Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons: The Complete Fifth Season
Although there is little doubt what The Simpsons are, and their popularity base, this review is intended for those who are wondering "What is to be done with this Homer Simpson?" - are you, like me some years ago, a detractor who is interested in the Simpsons (come on, you can be honest!).
Well, if so, THIS is the set to buy. Of those yet released...
Published on Nov. 6 2005 by Paul

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars subtitles?
There are a lot of languages on this version. But what languages of subtitles does it have?
Published on Aug. 26 2008 by sea


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons: The Complete Fifth Season, Nov. 6 2005
By 
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Fifth Season (Version française) (DVD)
Although there is little doubt what The Simpsons are, and their popularity base, this review is intended for those who are wondering "What is to be done with this Homer Simpson?" - are you, like me some years ago, a detractor who is interested in the Simpsons (come on, you can be honest!).
Well, if so, THIS is the set to buy. Of those yet released (inclduing the Sixth Season), this is the Jewel.
Homer's Barbershop Quartet "Baby on board, something something, Bert Ward" and Cape Feare "I shall send you to heaven, before I send you to hell! . . . I'm called little Buttercup . . . What never? No, never!"
You'll understand.
When this reviewer first began to delve into the Simpsons (at a girls recommendation no less, and, I married her!), I didn't know where to start, but with one of the guide-like books in hand, this is the set to impress your friends.
"Yes, last night I was watching classic Simpsons and noticed that Homer seems to have evolved over the seasons"
"Why, Chuck, I didn't know you watched The Simpsons!"
There you have it - buy this set and be happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, Jan. 5 2012
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Fifth Season (Version française) (DVD)
Received Item very quickly, well packaged and in excellent condition!! Would certainly buy from this seller again. Thanks a lot!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Still have not recieved it., Dec 22 2011
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Fifth Season (Version française) (DVD)
I am very disappointed with this order. I ordered this a long time ago and still have not recieved it. Other orders I have placed came withing 2 weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Years Begin, Feb. 14 2011
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Fifth Season (Version française) (DVD)
Fans can debate endlessly what the 'best' Simpsons season is, but no one can deny that this one should be counted among the golden years. Listing the best episodes is a bit redundant as each and everyone one of them is great. That's not hyperbole, the product description above rhymes off 13 classics and doesn't even get to 'Homer Goes to College,' 'Secrets of a Successful Marriage,' or 'Homer the Vigilante.' Even the Marge and Lisa episodes were great back then with 'Marge on the Lam' and 'Lisa vs. Malibu Stacey.'

Extras
Given how widely syndicated this show is, the extras actually provide a solid reason for investing in the boxed set. The creators and cast are all very funny people and listening to their commentaries makes familiar episodes feel fresh. The deleted scenes are smartly (and optionally) integrated back into the episodes and storyboards and animatics provide a wealth of insight for animation buffs. No one could ask for more.

Presentation
This series has never looked so good. The transfer here is superb and it's abundantly clear that no expense was spared in creating these discs. The animated menus don't hamper your selections and are full of enough gags and easter-eggs to actually be worth watching.

Bottom Line
The extras provide ample reason to get this set, even if you've seen the episodes 100 times, but every season is equally robust. Whether or not you buy this one really depends on how many seasons you want to own as, in my opinion, season 5-8 all represent the series at its most hilarious, consistent, and innovative. If you can only afford one season then I'd suggest looking up some full episode lists and selecting your personal favourite. You really can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Peak, Oct. 21 2009
By 
Andrew Brown (BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Fifth Season (Version française) (DVD)
Recently three of my friends and I were discussing our favorite episodes of The Simpsons. Strangely enough all four episodes came from Season Five. After putting some thought into it and rewatching the first ten seasons, I've come to the conclusion that Season Five is, hands down, the best season of the series. Each episode is filled with laughs and classic moments that still work, 15 years and many re-viewings later. If you buy only one collection of this iconic series, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars subtitles?, Aug. 26 2008
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Fifth Season (Version française) (DVD)
There are a lot of languages on this version. But what languages of subtitles does it have?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the top 5 seasons!, Aug. 27 2006
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Fifth Season (Version française) (DVD)
The simpsons s 5th season is known by many die-hards as the best season its like there is not at bad episode its all good!Their 5th season maked them so better and so popular.This time fox gave us 4 discs wich makes a great collector set.These are probly the funniest moments of the serie.highlights;the season opener `homer s barbershop quartet`wich one of the best simpsons episode,`cape fear`a classic with sideshow bob also is one of the best,rosebud when mr.burns tries to find his bear `bobo`,simpson horror show 5 with mr.burns as a vampire`deep space homer``burns heir`just too many to name them.lowlights; about nothing.if you buy one set i recommend this or 6th season or 7th and 8th.You see homer at his craziest,the family having one of their best season no matter how hard they will try they dont have lots of chances to top this season.great box set great show,great fun for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Canadian version is just as good, March 1 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Fifth Season (Version française) (DVD)
I just wanted to comment on the fact that the canadian version has french on the cover and no die cut, as mentioned above; I bought the canadian version and the cover is just additional packaging. If you remove it, you get the same case that matches all the other seasons, die cut and all. Don't order it from the states, you'll be wasting your money
I also wanted to say that although this is a great set, it seems that in the commentaries, one microphone is turned really low, so you can barely hear one of the commentators. This isn't just a problem with my set, as I have checked with another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best Groening creation goes to 5th season, Dec 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Fifth Season (Version française) (DVD)
The 5th season is the best!!!It has gone a long way since the 4th,3rd,2nd and 1st.For a Simpson fan this is a great holiday gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Programs - Substandard Packaging, Jan. 31 2005
By 
TwentySmallCigars (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Fifth Season (Version française) (DVD)
These discs are essential for any Simpsons fan, most everyone already knows this.
However, the Canadian release of Season Five has decided to omit the die-cut window in the front cover and include additional French text on the cover and spine - as if any French Canadian would not understand 'The Simpsons' and need to see it spelled out as 'Les Simpsons'.
As a result of this the fifth season packaging does not match uniformly with the other four seasons, which do have die-cut windows and no French. This is picky to be sure, but these are advertised as collector's sets and this is the sort of thing that is sure to annoy off your average collector. Order your set from the US instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons: The Complete Fifth Season (Version française)
CDN$ 49.98 CDN$ 39.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews