Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another solid album by a great band, March 12 2005
By 
This review is from: Reise Reise (Audio CD)
I knew Rammstein would produce another great album, as all their other ones were works of art. Reise Reise is a great cd from beginning to end and flows well between song transitions. My personal favourites from the album would be Reise Reise, Mein Teil, Moskau and Ohne Dich.
I'd HIGHLY recommend buying the other Rammstein cds. This one goes into different music genres at times.. but cds like Sehnsucht and Herzeleid are very raw and heavy throughout. I'd recommend Mutter as well, as it has several singles on it (5)and is quite amazing to listen to over and over again. Rest assured that you will not get tired of these cds. Also try the Live Aus Berlin cd... it will get you head banging guaranteed.
If Reise Reise is your introduction to this band, you will be astounded at how great their previous works are as well. This band always delivers and gives you your money's worth. It is impossible for me to distinguish a favourite album of theirs.. but I assure you that all of them are in my top 10 favourite metal cds of all time. There's something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rammstein- reise reise, March 9 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Reise Reise (Audio CD)
what a pro cd all the songs are good (they are in german cept for a few songs with some english russian and french) the overall sound is amazing good beats good guitar amazing vocals has some orchastra elements this is a pro top notch cd one of metals best and germany's best band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rammstein's crowning achievement, Jan. 30 2009
By 
Derek Puzak (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reise Reise (Audio CD)
Rammstein will forever be associated with 'Du Hast,' the song that catapulted them into western mainstream culture, thanks in part to its presence on the Matrix movie soundtrack. What a shame that so many people refused to investigate the band further! Rammstein's first two albums HERZELEID and SEHNSUCHT were both incredibly powerful releases. The former was a straightforward heavy metal album, while the second added Electronica into the mix to create something new. Their third album MUTTER attempted to inject more operatic atmosphere and emotional drama to the music, which was definitely a welcome addition. Their fourth album REISE REISE however, is the absolute pinnacle of their achievements.

REISE REISE is operatic power mixed with heavy metal. Rammstein shy away from the electronic aspects of past ventures and instead focus on crafting incredibly talented and addictive songs. 'Dalai Lama' is a slow, heavy rocker with typical chugging Rammstein power chords that soon split off to incorporate atmospheric piano and clean vocals. The song literally rises from start to finish, and becomes a highlight of the album. 'Keine Lust' follows the same pattern, climaxing with a bridge that you just can't help but sing along to. 'Los' slows things down a bit, with no-frills acoustic guitar work partnering with electric guitar power chords, which serves as an intermission to the album's most powerful track: 'Amerika.'

The song easily dethrones 'Du Hast' as Rammstein's signature song, poking fun at America's overblown pretentiousness with tongue crammed into cheek. Multi-layered vocals sound like a chorus of people that rise up to chant in unison, and it truly becomes awe-inspiring to hear.

Rammstein don't stop there, following up with the equally epic 'Moskau,' a much faster, harder track that features guest vocals by Viktoria Fersh. From there, things begin to slow down, giving the listener time to breathe easy. To be blunt, REISE REISE is perfectly structured and executed with brilliant timing. It does take a listen or two to truly appreciate it, mostly because of the brilliance being thrown at the listener within the span of almost 48 minutes. Jacob Hellner deserves an award for his excellent mixing job. Production qualities remain balanced and high quality from start to finish. It does pass my car/subwoofer test, and remains one of my favorite sounding albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the few "legendary" albums out there., April 3 2006
This review is from: Reise Reise (Audio CD)
First a recap of every song on this album, and I do not lie when I say they are ALL #1 hit quality tunes, you will not find any fillers here folks.
1) Reise, Reise - A top of the line, fantastic and simply epic song, will make you cream your pants with awsome.
2) Mein Teil - Another fantastic tune, with melodic screaming, reminds you of a true horror movie, and will make you go insane.
3) Dalai Lama - One of my favortite song on the CD, There is just something about the buildup on this tune that I love.
4) Keine Lust - Another great song, very heavy.
5) Los - People don't give this song the credit it deserves, it takes a slower break from the highpace CD and brings a more grungy middle break into it, top notch however.
6) Amerika - Awsome song, can listen to it for hours.
7) Moskau - Another original and epic tune, with pumping female background vocals that just make it that much better.
8) Morgenstern - Another one of my top favorites, very epic.
9) Stein Um Stein- This wins as my favorite song in the CD, just incredible what this song does to you and your brain.
10) Ohne Dich - A refreshing slowdown and again very epic ballad. Powerful in a way.
11) Amour - Another one of the best songs here, extremly dark sounding and yet its not. Very cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece from Rammstein!, Nov. 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Reise Reise (Audio CD)
For the fourth time Rammstein deliver a masterpiece! And every album has it's own flavour!
Reise Reise is an emotional journey through the wicked world of the german sextet. No wonder the album's cover sleeve represents an airplane's black box-two of the songs ( Reise Reise and Dalai Lama) are dedicated to plane crashes. The group has grown as songwriters (there are unexpected twists in some songs, as well as choruses and even a symphony orchestra). Mein Teil is probably the best Rammstein song ever-intense and grotesque at the same time. The guitars are heavily distorted and the music fits ideally with the story for the caninbal- madman. Unfortunately, they have omitted the newspaper announcement included at the beginning of the video. Keine Lust starts heavy and has as surprising twist when the main character realizes he's dying. Los is probably the less interesting song on the album although I appreciate the humour . Amerika is an ironic description of what is happening recently in the United Stattes-very catchy chorus contrasting the heavy guitars. Moskau is an excellent song - slightly ironic , partly nostalgic about the democratic changes in this beautiful city- a girl's voice singing in Russian makes the song very authentic. Stein Um Stein is about a madman who's going to hide a body in the walls of house he's building. Incredible vocals from Till and an amazing synth solo. Ohne Dich is a stunnning ballad about a loss of a loved one. Amour is a great closer-about all the sufferings love can bring and as a conclusion at the end Till sings " Please, give me poison" . Buy this album! It's worth the ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lyrical breakthrough, Nov. 22 2004
This review is from: Reise Reise (Audio CD)
You can't fully appreciate Rammstein without making an effort to appreciate their songwriting ability, and this has never been truer than it is on their new album.
Especially songs like "Reise Reise" and "Morganstern," though pleasurable to listen to if you're just into heavy metal music, cannot be taken at face value in order to be taken to heart. Till Lindeman's operatic voice is at its best when the lyrics accompanying it are highly poetic, and that's exactly what we find here. The title track sounds almost like an homage to Melville's "Moby Dick," but I could be wrong. And their Goethe tribute "Dalai Lama" is a fantastic modernization, though the title is kind of silly in my opinion.
At any rate, some people might not be able to appreciate this album, and it's fine if it's not your cup of tea. I still hope nobody damns it as being a "sell-out" album, as it's got some of the most artistic depth that I've seen on any Rammstein album to date. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reise, Reise, Dec 5 2004
By 
Antoin (Peterborough, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reise Reise (Audio CD)
Reise, Reise is a great album to listen to, if you are eclectic. This album contains many different sounds, like snare drums in Reise Reise and Mein Teil, accordians in Reise, Reise and Moskau, lots of synthesizing in most of the songs, like Reise, Reise, Keine Lust, and Amour, for example. The album is also wonderful as Till can sing in not only German, but English. He even sings with the Russian girl (Viktoria, I believe) and says ??? ??? ???, which is amazing. And amour is French, so a total of four languages are sung. The bilingual songs, like Amerika and Moskau are among my favourites, as I am learning to become a translator. Rammstein has, since I learned about them in 2001, helped me with linguistics. Oh, and Olli sings, too. Great Album, Vielen Dank, Rammstein. Ich hore immer ihre Musik zu!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You cannot go wrong with this CD ..., Nov. 29 2005
This review is from: Reise Reise (Audio CD)
... if you are a rock fan. I am not into metal, and I absolutely love the music and the German lyrics of Rammstein. Their music is melodic, powerful, and never overpowers their vocals. Their vocals are strong and harsh, very masculine. My favorite song is Moskau. The female back vocals carry the song brilliantly. Their performance create erotic imagery similar to that of taTu, only to discover later that they were taTu. Now that is what I call genius. The band's deep voices and powerful guitars create an imagery of war, a warrior going to battle, total destruction ... yet, with style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY RIGHT NOW!!!, May 31 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Reise Reise (Audio CD)
this, along with rammstein's Mutter album is THE BEST!!! personally i am not a big fan of metal 'at all', BUT for this album i had no choice but to make a major exception. the music is absolutely AMAZING!
1) Reise, Reise -excellent, traditional/medieval sounding song
2) Mein Teil -creepy sounding song, reminds you of horror movies or even nazi's - LOVE IT!!!
3) Dalai Lama -slower song, i love the keyboards near the end
4) Keine Lust -the verses kinda suck, but the chorus is GREAT
5) Los -i dont like this song at all, ignore it
6) Amerika -catchy, moving, anthem-like, EXCELLENT
7) Moskau -definetly recommend this one, party song
8) Morgenstern -gets old after a while, but still good nvrtles
9) Stein Um Stein-ABSOLUTELY AMAZING, will blow you away
10) Ohne Dich -good slow song, very powerful
11) Amour -good slow song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great, Jan. 2 2005
By 
Ryan (Aldersyde, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reise Reise (Audio CD)
I loved each song on this CD and it makes me want to get all there earllier albums. I highly recommend this to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reise Reise
Reise Reise by Rammstein (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews