Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars He's Back
Ok I've heard some of the earlier reviews by people who claim Eminem has lost it and this album proves it. Many say "Encore" is unoriginal and recycled and I even heard someone say it sounds like Em spend no more than 5 minutes on each track. Well I disagree. This album is just further proof that Slim Shady is still the best rapper out today, and easily one of the best of...
Published on Nov. 20 2004 by Todd

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where is Eminem?
Ever remember being told by a teacher that you had 'potential'? Much the same could be said of EncorE, Eminem's latest album - and what could have been his best. Sadly, EncorE was not Eminem's best outing. Too many childish references to farting and puking overshadow what could have been an amazing album from one of rap's best and brightest. About four to five songs on...
Published on Nov. 29 2004 by C. Horgan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where is Eminem?, Nov. 29 2004
By 
C. Horgan "chorgs" (calgary, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eminem:Encore (Audio CD)
Ever remember being told by a teacher that you had 'potential'? Much the same could be said of EncorE, Eminem's latest album - and what could have been his best. Sadly, EncorE was not Eminem's best outing. Too many childish references to farting and puking overshadow what could have been an amazing album from one of rap's best and brightest. About four to five songs on this album (a disappointing tally on an album of 20 tracks) seem to have been genuinely put forth. The rest are mildly entertaining at best. One highlight was "Toy Soldiers", which seemed well mixed and was catchy - the chorus gives one a reason to follow Em through the song. This is lacking on tracks such as "Rainman", where Em admits he is rapping about nothing, but has made an entire song of it. Sadly, this fails to be impressive, as a lack of subject matter is quite clear to the listener well before Eminem informs us.
With tracks such as "Square Dance" on The Eminem Show, and a release like "Mosh" off of EncorE, it would have been excusable to assume that the latter would be much more politic-fueled. This is not the case, as "Mosh" appears to be the only really interesting song on EncorE to this effect. That is, apart from "We As Americans", which only appears on the bonus 3-song disc; another disappointment.
Let us hope that the lyrical master that was Eminem can return in his next album to show us all what rap is missing. It would be hard to believe that this is Eminem's final product. And it would be sad if it were. Marshall is capable of so much more, so here's hoping he lives up to it next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars He's Back, Nov. 20 2004
By 
Todd (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eminem:Encore (Audio CD)
Ok I've heard some of the earlier reviews by people who claim Eminem has lost it and this album proves it. Many say "Encore" is unoriginal and recycled and I even heard someone say it sounds like Em spend no more than 5 minutes on each track. Well I disagree. This album is just further proof that Slim Shady is still the best rapper out today, and easily one of the best of all-time. Some songs on this album may not be of the same genre as those of his previous albums in terms of public appeal because alot of the beats are obscure and subtle, but Eminems ever-powerful lyrics, as always, go beyond that. As is the case in his previous albums, nearly every song is a hit and although perhaps the content or subject matter is similar to some of his previous work, Encore is original. All in all, I think people aren't giving this album enough credit. I can't name one album that has come out this year which triumphs over Eminems genius in this one. He's back and he's still got it and I am already anticipating his next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dre's done it Again, Oct. 13 2005
This review is from: Eminem:Encore (Audio CD)
this cd is amazing all of the songs are great, but my favourite one has to be Encore/One Last Time ft. Dr Dre & 50 Cent. I Can't wait till that Detox album comes out. Dr. Dre is known as the most paid producer. And he earns his money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eminem's Encore, April 19 2005
This review is from: Eminem:Encore (Audio CD)
People are bashing this CD because they don't like rap or don't like Eminem. If you don't like rap music then don't listen to it, if you don't like Eminem then don't come on here telling the world how much you think he sucks, because nobody cares. As a fan of rap, this is what I think of "Encore"
**These songs are all 10 out of 10**
Yellow Brick Road
Like Toy Soldiers
Mosh
Mockingbird
**These are 9 out of 10**
We as Americans
Ricky Ticky Tock
Love You More
Evil Deeds
Just Lose It
Puke
Encore/ Curtains Down
They're arn't many songs left on the CD, but they are mediocre, to crap at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Shady Sucks, April 4 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Eminem:Encore (Audio CD)
This guy eats sooo much choad, that he probly has a brown mustache. Seriously, this guy is a joke. He has no skills. He is the worst thing ever to happen to hip hop. I could rap better about glad wrap, then all of feminems stuff. This CD is a total waste. Should never be bought. All he does is make fun of people. And what is with the clothing line? are u trying to be like Sean Combs, and Shawn Carter? Well least they have style, unlike feminems clothing line which consists mainly on sweater jackets and sweatpants. well peace, im outty. keep it real for my boys at R.O.C and BB, GGGGGGGay-Unit sucks. peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars when is this guy gonna grow up?!, May 20 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Eminem:Encore (Audio CD)
why anyone would buy this crap is beyond me. I guess Eminem really don`t like himself because why would he always sing bad stuff about other artists??
his music is just about making fun of other pple and just stuff u don`t wanna hear about. to the people who get mad when someone writes a review like this, i got a question.. why do u like Eminem? that`s all he does is say stuff about other pple.
I think other singers should start singing bad things about Eminem. don`t waste your money on this B.S.
go get something worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not His Best but Still 4 Stars, June 22 2005
This review is from: Eminem:Encore (Audio CD)
Eminem is a brilliant artist. He has a unique style that no other rapper could touch in his wildest dreams. I never thought i would hear a white guy spit as good and if not better than most african americans.He carried the rap game for quite some time and now is beginning to pass the torch to 50 and The Game. The best tracks on the album are "Mockingbird" and "Spend Some Time". Tracks like "My 1st single" and "Like Toy Soldiers" really knocked it down a bit but it is still an overall good effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars WHAT ?!?, Nov. 16 2004
This review is from: Eminem:Encore (Audio CD)
Can anyone explain just what happend to the talented artist he used to be...I gave him 2 stars an I'm so full of guilt because this CD is a complete joke. So many sounds and background noises taken from other tracks...is he gettin' lazy or what? I just can't believe I waited for that piece of junk. You can listen the album all day long and not a single track seemed to have been done in more than 5 minutes. The main track...just lose it...guess what...it's about his touch! But hey, he's human and Encore proves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, Nov. 21 2004
By 
This review is from: Eminem:Encore (Audio CD)
Eminem is a good rapper, but this album is by far the worst. It was boring. Mosh was OK. All the other songs just dragged on and sort of sounded the same. Apparently he has nothing to rap about, thus he keeps dissing other artists, which is so immature and lame. Just shows that he likes making fun of other people to make him feel better about himself. As an Eminem fan, I'm utterly disappointed at this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, Nov. 30 2004
This review is from: Eminem:Encore (Audio CD)
This is a great cd dont listen to these other reveiws that have probably listned to the cd 1 or 2 times. this cd is a great peice of work you just have to listen to it a couple times and really listen to his lyrics. Some of the best songs are Evil deeds,never enough,like toy soldiers,spend some time and mocking bird and that is just the top 5 there is many more great songs on this cd definatly a must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eminem:Encore
Eminem:Encore by Eminem (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews