biss boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VIDEO:

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical versions were mired in controversy due to the digital noise reduction (DNR) used on Fellowship of the Ring. The video has been completely remastered from the film's 2K digital files, and the result is a vast improvement in details: beards never get blurry, not once, and facial features remain pure. Blacks are inky. The new controversy is the greenish tinge, because the colour timing was redone. Thus, the picture looked different from the original DVD version. But according to the studio, this colour timing was approved by Peter Jackson and cinematographer Andrew Lesnie. Overall, the picture was very pleasing. But don't be surprised when future prequels (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, due in theatre December 2012, and The Hobbit: There And Back Again, due in theatre December 2013) are out that the studios may triple dip with another "newly remastered" version of the film. (4/5)

The Two Towers (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 107 minutes; Part 2: 129 minutes). The presentation was magnificent, with great details and strong black levels. Contrast is excellent. (5/5)

The Return Of The King (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 128 minutes; Part 2: 135 minutes). Fine detail is abundant, with lovely contrast and accurate color. The image is delicately textured and highly dimensional. The sweeping shot as King Théoden and his Rohirrim charge the advancing line of Mûmakil on the fields of Pelennor looks almost three-dimensional. (5/5)

AUDIO:

The audio in all three films is in DTS-HD MA 6.1. In one word: perfect!! All three tracks are nothing short of splendid, with pitch perfect dynamics, wonderful directionality, constant and appropriate localization effects, superb clarity, impeccable prioritization, wonderful volume spikes, and plenty of down and dirty bass to keep the entire experience engaging, no matter how thoroughly worn out you are by the length of the material. The soundstage is constantly filled, putting you in the middle of the experience throughout the entire affair. This trilogy, with three powerful DTS-HD Master Audio 6.1 mixes, is one reason why this release may rule them all. (5+/5)

There are a total of 15 discs with extensive supplements. This extended blu ray edition will provide many hours of enjoyment for the whole family for years to come: like a Lord Of The Rings marathon during a long weekend. Although it is not perfect, it is still considered the ultimate, definitive Lord Of The Rings for now. Highly recommended.
0Comment139 of 147 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2011
Just a quick note that i took the risk to order this canadian boxset (zone A) for use here in Belgium (zone B players) as i had read here & there that normally these blurays could also be played on european players. Got it delivered within 4 days (so-called 'slow' delivery, fantastic !) and tried it immediately: i can confirm it's also zone B.
Packaging is slightly different to european (french) version, box is narrower (good news too for gain of space in your collection) but french subs are there and for those who wonder about french language it's proper french too, not canadian dubbing.
So: all's fine, great !

PS I've only given it a 4-star because there are those logos & presentations you can't skip at every new vision.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2012
Just to say, there are both english AND FRENCH audio option!

Pour les francophones, il y a la version anglaise ET la version française dans ce coffret blu-ray! :)
0Comment99 of 107 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 18, 2015
This is a must have collection for any LOTR aficionado. They have an excellent Bluray quality (video and sound) rendition of the films. The extras (DVD quality) are plentiful and interesting to follow.

I personally don't mind the fact that each part of the trilogy is split in 2 discs, as they each are long enough to require a bathroom/snack break in between.

The one thing I really dislike about this particular package is the amount of previews (a.k.a. garbage) at the beginning of each part. And the fact that there is no way to jump from there to the main disc menu (only by means of pushing the skip scene button many times). I can accept previews and other uninteresting material in rental discs, but not in a movie collection set like this one. A huge disappointment for this reason.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2011
Great Blu-Ray Set. Excellent video quality and packaging all around. My only issue is the ridiculous amount of previews before the first menu. I'm sorry, I think when you pay for a physical media you shouldn't be subjected to movies you don't care about...
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2011
The video quality of these 3 movies is amazing. Even on a large projection screen, the detail of the images and the colors far surpass the DVD versions. The extended editions content definitely adds to the understanding of the story. I don't always replace DVD's with Bluray's because with up-conversion they don't necessarily look that much better, but in this case I couldn't be happier. We will watch these again and again.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2007
As much as I love Star Wars, this is definitely the best trilogy ever made.

Do I really need to say everything you probably read or heard somewhere already? Yes, all three films are equally great. They were all shot together after all.

Fellowship of the Ring is about as strong an opening chapter as

you could ask for. Two Towers makes you forget it's just a middle chapter

because it's just as brilliant and... Return of the King sets a new standard for the finale of an epic trilogy.

As if owning the best trilogy ever made wasn't enough, these extended editions are superior to the original theatrical versions. They make the films feel more complete. Oh yeah and all those extras are so detailed you'll want to check out everything though you probably will never find the time to do so. Basically, this set may look expensive but it's worth every

dollar.

By the way, if you love the movies, I highly recommend the books. They're

absolutely wonderful as well and I'm not a big reader.
0Comment26 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2011
So many reviews here are people complaining about the set they purchased not being shipped. However, these reviews are all for the DVD set, not the Blu-ray. So why on Earth is Amazon listing all those reviews on the Blu-ray product's page? It's bound to get confusing for customers. I know I was wondering what these people were talking about at first until I saw another review clarifying the others were referring to the DVD.
0Comment82 of 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2010
Be warned that this BD release is the original theatrical versions of the film, not the extended editions! The studio pulled exactly the same stunt for the DVD releases of the LOTR trilogy and declined to release both the theatrical and extended versions of the film at the same time to provide fans with a choice. This can only be viewed as attempt to sell the movie series multiple times to fans. If you want the extended versions of the films, wait and do not purchase this set.

That being said, if you do not want the extended theatrical versions, then by all means, purchase this set instead.
0Comment347 of 404 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2010
Hugely disappointing that the extended edition boxset is being released at a later date (and possibly as late as 2012 if the rumors are true) I love the LOTR series but once you've watched the EE versions, the theatrical versions (although very good) are just not up to the same level of enjoyment and fulfillment as the EE release. Sorry Mr Jackson, but I'll be holding off until the EE set is released no matter how long it takes. I'll rent this to see some LOTR Blu-ray eye candy 'til then.

Shame on you Warner Bros

Edit: March 29....1 week prior to release.

Well....looks like there's even more reason to wait now. The early reviews are coming in now from some of the respected Blu-ray review sites and the reviews have not been glowing. This is not going to be anywhere near the "hi-def demo material" release everyone expected it to be. Numerous complaints of sub par picture quality, excessive use of digital noise reduction and edge enhancement editing are coming in. So now the question is......will Warner hear those complaints, take heed and redo the transfer for the EE release (whenever that is) as is being done for for the noted 2009 sub par blu-ray "Gladiator"? Only time will tell.
0Comment138 of 161 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse