Customer Reviews


228 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun (3D & 2D): 3D version has new transfer, immersive video & great soundtrack; both will simply take your breath away!
VIDEO:

3D:

Top Gun 3D soars into blu ray with MPEG-4 MVC 2.39:1 encode, using Legend3D conversion. The picture is quite stunning on many occasions, and is the best that this classic has ever looked. The overall appearance exhibits a grainy, gritty texture. Colours are richly saturated and solid, with accurate fleshtones and deep blacks. Contrast and...
Published 13 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grainy - sometimes!
Like most people that buy this movie, I grew up with it and have always been a huge fan of it. I was disappointed right from the opening scenes - there was an awful lot of grain to the picture. As the movie went on, I could see some scenes were really good but then the next scene was grainy again. it kept doing this throughout the movie... The aerial scenes were really...
Published 17 months ago by Life2Art


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grainy - sometimes!, Feb. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like most people that buy this movie, I grew up with it and have always been a huge fan of it. I was disappointed right from the opening scenes - there was an awful lot of grain to the picture. As the movie went on, I could see some scenes were really good but then the next scene was grainy again. it kept doing this throughout the movie... The aerial scenes were really good and that's what made me give this 3 stars instead of 2 stars! I would have thought Paramount would have taken their time to get this release right. I mean, it's not like they had to rush to get this to market - it's a 27 year old movie!!! An extra few months of development, to get it right, wouldn't have upset anyone.

Too bad - this could have been the best release of this movie to date!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun (3D & 2D): 3D version has new transfer, immersive video & great soundtrack; both will simply take your breath away!, June 11 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

3D:

Top Gun 3D soars into blu ray with MPEG-4 MVC 2.39:1 encode, using Legend3D conversion. The picture is quite stunning on many occasions, and is the best that this classic has ever looked. The overall appearance exhibits a grainy, gritty texture. Colours are richly saturated and solid, with accurate fleshtones and deep blacks. Contrast and shadow delineation are well balanced. The movie opens with the new 100th Anniversary Paramount Logo which, to no one's surprise, looks perfect. The opening titles, including the long paragraph about the history of the Top Gun program, popped right off the screen. Jet noses poke out from time to time, the smaller jets, sometimes leave the screen, but for the most part, we experience depth rather than pop-out. In some scenes, one now also experiences depth instead of flat cardboard cutouts. The added dimensional depth and perspective enhances the realism of the serial shots and the backdrops, such as the distance to the ground and position of jets relative to other jets in the sky. This 3D version, with its effective spatial realism, is preferred to the 2D version. (4.5/5)

2D:

Top Gun 2D soars into blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.39:1 encode. This film is Paramount’s third trip to blu ray: 2008 and 25th Anniversary Edition (2011). While 3D Top Gun was a brand new transfer, the 2D version seems to be the same as the 2008 version, when one notices 2008 marked on the 2D disc. I delayed buying Top Gun blu ray until now because the video transfer in 2008 was simply not top-notched. The overall transfer simply looks poorly aged. Colours appear overly saturated and somewhat embellished. Blacks maintain some semblance of accuracy, but tend to take away some of the finer details in the shadows. It is hard to understand why Paramount did not restore the 2D version along the way. Maybe Paramount is trying to multi-dip our pocket with a decent 2D transfer for the 30th Anniversary Edition in 2016. (3.5/5)

AUDIO:

Both 3D and 2D versions have the same Dolby TrueHD 5.1 and DTS-HD 6.1 Master Audio. In this case, the DTS lossless track with one more channel is definitely preferred. The soundstage displays excellent channel separation with even, persuasive movement between the channels and very well-prioritized vocals in the center. When the F-14s scream across the screen, they fly by with ease while dynamic range remains stable without distortion. Low-frequency effects are accurate and authoritative with powerful, thunderous roars. Rear activity comes alive during the dogfights, extending the soundfield with lots of action and commotion. The real winner, of course, is the score of Alexandre Desplat and song selection, filling the entire front soundscape and subtly bleeding into the surrounds for an effective and engaging presentation.

The megapopular soundtrack practically qualifies as part of the supporting cast. From Kenny Loggins’ hits “Danger Zone” and “Playing with the Boys” to Berlin’s “Take My Breath Away,” the tunes support the action in that uniquely ‘80s, early MTV kind of a way. Then there’s the Harold Faltermeyer score and his indelible “Top Gun Anthem.” These songs continue to evoke a very specific time when there was nothing cooler than watching Maverick chasing down MiG-28s. (4.5/5)

PACKAGING:

Top Gun 3D as a 2-Disc "Limited 3D Edition" comes with new cover art and a matching lenticular slipcover. Inside, you will find one Blu-ray 3D housing the film only, as well as a second disc with the 2D version of the film and the Special Features. Personally, for all future 3D releases, I would prefer just the 3D and 2D blu ray, without DVD or Digital Copy. For regular 2D releases, when I buy the new blu ray release, why do I have to pay more for a DVD. This is another example of money grab from the studios.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Top Gun occupies a special place in the hearts of many people who were around when it became the box office phenomenon of 1986. The movie remains a classic, with tons of fun, action-packed sequences, and great characters. Top Gun endures. I love its complete lack of cynicism. The soundtrack is exceptional, with so many vibrant hit songs. Just turn up the volume, and let the movie “take your breath away.”

If you don’t have a 3D set, and already have the previous release, don’t bother with this set. But if you have a 3D TV, even if you have the previous release, the current 3D version is the definitive edition and is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Movie gone orange, Feb. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just received my copy today and after 45 min in the movie and despite most of the great reviews, I felt there was a problem with the color scheme.

Actors seemed orange and the sky was kind of blue-grrenish.

So I typed Top Gun 3D orange on google and found this thread.

I'm re-assured now, I'm not crazy.

I mean I grow Up With Top Gun, Owned 2 VHS (first one broke) the 2 DVDs versions, HD-DVD then Blu-Ray ones and now this one.

I'm a big fan of Tony Scott and his aesthitics, but this presentations feels like you're watching you're movie through an orange-yellow veil.

Even whites are not whites.

Paramount f***ed it up pretty bad as far as I'm concerned.

Although technically the 3D is pretty great, although scr**ed by the color scheme.

And you can clearly see the issue on the caps made by caps-a-holic :

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to those other reviewers., June 19 2012
Top Gun is a classic 80's movie, with everything you would expect from this period of movie making. Cheesey drama, classic one-liners, lots of montages, uncomfortable love scenes. Clearly, the above reviews (watched in the year 2000) have taken this movie way out of context, and have no clear concept of the 80's genre, especially from a pop-culture stand point.

Top Gun was the first movie that featured cooperation by the US military on a grand scale. It spawned a new wave of Ray Ban wearing wanna be pilots with short cropped, spiky hair. Top Gun has become a cultural classic for anyone born in the 70's and 80's, and more.

Watch it. Don't expect it to be realistic...80's cinema was a different experience than it is today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, July 3 2014
By 
Jonathan Eskritt "Mind Sponge" (Windsor ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My Daughter loves this movie and has watched it a dozen times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun 3D not very impressive, June 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Top Gun is a movie I've enjoyed viewing over the years. Now that we have a 3D home theatre I was eager to see it in 3D. The 3D did not add much to the movie. It is not money well spent. Just get the regular BD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Military Tom Cruise, April 19 2014
By 
Stella Carrier "joyfulwoman2078" - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gun (Widescreen Special Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I admit that I use to have the “Top Gun” soundtrack years ago (around 2000-2001) before ever watching the Top Gun movie in its entirety. The cd was stolen (around 2001 not too long after I got it) and I have an idea who did it. However, I decided to let it go due to the fact that the cd was replaceable and it was my own fault for leaving the cd out in the eating gallery area that I was working in (I did a stint of temporary food service when I was still in the navy). However, I finally got the chance to watch the Top Gun movie and I am now interested in getting both the dvd and eventually repurchasing the soundtrack. The movie stars Tom Cruise as navy pilot Lieutenant Pete Mitchell and highlights his brilliant performance as a United States Naval Aviator officer who gets trained at the Navy’s Fighter Weapons School in Miramar. He thrives during this training and charms one of the civilian consultants named Charlotte Blackwood in this school (played by Kelly McGillis). Blackwood falls strongly in love with Mitchell and is forced to temporarily hide her feelings due to the conflict of interest in regards to her role with Mitchell. The character of Pete Mitchell vies to be one of the best at Navy Flight school and the competition between fellow pilot Lieutenant Tom Kazansky (Val Kilmer) actually brings out the best in him. Anthony Edwards plays LtJG Nick Bradshaw (a close friend to Pete Mitchell). Top Gun is great for those who like action filled navy themed movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another favourite, March 7 2014
By 
BJ (Camlachie, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Top Gun (Widescreen Special Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
It is really hard to pick a number one favourite. They are all so good. This will teach me to have s many of Tom Cruise. Excellent movie again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, Jan. 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was so excited to see Top Gun in RD and what a disappointment and waste of money. Don't buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great item in mint condition, Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie with excellent sound with the F18, You must see if you like Tom Cruise for sure... ! A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gun (Widescreen Special Collector's Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews