Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing movie
I guess people are molded by holywood standards and talk too much about some naked piece of flesh, but this movie is so much more than that. Relax and watch the movie and you'll enjoy it and if you have time to see the extras on the DVD you'll understand even better why it is so special. The plot, the actors, the camera and the music score are absolutely amazing. It's...
Published on June 10 2004 by Agamita Dandanache

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Passionate, and ... Very Complicated
"Sex and Lucia" is NOT all about sex, though the candid and explicit sex scenes are, to me, just gratuitous. But the film's strength is not that part; it is the beautiful photography and great acting by Paz Vega as Lucia, the title role of the film.
The film begins with Lucia talking over phone to her boyfriend who, it seems, is thinking about suicide. Desperate...
Published on March 30 2004 by Tsuyoshi


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing movie, June 10 2004
By 
Agamita Dandanache "422j3" (upstate NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sex & Lucia [Import] (DVD)
I guess people are molded by holywood standards and talk too much about some naked piece of flesh, but this movie is so much more than that. Relax and watch the movie and you'll enjoy it and if you have time to see the extras on the DVD you'll understand even better why it is so special. The plot, the actors, the camera and the music score are absolutely amazing. It's like drinking coffee at work (in US) for years and than you go somewhere overseas, in Italy or Spain and suddenly realize that coffee is so much more than some dirty brown water. You might not like it, but you'll have to accept that the real thing is great. Somewhere in this world some people think of acting and movies as a form of art, not just a money machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MasterWork ... takes some reading to catch the plot., May 1 2005
By 
Glenn Laycock (Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sex And Lucia (DVD)
"It's a story filled with advantages. The first advantage is that at the end of the story. It doesn't finish. It falls in a hole, and the story starts again halfway. The other advantage, and the biggest ... is that you can change course along the way. If you let me. If you give me time."

First viewing ... mostly watched and "kind-of" read the dialogue; found it a stunningly attractive film with good acting and confusing plot.

Second I sat down and went though some of the extras that were so caringly included on the DVD; and decided to really sit through it and try to keep on the dialogue. You can tell the makers of the film believed this one on terrific script.

Third, sat up until 2am reading and watching it. Wow, I was moved by the detail and caring that went into the script. The expressions on the faces: when Lucia runs home fearing something bad has happened to her boyfriend, the expression of the Nanny when she opened the door, and Lorenzo running down the street, and of course the last 20 minutes with the swaying camera (which was increased by having the actors walk on a board on-top of a roller to keep them off balance when they walked).

SYMBOLISM and Foreshadowing: The Moon=Daughter, Sun=Lorenzo, Mermaid=Mother. Even in early bar scene the TV images foreshadow what is to come; as does Lucia's review of his second novel and its "optimistic" ending she felt took away from the impact. The lighthouse and moon images. Such detail, even when it shows a couple getting into an SUV, the car interior is sudden lit to show bars in the back cargo area - so subtle it is easily missed, but so important.

Sex is a theme, and they use it to effect the viewer -- yes trick the viewer -- into focusing on it just like the characters are doing and to miss the gravity of what is important around them. Sex is the Island -- and it is hollow -- such is how people focus on sex as being the substance of something when it is not the fabric of reality people seem make it. Hypocrites (people in denial) will have a real tough time with the nudity because - guess what - they obsessed on it just like the characters in the movie. Take it like someone holding hands, going shopping, or eating dinner -- sure it is part of life, but it is not what life is about (the hollow island).

It takes some concentration, but you will find it so moving. This movie is packed with so much content, you get more out of it with each viewing. Highly recommended for the thinkers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Passionate, and ... Very Complicated, March 30 2004
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sex & Lucia [Import] (DVD)
"Sex and Lucia" is NOT all about sex, though the candid and explicit sex scenes are, to me, just gratuitous. But the film's strength is not that part; it is the beautiful photography and great acting by Paz Vega as Lucia, the title role of the film.
The film begins with Lucia talking over phone to her boyfriend who, it seems, is thinking about suicide. Desperate Lucia goes back to their room, only to find that he is not there. Since then, the film starts to show its peculiar trait -- it jumps back and forth between the past and the present, the reality and fiction (Lucia's boyfriend Lorenzo is a novelist). You see Lucia standing at the rocky coast of a tiny island; she stumbles into a hole only to find a cave (meaning hidden side of her life?); and the story goes back to 6 years ago, when Lorenzo and Lucia started seeing each other, but even then he seems to have had an affair with another lady on the island ....
The script of "Sex and Lucia" is so intricately woven that to say anything about it means a disservice to the tantalizing complexity. The reason is probably the director Julio Medem's penchant for teasing the audience's expectations, and he was good at it as is seen in his previous "Lovers of the Arctic Circle." Perhaps he wanted to do a brighter (and more complicated) story for the next film; if so, he succeeds well.
However, I for one prefer the love story of Ana and Otto described in "Lovers of the Arctic Circle." (Incidentally, Najwa Nimri, "Ana" comes back here again.) "Sex and Lucia," though never boring, has too many characters, and some scenes, which get very close to pretentiousness, are still unclear to me. What ever happended to the girl and the dog? What is the meaning of lying among the mud? Perhaps I am a slow learner; still I believe that I am not the only one who scratched the head, trying to figure out the way to make them out. I heard that Julio Medem thought about the story of Lucia first, and the "Sexo" part, and mixed the latter into the first. That might be the reason of complex nature of the film.
The film should be (and actually is) Lucia's. Paz Vega's convincing acting single-handedly creates the character of Lucia, who is both frail and strong, rivetting the eye of the audience. The film has lots of sex, but what we are really attracted to is her great performance. See it as her film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mind in emotional turmoil..., Jan. 2 2004
This review is from: Sex & Lucia [Import] (DVD)
Lucia is a waitress in Madrid, Spain, when something tragic happens to her boyfriend, Lorenzo, who is a writer. This tragic event seems to be related to an island where something happened some time ago, and Lucia packs her bags and intends to visit the island. At the island, she begins her soul-searching and determines how her relationship with Lorenzo came about. In this manner, she noticed that she got lost into a dark emotional roller coaster that seemed to influence Lorenzo's writing and their relationship. As she discovers herself, she also finds out about the islands hollow structure, which serves as a symbolism for her former relationship with Lorenzo. Sex and Lucia is obviously a well designed and written story that is brought to life through some very intimate moments. These moments might offend some viewers, however, these shots make the film very personal to the audience. Overall, the story is chopped up to resemble a mind in emotional turmoil which enhances the feelings that the film creates. This film will surely offend many, however, the film also offers a truly great cinematic experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like all great erotic literaure, April 17 2004
By 
Rudolf Spoerer "dowadiddi" (Weston, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sex & Lucia [Import] (DVD)
this movie does require the viewer to pay attention so that you do not get lost in a somewhat complex little story.
I really did have to restart to DVD since it kind of jumps at you from the get go as the director flashes from the present to the past without warning. If you enjoy books along the Black Lace line of erotica then this definitely is the DVD for you. Our waitress heroine. Lucia, knows what she wants and is willing to work for it even though the man she loves is a suicidal writer on the verge of imploding.
As an added bonus the cinematography and acting of course are stupendous, the sex is not gratuitous and clearly provides the motivation of the story. But, again be forewarned you have to pay attention to the story and watch it to the end to enjoy the full art of this great erotic masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erotic Drama w/excellent acting and grasping plot, April 12 2004
By 
Denny Vu Quach (California, GG USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sex & Lucia [Import] (DVD)
The first time I saw Sex and Lucia I was a bit shocked. I had never seen a film so sexually explicit(...). I couldn't watch it(...). Then I rented it a secong time and I sat through the whole movie. Boy was I dead wrong!! What an excellent movie! It has a very good plot with twists and all, great pacing (considering some spanish films are really long, slow and sometimes boring and plotless), breathtaking cinematography, excellent actors and creative erotism. I was so pleased with the movie that I decided to buy it. If you're too close minded and offended by explicit nudity then this movie is not for you(...).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A maserful film.., May 20 2004
This review is from: Sex & Lucia [Import] (DVD)
A strong statement is being made here, the world has changed and sensuality is a large part of films, but it possesses this film like the Devil possesses a priest. This dvd is exellent. Watch this if you ever want to be a filmographer, the shots are magnificent, the story slow in spots, but well paced, the girl actaully is not too pretty but that just shows how good the cameramen are, they make even her look enticing, with shadows, and flatterign angles. a great art film, that has more vicual appeal then anything else, whcih is funny cuz the girl is almost what I would describe as ugly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful ...... must watch movie, April 10 2004
By 
Vins (Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sex & Lucia [Import] (DVD)
The thought of watching this movie came after i watched another beautiful movie, Malena. Malena was an excellent thought provoking movie, i did not expect Sex and Lucia to beat it. But it almost did.
The movie begins well, has several plots in the middle, and keeps you guessing till the very end, the end is very memorable. On the whole a movie which makes you think and wonder, it leaves you with a smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL film, March 21 2004
By 
adriana "alisa" (Los Angeles,CA,USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sex & Lucia [Import] (DVD)
Sex And Lucia is one of the best films I've seen in recent memory, and I have seen MANY movies in recent memory. It is a pleasure these days to have a film so fully realized,so organically acted,and so beautifully woven together through a series of loose ends to come to a glorious,and emotional finale.As if that weren't enough,the film is also simply gorgeous to look at, and offers absolutely scrumptious natural images.
And it was almost shocking to see sex portrayed in such a natural,tender light.If you're hoping for a soft core porn movie with little plot involved, I couldn't recommend anything less.Sex in this film is used not to fulfill the viewer's libido, but to paint a picture of a blossoming,loving relationshop between two people.But I think the title is misleading and the trailer for this film was misleading because this film is not about sex.Yes, there is a plentiful amount of it(which would only be a shock to us sexually sheltered Americans), but this film is honestly not about sex.What is it about?It's about people, and coincidence,and circumstance,love,depression,heartache,betrayal- sex is just a factor in the film but not a subject.This is an absolutely wonderful film, which moves at a slow pace, but is fully rewarding at the end.Sex and Lucia is a film that I would recommend to ANY person on the planet who loves great films.Well, you're in for a treat because this one is remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mind-Boggling, March 2 2004
By 
Ping Lim (Christchurch) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sex & Lucia [Import] (DVD)
The movie started fittingly with Lucia. Her relationship with her mentally depressed writer boyfriend, Lorenzo wasn't going well. Upon returning to their apartment, she got a phone call from the police to say that the boyfriend was involved in an accident. She hang up the phone, clouting herself from the possibility that Lorenzo might be dead. Off she went to Lorenzo's island, the island that mystified or haunted Lorenzo all this while. As she was there, we were brought to the past, to the beginning when it all started between Lucia & Lorenzo. Slowly, Lorenzo's mental block for his new novel started to be uplifted & we were introduced to the daughter, Luna that Lorenzo had with a woman on that island (a one night stand affair). As the movie progressed, we were also introduced to the au-pair or baby sitter that looked after Luna. The baby sitter confided to Lorenzo about her lust for her mum's live-in partner. It also happened that the baby sitter's mum was a porn movie star. Deep in his subconsciousness, Lorenzo had lust for the babysitter. How would all those characters relate to each other, and where does this movie lead us, you might ask. At times, I got myself confused as the movie shifted aimlessly between fact & fiction; past, present, & future. Somehow or rather, it all came together in the end, a very satisfying end, I might add. In some instances, when we watch an art movie, we might come across some endings that would have us exclaim, Huh? However, for this instance, all loose ends were tied up. It also affirmed to me about the point people having seven degrees of separation. Everybody knows everybody, & everybody is interrelated with everybody. Perhaps, it could be long winded at times but it could be me having to juggle through the English subtitles. Highly recommended. By the way, this movie is definitely R-rated with many flashy sex scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex And Lucia (Rated)
Sex And Lucia (Rated) by Julio Medem (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 38.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews