Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightning in a Bottle, Jan. 29 2005
By 
Nicola Wood (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Once again the Farscape cast and crew managed to create lightning in a bottle. Very fast paced, layered and full of nuances and excitment.
Those who want action - it is here.
Those who want character interaction - it is here.
Those who want intelligent, gifted storytelling - that is here too.
Farscape is one of the few series where I have found rewatching totally rewarding, and Peacekeeper Wars is no exception. There always seem to be new details or connections you didn't notice the first or second or third time around that keep adding the enjoyment of that "first time" discovery feeling to later viewings. Sometimes little throw-away lines or moments take on new meaning and you only see it in retrospect.
But newbies beware... Farscape is addicting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THAT'S how you end a series, Jan. 26 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fan everywhere SCREAMED during the last 10 seconds of Farscape, season four, the series finale. What the hell were they thinking ending the series like that, when they knew they weren't coming back for a fifth season? Maybe they knew they'd get the chance to make this mini-series. Fans every rejoice, because this is one of the best series finales EVER (even though it came a year or so AFTER the end of the series). All the stories are finally tied up - the war between the Peacekeepers and the Scarens, the wormhole weapon, Aryen's baby. Lots of old faces return for the finale battle and perfect ending to the most original space series ever created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bittersweet Farewell, April 5 2009
By 
Sarah L. Bell "Lover of Stories" (Saskatchewan, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Farscape: The Peacekeeper Wars (Widescreen 2-Disc Set) [Import] (DVD)
After SciFi abruptly cancelled Farscape, fans were left wondering, "What the heck happened?!?!" While imperfect, and nowhere close to the desired fifth season that fans wanted, Farscape: The Peacekeeper Wars is a solid attempt to answer questions, finish story lines, and bring to a close what was an amazing television series.

It has the look and feel of the series, thanks in large part to Brian Henson, who had been involved with the series right from the beginning. All the original cast members are back, from Ben Browder and Claudia Black to Wayne Pygram and Paul Goddard. The humour and chemistry is as sharp and quick as ever, and even though it never could compare to a final season, it is an attempt worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much better ending., May 4 2007
By 
I don't know why the professional reviewers canned it,
you know of whom I speak, "convoluted" ?

Hell no!!! it picks up mere moments after "Bad Timing"
(well, 60 days) and kept me glued for the entire 186 minutes! No bathroom breaks!
It will make sense even if you've only seen season four. I don't want to give out too many spoilers, just suffice it to say that most loose ends get tied up but another forms regarding Humans/Sabaceans (shhhh!).

My only gripe (though I can't complain having purchased
"The PeaceKeeper Wars" for under ten bucks CDN) is that
there are slight manufacturing defects from chapters 20-24.
just hickups and stalling and skips but a high-end player
can overcome them and in my DVD ROM using "scene selection"
made ch.20-24 viewable, so I'm generally satisfied, though
this malfunction never showed up on any of my 180 minute
"Firefly" DVDs.
This is an edit,followup.. yes the copy I received was full
of manufacturing defects after playing on three different
machines. YMMV ... as I said for the price I am not
going to hound the retailer..may buy another to see if it
would come from a different production run but not more than
two. Per above my other 180 minute DVDs do not exhibit these
faults so who manufactures a product has bearing on quality
in this case QC. Your luck may be better than mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back at last!, May 20 2005
By A Customer
For four seasons, Farscape was one of the most visually stunning, irreverent, and compelling sci-fi dramas on television. With the DVD release of Farscape: The Peacekeeper Wars, the cast and crew are once again at their finest as they resume the story of lost astronaut John Crichton and his Moya shipmates, now caught in the midst of an all-out alien war bearing the knowledge of a weapon that holds either the key to peace or the path to universal destruction. Despite being epic in scope, with wall to wall action sequences and cutting edge effects, Peacekeeper Wars maintains enormous heart, sexy wit, and emotional punch. It's a must-have for new and old Farscape fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Thing, May 19 2007
Farscape remains my favourite ever television show and I rewatch it all the time. There was supposed to be a fifth season so the fans had to raise a huge ruckus that helped persuade financial backing for this fantastic miniseries.The Peacekeeper Wars carried on the story for us all - beautiful action packed, character driven and emotionally charged story telling set in a world a long wormhole away from home for our hero the sexy John Crichton and his band of alien friends. Loved every second of PKW and still pining away for more....please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great quality mini series..., Feb. 9 2010
By 
K. Thompson (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In terms of quality of DVD, this one's great- I'm glad it's widescreen too, unlike parts of the Complete series DVD's. (I'm guessing that was a limitation of the original filming format). Not a lot of extras, but from the one "making of", it seems like they threw this mini series together pretty fast, and probably didn't film a lot of behind the scenes stuff.

I'm glad they wrapped up the series, and in a pretty satisfactory way. (The cliffhanger was a little much up to that point! :O )

The only drawbacks I could find were a few changes they made, which seemed weird and unnecessary- like, why did they alter Pilot's voice? He sounded like a harsher character to me with the new tone. I liked the old, sweeter sounding voice. Also, the colouring of some of the characters seemed altered- a couple of the Scarran leaders, and also Sikozu (sp?)... It just seemed a little off to me. Then again, those are pretty minor things overall and don't detract from the storyline, which was fairly decent. I prefer the series overall to the mini series, but it was still a satisfactory finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly thrilling and entertaining!, Sept. 25 2014
This review is from: Farscape: The Peacekeeper Wars (Widescreen 2-Disc Set) [Import] (DVD)
At first I thought the series was going to be an updated Muppet show, but it turned out to be very interesting and thrilling to watch. The series ended in a way that needed some type of closure. The "Peacekeeper Wars" was a very entertaining way to finish off the series. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great End to the Farscape Saga, Dec 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Farscape: The Peacekeeper Wars (Widescreen 2-Disc Set) [Import] (DVD)
Watched all seasons of Farscape in a 3 month period, then watched this. Well worth the price, and great ending. Not worth watching though unless you've been following the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Farscape: The Peacekeeper Wars (Widescreen 2-Disc Set) [Import] (DVD)
Pure Escapism
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Farscape: The Peacekeeper Wars (Widescreen 2-Disc Set) [Import]
CDN$ 16.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews