Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Village
In 1897, in Covington, a countryside community located in the secluded area in a large clearing of trees in rural Pennsylvania, the simplistic and happy harmony is often punctured by the frightening monthly appearances of horrific monstrous creatures with unspeakable names that live within the dense forest woods surrounding Covington. The creatures are attracted by the...
Published on June 19 2006 by ravenclaw29

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time
This movie start to be interesting at the beginning. The music will make you feel junping from your seat at times. The ending was..............this is it? You think the movie is not finish but it is.
Published on March 2 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Village, June 19 2006
This review is from: The Village (Bilingual) (DVD)
In 1897, in Covington, a countryside community located in the secluded area in a large clearing of trees in rural Pennsylvania, the simplistic and happy harmony is often punctured by the frightening monthly appearances of horrific monstrous creatures with unspeakable names that live within the dense forest woods surrounding Covington. The creatures are attracted by the color red, and therefore red is forbidden from ever being worn and shown at all in Covington. The Elders, Covington's leaders, decide that the best method against the creatures is to simply hide whenever they arrive, and to often wear yellow, "the safe color," when near the woods.

But for young Lucius Hunt (Joaquin Phoenix), personally dismayed at the death of several children within Covington, life staying hidden within the forest clearing and always running away from the creatures is completely dissatisfying. In order to stop the future deaths of many other children from ever happening, Lucius appeals to The Elders, asking their permission to leave Covington and get medicine from the other neighboring towns. Lucius' request is turned down, and his widowed mother, Alice (Sigourney Weaver), begins to worry more about her son, and how quiet he has become.

Ivy Walker (Bryce Dallas Howard), the beautiful and spirited redhead blind girl of Covington, and always a close friend of Lucius, is now discovering that she and Lucius may be falling deeply, madly, truly in love with each other. And while Lucius and Ivy fall in love, they are both totally oblivious to the fact that the mentally disabled Noah Percy (Adrien Brody) himself has fallen in love with Ivy, and he grows bitterly envious of Lucius, and his envy may cause him to commit awful, sinful acts; and this act against Lucius may lead Ivy to be forced to face the unspeakable creatures in the woods, just to save Lucius' life.

Being quite a big fan of M. Night Shyamalan's other great blockbuster films, The Sixth Sense and Signs, I had immensely high expectations for The Village. While the initial design of this story is, simply put, quite fascinating, the movie failed to live up to the interesting premise, or my own personal expectations. Joaquin Phoenix was much better suited in Signs as Merrill Hess than he is here as Lucius Hunt. I never found myself caring about his rather unlikable character. Sigourney Weaver was also a bit of a let-down, possibly because the script never gave her much of a chance to shine. Adrien Brody failed to bring notice, as well. Newcomer Bryce Dallas Howard, the daughter of famed director Ron Howard, truly shines here as the blind Ivy Walker, and I found myself trembling in fear for her as she was being chased through the woods. Still, while I was partially disappointed, and I found the final twist to be lamely unimpressive, others may enjoy this film very much indeed.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius of a movie, Jan. 11 2005
By 
Melissa Hart (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Village (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Village takes us on a journey through one of the greatest stories ever told. The way it was written, directed and acted are outstanding. Certain people just don't get it. They don't see the brilliance in what M. Night did to make this an amazing movie.
We follow the lives of a small town in Pennsylvania, as they live their daily lives all while having the looming threat of the creatures that live in the woods. Not to be harmed, the villagers must never venture into the woods, for fear of danger. But when tragedy strikes this lowly town - someone must step up. Young Ivy Walker, the daughter of the village's head elder Edward Walker (William Hurt) fights with all her power to get permission to go through the woods, into the towns, to save Lucius (Joaquin Phoenix), the man she loves.
Can Ivy fight the demons that the village faces? Can the secrets that hide throughout continue to stay secret? Can love overcome evil?
The Village is a whirlwind journey through thriller, romance, drama, and yes-even comedy at times. You feel as if you are Ivy fighting everything in your power, fearing everything around you just to get to the towns to save Lucius - and yourself.
Brilliant directing, writing, and acting - M Night, is definitely one of the greatest filmmakers around. And there is nothing but praise for this movie.
With the DVD showing extra features such as the making of The Village, deleted scenes, and an excellent commentary. The Village will be the only thing playing in my DVD player for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, March 2 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Village (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie start to be interesting at the beginning. The music will make you feel junping from your seat at times. The ending was..............this is it? You think the movie is not finish but it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense captivant mélangeant le mystère et l'horreur, Sept. 27 2009
By 
I. Theoret "sardonyx" (Longueuil, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dans ce suspense d'horreur et de mystère réalisé par M. Night Shyamalan, l'audience ne pourra qu'être captivée du début à la fin. Le film est un réel succès.
Une communauté isolée très unie vit dans la peur oppressante d'une force maléfique qui hante la forêt interdite bordant le petit village. La terreur domine tous les habitants et nul ose aller explorer les bois jusqu'à ce qu'une brave villageoise désire affronter l'inconnu. Une aveugle devra braver sa peur pour aller chercher des médicaments dans le monde moderne et ainsi constater une grande vérité cachée à tout le village.
Excellent film de suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spooky and fun, Sept. 14 2007
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Village (Bilingual) (DVD)
Life in the tiny 19th century village of Covington Woods is idyllic; the tiny community lives in harmony, completely isolated from the distant Towns that are feared and never visited. The only problem is the constant threat of the hideous, red monsters that lurk in the woods and send the villagers rushing to their cellars every so often. Ivy (Bryce Dallas Howard), the plucky, blind daughter of elder Walker (William Hurt), has fallen in love with strong and shy Luscious (Joaquin Phoenix), son of the widow Hunt (Sigourney Weaver). When Lucious' life is in danger, Ivy asks for permission to leave the village for the first time and seek medicine in the Towns.

I really enjoyed this movie. The actors are all excellent and the creepy mood is lightened by a bit of innocent romance. Some of the characters are written as stereotypes - Ivy is the wisest and bravest girl in the village (if not the world) and never, ever stumbles - but others are more intriguing: Adrien Brody gives a touching performance as a mentally retarded young man who causes trouble, and Joaquin Phoenix is sweet as the lovesick hero. You'll have no trouble figuring out the twist early on, but that's OK; it's still a fun flick with a stellar cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars We can mover towards hope, Aug. 29 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Village (Bilingual) (DVD)
Everyone lives a full life in a self-sufficient 1800's village. We live in a symbiosis with a mysterious species. However we also live free form the evils that permeate those other villages beyond the forbidden forest. So what happens when we violate the truce with the other species?

The film is produced by M. Night Shyamalan; so there is no surprise in the formula or big picture. It is not hard to figure out the premise shortly into the story. However there are several surprising twists on the way.

The acting was surprisingly exceptional. We have well known actors that have the ability not to let their personalities overwhelm their characters.

The sets and period costumes were superb. You can see that there was a lot of time and money that went into them. You have the feel that you are there.

Although this film may not have achieved the potential in many eyes it is probably one of the best balance and almost believable stories Shyamalan has shown us. It is more than just a tale as we se how people relate and can relate under stress and great joy.

The archetype for the movie could have been lifted right out of a Joseph Campbell's book "The Hero with a Thousand Faces" (1949). The four stages making up the cycle of a monomyth are "passage: separation-initiation-return:"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A mediocre offering, Sept. 9 2006
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Village (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Village is the story of a small community living in a tiny settlement, surrounded by woods that reportedly contain mysterious, malevolent creatures. These creatures have to be given sacrifices in order to prevent them harming the villagers. No-one enters the woods or leaves the Village. M Night Shymalan has managed yet again to create an atmospheric movie with brilliant cinematography. Unfortunately this is as much as he manages with this film. In spite of worthy performances by stars such as Sigourney Weaver and Joaquin Phoenix along with a brilliant performance by newcomer Bryce Dallas Howard as a blind girl, the film somehow falls flat. There is none of the sense of unease that we have come to expect with Shymalan's movies and the ending, for once, could be seen coming from very early on in the story.

Some people have viewed this as a horror story, others as a drama but it doesn't really manage to fall into either genre comfortably. It's not a bad film, it's certainly worth viewing once, but it's not one that you would want to watch over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars All depends what you expect...., March 14 2005
By 
Adam D. Dunn (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Village (Bilingual) (DVD)
I think the problem is the director bills this as another scare movie with a twist like Sixth Sense or Unbreakable. With every movie he has made, the twist has gotten less and less until finally we come to the Village. I think if you are not expecting a twist and are there to watch a movie, this could be okay. I didn't feel like I wasted my time watching it. But when the "twist" of sorts is revealed half-way through, I kept waiting for the twist. I thought at the end I would be surprised, I couldn't wait to find out what the twist was, then the movie was over. As a movie, it was okay. Good acting, decent plot. As a THRILLER, it was crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not bad at all, March 13 2005
This review is from: The Village (Bilingual) (DVD)
i was expecting a movie that was boring and tedious because of all the bad things ive heard of it. what i was served was a good movie with a plot twist at the end that infuriates some people to death.
yes, this is a slow moving movie. no, the creatures in the woods arent in every scene, so dont expect them to be. they are more of a sub plot, in the way of the real story taking place. they are more of obsticles in the way of the salvation of the characters.
with that being said, this was a good movie. not shyamalan's best, nor does it surpass his previous three movies, but this is still a very good movie. the ending had my brother and other people angry as hell and, personally, i liked it. i thought it was interesting the way it spawned out to be what it was.
all in all, the village isnt a memorable movie besides the ending which you will either like or hate. you will not love it, you will not kind of like it or be unsure, you will come to a complete decision as the credits roll. i liked it, and i recommend you to watch this movie with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., Jan. 15 2005
By 
Erik (Fort St. James, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Village (Bilingual) (DVD)
I have really enjoyed M. Night Shyamalan's other movies, especially 'The Sixth Sense' and 'Signs'. Each of his movies has a gimmick or payoff, so to speak. It is getting harder and harder to top them, and he must be running low on new ones.
You definitely have to suspend your disbelief in this one. This late nineteenth century Pennsylvania village is sitting in the middle of a not too large pasture, and is surrounded by woods on all four sides. There are 'creatures' living in the woods, the villagers stay out of the woods, and the 'creatures' stay out of the village. That is the 'truce'.
How did the villagers get to there location if these maurading creatures are all around them, and hey, where does all their stuff keep coming from. The land the village occupies is no larger than a cow pasture and cannot be self-sustaining.
But nevermind about all that. The acting is pretty good, especially Joaquim Phoenix. The worst is Adrien Brody, as an over the top halfwit. Director Ron Howard's daughter, Bryce Dallas Howard is really good as the blind Ivy.
I suspended my disbelief, and looked forward to the payoff. It is, in my honest opinion, very disappointing. Shyamalan really needs to stop using this 'payoff' or 'gimmick' formula because audiences keep expecting it now and will only be disappointed. It's time for something new.
M. Night Shyamalan is a good storyteller and film maker, and some of his previous movies were brilliant. But it is time to stop with the gimmick payoffs because he just can't keep topping himself anymore. I look forward to Mr. Shyamalan's next film, and hope it is something non-gimmicky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2747528)

This product

The Village (Bilingual)
The Village (Bilingual) by M. Night Shyamalan (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews