Customer Reviews


228 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun (3D & 2D): 3D version has new transfer, immersive video & great soundtrack; both will simply take your breath away!
VIDEO:

3D:

Top Gun 3D soars into blu ray with MPEG-4 MVC 2.39:1 encode, using Legend3D conversion. The picture is quite stunning on many occasions, and is the best that this classic has ever looked. The overall appearance exhibits a grainy, gritty texture. Colours are richly saturated and solid, with accurate fleshtones and deep blacks. Contrast and...
Published 13 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grainy - sometimes!
Like most people that buy this movie, I grew up with it and have always been a huge fan of it. I was disappointed right from the opening scenes - there was an awful lot of grain to the picture. As the movie went on, I could see some scenes were really good but then the next scene was grainy again. it kept doing this throughout the movie... The aerial scenes were really...
Published 17 months ago by Life2Art


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun, July 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is new to Blu Ray and quite honestly it is amazing. The sound alone is incredible. This film came to me within the projected delivery date. I was pleased with the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Movie!, June 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought this for my oldest son's birthday. My husband is a fan of this movie and we knew our son would love it too. He was pleased to get it and enjoys it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pas mal mais il accuse son âge..., April 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Image de bonne facture mais la HD ne pardonne rien surtout sur les effets spéciaux.
Pour la 3D, bonne conversion post production comparée à des productions plus récentes mais qui n'arrive toutefois pas à la cheville de ce qui a été fait sur Titanic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classique!!!, March 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
a voir et a revoir. excellent!!! trame sonore incroyable. mettre ce film a votre collection. je le recommande a tous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun, April 17 2012
By 
Gary Peddle (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of my all time favourites even better in Blu-ray!
I am anxious to see even more of my favourites in Blu-Ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun baby!, July 14 2004
TOPGUN..wat can i say. i grew up watchin this film ,its fun, exciting,thrilling and above all SEXY..tom cruise has never looked soo hott...this movie has given a new meaning to the song 'Youve lost that loving feeling' youd be surprised how many pilots, footballers sing this to girls in bars...it has an amazing soundtrack. 'take my breath away' performed by berlin is a wonderful emotional lovesong that truly melts your heart. so if your a fan of a little romance then this will be a movie top of your list. i know a lot of my boy friends have enjoyed this film so its not just a sloppy romance for girls. the boys get a kick out of 'Maverick' the stud played by Cruise who is 'one hell of an instinctive pilot' who learns never to leave his wing man. His best friend 'Goose' is the coolest character hes so entertaining. there are really fun sexy catchprases, such as 'goose ya big stud take me to bed and loose me forever' and 'son your ego is writing checks your body cant cash'
Top gun is a great movie to just chill out with some popcorn on the sofa and watch with your best friends. ill guarantee you will definately enjoy it.
"there are no points for second place in Topgun." (girls checkout the volleyball scene...mmm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tight plot, excellent air combat scenes, great music, June 17 2009
By 
D. Oldridge "Dave Oldridge" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Top Gun [Blu-ray]

This movie is a classic! I've loved it ever since I got a copy on VHS. The Blu-ray version is fantastic, with full digital surround sound and high-def video, it really comes alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Movie!, July 5 2004
By A Customer
This movie is a definate classic. The story line is interesting and not mindless like many of hollywoods other movies. Plus we have a beautiful guy with a smile that will make you melt playing the sensitive yet daring main charecter; need I say more? Be careful about chosing when to watch this though, you may have trouble focusing your brain on anything other than Tom Cruises amazing smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun Favourite., June 29 2004
Absolute cheese on a stick, but Top Gun proves that that's not always a bad thing. This movie's got everything - an arrogant prodigy who'd be out on his ass if he wasn't so good, a sensible, more down to earth best friend, a love interest, an arch nemesis and his dumb sidekick, a few cool high fives and catchphrases, the emotional death scene, a euphoric victory act and of course, some unforgettable action sequences. What more could any red-blooded child of the eighties ask for?
Anyone born around 1980 will remember how everyone was doing that double high five and saying 'talk to me Goose' to the kid next to them in class. Certainly one of my all time favourites - entertaining stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Cruise Starting at 23 years old !, June 10 2004
By 
Jessy (Montréal, Canada) - See all my reviews
Top Gun really is the best of the best. this film is all about a maverick(literally)fighter pilot making it at Top Gun, the best fighter school around. Tom Cruise plays an excellent character, without doubt the best character ever invented, and he does amazingly. The soundtrack is brilliant and the script is amazing, with quotes to die for eg "i feel the need, the need for speed". This could be called a cheesy film, but it will, always, make the audience feel delightfully happy, and with a great ambition to become not only a fighter pilot, but also to be maverick. Amazing footage of planes. This film is perfection through and through. This is not an exaggeration. If you have not seen this film, watch it now.
- Lt. Pete 'Maverick' Mitchell: a 23 years old, 5'7'' Tom Cruise.
- Charlotte 'Charlie' Blackwood: a 28 years old, 5'10'' Kelly McGillis.
- Lt. (j.g.) Nick 'Goose' Bradshaw: a 23 years old, 6'2'' Anthony Edwards.
- Carole Bradshaw: a 24 years old, 5'8'' Meg Ryan
- Lt. Tom 'Iceman' Kazanski: a 26 years old, 6'0'' Val Kilmer.
- Cougar: a 25 years old, John Stockwell.
- Wolfman: a 22 years old, Barry Tubb.
- Sundown: a 30 years old, Clarence Gilyard Jr.
- Hollywood: a 27 years old, Whip Hubley.
- Lt. (j.g.) Sam 'Merlin' Wells: a 27 years old, 6'5'' Tim Robbins.
- Lt. (j.g.) Ron 'Slider' Kerner: a 28 years old, 6'4'' Rick sossovich.
- Lt. Cmdr. Rick 'Jester' Heatherly: a 36 years old, 6'0'' Michael Ironside.
- Cmdr. Mike 'Viper' Metcalf: a 52 years old, 6'0'' Tom Skerritt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gun [Import]
Top Gun [Import] by Tony Scott (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 14.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews