at least 1 scene missing. The scene where Buck is shown his apartment food dispensor and entertainment center. I think there is anothe regarding a second landing of his shuttle IIRC.
Enjoyable other than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buck Rogers In The 25th Century: The Complete Epic Series (5DVD)
CDN$ 66.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews