Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not much of a thriller, but what a movie !
In my view, most reviews of this film have it all wrong. A crime thriller it most certainly is not. There is no thrill to be had in the discovery of the criminal since his identity is generously revealed in the very earliest frames. Not a trace of horror is generated by the murder itself since we are never allowed to see it. A balloon floating skyward is the only hint we...
Published on May 5 2011 by David M. Goldberg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very strong, but not best German film
In 1933 the Nazis offered Fritz Lang the leadership of the German film industry. Being half-Jewish and a liberal he refused and fled to America. His wife, Thea von Harbou (who would become an ardent Nazi) wrote the well-crafted script for "M", a 1930 film about a child murderer and his tormented mind. This film is eerily steeped in the German expressionist...
Published on April 18 2001 by Tom Goyens


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not much of a thriller, but what a movie !, May 5 2011
By 
David M. Goldberg (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In my view, most reviews of this film have it all wrong. A crime thriller it most certainly is not. There is no thrill to be had in the discovery of the criminal since his identity is generously revealed in the very earliest frames. Not a trace of horror is generated by the murder itself since we are never allowed to see it. A balloon floating skyward is the only hint we are given of its enactment. Instead of murderer and victim, the protagonists that generate the compassion, the hatred and the anger of Lang's singular masterpiece are two competing systems of morality, one favouring the victim and the other the perpetrator. The final 'shoot-out' takes place in the grim warehouse to which M is brought by the criminals who have caught him in revenge for ruining their profession, and is 'tried' by a judicial process that in many ways comprises more of the elements of true justice than the conventional trial that follows when the hitherto inept Police interrupt the impending execution and drag him before the strong arm of the Law, where a parade of lawyers and psychiatrists mouth the usual meaningless platitudes that result in his acquittal by reason of insanity, to the dismay of the grieving parents of his 14 or so victims. The crooks seemingly got it right: they, after all, and not the Heidelberg-educated jurists and medics were his 'true peers', whose opinions are proudly supposed to count most in the traditional legal systems of Western Democracies.
Lang's main concern and his seminal triumph is to explore the impact of crime and a failure of retribution upon various layers of Society: Criminals, Police, Politicians, and the Public at large. His analysis is larded with wit, cynicism and satire, covering all aspects of the issue with all-embracing thoroughness, and he presents all sides so objectively that we never really know the nature of his own opinions and agenda. This is not surprising when we call up the fascinating extras included in this excellent Criterion package that reveal what a liar and dissembler this great artist was in his own life. But what an artist! The cunningly angled shots of sinister streets and buildings; the close-ups of individuals revealing almost every emotion that the human face is capable of displaying; the scenes of crowds moved by fear, anger, suspicion like a pack of animals; all of these skills are deployed to build up excitement and tension in the viewer as no film-maker achieved before or since, no matter how much blood and violence were lavished on the attempt. Much is made of Lang's role as a fore-runner of Hitchcock, but in my view this is not accurate in the sense that Lang was so far ahead that the latter never really caught up.In summary, we should all be grateful to Criterion for making available a remarkable piece of cinematic history so fresh and well-preserved that it comes across as history made contemporary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ..., March 2 2004
By 
Michael R Gates (Nampa, ID United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M (The Criterion )Collection (DVD)
The city of Berlin (during pre-WWII Germany) is wrought with hysteria as a cunning child-killer stalks the streets. To hasten the capture of the murderer, the police clamp down tightly on local criminal activity, making business-as-usual activities nearly impossible for members of the city's organized-crime syndicate. So in an effort to return the city to its previously permissive state of affairs, the local mobsters decide to hunt down the elusive homicidal pedophile themselves.
This compelling study of a pedophilic serial killer and the public reaction to his odious crimes was decades ahead of its time in its treatment of psychological, political, and sociological themes. The first "talkie" from pioneering auteur Fritz Lang--probably better known to fans of classic cinema as the director and artistic force behind 1927's groundbreaking, trendsetting silent SF classic METROPOLIS--1931's M is more than just a crime thriller. It is actually a subtle comment on the sense of security that modern "civilized" people so blithely accept. Lang so effectively blurs the line separating institutions of law from crime syndicates that he leaves viewers questioning whether or not society's leaders are actually capable of keeping its citizens safe and secure. And indeed, Lang had good reason to pose such a question, as the Nazis were already on the rise in Germany at the time he was making M. The film barely veils Lang's disgust for the Germany of that period--a Germany that could birth and foster a philosophy of hatred like Nazism--since the Berlin he depicts is dark with dirt and grime and the people all seem to have bloated, gnarly faces that are twisted into perpetual scowls. That being the case, it is no surprise to learn that Lang employed actual Berlin residents and real-life members of the city's criminal underground to fill several supporting roles.
M is also notable as the film that launched Peter Lorre into the international spotlight. Lorre's gutwrenchingly emotive portrayal of a human monster who is unable to control his evil, deviant sexual impulses is nothing short of stellar. Unfortunately, this performance also resulted in his being typecast, and it was afterwards difficult for him to secure roles outside of the noir or horror genres, even after his emigration to Hollywood.
Released the same year as Tod Browning's classic Lugosi vehicle, DRACULA, M is actually the scarier of the two. Although Lang's intention was for M to reflect the decaying and diseased society that WAS Germany during the years that culminated with World War II, it reflects just as poignantly the anger, violence, and social ambiguity so prevalent in today's world. And that is very frightening indeed.
The Criterion Collection DVD offers a visually stunning restored version of M in its original 1.33:1 aspect ratio and at its original 111-minute running time. The disc plays the film with the original German-language soundtrack, but optional English subtitles are available. Unlike many Criterion discs, there are no additional bonus features, but the opportunity to watch this remarkable and historic film as its legendary director intended makes amazon.com's less-than-suggested-retail price very reasonable. Definitely a must-see for students of cinema, aficionados of classic films, and fans of the noir or thriller genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first serial-killer in the history of cinema, Aug. 6 2009
By 
F. Desbiens - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M - 2 Disc Special Edition - (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
Fritz Lang said that this movie was the best he's ever done in his entire life. I agree, because this movie is thrilling, from beginning to end. It tells the story of a child killer who is chased both by the police and the criminals. This movie is not only one of the greatest films ever made, but it is also one of scariest thriller you'll ever see. Because one thing that make it scary, it's simply because there's no music, not even in the title screen. The final scene is the best when the criminals judge the killer for his action in some kind of basement, it's also the only movie ever to really show the people in the jury, this scene show their emotions, their anger, their hatred to this man. Peter Lorre is fantastic as the killer, but the best performance, in my opinion, goes to Gustaf Gründgens as the crime boss and the ''judge'' of the ''court house''. So if you see it somewhere, check it out.

Rating: Thumbs way up !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ten. Do not fail to watch this old, old movie masterpiece, Feb. 3 2004
By 
Peggy Vincent "author and reader" (Oakland, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M (VHS Tape)
This is, hands down, one of the best movies ever made. I think it was Peter Lorre's first lead role. He plays a psychopath, a murderer of children in Berlin in the 20s or 30s, an era in which the underworld had as much or maybe more power in running the city as did the police and civic officials. When the police crack down on the criminals in an attempt to catch the killer (who has the city held in terror for the safety of their children), the bad guys realize that they've got to find this nut case so they can get back in business again.
The movie, to me, is remarkable for how much terror and horror it can display without showing one single piece of violence. All the nasty stuff occurs off camera: a child buys a balloon, the child enters a forest with Lorre, and as the child's mother endlessly calls her name out a window overlooking a deserted street, we see the balloon rise skyward from the forest.
Absolutely amazing film - and trust me: you'll never hear the music of the Peer Gynt Suite again without thinking of this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful (if historically inaccurate)., Dec 22 2003
This review is from: M (The Criterion )Collection (DVD)
M (Fritz Lang, 1931)
It has been said that behind every crime story ever committed to film lies the shadow of M. That may well be true, though Lang (and others) were making crime dramas long before this (the first Dr. Mabuse movie was made nine years previous, for example). Still, there is a great deal here to warrant the speculation.
Loosely based on the story of Fritz Haarmann, the Werewolf of Dusseldorf (whose story was also the basis for the more recent Tenderness of the Wolves), M is the story of a child murderer, Franz Becker (the screen debut of the astonishing Peter Lorre), and the simultaneous attempts by the police and a crime syndicate to track him down. The suspense builds quickly (perhaps too quickly; the restored version, released in 2000, is almost twenty minutes shorter than Lang's original theatrical release) as Becker tries to evade both the law and the criminals while plying his trade.
The film might have been a simple crime thriller, above average but not really rising head and shoulders above the crowd (in the same way, for example, Hitchcock's The Thirty-Nine Steps is enjoyable, but it's not Psycho or North by Northwest) but for one thing: Peter Lorre. He almost sleepwalks through the first three-quarters of the film in an air of perfect menace, uttering perhaps three lines throughout. Then, in the final quarter, when pressed to the wall, he unleashes a stream of monologues so perfectly acted and inexpressibly brilliant that the viewer can do nothing but stand in awe of Lorre's power to both act like a man in fear of his life and engender the sympathies of film viewers everywhere at the same time, despite our knowledge of his guilt. (As a side note, this is one of the many differences between Franz Becker and Fritz Haarmann; the latter was quite happy to die, at anyone's hands, instead of going back to an insane asylum. He protested not at all on his own behalf, after his capture.)
It might also be said that behind every criminal trial since also lies the shadow of M, as the contents of Lorre's monologues are now standard defenses in criminal trials around the world every day. But try not to hold that against this compelling, awe-inspiring film. ****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic from Fritz Lang, Dec 15 2003
By 
This review is from: M (The Criterion )Collection (DVD)
In 1931 Berlin, 8 children have fallen victim to a murderer. Suspicion abounds on the city streets, and the police have very few leads to follow. To expand their search for the killer, the police raid the dens of the underworld, infuriating the crime bosses. How could the police think that a murderer of children would be included in their ranks!! They may be theives and prostitutes, but even they wouldn't stoop so low as to harm a child. In an effort to rid themselves of such a terrible mark, the criminals take it upon themselves to track down and to bring their own form of justice this terrible person.
"M" is Fritz Lang's first "talkie" and is filled with great camera shots and very little sound. Sound is only used when necessary, giving this a great mix of the silent era and the new age of the talking pictures. The story is wonderfully told and displays one of the finest performances of Peter Lorre's acting career. His portrayal of the child killer is chilling and beautifully acted. An incredible film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This beats Silence of the Lamb and other such films., June 8 2003
This review is from: M (The Criterion )Collection (DVD)
In this day and age, psychological drama is a dime a dozen. I can think of several. Seven. Silence of the Lamb. To name two. Yet way back when...even before I was a twinkle in my parents eyes...or a crash on their credit cards and wallets (lo those many years ago)...there was this little film, M.
M. is one of the greatest of dramas, of a psychotic killer that...as the story moves along...though he is unbelieveably evil in his killings of children...you and I as a audiance grows to have an interest in. Peter's character in M. makes Hannibal look weak, because Peter is able to derive out of you so many emotions...anger, fear, sorrow, anquish. Who is the real villain in this? Yes Peter's character must pay for his crime, for in any logical and thought driven society such actions as he does call for punishment. Yet the way the avengers in this film, the hunting crime bosses and their lackies...you hate them for the way they deal with Peter's character in the end. You can't help it, you want to see Peter's character pay, but the way the criminal syndicate makes him pay for the crimes, you will be left tormented as the credits roll.
I have to think that Lang was probably gaining some of the feelings and attitudes of this movie by the horrors of the growing Nazi party and their sinister evils that were only shadows in the background of Germany's rush for nationalism after the toils the country had to pay for in reperations toward the Allies after W.W. I. I of course could be wrong, but that is my assessment anyway. Take it or leave it.
If you want a true scare, get this. If you enjoy thought provoking movies, get this. If you enjoy period movies, get this. It is just that simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, questionable transfer..., June 3 2003
By 
Bryce Hashizume (Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M (The Criterion )Collection (DVD)
Let me start off by talking about the transfer. For a Criterion edition (and the pricetag attached to the Criterion name) the transfer is really quite lacking. The negative is rather scratched and there is that rather unfortunate presence of the white bar in the latter stages of the film. I understand that they were dealing with compromised film stock, but I refuse to believe that they were unable to restore the film to a greater extent.
Criterion compounds this problem with their notable lack of extras. No commentary or audio essay, no production notes, no publicity stills, no biographies or anything else. A poor effort from Criterion.
On the other hand, the film is presented in the original 1.17:1 format, and not at 1.33:1 as another reviewer has stated. Criterion confuses this by stating that it is presented at a 1.33:1 aspect ratio, but in reality there are black bars at the sides of the screen. I suppose that this is nominally a 4:3 aspect ratio (as opposed to 16:9 enhanced) with reverse letterboxing being applied, if that makes any sense.
As for the film itself, I was quite impressed with it. It is a movie which is as relevant today as it was in the days it was made, a movie where the string of crimes would terrorize as many people today as it did then, and a criminal whom we are as unsure how to treat as they were then. In this respect we may regard M as being vastly superior to current fare, as it actually raises the sticky questions of responsibility versus compulsion instead of emptily condemning that which cannot be condoned.
Sure, it may strike us as being unrealistic that the police and the underworld are both trying to capture the same man (and for the same reason), but it's a conceit we are willing to believe in "Silence of the Lambs," not to mention "Cradle 2 the Grave," which was a straight up M remake.
One of the surprising elements of the film is how well it uses sound, considering that it is Fritz Lang's initial foray into the medium. In this sense it is an innovative work (like citizen Kane), as Lang has integrated sound in a way few directors today manage to do. We actually hear the murderer whistling before we see him, and you'll never listen to that little Grieg tune the same way ever again. It's interesting to observe the way sound is used at other stages of the film, as in some points there is no sound whatsoever, to the extent you might even start checking to see if there is something wrong with your speakers or DVD player. I don't know if it was the novelty of sound or what, but it seems like a lot of early directors were much more innovative in their use of sound (think of Eisenstein in Alexander Nevsky) and took advantage of it in ways modern directors don't think of. Sure, there are directors to whom sound is obviously important and who use it well (David Lynch and Wong Kar-Wai are a couple), but for most it seems like something of an afterthought.
At any rate I feel that this film holds up quite well, certainly more than other vintage films like Grand Illusion or Citizen Kane. The plot is largely as relevant today as it was when it was made (though thankfully we do not appreciate the commentary it offers on the nascent Nazi party or fascism) and the commentary on human nature is as true as ever. It is not best appreciated solely as a historic document or technical yardstick (which is how I regard the highly lauded Citizen Kane) but as a commentary on humanity and, above all, entertainment.
I was actually familiar with Peter Lorre before watching this movie, mostly from his extensive appearances on radio programs. That being said, I must say I found his performance rather tiresome, as he uses the same histrionics and tics (only this time they are in German, and not in the English I was used to hearing). Of course this isn't really fair to him, as he was no doubt being type-cast in his later American works, having made much of his reputation with this film. If you aren't familiar with his other work then you may find his performance really quite fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, decent dvd..., May 1 2003
By 
This review is from: M (The Criterion )Collection (DVD)
First, let me say I'd like to split my review:
I give the film 5 stars, no question, but the dvd transfer only 3 stars.
First, the transfer:
This transfer is great given most of the available alternatives, at least in R1 North America. Its relatively clean, and the audio is adequate although there's some hiss and crackles and there's one spot where its missing sound for a few seconds.
There is one problem, though, and that is the fact that the aspect ratio (screen size) is not correct. M was shot with an aspect ratio of 1.17:1, not 1.33:1 as Criterion states. This was the standard aspect ratio of early German 'talkies' and Blue Angel, for example, was shot in this same 1.17:1 aspect ratio. Criterion has used the same film element that they used for their LD edition of M, one that originated from a private collection in Switzerland. As a result, their film is just slightly clipped compared to the original.
There is in fact a more recent restoration that is uniformly better in both video, audio and technical details (a different film element that went through a complete digital restoration a few years ago) but this is only available in a German only R2 disk (available from Amazon's German and British websites).
Anyway, my comments about the dvd technical details aside, M is one of the all time classics of cinema. If you've seen any thriller made after this film, then you've seen elements of M. The story involves the search for a serial murderer of children, played by Peter Lorre. The police start cracking down on crime all over Berlin, causing the underworld to become concerned about business. The crooks hold a meeting, and decide to find the killer themselves, using street people and beggars to help hunt him down: the result is a competition, almost, between crooks and police to catch the murderer. Who is more effective and why?
There are a many scenes that are incredibly memorable, and have been copied repeatedly since this film. Trust me, when you see M you'll recognize how well the film has stood the test of time, and how often imitated its been. Perhaps one of my favorite scenes involves simultaneous meetings (in separate locations) between the police officials on one hand and the mob on the other. The film switches back and forth between the two in a seamless fashion, showing how both more or less have the same problem but completely different motivations.
M is early filmmaking at its best.... you should see this film just to appreciate how often its been imitated in the years since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lorre at his best, April 19 2003
This review is from: M (The Criterion )Collection (DVD)
M both made and broke Lorre's career. It made him into an international success and sent him soaring into the limelight. But it immediately type casted him; leading him into mostly villianous roles. The movie is the first film that shows police procedure. It is also the first to tackle the subject of serial killers. Lorre plays a dejected child killer who just can't "help himself". There's a terrific scene of Lorre staring at a young girl through a store window and obviously becoming sexually charged.
The idea of the criminals persuing Lorre and holding a kangaroo court is a wee bit silly, but the silliness is made up for the fact that the ending monologue is terrific. Lorre's frustration, self-loathing and desperation is what stands out in the movie. All the other actors don't hold a candle.
This is Lang's first venture into sound and of course he does a terrific job of directing; he never shows the murders, but simply implies it. And the part of the cops walking through the streets in complete silence is damn eerie and memorable.
My only problem is I wish the DVD had more extras. More about Lorre, more about Lang and more film facts.
M should be in every movie lover's collection.
*another top notch Lorre film to check out is the hard to find DER VERLORENE, Lorre's first and last directing stint. Very ahead of it's time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

M - 2 Disc Special Edition - (The Criterion Collection)
CDN$ 42.99 CDN$ 32.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews