Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun (3D & 2D): 3D version has new transfer, immersive video & great soundtrack; both will simply take your breath away!
VIDEO:

3D:

Top Gun 3D soars into blu ray with MPEG-4 MVC 2.39:1 encode, using Legend3D conversion. The picture is quite stunning on many occasions, and is the best that this classic has ever looked. The overall appearance exhibits a grainy, gritty texture. Colours are richly saturated and solid, with accurate fleshtones and deep blacks. Contrast and...
Published 14 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grainy - sometimes!
Like most people that buy this movie, I grew up with it and have always been a huge fan of it. I was disappointed right from the opening scenes - there was an awful lot of grain to the picture. As the movie went on, I could see some scenes were really good but then the next scene was grainy again. it kept doing this throughout the movie... The aerial scenes were really...
Published 18 months ago by Life2Art


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I Love this Movie, Nov. 10 2003
By 
Matthew Edmundson (Winter Haven, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to admit I love Top Gun. I'm a young man that is considering the military and I was a military kid growing up. This isn't the best or most realistic military movie ever made, but it' one of the funniest.
Maverick(Tom Cruise) and his navigator Goose(Anthony Edwards) get the Navy pilots dream, a chance to go to Top Gun. It's at Top Gun that Maverick falls for one of his instructors Charly.(Kelly McGillis)Also at Top Gun Maverick is battling for the honor of top pilot against IceMan(Val Kilmer) Will Maverick stop being so cocky and fly like to his potential. Will he keep the girl? You'll just have to watch the movie.
Tom Cruise is fantastic. He does an awesome job playing Maverick. I've had the chance to spend a lot of time around pilots, and so many are like his character. This movie reminds me a lot of being with my dad on the base. Pilots are full of so much b.s. and are such hot shots. Cruise displays it on screen perfectly.
Anthony Edwards is great also. Goose is one of my all-time favorite movie characters. He's so loveable and goofy. A lot of pilots and navigators are like him too. I hate what happens to him in the movie, and I must admit it is hard to fight the tears.
Kelly McGillis is hot. She is beautiful in the movie. Her carear would have been so much better if she had kept herself looking the way she did in this movie. I like'd her charcter Charly. She does a good job.
I liked Val Kilmer. He plays the nemisis pilot great. He plays the macho b.s. pilot hotshot well. His charcter is a little more believable than Cruise's, but not nearly as fun. It's one of Val's better movies.
Top Gun is a fantastic movie. I've never met anyone that didn't like it. It's got an all-star cast, great comedey, great one liners, a fantastic soundtrack, action, romance, and much more. A great family film. A great guy film. Some people have even called it a chick flick before. You'll have fun with Top Gun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Bare Bones Movie That Is Abosultely Genius, Nov. 8 2003
By 
John (Buffalo, NY) - See all my reviews
This movie is unbelievable and anyone that says otherwise is ignoring raw human instinct after all this is all that this movie is raw instinct. This movie is filmmaking at it's most basic in every aspect. The chorography the dialogue the soundtrack the way the actors move in the movie all just basic raw emotion the way it gets to you no thought is needed. The lighting is so good it's bad the dialogue is so cheesy it's good. If you get the DVD go to title 1 chapter 16 this might be the best few minutes of movie ever filmed. The movie so plainly puts out the idea that Maverick is a wild man that doesn't do any thing by the book. The dialogue by Kelly Mcgillis, "My review of your flight performance was right on, but I held something back I see some real genius in your flight performance Maverick, but I can't say that in that taxpayers I was afraid everyone in that taxpayers room would see right through me and I don't want them to know that I've fallen for you. Title 1 chapter 16 has the best movement of characters in a movie I've ever seen. How the character of Hollywood leans in to talk to Maverick in the class to say "gustiest move I've ever seen man" and how Maverick kind of shrugs his head. How after the class Maverick is walking a few steps ahead of Kelly Mcgillis with that cool 80's walk. How Charlie chases after Maverick in her car how those cars at the intersection perfectly stop. The way that Charlie's car comes to a skidding stop the way Maverick walks over to her car the way he takes of his sunglasses. The whole love scene that follows I mean this is art. Every film student at NYU should take a whole course in these 5 minutes of Top Gun. I mean that it so beautiful I want to shed a tear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Every Boys Dream, Oct. 2 2003
By 
I feel the need...the need for cheese! Yes, Don Simpson and Jerry Bruckheimer pull no punches in this 80's macho-fest that reigns supreme as the most-watched movie of my childhood. I'll waste no time explaining the plot here because I doubt there's a single living American who hasn't seen this movie at least once. The love story is pitiful, mainly because Kelly McGillis has the acting capacity of a sedated turtle and the soundtrack is more 80's than Jams and David Hasselhoff combined. But other than that, this movie just plain rocks! It's every (straight) little boy's dream come true and to deny that is to deny an integral part of being a male. Yeah, there's a lot of hokie stuff and maybe the dogfights are a tad unrealistic, but the overall product is quite entertaining. I know there are women out there rolling their collective eyes, so let me put it this way: movies like "Top Gun" touch men the way soap operas touch women. Got it? This movie made it into my "Top 25 Greatest War Movies of All Time" list that I hope you all check out and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, mediocre DVD, June 21 2003
This is a two-part review. One part on the film, and one part on the DVD:
This is easily one of my favorite movies of all time. It tells the story of a young fighter pilot and two goals he must accomplish: Being the best fighter pilot in the world, and winning over the love of one of his instructors. As the movie progresses, he learns there are things more important than being number one. I won't say anything more about the film itself (I don't want to spoil it for you) except that it features an excellent cast: Tom Cruise, Kelly McGillis, Tim Robbins, Val Kilmer, Anthony Edwards, Rick Rossovich, Michael Ironside, Tom Skerritt, Whip Hubley, Barry Tubb, James Tolkan, Meg Ryan, Clarence Gilyard Jr., and many more. Don't worry if there are a few actors you haven't heard of. Each one executes his or her role with excellence. Be warned though, if you're looking for accuracy to the actual US Navy or Top Gun school, you won't find it here. For example, the movie deals with competition, and in real life, the Top Gun school discourages competition. Likewise, we never hear the name of the country being fought against, and MiG 28's aren't even a real plane (these are just painted F-5' or F-20's.) Accordingly, you need to watch the movie with an open mind.
The DVD features excellent picture quality, plus your choice of normal or widescreen viewing. But where the hell are extras?! No interviews with the cast? No comments from the director? No deleted scenes? No listing of the cast's other efforts? They didn't even include trailers for other films or even that Diet Pepsi commercial that was on the original pressing of the VHS! If you like this movie and don't have a copy yet, get the DVD due to the obvious superiorities over VHS. But if you have the VHS version, don't bother getting the DVD. You're really not missing anything. Hopefully in 2006, they'll release a twentieth anniversary edition with the extras they neglected to include here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great screen shots, Oct. 21 2002
There is no real explanation as to why this film is so good. The acting is not spectacular. Tom Cruise and Kelly McGillis are two of the main characters while Val Kilmer and Meg Ryan play their minor roles well but are not phenomenal. The soundtrack to this film is awesome: Take my breath away, Danger Zone, and Great Balls of fire are the highlight tracks. Perhaps the aspect of the film which makes it so special is the fact that while "Days of Thunder," had awesome shots within the racecar, "Top Gun" has hands down the best shots ever within a fighter plane. The dogfights are spectacular. Another aspect of the film that makes it so good is the story itself. A hotshot fighter pilot Maverick is sent to the top flight school in the world where he has to learn to control his flying. There he meets the love interest and the story really takes place. It's one of those great friday night movies. The plot is good and there is some great action. I wholeheartedly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You Can Watch It Again and Again, June 5 2002
When I first saw this film back in high school I said ,So what? There wasn't much of a plot and it seemed more of a recruiting film for the Navy (or Air force). But I would be a liar if I did not admit that its great eye candy and wonderful escapism. This is THE film that put Tom Cruise on top and he's more or less stayed there since. I think that this film is far superior to his other action films, most notably both MI films and Days of Thunder (yuck!).
Top Gun is the story of Pete "Maverick" Mitchell the son of a Navy pilot who died in Vietnam under a cloud of suspicion. Now Maverick all grown up is himself a Navy pilot who is trying to get out under his fathers shadow and trying to escape the stigma placed on his Dad. Unfortunetly Mavrick tries so hard to escape this stigma that he doesn't act like a team player and does his own thing. A big no no in the Navy.
While Top Gun isn't a cinematic masterpiece, I still find it to be an enjoyable film. I am giving it 5 stars because it is one of those films that you can watch again and again without getting bored. There isn't a big meaty plot to digest and the (conservative) military setting almost makes it timeless.
The action sequences are good, and Tom Cruise is a delight to watch. Its interesting to watch him now and the films that he has done since. And while he may be a little older he still essentially looks the same. One of the things I like to compare in this movie is Mavericks free wheeling "I'll do as I please" attitude, to that of rival pilot Iceman (played by Val Kilmer)a by the book pilot with an aristocratic mien. They are almost different as night and day but still very much the same. Interesting how they both come together to be a military unit.
I don't think that there is a soul on earth who hasn't seen this film yet. But if you haven't get this movie for sheer pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A DATE WITH TOM CRUISE, May 30 2002
By 
This review is from: Top Gun (VHS Tape)
Top gun was the biggest grosser of 1986,a tom cruise vehicle that spelt magic at the box office.this is one tom cruise action movie which is way ahead of cruise's other MISSION IMPOSSIBLES movies .It doesn't mean that this was an out an out action flick but was an one-man experience in his
top gun training days.The plot was simple but what was extraordinary was tom cruise screen presence.
his fans(especially girls) must have got what they wanted- why was this a big hit:
1> tomcruise driving his bike with his friend on airplane while the song DANGER ZONE plays in background
2> airplane dogfights amazingly shot
3> the background color which makes it look rich
4> one of the best soundtacks with excellent numbers used nicely in film5> MR TOM CRUISE HIMSELF
just hear tom saying YEEHAAH and ill enjoy it.other characters too fit their roles properly.
there was this youth touch and energy to its feel.VAL KILMER was a good adversary to cruise.their few
scenes do bring the friction required.kelly mcgills was bit older but the way their tease each other
in a elevator with a senior officer on it.
TOM's character was nicely shaped and allowed to develop which other films didnt.the way he dealt friendship with
a brother-like goose,an affair with much older instructor,opposition of equally talented pilot,
a tragic accident that changes his life and career.
tom cruise looked best in this than all his other films,it is easier to get into a life of such a person
who is a pro and wants life his way.this movie came after tom's RISKY BUISNESS and COLOR OF MONEY and was
an instant hit.
the only thing i didnt like was that it didnt have a SEQUEL.
rest - IF U R A TOM CRUISE FAN THAN THIS IS BEST HE HAS TO OFFER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A DATE WITH TOM CRUISE, May 30 2002
By 
This review is from: Top Gun (VHS Tape)
op gun was the biggest grosser of 1986,a tom cruise vehicle that spelt magic at the box office.this is one tom cruise action movie which is way ahead of cruise's other MISSION IMPOSSIBLES movies .It doesn't mean that this was an out an out action flick but was an one-man experience in his
top gun training days.The plot was simple but what was extraordinary was tom cruise screen presence.
his fans(especially girls) must have got what they wanted- why was this a big hit:
1> tomcruise driving his bike with his friend on airplane while the song DANGER ZONE plays in background
2> airplane dogfights amazingly shot
3> the background color which makes it look rich
4> one of the best soundtacks with excellent numbers used nicely in film5> MR TOM CRUISE HIMSELF
just hear tom saying YEEHAAH and ill enjoy it.other characters too fit their roles properly.
there was this youth touch and energy to its feel.VAL KILMER was a good adversary to cruise.their few
scenes do bring the friction required.kelly mcgills was bit older but the way their tease each other
in a elevator with a senior officer on it.
TOM's character was nicely shaped and allowed to develop which other films didnt.the way he dealt friendship with
a brother-like goose,an affair with much older instructor,opposition of equally talented pilot,
a tragic accident that changes his life and career.
tom cruise looked best in this than all his other films,it is easier to get into a life of such a person
who is a pro and wants life his way.this movie came after tom's RISKY BUISNESS and COLOR OF MONEY and was
an instant hit.
the only thing i didnt like was that it didnt have a SEQUEL.
rest - IF U R A TOM CRUISE FAN THAN THIS IS BEST HE HAS TO OFFER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Human drama which eclipses the aerial battles., Jan. 14 2002
By 
D. M. Farmbrough "Dave Farmbrough" (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gun (VHS Tape)
This is sometimes seen as a typical 1980s film, making the name of Tom Cruise and featuring typically 1980s themes. Military men (compare with the dozens of Vietnam films) in smart white uniforms (An Officer And A Gentleman) fall for women with bad hairstyles. But this is really a film out of time. There is apparently a war going on with an un-named country (the implication is that it is the USSR), and this war is necessary to give any credibility to the dangers these top flyers face. This film feels as though it should have been set in 1943, with war-time themes of pilots on leave, garrison towns, and the 'first of the few' spirit suffusing the whole thing. Having set the story in the 1980s, however, the flying scenes are all handled skilfully and effectively, my only criticism being that it is difficult to see what is going on sometimes, especially with the stars' faces hidden behind flight helmets. One thing that is particularly 1980s, however is the soundtrack. Giorgio Moroder rarely puts a foot wrong, and some of his best work is on show here in the Oscar-winning Take My Breath Away.
Anthony Edwards gives a great performance but it's a pity he is in the shadow of Tom Cruise throughout as he deserves more. The two ladies in their lives are played by a young Meg Ryan and Kelly McGillis, both being believable in the roles they play. If I had one criticism, it would be that too much time is spent in the air with 'planes, whereas the real drama is on the ground between humans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I can't shake this flick!!!, Dec 11 2001
This review is from: Top Gun (VHS Tape)
Can anybody think of military aviation, the late 1980's, patch-covered leather jackets or patriotic rousing boffo blockbuster flicks and not think of this flick? In the story, Tom "Maverick" Mitchell is the typical bad-boy fighter pilot, a naturally gifted fighter-driver lacking any trace of discipline. Haunted by the mysterious fate of his father who was lost flying a Navy Phantom over North Vietnam, Mav is driven to succeed - even if that requires him to make high-speed passes over control towers, carrier decks and admirals' daughters. When he and a wingman intercept a pair of "MiG-28's" over the Indian Ocean (real MiGs are odd-numbered only),. Mav is tagged to go for "Top Gun", the Navy's elite fighter-pilot school. There his strengths and his weaknesses as an F-14 driver become painfully clear to everybody, especially the school's top ace, "Viper" Metcalfe (Tom Skerrit) and fellow-student "Iceman" Kazansky (Val Kilmer). In a paint-by-numbers script, Mav falls for Top Gun's civilian analyst (Kelly Mcgillis), loses his close friend "Goose" (a pre-ER Anthony Edwards) in an freak mid-air accident, learns to doubt himself, grow up and become a real Top Gun in time for a climactic battle between a sextet of the evil MiG-28's.
So why is this movie so important? Why not try asking anybody who's tried to follow-up this aero-classic using real airplanes and not CGI. 15 years later aerial footage from both this film and "Iron Eagle" are still used as stock, though it's clear that TG's is better, and nobody has even come close to surpassing it, CGI or otherwise. Though the plot is easily dismissed as unrealistic, the flight scenes go above and beyond in conveying the speed and gravity of these airplanes - especially the F-14 which is among the largest fighters in the world. (The F-14's large size is a liability in real combat, but also makes the plane much more cinematic than smaller jets like the Hornet or the F-16). Nothing is easy for these guys (and the fatal spin near the film's climax superlatively shows just how dangerous a job it is). Patriotic? How evil! Actually, though a tribute to real fighter-drivers, this flick isn't really all that jingoistic (unless you're the type who feels that the sight of any military hardware is necessarily jingoistic), and the mysterious nature of the dreaded MiGs is further proof of no flag-waving. (MiG's are Russian, but the Exocet missiles they carry are French; The Russians had no aircraft carriers capable of launching true fighter-jets until the end of the cold-war, and probably had few of their own airbases on the Indian Ocean in the mid 1980's.) A simple plot? Sure, but better than something convoluted. On the clearly plus side, the special effects are matchless, the sound and editing are tops and the photography (in which southern California skies are purple, and even sunlight looks liquid) is simply beautiful. The editing really makes the film - with flight scenes cut so quickly that you never realize how slow the mammoth F-14's are really flying. I'd get this film in wide-screen to bring out the effects. If you feel the need for speed - don't be cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gun [Import]
Top Gun [Import] by Tony Scott (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 14.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews