Customer Reviews


241 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun baby!
TOPGUN..wat can i say. i grew up watchin this film ,its fun, exciting,thrilling and above all SEXY..tom cruise has never looked soo hott...this movie has given a new meaning to the song 'Youve lost that loving feeling' youd be surprised how many pilots, footballers sing this to girls in bars...it has an amazing soundtrack. 'take my breath away' performed by berlin is a...
Published on July 14 2004 by miz80

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grainy - sometimes!
Like most people that buy this movie, I grew up with it and have always been a huge fan of it. I was disappointed right from the opening scenes - there was an awful lot of grain to the picture. As the movie went on, I could see some scenes were really good but then the next scene was grainy again. it kept doing this throughout the movie... The aerial scenes were really...
Published on Feb. 20 2013 by Life2Art


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grainy - sometimes!, Feb. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like most people that buy this movie, I grew up with it and have always been a huge fan of it. I was disappointed right from the opening scenes - there was an awful lot of grain to the picture. As the movie went on, I could see some scenes were really good but then the next scene was grainy again. it kept doing this throughout the movie... The aerial scenes were really good and that's what made me give this 3 stars instead of 2 stars! I would have thought Paramount would have taken their time to get this release right. I mean, it's not like they had to rush to get this to market - it's a 27 year old movie!!! An extra few months of development, to get it right, wouldn't have upset anyone.

Too bad - this could have been the best release of this movie to date!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Movie gone orange, Feb. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just received my copy today and after 45 min in the movie and despite most of the great reviews, I felt there was a problem with the color scheme.

Actors seemed orange and the sky was kind of blue-grrenish.

So I typed Top Gun 3D orange on google and found this thread.

I'm re-assured now, I'm not crazy.

I mean I grow Up With Top Gun, Owned 2 VHS (first one broke) the 2 DVDs versions, HD-DVD then Blu-Ray ones and now this one.

I'm a big fan of Tony Scott and his aesthitics, but this presentations feels like you're watching you're movie through an orange-yellow veil.

Even whites are not whites.

Paramount f***ed it up pretty bad as far as I'm concerned.

Although technically the 3D is pretty great, although scr**ed by the color scheme.

And you can clearly see the issue on the caps made by caps-a-holic :

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun baby!, July 14 2004
TOPGUN..wat can i say. i grew up watchin this film ,its fun, exciting,thrilling and above all SEXY..tom cruise has never looked soo hott...this movie has given a new meaning to the song 'Youve lost that loving feeling' youd be surprised how many pilots, footballers sing this to girls in bars...it has an amazing soundtrack. 'take my breath away' performed by berlin is a wonderful emotional lovesong that truly melts your heart. so if your a fan of a little romance then this will be a movie top of your list. i know a lot of my boy friends have enjoyed this film so its not just a sloppy romance for girls. the boys get a kick out of 'Maverick' the stud played by Cruise who is 'one hell of an instinctive pilot' who learns never to leave his wing man. His best friend 'Goose' is the coolest character hes so entertaining. there are really fun sexy catchprases, such as 'goose ya big stud take me to bed and loose me forever' and 'son your ego is writing checks your body cant cash'
Top gun is a great movie to just chill out with some popcorn on the sofa and watch with your best friends. ill guarantee you will definately enjoy it.
"there are no points for second place in Topgun." (girls checkout the volleyball scene...mmm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to those other reviewers., June 19 2012
Top Gun is a classic 80's movie, with everything you would expect from this period of movie making. Cheesey drama, classic one-liners, lots of montages, uncomfortable love scenes. Clearly, the above reviews (watched in the year 2000) have taken this movie way out of context, and have no clear concept of the 80's genre, especially from a pop-culture stand point.

Top Gun was the first movie that featured cooperation by the US military on a grand scale. It spawned a new wave of Ray Ban wearing wanna be pilots with short cropped, spiky hair. Top Gun has become a cultural classic for anyone born in the 70's and 80's, and more.

Watch it. Don't expect it to be realistic...80's cinema was a different experience than it is today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Military Tom Cruise, April 19 2014
I admit that I use to have the “Top Gun” soundtrack years ago (around 2000-2001) before ever watching the Top Gun movie in its entirety. The cd was stolen (around 2001 not too long after I got it) and I have an idea who did it. However, I decided to let it go due to the fact that the cd was replaceable and it was my own fault for leaving the cd out in the eating gallery area that I was working in (I did a stint of temporary food service when I was still in the navy). However, I finally got the chance to watch the Top Gun movie and I am now interested in getting both the dvd and eventually repurchasing the soundtrack. The movie stars Tom Cruise as navy pilot Lieutenant Pete Mitchell and highlights his brilliant performance as a United States Naval Aviator officer who gets trained at the Navy’s Fighter Weapons School in Miramar. He thrives during this training and charms one of the civilian consultants named Charlotte Blackwood in this school (played by Kelly McGillis). Blackwood falls strongly in love with Mitchell and is forced to temporarily hide her feelings due to the conflict of interest in regards to her role with Mitchell. The character of Pete Mitchell vies to be one of the best at Navy Flight school and the competition between fellow pilot Lieutenant Tom Kazansky (Val Kilmer) actually brings out the best in him. Anthony Edwards plays LtJG Nick Bradshaw (a close friend to Pete Mitchell). Top Gun is great for those who like action filled navy themed movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Cruise Starting at 23 years old !, June 10 2004
By 
Jessy (Montréal, Canada) - See all my reviews
Top Gun really is the best of the best. this film is all about a maverick(literally)fighter pilot making it at Top Gun, the best fighter school around. Tom Cruise plays an excellent character, without doubt the best character ever invented, and he does amazingly. The soundtrack is brilliant and the script is amazing, with quotes to die for eg "i feel the need, the need for speed". This could be called a cheesy film, but it will, always, make the audience feel delightfully happy, and with a great ambition to become not only a fighter pilot, but also to be maverick. Amazing footage of planes. This film is perfection through and through. This is not an exaggeration. If you have not seen this film, watch it now.
- Lt. Pete 'Maverick' Mitchell: a 23 years old, 5'7'' Tom Cruise.
- Charlotte 'Charlie' Blackwood: a 28 years old, 5'10'' Kelly McGillis.
- Lt. (j.g.) Nick 'Goose' Bradshaw: a 23 years old, 6'2'' Anthony Edwards.
- Carole Bradshaw: a 24 years old, 5'8'' Meg Ryan
- Lt. Tom 'Iceman' Kazanski: a 26 years old, 6'0'' Val Kilmer.
- Cougar: a 25 years old, John Stockwell.
- Wolfman: a 22 years old, Barry Tubb.
- Sundown: a 30 years old, Clarence Gilyard Jr.
- Hollywood: a 27 years old, Whip Hubley.
- Lt. (j.g.) Sam 'Merlin' Wells: a 27 years old, 6'5'' Tim Robbins.
- Lt. (j.g.) Ron 'Slider' Kerner: a 28 years old, 6'4'' Rick sossovich.
- Lt. Cmdr. Rick 'Jester' Heatherly: a 36 years old, 6'0'' Michael Ironside.
- Cmdr. Mike 'Viper' Metcalf: a 52 years old, 6'0'' Tom Skerritt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Cruise Starting at 23 years old !, April 13 2004
Top Gun really is the best of the best. this film is all about a maverick(literally)fighter pilot making it at Top Gun, the best fighter school around. Tom Cruise plays an excellent character, without doubt the best character ever invented, and he does amazingly. The soundtrack is brilliant and the script is amazing, with quotes to die for eg "i feel the need, the need for speed". This could be called a cheesy film, but it will, always, make the audience feel delightfully happy, and with a great ambition to become not only a fighter pilot, but also to be maverick. Amazing footage of planes. This film is perfection through and through. This is not an exaggeration. If you have not seen this film, watch it now.
- Lt. Pete 'Maverick' Mitchell: a 23 years old, 5'7'' Tom Cruise.
- Charlotte 'Charlie' Blackwood: a 28 years old, 5'10'' Kelly McGillis.
- Lt. (j.g.) Nick 'Goose' Bradshaw: a 23 years old, 6'2'' Anthony Edwards.
- Carole Bradshaw: a 24 years old, 5'8'' Meg Ryan
- Lt. Tom 'Iceman' Kazanski: a 26 years old, 6'0'' Val Kilmer.
- Cougar: a 25 years old, John Stockwell.
- Wolfman: a 22 years old, Barry Tubb.
- Sundown: a 30 years old, Clarence Gilyard Jr.
- Hollywood: a 27 years old, Whip Hubley.
- Lt. (j.g.) Sam 'Merlin' Wells: a 27 years old, 6'5'' Tim Robbins.
- Lt. (j.g.) Ron 'Slider' Kerner: a 28 years old, 6'4'' Rick sossovich.
- Lt. Cmdr. Rick 'Jester' Heatherly: a 36 years old, 6'0'' Michael Ironside.
- Cmdr. Mike 'Viper' Metcalf: a 52 years old, 6'0'' Tom Skerritt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Top fun!, April 9 2004
By 
G Gilbert (London, England) - See all my reviews
Top Gun is an incredible movie from 1986 that is still deservedly very famous today.
Starring ane exceptionally young Tom Cruise (a very apt name for this film), and his beautiful sidekick, Kelly McGillis, this film proved to be a complete smash hit and kick started the careers of the young stars.
The film has many great features - the breakthrough ariel photography being the standout feature. Of course, it's much talked about and vaunted but no one can sit through this film and doubt it is impressive. What is particularly excellent is the pilots' eye view you get sometimes - the scenery from the cockpit just blows your mind and its almost as if you are up there. The soundtrack just suits this film to a T as well.
What is a disappointment is the story outside of the intense ariel action. It is a bit lacklustre and dull, but to its credit the young stars do have some chemistry together.
Also Tom Cruise can only play Tom Cruise - i recently went to see the last Samurai and he is pretty much the same character in there. Whilst his charm works in his early feature film here, it soon became clear the limit of his range.
However, that is not enough to deny the film 2 stars. What does this is my DVD copy - there are NO special features at all. Nada. Zip. Oh dear, what a disappointment, escpecially as this is one of the few films when a making of documentary or feature would be genuinely exciting.
Oh well, the film doesn't quite warrant the 4 stars in this package - but its comes close. 7/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun - A Staple Of 80's Culture & Fun For All Audiences!, Nov. 14 2003
By 
Scott Kolecki (Brooklyn, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
From the opening moments, as dawn breaks over the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, to the critical moment when a pilot must choose to embrace his destiny and engage in a battle to save the day, Top Gun is a fun and exciting adventure of one man's quest for greatness.
This is not a deep, philosophical movie by the stretch of anyone's imagination. It is pure fun, the hybrid of a script that is as slick and quick as the fighter jets that scream onto the screen again and again in the several action sequences of the movie.
The story, set around the Miramara Fighter School in California, (affectionately referred to by fighter jocks as "Top Gun",) is based around the life of a rogue and rebellious pilot, "Maverick", (Tom Cruise) and his flight partner and friend, "Goose", (Anthony Edwards). When an aerial engagement goes wrong over the Pacific Ocean, Maverick saves the day, rescuing his wing man from an uncertain fate and coming face to face with the legendary MIG-28. Later, when his wingman resigns his position as their squadron leader, Maverick takes his place and is given a chance to attend "Top Gun" figher school, which has been a dream of his since he can remember.
Maverick and Goose travel to Miramara, and on their first night there, Maverick meets Charlotte "Charlie" Blackwood, (Kelly McGillis), the fighter-school's beautiful, saavy enagement and tactical instructor. He, of course, is not aware of this and he tries desperately to "pick her up" to win a bet with Goose. The following morning, he learns the truth, and begins to pursue her. As expected, she becomes the love interest in the movie.
As their training progresses, Maverick runs headlong into rival pilot "Iceman" (Val Kilmer) and challenges the instructors of the school "Jester" (Michael Ironside) and "Viper" (Tom Skeritt), often pushing his luck and getting himself into trouble, while at the same time demonstrating his superior talent as a Tomcat pilot. In a tragic event, Maverick loses control of his jet and ejects, along with Goose, who is killed in the process.
The remainder of the film focuses on Maverick's struggle to overcome the loss of Goose and his personal feelings of guilt for Goose's death. In addition, Maverick, whose father died as a fighter pilot, struggles with the reality that he is always second best to his old man, and is forced to recognize that his skills make him one of the best, despite the adversities in his life.
The movie plays like an elaborate rock video, with a solid soundtrack featuring many top talents of that era. The flight sequences are impressive, especially for anyone who has a fascination with military aircraft. The story is predictable, as so many films in this genre are, but it in no way detracts from the enjoyment of the film. The characters are fun, though at times laughable, but definitely people that we care for by the end of the film.
This movie was the breakout role for Tom Cruise, who lead a cast of up-and-coming talent like the aforementioned actors as well as small, supporting roles by mainstram Hollywood talents Meg Ryan and Tim Robbins. It was also one of the breakout films for director Tony Scott (brother of legendary director Ridley Scott), who went on to direct a number of other successful films including "Crimson Tide", "Days of Thunder" and "Enemy of the State."
Scott Kolecki
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Love this Movie, Nov. 10 2003
By 
Matthew Edmundson (Winter Haven, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to admit I love Top Gun. I'm a young man that is considering the military and I was a military kid growing up. This isn't the best or most realistic military movie ever made, but it' one of the funniest.
Maverick(Tom Cruise) and his navigator Goose(Anthony Edwards) get the Navy pilots dream, a chance to go to Top Gun. It's at Top Gun that Maverick falls for one of his instructors Charly.(Kelly McGillis)Also at Top Gun Maverick is battling for the honor of top pilot against IceMan(Val Kilmer) Will Maverick stop being so cocky and fly like to his potential. Will he keep the girl? You'll just have to watch the movie.
Tom Cruise is fantastic. He does an awesome job playing Maverick. I've had the chance to spend a lot of time around pilots, and so many are like his character. This movie reminds me a lot of being with my dad on the base. Pilots are full of so much b.s. and are such hot shots. Cruise displays it on screen perfectly.
Anthony Edwards is great also. Goose is one of my all-time favorite movie characters. He's so loveable and goofy. A lot of pilots and navigators are like him too. I hate what happens to him in the movie, and I must admit it is hard to fight the tears.
Kelly McGillis is hot. She is beautiful in the movie. Her carear would have been so much better if she had kept herself looking the way she did in this movie. I like'd her charcter Charly. She does a good job.
I liked Val Kilmer. He plays the nemisis pilot great. He plays the macho b.s. pilot hotshot well. His charcter is a little more believable than Cruise's, but not nearly as fun. It's one of Val's better movies.
Top Gun is a fantastic movie. I've never met anyone that didn't like it. It's got an all-star cast, great comedey, great one liners, a fantastic soundtrack, action, romance, and much more. A great family film. A great guy film. Some people have even called it a chick flick before. You'll have fun with Top Gun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gun [Import]
Top Gun [Import] by Tony Scott (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 16.38 CDN$ 14.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews