Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good viewing quality hard to find
I first saw this movie when it first came out, and believe it or not i can still remember the story line and the impact it had on me as a person having only seen it once,MAYBE TWICE,this movie greatly inspired me with the message it sent. But you have to watch the whole thing, especially the last 30-45 minutes of it to really grasp what that message is. Few movies(as a...
Published on Jan. 25 2004 by david dewitt

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Call it Worst of the Worst
This movie is not up to the standards of good martial arts movies, if one can say there is a standard. The revenge element, by now repeated so often by so many movies of this genre, has no useful effect any more. After "Enter the Dragon", the revenge plots & sub-plots should have been abandoned. That revenge is still a key element in most martial arts...
Published on July 5 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good viewing quality hard to find, Jan. 25 2004
By 
david dewitt (Henderson, NV USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of the Best (VHS Tape)
I first saw this movie when it first came out, and believe it or not i can still remember the story line and the impact it had on me as a person having only seen it once,MAYBE TWICE,this movie greatly inspired me with the message it sent. But you have to watch the whole thing, especially the last 30-45 minutes of it to really grasp what that message is. Few movies(as a grown man)have ever made me angry, want to stand up and cheer, and shed tears at the same time. if you want to see a movie with people beating each other up and killing each other just for the fun of it, then this is not the one for you, but if you enjoy a good show of competition and sportsmanship,with some "on the edge of your seat action" and a heartfelt message contained therein then i defineitly absolutley recomend this one. Lets just say you might not pay much attention to your popcorn bowl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good action movie, Nov. 11 2000
By 
C. Bickford (Round Lake Beach, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of the Best (VHS Tape)
This movie is not intended as a moral lesson for people - at least I hope it wasn't.
This movie is, however, a good solid action movie. 5 martial artists make the cut to join to US team, and face Korea in a tournament.
After various and sundry fights, the tournament happens.
There, there is various punching and kicking, and a lesson for everyone in the end.
The major difference between this and most other action movies is that it's done very well. Each of the main characters appears to be a competent martial artist - Phillip Rhee especially. The fight scenes are very well choreographed, and about as realistic as these sorts of scenes can get.
Chris Penn is amusing playing about the character you'd expect a Penn to play - brash and tempermental.
Overall, I'd recommend it for the fight scenes. If you can fast forward through the 'plot', you'll be much happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars do not analyze but enjoy, Jan. 1 2000
This review is from: Best of the Best (VHS Tape)
I have studied martial arts for a very long time, and I teach young children...This movie may have an element of revenge overtoning the truth behind the meaning of martial arts, but children do not see it that way, nor do I...all the children I have taught have seen this movie and we all agree it is a great film, about respect, teamwork, leadership and growth...the people who constantly analyze a film instead of viewing it and enjoying it will always miss the message behind it. Sure it was about revenge for the character "tommy" - Yet, how did it end! I think this is an excellent movie for the young and old alike. So for all those people who constantly pester the subject behind this movie don't really know/understand the meaning of Martial arts. For them, you need to grow up and get with the program! I would like to see this movie in DVD soon as well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Abounds!, Nov. 3 2002
By 
Melvin Hunt (Cleveland,, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of the Best (VHS Tape)
This movie is without question a nonstop action movie. Eric
Roberts is supported by a very good cast in this movie. An all
start American karate movie competes on a worldwide basis in a karate tournament.The personalities in this movie are excellent as well.The tournament action in this movie is absolutely breathtaking. One American gets to meet the man responsible for killing his brother.The final tournament for all of the marbles
is nonstop excitement. Watch this movie.You will then buy a copy aand watch it nonstop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Best - A real martial arts story, Oct. 23 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of the Best (VHS Tape)
Most of the martial arts movies that you see in theatres tend to have the same story line. This movie's storyline is unique because it is about relationships - between the sport of martial arts, the lifestyle, and the drama of the pratictioners lives. This is one martial arts movie where you are sincerely touched and it may even provoke a tear or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Best, July 13 2001
By 
jeanette chisholm (orange, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of the Best (VHS Tape)
I enjoyed this movie and loved all of the characters in it, especially Eric Roberts, and the character of Tommy Lee, he was great and so was Roberts. I loved the coach too, he is always good in every movie he plays in. Of each of these, this one was the best as the first one usually is. I am not a big fan of Karate movies, but these I enjoyed because they were so good and the scenes were exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My only gripe is that I missed it at the theaters!, March 30 2001
By 
JAW (Illinois) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of the Best (VHS Tape)
Listen up. It was interesting, the characters and plot were believable, the choreography was excellent and the sparring realistic. The end is a surprise, which makes it all the better. And the soundtrack! "Something so strong" is cool and "Best of the Best" (video and song at the end of the movie) ranks as one of the top "training songs" ever made! Don't listen to the hubbub. It isn't about revenge, it isn't a formula film. It can and does stand alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Kicks ***, May 1 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of the Best (VHS Tape)
This movie is awesome. This is about the best action movie I have ever seen! I think Phillip Rhee, Eric Roberts, John Dye, and Christopher Penn were amazing. They had power as well as heart. Each character has his own story, and they all worked hard to triumph in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very underrated movie, March 24 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of the Best (VHS Tape)
I enjoyed the plot, the cast, and the soundtrack. The ending is not a total surprise and the song played during the ending is excellent. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 American Karate champions enter a tournament against Korea, March 11 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of the Best (VHS Tape)
Best of the Best was the best moive I ever saw. I am a Korean, and thus it was interesting for me to be able to comprehend both cultures. Those who like action, there was plenty of action. Those who like drama, there was overwhelming emotion. Those who say that this movie was a typical "Rocky" movie are totally wrong, for there is a lot of emotion, drama, and a twist....anyone who is looking for a good moive, possibly the best, watch best of the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best of the Best
Best of the Best by Robert Radler (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 67.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews