Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
It was a very enjoyable movie. Wish they wouldn't add extra songs that were not in the broadway version. Overall the acting and singing was very good.
Published 21 months ago by Pop

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Long, But OK
First of all, DO NOT call this a remake of the '63 film. Even though this version is truer to the stage play, it is Extremely long. The casting was good with some exceptions. Chyna Phillips was not a good casting choice. She was almost 30 when she did this film, and it was hard to believe she was a teenager. Jason Alexander was good choice, but after a while he gave me...
Published on Feb. 22 2000 by Pat McCurry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, July 24 2012
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Bye Bye Birdie [Import] (DVD)
It was a very enjoyable movie. Wish they wouldn't add extra songs that were not in the broadway version. Overall the acting and singing was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, June 20 2004
By 
William Mason (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Bye Bye Birdie [Import] (VHS Tape)
Vanessa Williams and Jason Alexander sparkle! The music is great, particularly Tyne Daly's rendition of "Mothers Aren't Important Anymore." The movie stays with the original story line, which means you get some real depth in terms of the relationship between William's and Alexander's characters. It is funny and clever. My whole family has enjoyed it for years, and still does (my children currently range in age from 14 to 24). IT SHOULD BE ON DVD!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bye Bye Bad Movie, March 19 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Bye Bye Birdie [Import] (VHS Tape)
Ugh! I know I shouldn't compare this to the 1963 movie, but [this] "Bye Bye Birdie" is inferior to the 1963 "Bye Bye Birdie" of the same name. The older movie has more spunk, character and better singing (Van Dyke, Margret, Rydell and yes, Paul Lynde & Pearson). The actors projected more fun on the screen in the older movie than this one. Arrrgh - Chynna Phillips singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True to the Show., May 16 2002
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (Sorento, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Bye Bye Birdie [Import] (VHS Tape)
Unlike the 1963 film of the same name, this 1995 made-for-television movie of the classic musical stays true to the source. The film contains just about everything from the stage musical plus three new songs. The acting is great, the songs are a blast, and the settings/scenery capture the town of Sweet Apple, Ohio perfectly.
Tyne Daly as Mae Peterson, George Wendt as Mr. McAfee, and Vanessa Williams as Rose Alvarez are perfect.Jason Alexander is a delight as Albert Peterson, but seemed to have trouble with some of the songs and I therefore liked Dick Van Dyke's Albert from the original film better. Chynna Philips, on the other hand, just doesn't seem believable as Kim: she appeared way too old and just couldn't hit the right notes of her songs. Ann-Margaret was by far the better Kim. Also, I didn't like the fact that Hugo carried a guitar around (too Conrad Birdie wannabee, which Hugo definitely is not) and the scene at the end of the play where Kim announces her engagement to Hugo was cut. Other than that, the film really has no flaws.
This version of BYE BYE BIRDIE is far superior to the original. At just around two hours, it's just like watching the play, but in your own home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original!, April 19 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "cteddiesgirl" (Indianapolis, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Bye Bye Birdie [Import] (VHS Tape)
I admit that I seen this version on TV before I ever saw the original. I loved it. I thought most of the casting was perfect, George Wendt is very funny, and Jason Alexander really showed his talents. Also, Tyne Daly as the dominating mother and Vanessa Williams as the girlfriend was great. When I saw the original version on tape, I did not like it at all. What's with the Bye Bye Bird-He in the original? It sounded like they had to take a breath before the could finish it. The new version was much better with better voice casting. The original version I couldn't even finish watching and have since sold it to someone else. I'm keeping the new version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bye Bye Birdie Rocks!, April 5 2002
By 
derek (Duluth, GA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Bye Bye Birdie [Import] (VHS Tape)
i was in a stage production of Bye Bye birdie where i played Conrad Birdie, The guy playing Conrad is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bye Bye Birdie, We're gonna miss ya so..., Feb. 22 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Bye Bye Birdie [Import] (VHS Tape)
This version of the classic theatrical production, Bye Bye Birdie was truly astounding. Jason Alexander and Vanessa Williams shined together on the screen! I recommend this version of the story to anyone preforming in the play. I found it kept to the storyline much better, and it was a lot easier to follow the story. Happy Movie Watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For those who are performing this show., Jan. 10 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Bye Bye Birdie [Import] (VHS Tape)
As an actor in community theater, its good to see our school has finally decided to perform this great show. But while I was looking at the two seperate film versions, I found that the Dick Van Dyke version (which he and Paul Lynde were very upset about) was no where near the stage version. This version proved to be just what i wanted. It was very close to the actual stage show, and is also a much brighter and well-performed film. This is the one you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this fine Theatre to Film adaptation!, Aug. 10 2001
By 
Brian Nahodil (Catlett, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Bye Bye Birdie [Import] (VHS Tape)
Finally! A delightful and funny film interpretation of this excellent and very humorous Musical! Tyne Daly is brilliantly funny and the casting of Jason Alexander to the role of Albert was perfect. Also delightful was Vanessa Williams. It is clear to me that the cast had a lot of fun making this movie and it shows very well in this made for TV Version. Chyna Phillips as Kim?!? Did the casting Director pull names out of a hat? Though she tried her best and her acting was good, I just could not accept her as Kim McAffee. It certainly makes up for that abhorrent film interpretation of 1963. This includes ALL of the music, dialogue and scenes from the musical script. A highly recommended movie, especially if you are planning a HS or Community Theatre production of Bye Bye Birdie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad, Aug. 3 2001
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Bye Bye Birdie [Import] (VHS Tape)
Ever hear the expression "Stick With The Original"? Well, the 1995 remake of "Bye Bye Birdie" is no exception.
The 1963 original touched my heart and made me feel good; when I first saw it I cried at the end. This 1995 version is just plain stupid. It didn't make me happy and/or feel special as the 1963 version did.
If you love the original, do yourself a favor and DON'T see this. It's REALLY bad. The only reason why it didn't get no stars is because the scene with Rosie at the club is funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbd40e24c)

This product

Bye Bye Birdie [Import]
Bye Bye Birdie [Import] by Gene Saks (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 150.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews