Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars EUROPEAN VHS FORMAT TO BUY PLEASE,
I live in Europe and saw only saw AMERICAN PIMP, but not other pimp movies since they are in
"VHS Features:NTSC format (US and Canada only. This VHS will probably NOT be viewable in other countries. Read more about VHS formats.)"
IS IT POSSIBLE TO BUY THESE MOVIES IN EUROPEAN VHS FORMAT?
THANKS
Published on Oct. 2 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Isn't it disturbing to see...
...Roscoe Orman playing a ruthless pimp.
For those who don't know, Orman is better known, by MILLIONS of children worldwide, as Gordon from SESAME STREET.
DISTURBING!!! LOL
Published on Dec 11 2001 by Tony Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars EUROPEAN VHS FORMAT TO BUY PLEASE,, Oct. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Willie Dynamite (VHS Tape)
I live in Europe and saw only saw AMERICAN PIMP, but not other pimp movies since they are in
"VHS Features:NTSC format (US and Canada only. This VHS will probably NOT be viewable in other countries. Read more about VHS formats.)"
IS IT POSSIBLE TO BUY THESE MOVIES IN EUROPEAN VHS FORMAT?
THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY FAVORITE, NEXT TO THE MACK!, Feb. 7 2003
By 
pankysweet (SOUTHFIELD ,MI 48075) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Willie Dynamite (VHS Tape)
THIS IS MY FAVORITE MOVIE, NEXT TO THE MACK, AND THEN, SUPERFLY,AND HIT MAN, FEATURING PAMALA GRIER!(PAM)
I THINK, THIS MOVIE IS A WONDERFUL,PIMPISH FLICK!!!...
IF YOU EVER SEE THIS MOVIE, ON CABLE CALLED, DRIVE BY, YOU WILL SEE THAT WILLIE D(ROSCOE ORMAN)AND, THE WOMAN CALLED PASSION (JOYCE WALKER) PLAYS IN IT TOGETHER, IN 1997, THEY ARE STILL ALIVE AND WELL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Willie oh Willie D, Feb. 6 2003
By 
Byron Jackson (chicago, illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Willie Dynamite (VHS Tape)
Willie Dynamite is one of the best movies about Pimpin I have ever seen. I don't know if it is meant to be funny, but it is hilarious. The outfits, the hats, the car, and the walk all make Willie D one of the funniest characters I have ever seen. Two scenes in particular stick out. When he gets all seven of his girls out of jail and is leaving the court to his theme song, with the girls walking behind him. His strutt, and suit make it classic. Second when he "Pimp Jogs" down the stairs of the court house in his green suit with big fur, and fur hat to match. This movie is one of the best, when can I get it on dvd?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIOUS!!, Sept. 14 2002
By 
Rock Quarry "rockq" (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Willie Dynamite (VHS Tape)
Probably the funniest scene in movie history is Willie walking down the courthouse steps in that green outfit, with fur cape and hat. The outfit is so outrageous (even by Seventies standards) that bystanders walking along the street during filming can't beleive their eyes. The actor playing Willie can barely keep a straight face.
Now Willie has reformed his ways, and is now Gordon on Seseme Street. I bet his old ...buddies sometimes drive by and give him a double-take:
"Willie?"
"Uh, no man. I'm Gordan."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Willie is Dynamite, March 10 2002
By 
Scott Woods (Columbus, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Willie Dynamite (VHS Tape)
The best Blaxploitation and fictional pimp narrative I've ever seen. Of course, that's all terribly relative to the genre and time period. A "good" Blaxploitation film means it has a solid ENOUGH storyline and that the producers spent a little money on it to make it seem like an actual film. This one scores high on both counts, and you find yourself trying to figure out what could possibly happen next. And for a film made in 1973, it's surprisingly fresh.
The story starts off with our anti-hero, Willie Dynamite (who was the bald Black guy on Sesame Street. You'll never look at Oscar the Grouch the same again) under seige from all sides, as he is set upon by an old flame-turned-social worker, the cops, and a wickedly funny pimp named "Bell" (played by Roger Robinson) who wants to take Willie's dynamite hoes because he won't join the newly formed pimp organized front.
And my God, the outfits.
Willie sports some of the most outlandish stuff you've ever seen, and when he walks down a set of courthouse stairs, prepare to be rewinding the tape a few times.
To top it all off, it has a moralty play woven throughout that you both admire and despise: you dig it because it's cool to have a movie from that time with a moral, but without being preachy; you despise it because it can only mean the end of Willie, who, despite his lifestyle, you come to like. Or maybe it's the white fez with triple tassles. I'm not sure.
But while Willie is great, the character to watch for is Bell, who steals every scene he's in. He's the cat that does the speech that's clipped into "American Pimp" about vision, and it's even funnier when you have it in context.
A well-done farce that pushes all the right buttons, and a perfect movie to watch with a bunch of your wacky friends or REALLY cool family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Isn't it disturbing to see..., Dec 11 2001
This review is from: Willie Dynamite (VHS Tape)
...Roscoe Orman playing a ruthless pimp.
For those who don't know, Orman is better known, by MILLIONS of children worldwide, as Gordon from SESAME STREET.
DISTURBING!!! LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yeah they do!, Feb. 27 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Willie Dynamite (VHS Tape)
All your base are belong to us....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very interesting film, Feb. 17 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Willie Dynamite (VHS Tape)
this film takes many twists&turns than you would think if you go by what starts out in it.i got to see this film on Starz's about 3 years back&it left a interesting impression on me still to now.it was a reflection of change&what to do next.i think this film is cool&a trip.the CLothes are FLy.the film isn't predictable at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Over The Top Acting, Outrageous Pimp Gear, Feb. 12 2001
This review is from: Willie Dynamite (VHS Tape)
Willie's Pimp gear and fashions in this film are so outrageous, and the way he deals with sort of being the modern day Job of the hustler world with everyone from the man, the system, rival pimps, the parking authority (who seem to be towing his car in every scene), a social worker, the neighborhood youth and even his you-know-watches comin' down on him makes this film very watchable... even though in many ways its sort of the Plan 9 from Outter Space of the black action genre (by that I mean RIDICULOUS.) - - At one point I actually thought Willie was going to find Jesus at the end and it was going to turn out to be some church financed films... things really got ridiculous... but yes, it does have a positive ending and a message too ! ! !
There are some other things too that set it apart from other films of the era, including the injections at times of Dolemite style humor, including Willie's revenge on a rival gangster by stripping him of his threads down to his shoelaces and leaving him in his birthday suit down by the waterfront, and in general the behaviour of the white lodge members at the hotel, who during a knife fight between two rival groups of prostitutes seem to be able to say little than, "Yes, please !" and "Thank you, Ma'am" in the backround for no reason whatsoever. And I agree, the the film is definitely almost cartoonish at times... very interestingly cut... really has the feel of those early '70s America International films.
Overall, whether you'd award this one best of the genre (in many ways it does rival the Mack) or feel it deserves a Golden Turkey Award, I'd have to say, it is an entertaining watch by any standard... Somebody tell me where that guy got his threads.. especially the green suit on the cover ! ! !
(P.S. Funky, though sparse soundtrack by the late great J.J. Johnson ! ! ! )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good storyline with postive ending, Jan. 30 2001
By 
wilfred childress jr (oakland, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Willie Dynamite (VHS Tape)
It starts off stupid kind of cartoonish with that walk of his but the highlight is his ARCHENEMY in the movie that makes the movie very good. And the acting is better then some black explotation films,as they were called back in the 70'S but those were the only breaks they had was these movies and black america ate them up .Their were alot of good movies with some good acting alot of these movies didn't make it on video like this one which was better then alot black movies on video today their alot of them I am waiting for like HIT MAN,CLADINE,TOGETHER BROTHERS,to name some these are the best that I REMEMBER RENT IT OR BUY THIS ONE YOU WILL ENJOY IT CAUSE YOU HAVE TO HAVE VISOOOOOOON ...PEACE OUT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8c55300)

This product

Willie Dynamite
Willie Dynamite by Gilbert Moses (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 13.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews