Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rifleman Vol 1 - A Revisit after forty years
I first saw " The Rifleman " series in Singapore in the mid 1960s. My family enjoyed watching this show. In particular, my elder brother and I grew up with the western films - on screen and TV. After more than 40 years, I still remember vividly Chuck Connors as the super-hero Rifleman. I really enjoyed this DVD and saw all 5 series in a row. I long for more, as...
Published on Nov. 12 2002 by Hum Wai Kwong

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Defective - Watch within 30 days to get refund
Unfortunately I purched this DVD in February. Tried to watch it last night and only got the message that the DVD was defective and would not play. Spent time making sure the DVD was clean and checking with other player - no luck.

So no refund and no movie. Not much of a problem because was a very cheap movie BUT wasted a lot of time trying to get the thing...
Published on May 4 2012 by Barb B


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Defective - Watch within 30 days to get refund, May 4 2012
By 
Barb B "Barb Beck" (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rifleman, Volume 1 (DVD)
Unfortunately I purched this DVD in February. Tried to watch it last night and only got the message that the DVD was defective and would not play. Spent time making sure the DVD was clean and checking with other player - no luck.

So no refund and no movie. Not much of a problem because was a very cheap movie BUT wasted a lot of time trying to get the thing to play.

Really wish there was a zero star rating we could give
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rifleman Vol 1 - A Revisit after forty years, Nov. 12 2002
By 
Hum Wai Kwong (Singapore, Singapore Singapore) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rifleman V1 (DVD)
I first saw " The Rifleman " series in Singapore in the mid 1960s. My family enjoyed watching this show. In particular, my elder brother and I grew up with the western films - on screen and TV. After more than 40 years, I still remember vividly Chuck Connors as the super-hero Rifleman. I really enjoyed this DVD and saw all 5 series in a row. I long for more, as the Rifleman is a different kind of hero from the modern hero I see today. The Rifleman balances both compassion with justice in withholding right values against wrong.There is a sense of genuinness when he fought for justice compared with today's heroes.
The 5 shows are very clear with superb sound and voice clarity. Till today, Chuck Connors remains my favourite hero and justice icon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORE EPISODES, PLEASE!, May 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rifleman, Volume 1 (DVD)
THIS ALPHA VIDEO DVD OF "THE RIFLEMAN' WORKS FINE- CONTRARY TO WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING.
MY ONLY FAULT IS THAT I PURCHASED THESE SAME 3 EPISODES ON A PLATINUM DISC DVD OF CLASSIC WESTERNS (A NICE DVD AS WELL).THE EPISODES ARE: DAY OF THE HUNTER, MAIL ORDER GROOM, AND OUTLAWS INHERITANCE. THERE MUST BE ONLY 3 EPISODES OF THIS SERIES IN THE PUBLIC DOMAIN, AND EVERY COMPANY AND THEIR DOG PUTS THEM ON A DISC FOR SALE. TOO BAD THAT MILL CREEK WOULDN'T PUT THE COMPLETE SERIES IN A NICE BOX SET LIKE THEY DID WITH 'WANTED: DEAD OR ALIVE". SO IF ANYONE IS LISTENING, MORE EPISODES PLEASE!
ANYHOW, IF YOU HAVEN'T GOT THESE "RIFLEMAN" EPISODES IN YOUR CLASSIC WESTERN COLLECTION YET, THEN GO AHEAD, DON'T BE SHY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Rifeman...The story begins., Dec 13 2001
This review is from: Rifleman V1 (DVD)
"The Rifleman" was on TV before I was born, and though I dimly remembered the show growing up, I really became acquainted with the program when it was carried for a time on the Family Channel a few years ago. I enjoyed the program immensely, attracted by the relationship between Lucas McCain and his son Mark. Wonderful acting by the tough as nails Chuck Connors, and the adorable Johnny Crawford. Time really flies watching this program, it seems that it has only just begun, and then suddenly it's over. The same can be said of this DVD, as the episodes seem to quickly slip by one after another.
McCain is a single father, trying to find a new life with his son in North Fork. His goal is to teach his son what he needs to know to survive in the old wild West. McCain's methods are basic "tough love", and may seem harsh by today's standards. But underneath the gruff exterior, is the true warm love of a father for his son. A similar treatment is applied to others undergoing life crisis, like the alcoholic Micah Torrance, and Michael Landon's outlaw character, as well as many others in future episodes in order to help them see the error of their ways.
Issues of morality are typically presented as black and white, compromise is usually out of the question. Justice is often administered by McCain's tricked out Winchester lever-action rifle. Some episodes (particularly Peckinpah's), not necessarily in this collection, are particularly violent. The violence is treated as necessary, but the dead are not dwelt upon, and therefore the effect is softened, and passes as we fade to the commercial break. McCain kills only when forced to, and as a last resort.
Others may not agree, but "The Rifleman" is a show about men, primarily for men. Sure, it will find an audience with some women, but this show definitely has a masculine view of the world. In the wake of the recent terrorist attacks, there may more of an audience for a program where moral issues are clear, and justice is swift.
My only complaint is that there is not enough material included. Five episodes is good, but six, seven, or eight would have been better. Sorry, but I'm greedy, and don't want to buy an excessive number of DVD's to complete a series (like Star Trek or Twilight Zone). Volumes 3 and 4 already scheduled for release, so we can look forward to more Rifleman DVD's. Picture quality is excellent, and Elmer Bernstein's moving music comes in at all the right moments.
Whether you are not familiar with this series or not, this is definitely the place to begin. And thanks to MPI Home Video, there will be many more adventures on DVD to look forward to. This collection is highly recommended, and the best is yet to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most popular westerns, Aug. 12 2001
This review is from: Rifleman V1 (DVD)
MPI Home Video breaks new and welcome ground with the launching of a series of classic television programs in a DVD format for the home entertainment market. The Rifleman was one of the most popular of the westerns that dominated a early decade of American television and starred Chuck Connors as Lucas McCain and Johnny Crawford as his son, Mark McCain. Volume 1 (07886-0314-0, [amt.], 140 minutes) of the Rifleman series begins the debut episode "Sharpshooter" which introduced the principle characters as Lucas and Mark arrive in the North Folk area to buy their own ranch. In "Home Ranch" the McCains find themselves targeted for expulsion by a highhanded trail boss and his crew. "End Of A Young Gun" has Lucas compelled to give refuge to a young bank robber whose leg had been injured while saving Mark from falling off a cliff -- the enforced stay with the McCain family has unexpected consequences! "The Marshal" introduced a series regular as Lucas gives work to a drunk who was once a famous lawman -- and helps Micah Torrance regain his sobriety and a place as the Marshall of North Fork. "Duel Of Honor" features an Italian Count provoked to a gun challenge by rowdy cowhands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, Peckinpah-Directed Episodes Best, Feb. 23 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rifleman V1 (DVD)
The first episode (pilot episode) is the best. Episodes handled by Sam Peckinpah are the best because they have a somewhat harder "edge" and never get "sappy" as this series did in its last year or so (this DVD has the most Peckinpah episodes).
Too bad we get shortchanged, this DVD needs at least two more espisodes. DVD's longer service life makes it worthwhile to upgrade to have the best episodes of the best western series.

"The Rifleman" is superior to the other westerns of its era, nearly 30 years after its debut, this series was a prime component of one cable channel's lineup. Surprisingly, Conners began a short-lived attorneys series immediately after "The Rifleman" went off the air. This series was a coming together of talented actors with good chemistry together, mostly good scripts, and the best music of any TV show ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Rifleman Vol 1 - A Revisit after forty years, Nov. 12 2002
By 
Hum Wai Kwong (Singapore, Singapore Singapore) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rifleman V1 (DVD)
I first saw " The Rifleman " series in Singapore in the mid 1960s. My family enjoyed watching this show. In particular, my elder brother and I grew up with the western films - on screen and TV. After more than 40 years, I still remember vividly Chuck Connors as the super-hero Rifleman. I really enjoyed this DVD and saw all 5 series in a row. I long for more, as the Rifleman is a different kind of hero from the modern hero I see today. The Rifleman balances both compassion with justice in withholding right values against wrong.There is a sense of genuinness when he fought for justice compared with today's heroes.
The 5 shows are very clear with superb sound and voice clarity. Till today, Chuck Connors remains my favourite hero and justice icon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars and TERRIBLE prints at that, May 6 2015
By 
Guy L. Storms (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rifleman, Volume 1 (DVD)
"Volume 1" in the title is COMPLETELY MISLEADING.

I thought I would receive the beginnings of the series, particularly the first episode.

Instead, this disc comprises three random episodes from the series, and TERRIBLE prints at that.

Perhaps if you are curious and never seen the programme, this is all you may wish as a sample. Otherwise, stay away...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TV Western classic, July 14 2001
This review is from: Rifleman V1 (DVD)
Once you get beyond the kitschy intro and the occasional schmaltz, you get some outstanding early work by Sam Peckinpah and other western writers. Three or four out of the five episodes in this first series were written and in some cases directed by Peckinpah. None are simple good guy/bad guy stories, and the acting as well as the scripts are above average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing dvd, April 6 2011
By 
Daniel F. Silva (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rifleman, Volume 1 (DVD)
I bought this for my grandmother as a birthday gift and she loved it. It brought back memories of when she was younger :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rifleman, Volume 1
Rifleman, Volume 1 by Joseph H. Lewis (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 6.98 CDN$ 6.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews