Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood's Enormous Trojan War Looks Amazing on Blu-Ray
I'm really going to forgive some massive fundamental flaws and applaud this fun epic popcorn flick. Obviously, and it is assumed that like many cinephiles, I have a major problem with Troy's very existence to the core. Consider for a minute that the likes of Braveheart and Alexander are called "historical fiction" but they are based on people we know existed. Troy is...
Published on April 4 2008 by K. Driscoll

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Forgetful
Set 32 centuries ago, Troy is one of the most ambitious films to be released in years.

Based on Homer's classic poem "The Iliad", the film depicts the tale of young Prince Paris of Troy (Orlando Bloom), who spirits Queen Helen (Diane Kruger) away from her aged husband, King Menelaus of Sparta (Brendan Gleeson). Menelaus, in turn, enlists the help of his...
Published on Dec 12 2008 by Greg Curtis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood's Enormous Trojan War Looks Amazing on Blu-Ray, April 4 2008
I'm really going to forgive some massive fundamental flaws and applaud this fun epic popcorn flick. Obviously, and it is assumed that like many cinephiles, I have a major problem with Troy's very existence to the core. Consider for a minute that the likes of Braveheart and Alexander are called "historical fiction" but they are based on people we know existed. Troy is based on the Iliad but it works in such a way that the audience is possibly being urged to believe these were real events. So the film in essence is based on the possible events that took place during the Trojan War. In fact, it doesn't even stay particularly true to the Iliad but it does try to capture the icons associated with the Trojan War and at the very least it keeps in tone with the Iliad, especially with regards to the violence in its battle sequences and the portrayal of Achilles' wrath. However, no gods or mythical figures to speak of and that is, at the very least an indirect attempt to steer the audience from believing that this is fiction. Maybe it is just because so many other epic films released are based on some degree of truth. Troy is based on myths and that's alright if you want to portray it that way. 2004's King Arthur had the same problem but with less CGI. Troy has a lot of CGI and it cost $180 million to make. They didn't need to stretch so far for believability but like I said, some movies are just worth forgiving. This is eye candy; it is Hollywood to the bone.

Nevertheless, I liked Troy and it looks incredible on blu-ray. The director's cut includes extra battle cuts, extra nudity, and it even has some scenes that assist in character development. The extra footage is actually seamless and makes the movie far longer but also far better and if there is an epic film made for superior visual technology like blu-ray, Troy is just that film. There is no pretending here, Troy is a true Hollywood production and I actually mean that with at least some degree of affection. The cast is great and includes of course Brad Pitt as the seemingly invincible and infinitely angry Achilles, Brian Cox as one of the film's real villains in Agamemnon, Eric Bana plays the heroic Trojan warrior Hector, Sean Bean plays Odysseus, Peter O'Toole plays Priam with fitting melodrama, Tyler Mane plays the chaotic and violent Ajax, and the very beautiful Diane Kruger plays Helen; the face that launched a thousand ships, or was it her breasts? All are good in their roles but no one seems to take themselves too seriously and for the most part their performances, or in some cases just their presence, work within the film.

The battle scenes in Troy are huge and absolutely second to none. There are tons of battle scenes within this 196 minute Director's cut and they just keep on going while getting more and more exciting and out of control. The soundtrack for Troy is clearly an upgrade from the theatrical version and makes the battle scenes seem even larger as it booms and powers in and out of great sky shots over the beginnings, middles, and ends of various battles. The cinematography and visual effects, whether the fake kind or the real kind, look absolutely amazing on blu-ray and the great shots never cease in Troy. The music is huge, the drama is huge, and the visuals are even bigger. It is visually one of the most impressive blu-rays so far and that is because it is a visually driven film to begin with. Troy truly is epic in every sense of the word. Well, except for that whole idea of it being based on an epic poem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Forgetful, Dec 12 2008
By 
Greg Curtis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Set 32 centuries ago, Troy is one of the most ambitious films to be released in years.

Based on Homer's classic poem "The Iliad", the film depicts the tale of young Prince Paris of Troy (Orlando Bloom), who spirits Queen Helen (Diane Kruger) away from her aged husband, King Menelaus of Sparta (Brendan Gleeson). Menelaus, in turn, enlists the help of his brother, Agamemnon (Brian Cox), and two of Greece's greatest warriors, Achilles (Brad Pitt) and Odysseus (Sean Bean), in order to secure his wife's return. And thus begins a bloody siege around the walls of the doomed city that will end with the most clever military ruse in history. Despite his misdeed, Paris is backed up by his reluctant brother Prince Hector (Eric Bana) and doting father King Priam (Peter O'Toole).

Surprisingly, none of the performances are particularly stellar. As the inspiring and fearless leader in search of glory, the newly buff Pitt plays Achilles as a brooding hero with only two facial expressions: either a pout or a grimace. Though his love for a Trojan priestess complicates his loyalty, Pitt never lets you into his soul.

Bana overacts in an effort to make the noble Hector the centre of attention, while Bloom is eager as the meek Paris but his skills on-screen remain undeveloped. Unfortunately, there is no chemistry between him and Kruger, who serves as little more than eye-candy and the catalyst for the war; though she can hardly be considered ugly, it seems unlikely her face could launch "a thousand ships".

The accomplished Bean is sadly underutilized, but it is hoped that his character's decade-long mysterious journey home will be made as a sequel. The only standout is Cox, who plays the arrogant and ruthless Agamemnon.

David Benioff's screenplay takes a realistic approach to events, omitting the interfering and petty gods which would only clutter the narrative, as well as the prophecies which would give away the fate of many of the principals. While he makes use of the spirituality and superstition of the ancient cultures, he offers little of their customs and rituals. It is important to note that he also condenses the 10-year war into a matter of weeks. Though Benioff tries hard to develop the story like a Shakespearean tragedy, he lacks the Bard's poetry and emotion.

The costumes, meanwhile, are incredibly detailed and impressive, so much so that they outshine the unimaginative art direction. Composer James Horner's score is also cliched, and relies too heavily on brass.

Director Wolfgang Petersen (who hasn't made a picture since 2000's The Perfect Storm) is unable to capture the magic of other ancient epics. The sheer scope of the battle scenes is overwhelming, but his vision lacks feeling and offers only the occasional breathtaking image.

While the story of Troy may last for all eternity, the film -- like the city -- will be lost to the sands of time. Rating: 5 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & Intense Movie, July 6 2008
By 
Frejya Evenstar (Calgary, Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't understand the very poor reviews some people gave this movie. Yes - there are many liberties taken and it is not true to Homer's Iliad, but so what? This is a Hollywood movie - what do you expect? It's just a make believe story just as the original Iliad was. I thought Brad Pitt's performance was excellent - he's not just a ripped hunk fighting, slaying and pillaging - he is emotional, conflicted, complex, multi-dimensional & I think, very believable! The lack of involvement of the ancient Greek Gods made it more down to earth and believable for me. I usually don't like violence, but the fighting scenes are magnificent & beautifully done. The scenery is gorgeous too. If this was supposed to be a bigger than life epic - it certainly is! I loved the intensity present with all the characters - especially King Priam when he begs Achilles for his son's body. What beautiful drama! As a female, I have to admit I enjoyed all the gorgeous men, athletic, strong & chiseled - but that doesn't go far without good acting and an engaging story - I was on the edge of my seat even though I well knew what was going to happen to Troy & Achilles. This isn't a lighthearted story by any means - it is intense drama with a lot of violence (but well-done violence). I think overall it was very breathtaking and the characters were believable and the acting was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars parfait, April 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Livraison dans un délais rapide et la marchandise dans un état des plus satisfaisant, très heureux d'en faire l'ajout à ma collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Damaged steelbooks, Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Both my original order and the replacement arrived here in the Uk with damage to the steelbook case
And i am pretty sure the damage did not occur during Transit,
I have since ordered 2 more blu ray steelbooks, which at the time i placed the order i made a request that they were checked
before being packaged, and both arrived in perfect condition, Its seems that Amazon CANADA Really do listen to there customers, so 5 stars for the customer service team of Amazon Canada..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Brad Delivers the Goods, Jan. 23 2014
This review is from: Troy (2-Disc Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
The story of Helen, Paris, Hector, Achilles and the burning of Troy, all have the potential to create a great drama and therefore a great movie. But this effort does not come anywhere near the mark.

The script is simply not good enough; the lead actors - Orlando Bloom, Eric Bana, and Diane Kruger, are really very dull and boring. Oh, Miss Kruger's features are perfect, but there is nothing behind the eyes and very little in the soul, it would seem. This face could not have launched a thousand ships! Orlando Bloom is a young man with little talent, and no charm. There must be a dearth of young leading men around, that he would be given such a great character to play. But then, in fairness, the script did not give them much to work with. I could not believe for a minute that these two people were passionately in love. They are like two empty vessels with lots of sound and fury signifying nothing.

And Eric Bana is badly miscast as Hector. He does not have the weight, masculinity, or the charisma to carry off a role like this. He was quite good in the ensemble cast of "Blackhawk Down", but that was not a weighty lead in a Homeric epic. I saw him in "Munich" also, and again, very weak and limp wristed in his role.I honestly don't know what directors see in this actor. It eludes me.

But I really liked Brad Pitt. It was worth watching just for him. He sets the screen alive with his energy. (The lack of life, of sharpness, of acuity in the other leading players was depressing.) I always find that even if Pitt is not well cast in a role, he still comes through with the goods.

Peter O'Toole and Sean Bean were excellent when the script gave them something to work with. Even the greatest actor in the world cannot make a bad script sound good.

I do not feel that the director had the talent to direct an epic like this - needs someone like Ridley Scott.

The battle scenes are very well done, and very impressive. And the burning of Troy was a great finale.

But this could have been a really great film, if the script was as good as the story it depicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1st steelbook, Dec 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very very nice box art, damn well worth the extra 3 bucks I paid over the standard bluray box.
Holding it makes me feel cool :) LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic movie, Sept. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved this movie. Excellent quality and would definitely recommend it to anyone. I could see this becoming a classic like The Gladiator. At no point did I lose interest in the movie. I also like the SteelBook casing, I had never heard of it but it seems like a good way to keep your movies that much more safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!, May 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Troy (2-Disc Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
In perfect condition, like new! Very happy! Just as described in the listing and a GREAT price on the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More then a longer version, May 30 2010
By 
W. Reid (Montreal, QC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The director's cut is more then just a longer version of the theatrical release, it is practically a new, stand alone, film. Extended battle scenes, more in depth character introductions and an overall recoloring of the film makes it a much more captivating film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab159dd4)

This product

Troy (2-Disc Widescreen Edition)
Troy (2-Disc Widescreen Edition) by Wolfgang Petersen (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews