Customer Reviews


320 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Made an Impact on me
Many people tend to compare this movie to armageddon, as they are both about the idea of a celestial body (in this case a comet, in the case of armageddon an asteroid) on a collision course with the earth, and seeing as how they were released in very close proximatey to one another. I think this has a lot to do with some people's lack of love for Deep impact, but the...
Published on June 5 2004 by Logical Paradox

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not deep enough
This movie came out the same year as Armageddon, but it was not as good. IMHO. I actually enjoyed Armageddone more, but this movie showed a different emotional side to dealing courage and sacrifice. It was okay.
Published on April 26 2004 by S. M. Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Made an Impact on me, June 5 2004
This review is from: Deep Impact (Widescreen) (DVD)
Many people tend to compare this movie to armageddon, as they are both about the idea of a celestial body (in this case a comet, in the case of armageddon an asteroid) on a collision course with the earth, and seeing as how they were released in very close proximatey to one another. I think this has a lot to do with some people's lack of love for Deep impact, but the reality is these were two very different movies.
While "Armageddon" was a great movie in it's own rate, it was more of an action-romance movie that was meant to apeal to a braoder audience and satisfy movie-goers' typical demands of a major release. But with Deep Impact a much different aproach was taken, following in the way of the traditional Disaster Movie Genre.
From the beginning we are introduced to one of the main Characters, an upstart reporter investigating your run of the mill political love affair scandal, but stumbles instead upon the biggest story of history, that there is a monstrous comet on a collision course with earth. And so unfold's the American government's plan to send an team of asteronauts to intercept the comet and plant enough nukes on it to deflect it off course. The movie handles the plot from a much more epic, and at the same time much more personal level than armageddon.
The romance angle of the story is provided by the young boy who unwittingly discovered the comet and his girl neighbor. As counter measures fail, and plan B, C and D are called into action the terrible reality that only so many can be saved, and that it has to be decided who lives and dies sets in. A national lottery determines who will get passage to a special fallout shelter-like cave complex that was built in secret to house 1 million people. The rest are left to fend for themselves.
I really found deep impact to be more emotional, though not as romantic as armageddon. Characters will die, babies will be deperated from parents, young people will be asked to carry burdens that they shouldnt have to deal with and cities are destroyed as part of the asteroid hits the atlantic and causes a massive tsunami. Watching all this really had a more realistic and more message-orientated feel to it than Armageddon. I liked that the movie seemed to follow closer to the science and horrow of what a comet impact could cause, and how that affected the characters and our society. This made the movie much more interesting to me in many ways, and much realer as well.
The special effects are well done enough for the time period, and actually the tidal-wave scene where you watch a city massive wall of water inundate the city, hills and forests was quite ae inspiring. This is well done and will make your jaw drop when you see it.
The only problems are some inconsistant acting, and the fact that this movie is a bit slow and might not appeal to some viewers as much as armageddon because it's not an action movie.
All in all this was a great disaster movie and I thought it did a better job than armageddon in many ways of dealing with the actual plot scenario, though I like that movie as well just for different reasons. But if you're looking for a good sci-fi based disaster movie that will touches on many deeper levels than similar movies than this is your best bet. You're better off renting Deep Impact than you are going to the theater to see "The Day After Tomorrow".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOOO Much Better than Armageddon, May 6 2004
By 
J. Sheeley (Derry, NH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Impact (Widescreen) (DVD)
Okay if you have to do a comparison between these two movies which one had the more unbelievable story? A bunch of drunken oil refiners going into space to drill an asteroid to save the world or, actual astranauts going into space to blow one up? Come on people. Overall this movie has most of what is needed to make a great movie. Fanstatic actors (Morgan Freeman is great as the president), great effects of the east coast being destroyed again (what movie doesnt destroy the east coast of the US in one way or another), Great feelings of humanity which is so badly lacking in most disaster flicks. I mean who cares if the world blows up if there are no characters to sympathise with? (Aka Independance day, Armageddon, The Night of the Comet... so many to list here). Dont be so harsh on this movie until you see the rest of the trash that is out there. By comparison, this movie shines and I do highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, Aug. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of my favourites and I love the Blu-ray version. I would buy it again if I lost this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Le son est aussi excellent. Conbient bien les pistes françaises et originale anglaise, July 7 2014
By 
Mart666 (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bon film, le remaster en haute définition sur bluray est très bien fait. L'image est belle et nette pas mal tout le temps. Le son est aussi excellent. Conbient bien les pistes françaises et originale anglaise. Très content de cet achat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aptly titled, Dec 16 2013
Given the obvious similarity to the box-office hit "Armageddon", which was released during the same season, people cannot help but compare the two.

I loved BOTH of them, for different reasons. This one doesn't star Bruce Willis (one of my favorite actors) and it lacks the humor and fast paced thrills of "Armageddon". But given a choice between the two films, "Deep Impact" is the hands-down winner for a spot on my shelf...It is much more believable, and the story has so much more to offer than sending a bunch of misfits into space, to blow up a rock.

"Deep Impact"'s actors (with the exception of Tea Leoni's often unbelievably weak portrayal of a television news reporter) are very good and the special effects are well done and believable. Stories interweave as we follow several people's reactions to impending doom. We witness hope, survival and sacrifice in a portrayal of humanity, love and instincts which are at the very core of our existence. Veteran Morgan Freeman, as the President delivers an outstanding performance, as does Robert Duvall. Maximillian Schnell, and Vanessa Redgrave are excellent as expected. Elijah Wood shines as the central protagonist, while Leelee Sobieski proves worthy of the big screen. My favorite performance though, goes to Denise Crosby, for her unforgettable and deeply moving performance as an ordinary everyday Mother...I am seldom moved to tears by a film...this one still does...repeatedly.

I have worn out my VHS version of this film, as it remains on my favorite movies list, almost fifteen years after seeing it in the theater and buying it when it became available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes you need escapism, March 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deep Impact (DVD)
I am so sick and tired of people giving lame reviews for this movie. Once upon a time, people watched movies for the sheer joy of knowing that they could escape from their horrible day and watch a story about people having a harder day than themselves. If I have to listen to or read one more review about how unrealistic this movie is then I am going to scream! Sometimes, it's not about the facts or the tangible content or the realism. Sometimes, it's just a movie. Take it for what it is. I dedicate this review to Tom Macleay. He got kicked out of social class because his teacher got so mad when he pointed out that StarWars was from a "long long time ago. In a galaxy far,far away.She couldn't grasp that it was a history lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEEP IMPACT Definitely Makes A Deep Impact, Oct. 12 2001
By 
Erik North (San Gabriel, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deep Impact (VHS Tape)
ARMAGEDDON may have gotten most of the glory at the box office, but for me DEEP IMPACT was the better "space-rock" disaster film of 1998. It had more humanity, a sense of awe and fear, a far more realistic plot, and better acting.
The space rock in this case is a seven mile-wide comet on a collision course with our planet. A joint US/Russian team, led by Robert Duvall, is given the unenviable task of drilling nuclear bombs into the comet to either destroy it or send it off course. Their attempt is only partly successful, and creates a new problem--two different pieces on the same course, one a mile and a half, the other five miles. Either one would strike with enough power to create an Extinction Level Event.
Director Mimi Leder, who made her feature film debut with THE PEACEMAKER in 1997 and directed numerous episodes for the TV series "E.R.", keeps the focus on human issues, which makes the final destruction scenes truly awesome. Morgan Freeman makes for one of the better film presidents of recent times, and James Horner's score is extremely well done. Duvall, of course, is as fine in his role as any he has ever done; he is one of those actors that can often be relied upon in virtually anything.
One of the best pure science fiction movies of the last ten years, DEEP IMPACT is more than a standard-issue disaster flick, and it is leaps and bounds ahead of ARMAGEDDON as a movie in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action, special effects and an intelligent plot, Nov. 11 2010
This review is from: Deep Impact (Special Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
While this movie sports great special effects that still hold up, it is extremely well written with great characterization and plot along with enough action to keep the boys in the room. And, after all that it has a great message and sported a black president years before Obama was a serious contender on the stage. This movie gets a big thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deep Enough., June 3 2004
By 
This review is from: Deep Impact (Widescreen) (DVD)
As far as disaster films go, this is one of the best. The characters have a little more depth than your usual catastrophe cardboard cutouts and are played with conviction by a fine cast. What good's a disaster if you don't really feel for the folks the disaster is happening to. Unlike most other big budget disaster blockbusters, DEEP IMPACT has a decent script that takes itself seriously. Add the cast, assured direction by MIMI LEDER, and some great fx visuals, and the end result is an extreemly enjoyable thrill ride that keeps head and heart intact. It's amazing how this movie gets so much slack when most others in the genere are far inferior (i.e. ARMAGEDDON, DAY AFTER TOMORROW, etc.).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Suspense, May 29 2004
This review is from: Deep Impact (Widescreen) (DVD)
Morgan Freeman is excellent. I would see almost anything that this actor is involved with. The best Afro American actor next to Denzel Washington. Robert Duvall is also very good. :)
Some of the acting is weak, but it gets you to ask the question..."What if?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Impact (Special Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 10.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews