Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
This is by far the best Harry Potter movie yet. Alfonso Curan was a much needed lift to the Harry Potter movies and shows just how much the characters have grown up and how much more adult the themes and concepts are becoming. Columbus was good but Alfonso Curan seems more suited to these types of movies. I'm looking forward to the fourth as that was my favorite novel!
Published on Dec 27 2004

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it could have been
Having read the book before seeing the movie in theatres, this third instalment in the Harry Potter movie series didn't quite live up to its predecessors that followed the books quite closely and lived up to the magic the literature offers. This movie adaptation of the Prisoner of Azkaban seemed to be more slapped together, taking some elements from the book, but changing...
Published on Aug. 9 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars "The movie is not as good as the book.", March 31 2005
By 
Ally M (east of edson) - See all my reviews
Of *course* it isn't as good as the book. Movie adaptations almost never are. Things have to be changed in order to work, and some things are inevitably lost in the transition.
That said, it's the best one yet. The first two movies were mediocre partly because they tried to follow the books too closely and brought nothing to the story- why would you watch a second-rate edited version of events when you can read the brilliant original?
Azkaban was darker, funnier, and more believable. The changes made to the storyline didn't feel forced or unnatural. What won me over were the details; seeing the characters out of uniform or goofing off with magic animal crackers...they're kids at a magic school, but they're still kids. The acting was excellent all-round.
I can't see Phoenix making the jump to the big screen successfully: they'd have to cut it down a lot or make two films. But if they do make another, hopefully Alfonso Cuarón remains the director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best MOVIE yet!, Dec 25 2004
By 
Jeff (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
ok: this movie is magical but not without its faults: apparantly the geography of the Hogwarts grounds has changed (for the better, IMO), it strays from the book SLIGHTLY but nothing major. When it does, it makes sense. a great example is Harry's Firebolt. Once you see the film you'll understand why it was a good move. My only complaint is that they didn't dwell on the Prongs, Padfoot, Moody and Wormtail story. Bottom line: best Potter film, however, to get the full expereince read the book AS WELL. Reading the first two books wasn't neccessary to 'get' the movies. I'm anxious for "HARRY POTTER AND THE GOBLET OF FIRE" due Nov. 18, 2005. I just hope that #4 follows the book, as it is BIG...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, Dec 3 2004
By 
Lin (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
As a huge Harry Potter fan, and having really enjoyed the first two movies, I was very eager to see 'The Prisoner of Azkaban', and now I wish I had rented it and saved my money. There is almost no character development, and Hogwarts now looks as if it is a ruin. But perhaps worst of all it is a poorly constructed movie. My husband, who has not read the books, but thoroughly enjoyed the first two movies, was completely lost in this one. Scenes change quickly, frequently with no explanation, and while this is not a serious problem if you have read the book, for others it makes for a choppy, disjointed mess. Let's hope that if they make the fourth movie, they'll change directors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great price, Sept. 4 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
for the price,a new movie at quater of the the cost, now have the complete collection of harry potter movies,fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Adventure!, Dec 4 2004
By A Customer
This movie is fantastic! It is ten times better than the previous two Potter films, with more action, humor, and thrills. The special effects are excellent, the acting is better, and the story is better. Although quite a bit is left out, shuffled, or changed from the original material it is truly an amazing cinematic experience. If you didn't love the first two then try this one out, because I can guarentee you'll love it. Knowing that JK Rowling's books get better as they go, The Goblet of Fire will likely do what The Prisoner of Azkaban did- thrill and chill to the extreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Harry gets Older, Nov. 27 2004
By 
John R. Palmer (york, Prince Edward Island Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It has been quite some time since I had read this HP book and I have read all the HP books, and I had not seen the movie before watching the DVD. I thought as a stand alone movie it was excellent. However as the series of books moves along the movies are forced to abbreviate the increasingly complex plots. I would advise all HP movie buffs to also read the books. The stories, films and characters are all maturing and I hope the pattern is able to continue at such a high level. The cinematography in this DVD is out of this world. I missed Richard Harris as Dumbledore though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the three..., Oct. 19 2004
By A Customer
I felt that this movie was by far the best of the three to date. The others annoyed me at times because they were simply TOO faithful to the books...word for word at times. Cuaron managed to maintain the spirit of the book without making a carbon copy. I realize that some key elements were left out, but, remember, they are planning on putting those in the next movie where they thought that they would fit better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not the book, but still good, April 21 2006
By A Customer
I liked all the Harry Potter movies. They weren't the books but they were good. The best one was probably the second. The only thing that really got me was the scenery. Was there something wrong with it?! Did anyone notice how suddenly the land scape, the location of the womping willow, and the whole caslte were different than the first and second? All I can say is: "What was wrong with the old way?!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is going to be a hell of a movie!, June 12 2003
By 
mynor duarte (Guatemala, Central America) - See all my reviews
If you liked the two previous movies you will love this one.(if Cuadron keeps close to the book) The new characters: Sirius Black and Remus Lupin are great. You will learn that the Nimbus series are just "toys" compared with the profesional stuff. Wonderfull new scenarios like the "wizards town", more quidditch action and new terrible creatures. Without doubt, the megablockbuster of the next year summer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A different childerens movie for a different age, Sept. 23 2004
By 
Michelle (Brampton, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Harry Potter number three is thought to be a little too dark by many. I disagree this is a new era, kids don't play with barbies and hotwheeles as long as they us to. This movie is something that will engage and entertain childeren as well as adults. It's a great addition to any dvd library. Is has the right amounts of suspense and drama to keep the most skeptic harry fan's entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by Alfonso Cuarón (VHS Tape - 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews