Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You know what they say? Laws are made to be broken"
XXXXX

"LAW I: A robot may not injure a human being or, through inaction, allow a human being to come to harm.

LAW II: A robot must obey orders given it by human beings except where such orders would conflict with the first law.

LAW III: A robot must protect its own existence as long as such protection does not conflict with the first or...
Published on April 1 2012 by Stephen Pletko

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So Close to Being Very Good
This was actually better than I thought it would be. There is a lot to like about the movie, with some heavy messages and very good special effects. Exactly how did the good scientist who created the robots die, was it suicide or was he murdered and if so by who? Could it have been robots programmed by a human or are the robots taking over and if so how can that be...
Published on Jan. 3 2005 by Kilgore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You know what they say? Laws are made to be broken", April 1 2012
By 
Stephen Pletko "Uncle Stevie" (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I, Robot (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
XXXXX

"LAW I: A robot may not injure a human being or, through inaction, allow a human being to come to harm.

LAW II: A robot must obey orders given it by human beings except where such orders would conflict with the first law.

LAW III: A robot must protect its own existence as long as such protection does not conflict with the first or second law."

The above is found printed on-screen at the beginning of this sci-fi action film.

This movie is loosely based ("suggested by," according to the end credits) on Isaac Asimov's short-story collection also entitled "I, Robot."

Some people don't seem to like this movie, but I found it interesting.

This movie is set in Chicago in the year 2035. By this time, anthropomorphic ("human-looking") robots are doing menial tasks for humans. All robots have as their core programming the three laws indicated above. But something seems to go wrong and a human is found dead. (Not just any human, but a genius roboticist played by James Cromwell.)

Enter homicide detective Dell Spooner (Will Smith who also was one of this movie's executive producers) who has to try to solve exactly what happened. A robopsychologist (Bridget Moynahan) aids Spooner in his investigation. (Believe it or not, even robots need shrinks.)

Yes, this movie has plenty of action and special effects. The action, though, is not mindless and I found myself pausing to think. As well, the special effects were done well and did not take over the movie. I liked especially how the robots interacted with humans. (The technique used for the robots was "motion capture" and I found it to be quite effective.)

As I said, this is an action movie that gives you pause to think or consider artificial intelligence and even what it means to be human with respect to such things as consciousness, uniqueness, death, having a purpose in life, free will, creativity, and evolution.

This movie has good background music that aided each scene.

Finally, the DVD itself (the one released Dec. 2004) is excellent in picture and sound quality. It has several extras.

In conclusion, this is a good, futuristic sci-fi movie that causes you to think. And don't worry: no actual robots were hurt during the making of this movie!!

(2004; 1 hr, 55 min; wide screen; 39 scenes)

<<Stephen Pletko, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars effets spéciaux, April 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I, Robot [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
effets visuels très bien réussis et l'approche futuriste de sentiments accordé a une machine nous croire que la machine pourrait
possèder une âme sans avoir recour a du 10w40.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant Amazon shopping experience, Jan. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I, Robot [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I ordered this Blu Ray along with the Blu Ray version of One Week and the DVD version of One Week as a gift for a friend. All three were ordered on a Monday morning and they were delivered the next day by 5:00PM and that was with the no cost shipping option which says 3 to 6 days delivery!

Outstanding service and unbeatable prices (mostly) which pretty much sums up all of my purchases from Amazon.ca and its affiliates. It beats having to drive anywhere in Toronto, fight to find parking, fight through endless crowds at malls, and deal with lackluster retailers who are only interested in you going away.

As long as the service remains as it has...I can't see any reason to buy anything from local stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will Smith, Oct. 30 2013
By 
S. Franey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I, Robot (Full Screen) (DVD)
For anyone who doesn't know, you get a beautiful shot of Will Smith naked in a shower.... NAKED IN A SHOWER!! You don't see the front, but damn, that man is HOT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great movie, 3D is pretty good in some area but not all over. I would still recommend this to anyone, great story it does make you think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Robot--a winning Will Smith mystery action flick, Sept. 2 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I, Robot (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I Robot is a solidly acted science fiction movie with a decent plot, entertaining and a fun way to spend two hours. A movie with heart and yes, it does make you think. Great special effects are a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed fun formula predictable, Jan. 23 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Detective Del Spooner (Will Smith) is not a fan of robots and on the surface looks like he does not believe they are as benign as advertised. The top inventor of the robots Dr. Alfred Lanning (James Cromwell) commits suicide (presumably). He leaves a message that has Spooner assigned to the investigation. Why Spooner?

Spooner gets suspicious and will not leave the suicide lie. Naturally his boss Lt. John Bergin (Chi McBride) says drop it. The head of the robotics firm says drop it. Susan Calvin (Bridget Moynahan) knows he is crazy and says drop it. Even his own mother says drop it.

V.I.K.I. (Fiona Hogan) is mistrustful of Spooner's motives.

So does Spooner finally come to his senses and drop it?

Is he paranoid or are his suspicions founded?

This is definitely a Will Smith vehicle with a few CGI robots thrown in. The title of course came from a Robert Heinlein novel. From here we have all the standard clich' and scenarios as a boss who does not believe the same and kowtows to authority, an obvious bad guy, a girl that puts her foot in everyone mouth, standard red herrings, and much more.

Still this is great fun and Will makes the movie. There are plenty of "action" scenes, "stay in the car" scenes, "shower" scenes, "chase" scenes, and even cliffhangers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So Close to Being Very Good, Jan. 3 2005
This review is from: I, Robot (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This was actually better than I thought it would be. There is a lot to like about the movie, with some heavy messages and very good special effects. Exactly how did the good scientist who created the robots die, was it suicide or was he murdered and if so by who? Could it have been robots programmed by a human or are the robots taking over and if so how can that be given the three prinipals that protect humans from harm?
This is a well thought out script, my only real problems are with the damn "HOLLYWOOD" moments with the hero flying through the air in slow motion with guns ablazing or the chase scenes with the hero oh so close to falling to his death while leaping to catch a precious object but just barely able to hang on (what a surprise).
One of those movies I wish the English had made. This one is pretty good but a little too sanitized
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2004's Best Sci-Fi, Dec 24 2004
By 
P. Bonner "Sean Patrick Bonner" (Saint John NB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I, Robot (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Science-Fiction movies have to be entertaining and crowd-pleasing. "I, Robot" nails the crowd-pleaser with absolute precision. Every summer, Will Smith plays an unlikely hero (1995 "Bad Boys", 1996 "Independence Day", 1997 "Men In Black, 1998 "Enemy Of The State", 1999 "WilBad Boiysd Wild West", 2000 "Legend Of Bagger Vance", 2001 "Ali", 2002 "Men In Black II", 2003 "Bad Boys II"...) and he is either hit or miss. In "I, Robot," Will Smith smashed one out of the park. They're have been several Smith movies I have not enjoyed, but Will more than redeemed himself with "I, Robot".
And if your not a Will Smith, that's alright, because "I, Robot" has the most butt-kicking special effects you will see all year. With an original plot, and an even better ending, "I, Robot" is one of those flicks that you will always remember for its sheer presentation.
"I, Robot" may not be Academy Award friendly like "Titanic" or "Lord Of The Rings", but I assure you, you may not have as much fun watching a movie for a very long time, or at least until summer 2005...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars White Robots vs. Will Smith!!!, March 16 2005
By 
Eric Buchan (The Mighty City of Dalry) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I, Robot (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Will Smith was recently in the news saying that AIDS had been created by White people to kill Blacks. I guess this movie must be his revenge for that.
It has little to do with Asimov's classic story. We get the usual cop on the edge who follows his hunches instead of the rules -- GIANT CLICHE!!! -- and then we get these White robots who want to wipe out Will Smith (a sure sign of artificial intelligence as the guys is such a nauseating, smug [supply own expletive]).
After this it just descends into action-special-effects Hell as any interest or storyline is squeezed out by Smith leaping around, probably supported by wires, as an army of CGI geeks try to keep up with overambitious and cartoonish special effects -- Crash! Blast! Kaboom! ...Yawn!
Nevermind the robots; Hollywood actors, directors, and producers should be programmed with "the 3 laws of moviemaking" - characters, story, and meaning. This pointless production breaks all three -- bad robot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2aa242c)

This product

I, Robot (Widescreen) (Bilingual)
I, Robot (Widescreen) (Bilingual) by Alex Proyas (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 9.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews