Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
This is by far the best Harry Potter movie yet. Alfonso Curan was a much needed lift to the Harry Potter movies and shows just how much the characters have grown up and how much more adult the themes and concepts are becoming. Columbus was good but Alfonso Curan seems more suited to these types of movies. I'm looking forward to the fourth as that was my favorite novel!
Published on Dec 27 2004

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it could have been
Having read the book before seeing the movie in theatres, this third instalment in the Harry Potter movie series didn't quite live up to its predecessors that followed the books quite closely and lived up to the magic the literature offers. This movie adaptation of the Prisoner of Azkaban seemed to be more slapped together, taking some elements from the book, but changing...
Published on Aug. 9 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, Aug. 5 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
got this because I happen to like shows like this..
going to purchase others in the series..
was very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dementors, Mad Dogs and a Howling Wolf, Jan. 23 2007
Based on J. K. Rowling's book, "Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban" covers the boy wizard's third year at Hogwarts and hit the big screen in 2004. The film opens at Privet Drive with the end of the summer holidays approaching. The previous summer, at the start of the Chamber of Secrets, Harry had been blamed by the Ministry of Magic for a spell performed by Dobby the House Elf in Dursley's house. This summer, Harry panics as he accidentally casts a spell on Uncle Vernon's thoroughly obnoxious sister. Knowing he's in trouble, he decides to go on the run - but, following a bumpy ride on the Knight Bus, the Minister for Magic corners him at Diagon Alley. Harry is somewhat surprised to be let off, given the trouble he got into the previous year - but relieved all he same.

The Magic Community seems to be much more concerned with a very dangerous criminal called Sirius Black, the first person to escape from Azkaban (the wizard prison). He had been sent there after being found guilty of murdering thirteen people - twelve of them muggles - with a single curse about twelve years earlier. Widely believed to have been a big supporter of Voldemort's, the rumour is he's hunting for Harry. As a result, some Azkaban guards (terrifying creatures, known as Dementors) have been posted at Hogwarts for the protection of the pupils and staff.

Harry is, once again, joined by Ron and Hermione at Hogwarts. There's a bit of trouble between Harry's two friends, however. Much of that is caused by Hermione's new pet Crookshanks - a crazy cat, who seems determined to kill Scabbers, Ron's rat, at every opportunity. This year's Defence Against The Dark Arts teacher, is Professor Lupin who - like the Dementors, the three friends meet him for the first time on the Hogwarts Express. Despite the fact he dresses rather shabbily and gets strangely ill from time to time, Lupin actually seems to know what he's doing. He also proves to be highly popular with the majority of pupils, particularly Harry. There are a couple pf other new teachers introduced this year - one of them is Hagrid, who has taken over the Care of Magical Creatures class. Unfortunately, his first lesson leads to a bit of trouble with a Hippogriff. Another is Professor Trelawney, the Divination teacher - who seems to be a bit of a crackpot. In their first lesson, she somehow picks out the Grim (a death omen) from Harry's tealeaves. Harry probably wouldn't have been too worried, only he'd already seen something of a death omen just as he was boarding the Knight Bus.

The movie is very enjoyable, though a good deal darker than I had imagined. Despite the criticism I've heard of their performances in the previous films, I thought Daniel Ratcliffe, Emma Watson and Rupert Grint were very good in their roles. (Draco, Harry's arch nemesis, would've stolen the show had his role been any bigger : Tom Felton plays the part of a strutting, arrogant, little twerp superbly. One of the most enjoyable scenes came when Hermione puts him firmly in his place). Professor Trelawney was also an enjoyable addition, played by the barely recognisable Emma Thompson. (Her ex-husband, of course, was also once on the teaching staff at Hogwarts : Ken Brannagh played the part of Gilderoy Lockhart in "The Chamber of Secrets"). For fans of the Stone Roses, meanwhile, Ian Brown stops by the Leaky Cauldron for a quick drink. The film's effects are hugely impressive, especially the Dementors : their first appearance on the train was the best scene in the film for me. Parts of the book have been minimised or dropped - particularly the 'history' of the Marauder's Map, its authors and how Lupin knew how to use it. However, it's a very enjoyable movie and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST!!, Aug. 7 2004
By 
Katrina (Morden, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
This movie is THE BEST so far. I love Alfonso Cuaron's way of directing. Ron is even funnier than usual. The only thing that I found about it was that it was more of a teen adelosent movie than usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing ultimate edition, July 29 2014
The Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban blu-ray ultimate edition is amazing! It's a must if you are a real HP fan. Picture and audio quality is outstanding. I totally recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is the best in my opinion, June 17 2003
By A Customer
The Prisoner of Azkaban is the best of the lot in so far (thats only my opinion). I hope the movie lives up to the book, and i hope they get Sirius Black down. He is my favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., Feb. 27 2005
By A Customer
To say the least, this is a disappointing release compared to the previous Potter releases.
The bloopers are just too numerous to count in the production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A sad attempt, June 5 2005
By 
Rebecca (Saskatchewan, Canada) - See all my reviews
I am greatly dissapointed. The only time I would even consider recommending this movie to any one would be at a garage sale. I am a huge fan of the books and the 2 previous movies. The real essence of the books were brought to life in the "old" movies, i loved them...
The Prisoner of Azkaban movie contained the plot and the right scenes, it had a "better" womping willow, and you could see Hogwarts students in modern day muggle clothing,but thats not what I wanted to see. The soul, the magic, where was it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What you see is what you get., Aug. 25 2004
By A Customer
This movie was not as great as the book, and wasn't the best in comparison to the first two Potter movies, which closely followed the books. When you get a different director your going to get a different style and a different approach to the movie; in this case Alfonso Cuaron seems to have taken it more as a movie than a piece of literature on screen.
It's entertaining as a movie and we see a lot of story and character development from Harry, Ron and Hermione, as Harry finds himself frustrated over the death of his parents and the whole wizarding world is in alarm over the escape of the mass murderer, Sirius Black. In that sense the movie takes a darker toll, but how the movie is played out is still under the question of those who enjoyed it and those who have not.
If you have seen the movie you know what you are going for in buying the DVD; if you're a Potter fan and haven't seen the movie or you just want to have the whole Harry Potter collection, you may want to buy this DVD despite what others say; and if you just want to see what all the hype is about you may be better off just renting it first. But nevertheless, in any case, this is the third instalment to Harry Potter movies and those disappointed or not, are going to have to accept the fact that that is what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT EXTENDED, July 7 2011
By 
Bryan Perras (St. Albert, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Like most people, I bought all the Harry Potter movies on DVD as they came out. When I heard they were making extended editions of the films, I figured it was worth it to repurchase and upgrade to bluray. Unlike the first two films, this one is NOT an extended version of the film. The bonus features do include the deleted scenes but they are not reincorporated back into the film. I purchased the first 4 of the Ultimate Editions only to discover that, very misleadingly, only the first two had extended versions. If you already own the series, it's not, in my opinion, worth it to upgrade to these ones. The new bonus content is not worth the extra money and it's the same version of the movie you already own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific movie!, Sept. 29 2011
By 
Sharon E. Leighton (New Brunswick) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this simply in order to complete my Potter collection. Of course, I watched it again - and I had forgotten what a great show it is. The actors are experienced enough to be doing some serious acting, especially Dan Radcliffe as he waits for his dead father to rescue him and suddenly realizes he has to take his father's place and rescue himself. Gary Oldman adds passion and humor to the story. The first stirrings of romance between Ron and Hermione, which blossom so many years later, are quite funny, and the blowing up of Harry's obnoxious aunt at the beginning is hilarious. But the kudos go to Buckbeak! The creation of a living, breathing, ferret-eating hippogriff was an accomplishment worth noting. All the movies in this series are worth watching just for the amazing detail of the sets and props, but some of their fantastic creatures are a little lacking in believability. Not Buckbeak! Buckbeak is a wonder. This movie, while replete with dangerous adventures for the youthful heroes, is not yet tinged with the darkness of the later movies. It's still innocent; it still ends happily. I would not hesitate to show this to a six-year-old, although I'd have reservations about sharing the later movies in the series with young children. The other side of that coin, of course, is that it lacks the earthshaking drama and suspense for older watchers that can be found in the later movies. Anyone looking for moral or practical lessons will surely be impressed by the discovery that a person can deal with fear constructively; sometimes, you can laugh at it, and it will go away ("It's only a boggart!") and sometimes you can draw on your memories of love and happiness to create a positive force that repels fear. It took me a lifetime to learn that! My only caveat regarding this movie is that the watcher will enjoy it more if he or she has read the book. This, too, applies to the entire series except, possibly, the first one, simply because so much material has had to be cut to make the movies. If you want to know the background, read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by Alfonso Cuarón (VHS Tape - 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews