Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban The Film: Alfonso's Touch
With the departure of childhood from this series, we enter the much more experimental world of the teen years. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban brings in the services of director Alfonso Cuaron, who uses his artistic style to usher in a new era for our heroes.

The sets, the feel, the texture, and the mythos get a major facelift here. All for the...
Published 22 months ago by Scoopriches

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT EXTENDED
Like most people, I bought all the Harry Potter movies on DVD as they came out. When I heard they were making extended editions of the films, I figured it was worth it to repurchase and upgrade to bluray. Unlike the first two films, this one is NOT an extended version of the film. The bonus features do include the deleted scenes but they are not reincorporated back...
Published on July 7 2011 by Bryan Perras


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Adventure!, Dec 5 2004
By A Customer
This movie is fantastic! It is ten times better than the previous two Potter films, with more action, humor, and thrills. The special effects are excellent, the acting is better, and the story is better. Although quite a bit is left out, shuffled, or changed from the original material it is truly an amazing cinematic experience. If you didn't love the first two then try this one out, because I can guarentee you'll love it. Knowing that JK Rowling's books get better as they go, The Goblet of Fire will likely do what The Prisoner of Azkaban did- thrill and chill to the extreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, Dec 4 2004
By 
Lin (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
As a huge Harry Potter fan, and having really enjoyed the first two movies, I was very eager to see 'The Prisoner of Azkaban', and now I wish I had rented it and saved my money. There is almost no character development, and Hogwarts now looks as if it is a ruin. But perhaps worst of all it is a poorly constructed movie. My husband, who has not read the books, but thoroughly enjoyed the first two movies, was completely lost in this one. Scenes change quickly, frequently with no explanation, and while this is not a serious problem if you have read the book, for others it makes for a choppy, disjointed mess. Let's hope that if they make the fourth movie, they'll change directors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars harry potter... need i say more?, Nov. 26 2004
By 
max (Cambridge, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
well this movie is pretty good but no comparison to the book , no way! i loved the actors performances the first time i saw the movie i wasnt too excited about michael gambons performance as dumbledore ( he took over for the late richard harris) but seeing it again changed my mind alittle i just thought that it was untrue to the book i mean dumbledoor is nicer than portrayed here. i also thought that the picture quality wasnt that great for this fullscreen version(its better in widescreen) the beginning almost looked like a cheap british movie it seemed like they polished the picture at the end to make it look phenominal but they didnt bothr with it at the beginning , slightly choppy in my opinion. and what was with this movies length? i mean its the longest book aout of the 3 but the shortest movie .. ok then(im slightly annoyed too because goblet of fire due out nov 18 2005 is only scheduled to be 2 hrs! at this rate order of the phoenix will be 1 1/2 hours *roll eyes here ) i watched the deleted scenes on my version and thought that they should have been kept a few were lacking but most were awsome! on a slightly happier note i thought the time scene was brilliant way less confusing then i thought it would be . i kno what your thinking this persons only said the bad why did she give it 4 stars? well ill let you watch the movie yourself =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap packaging., Nov. 24 2004
By 
Francois Tessier (Gatineau, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Awesome movie. BUT VERY CHAEP PACKAGING. Attention collectors the packaging of this movie is different from the first two Harry Potter. Why????? Warner did not give any good care on this one cause they knew that the consumers would buy it anyway to complete the collection. BAD MARKETING!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One wicked movie., Oct. 25 2004
I thought that this was by far one of the best movies ever. It was better than harry potter and the philosophers stone and the chamber of secrets. I also thought that it was as good as the book even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it could have been, Aug. 9 2004
By A Customer
Having read the book before seeing the movie in theatres, this third instalment in the Harry Potter movie series didn't quite live up to its predecessors that followed the books quite closely and lived up to the magic the literature offers. This movie adaptation of the Prisoner of Azkaban seemed to be more slapped together, taking some elements from the book, but changing around all the important events and forgetting why things are the way they are in the books, such as the importance of the Quidditch Cup.
I didn't quite like the casting for the new Albus Dumbledore either after being exposed to and enjoying the performance of the late Richard Harris as headmaster at Hogwarts. Michael Gambon's take as Dumbledore didn't have the right feel to it. He brought a more grumpier and stern Albus Dumbledore to the screen as opposed to a kind-hearted, bright blue-eyed, old wizard that one would respect as a friend. In my opinion, John Hurt, who portrayed a father figure to Hellboy in the Hellboy movie, would have brought back the Dumbledore we have come to love after the late Richard Harris.
In whole, considering the Prisoner of Azkaban is highly regarded as the best book in the series so far, it just wasn't what it could have been, maybe because the Prisoner of Azkaban book is a lot darker and deals with even darker issues than the first two parts of the series, and this movie was compelled to be more of a family film that parents would let their kids see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST!!, Aug. 7 2004
By 
Katrina (Morden, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
This movie is THE BEST so far. I love Alfonso Cuaron's way of directing. Ron is even funnier than usual. The only thing that I found about it was that it was more of a teen adelosent movie than usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is the best in my opinion, June 17 2003
By A Customer
The Prisoner of Azkaban is the best of the lot in so far (thats only my opinion). I hope the movie lives up to the book, and i hope they get Sirius Black down. He is my favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is going to be a hell of a movie!, June 12 2003
By 
mynor duarte (Guatemala, Central America) - See all my reviews
If you liked the two previous movies you will love this one.(if Cuadron keeps close to the book) The new characters: Sirius Black and Remus Lupin are great. You will learn that the Nimbus series are just "toys" compared with the profesional stuff. Wonderfull new scenarios like the "wizards town", more quidditch action and new terrible creatures. Without doubt, the megablockbuster of the next year summer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What you see is what you get., Aug. 25 2004
By A Customer
This movie was not as great as the book, and wasn't the best in comparison to the first two Potter movies, which closely followed the books. When you get a different director your going to get a different style and a different approach to the movie; in this case Alfonso Cuaron seems to have taken it more as a movie than a piece of literature on screen.
It's entertaining as a movie and we see a lot of story and character development from Harry, Ron and Hermione, as Harry finds himself frustrated over the death of his parents and the whole wizarding world is in alarm over the escape of the mass murderer, Sirius Black. In that sense the movie takes a darker toll, but how the movie is played out is still under the question of those who enjoyed it and those who have not.
If you have seen the movie you know what you are going for in buying the DVD; if you're a Potter fan and haven't seen the movie or you just want to have the whole Harry Potter collection, you may want to buy this DVD despite what others say; and if you just want to see what all the hype is about you may be better off just renting it first. But nevertheless, in any case, this is the third instalment to Harry Potter movies and those disappointed or not, are going to have to accept the fact that that is what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by Alfonso Cuarón (VHS Tape - 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews