Customer Reviews


617 Reviews
5 star:
 (444)
4 star:
 (86)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Movie Of All Time
I love Donnie Darko. It's my favorite movie of all time. Every time you watch it you get a different perspective on what the movie is about. If you like unique movies which give you many perspectives similar to the butterfly effect you'll like this movie.
The Quality on blu-ray isn't enhanced by much but thats because of the way it was filmed. Great audio. Lovely...
Published on May 8 2010 by STM87

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Story doesn't quite click because of excessive editing
Owes much to David Lynch's "Lost Highway" in terms of structure and narrative concept. Sets a mood very effectively but the actual plotline is not effectively conveyed with the available film footing. Reference the DVD features to get an impression of what was actually intended. The film is otherwise mysterious and in some ways perplexing because it wanted to...
Published on July 9 2004


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Movie Of All Time, May 8 2010
By 
STM87 "Shane" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Donnie Darko [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love Donnie Darko. It's my favorite movie of all time. Every time you watch it you get a different perspective on what the movie is about. If you like unique movies which give you many perspectives similar to the butterfly effect you'll like this movie.
The Quality on blu-ray isn't enhanced by much but thats because of the way it was filmed. Great audio. Lovely soundtrack.Donnie Darko [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donnie Darko, Nov. 27 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this movie and was so happy to hear that a 10th Anniversary blu ray dvd combo was coming out. The combo has both the theatrical and the director's cut, and has loads of extra features. This is a must have for any Donnie Darko enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Think We´¿ve All Seen Bonanza!!! *****, March 3 2003
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Donnie Darko (Widescreen) (DVD)
Donnie Darko is a very difficult movie to characterise and assign to one or even two genres, which is also part of its appeal and fascination. It opens with the title character (Jake Gyllenhall) waking in his pyjamas, with his bike lying next to him, on a highway overlooking his hometown of Middlesex, set in an idyllic tree covered valley. Straightening up he looks out toward the rising sun on the horizon and with a knowing smile he re-mounts his bicycle and makes his way back home to the tune of Echo and The Bunnymen´¿s ´¿The Killing Moon´¿ in what is an excellent opening sequence. Right from these first few frames it was obvious that I was about to witness something very original and it had me hooked.
Donnie Darko is inspired (I would guess) by the weird combination of Philip K Dick, Wes Anderson, JD Salinger and the classic James Stewart movie ´¿Harvey´¿. It announces the arrival of two great new talents in Writer/Director Richard Kelly and the young actor Jake Gyllenhall, in what is a hugely original, ingenious and entertaining movie. Set in 1988, around Halloween time, this movie has the conventional leafy-suburbia-plus-high-school setting, which alludes to the horror genre of Carrie and Halloween but it is no horror movie. It also has specific elements that suggest that it´¿s a psychodrama about a young man with schizophrenia but this is not ´¿A Beautiful Mind´¿. It also ponders the possibility of time travel but this is not science fiction. Stranger still, Donnie Darko is unusual in that (unlike most retro 1980´¿s pictures such as The Wedding Singer) it actually has a very cool soundtrack drawn from the period of my youth, which includes contributions from the likes of Echo and The Bunnymen, Tears For Fears and Joy Division.
So, what is Donnie Darko about? Well, without giving up too much of the plot, Donnie is continuously visited by a 6 foot tall rabbit named Frank, which unlike the Pooka in the classic ´¿Harvey´¿ is both visible to the audience and strangely satanic. Frank tells Donnie that the world is going to end in 28 days six hours and forty two minutes but not to worry as everything is going to be all right. Guided by Frank he narrowly misses being killed when an engine from a 747 crashes through his house whilst he is lying sleeping on a local golf course and the plot thickens when it becomes apparent that the aviation authority has no record of any aircraft losing an engine. Donnie is of course undergoing therapy with a local shrink and hypnotherapist played by Katherine Ross (The Graduate, Butch Cassidy and The Sundance Kid) and the suggestion is of course that Donnie is hallucinating, for as his sister says ´¿he hasn´¿t been taking his pills´¿. One of Donnie´¿s recurring visions suggests that he can see the future before it happens and so he becomes obsessed with the possibility of time travel and a book written by a retired teacher, who is now a scary old recluse, ´¿The Philosophy of Time Travel´¿. There are also many other sub-plots including Donnie being inspired by his English teacher (Drew Barrymore) and Graham Greene´¿s short story ´¿The Destructors´¿ into some playful vandalism. In addition to this Donnie´¿s subversive thoughts and actions begin to undermine the stability of the local community that is strangely gripped by a slimy fundamentalist guru played by Patrick Swayze.
Much of this movie is darkly comic and there are some great scenes including a conversation between Donnie and his therapist, where she asks him what he thinks about at school. Like most teenage boys he inevitably replies ´¿having s*x´¿ before proceeding to unbutton his trousers about to m*sturbate. There is also a scene where at a PTA meeting Donnie´¿s mother challenges the local bigot by asking "Do you even know who Graham Greene is?" she confidently and proudly replies "Oh please! I think we've all seen Bonanza".
Personally I loved this movie but whether or not you enjoy this movie probably depends upon how far left of centre you like your movies. If you are not a fan of independent cinema or movies by the likes of Wes Anderson and David Lynch then you probably wont like this. However there is much to recommend in Donnie Darko, not least the cast, which includes, Noah Wyle (ER), Mary McDonnell (Dances With Wolves), Maggie Gyllenhaal (Confessions of A Dangerous Mind) and the previously mentioned Patrick Swayze, Drew Barrymore and Katherine Ross. Jake Gyllenhaal´¿s exquisite comic timing and laidback personality endows Donnie's existence with a dreamlike quality at odds with his teen angst and the suburban paranoia of his surroundings. Meanwhile writer/director Richard Kelly creates a wonderful sense of tension and keeps you guessing throughout the movie that even after the final titles have rolled you are still left to mull over what you have just witnessed.
Whilst critics may argue that Donnie Darko fails as a psychological study and/or horror movie, you cant help but feel they are missing the point, as it deliberately avoids easy classification to a specific genre and instead concentrates on being intelligent, ingenious and highly original. Closing appropriately to a cover version of the old Tears For Fears song ´¿Mad World´¿ and the lyrics ´¿the dreams on which I´¿m dying are the best I´¿ve ever had´¿, neatly ties up the previous two hours and what was for me a very satisfactory cinematic experience. Destined for cult status this undoubtedly deserves five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Donnie Darko whit Jake Gillenhaal, May 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Donnie Darko [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Greate movie love this film.The shipping was very fast,faster than expectade.I would recomand this film to all my friends and family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good film, March 6 2014
By 
Pyyro Bowman (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Donnie Darko (Widescreen) (DVD)
Donnie Darko is an interesting movie. Certain scenes have a certain type of 'art' behind them that make this movie very good to watch. And is the type of movie that if you don't pay attention to everything in the movie, you will be left confused, and have to re-watch it to understand what the hell just happened. I recommend this movie to those who are into movies that make you think and try to understand what just happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Feb. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Donnie Darko (DVD)
A truly dark and disturbing film for those who enjoy the craft of building suspense.
You don't need big budgets to make a great thriller just a daring script and subtle acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a movie for those of us who like to think, Oct. 19 2006
By 
Anthony J. Grover (Cambridge,Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Donnie Darko: The Director's Cut (DVD)
I never really waste my time writing these reviews, but after seeing the other reviews written about what is most likely the best movie I will ever get the chance to experience in my lifetime, I feel compelled to contort on the injustices being served by some critics who seem very passionate on labelling it as some sort of acid trip movie, or worse, complete jargon.

while staggeringly complex in its plot and use of alliteration,all other aspects of this movie are what I consider to be masterful. The structure of the Darko family and their social orientation in their cookie cutter small suburban town in a time piece movie such as this are eerily realistic. The dinner table scenes where the family discusses their day blew me away. The dialogue and acting in these parts, the way the characters are developed,is just amazing to watch. The use of music and great cinematography create an almost unforgettable experience, and really set to define the setting of this story. And While many seem to suggest that the scenes seem to jump around or that there are too many holes, dont seem to understand that a)movies are not books and i have never watched a movie with any artistic or literary muscle that explains everything, this is very much an open to interpretation piece that asks you to use your brain and not forget you have one, b)while i agree that the first cut had some explaining to do, i do not think that the directors cut leaves anything that is needed for understanding out,and c)as someone who has studied very little in the art world, but has a great appreciation for it, I understand that the whole jumping around thing is an attribute to an intense amount of post-modern art, and if used carefully and effectively (as I no doubt feel it has in this film) keeps the viewer intrigued and aware.

As for the complexity of the plot, whithout trying to give too much away, when someone tries to tackle philosophies and ideas, however unlikely or disliked they are, such as time travel, social responsibility, teen angst or rebelliousness, spirituality, and human psychology, wrapped into what is truly a love story [the real synopsis: a tormented young man travels through time and sacrifices his own life in exchange for his lovers], it is expected that the plot will be somewhat complex. And because this piece does deal with time travel, it is unnecessary, but somewhat fulfilling, to watch the movie over again and catch all the nuances and small seemingly unimportant moments come together seamlessly into the masterpiece this really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Donnie Darko meets The Sacrifice, June 11 2007
By 
Arloshean (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Donnie Darko: The Director's Cut (DVD)
Obviously a billion film and pop culture references in this flick - great, rich stuff that's launched a thousand arguments.

One thing occurs to me - I know there's been much made of both the writer/director's "tangent universe" stuff as well as the Christ allusions. All that's going on and more.

Clearly Donnie's isolated as all get out at the beginning but increasingly connects with a few people - Gretchen, his Smurf-pondering friends, and eventually even his mom. This move from isolation appears to be one of the key character developments in the film - that he goes from being terrified of dieing alone (because he is alone) to dieing because he's no longer alone and can do something meaningful for those he's connected with. A form of sacrifice.

So I couldn't help thinking about the movie "The Sacrifice" by Tarkovsky with it's own odd sci-fi/religious plot about the end of the world. And the long coda featuring those who survive.

Certainly there's much, much more going on. But for me this was a way to see through all the tangent universe mumbo-jumbo into something a little more familiar and comprehensible without reading the freakin' manual to the film.

A complex, ambitious and ultimately successful movie. With a kickin' soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A response..., Oct. 31 2006
By 
Matthiasman "Matt" (You know the crazy naked guy who wanders around town? I'm the guy on his left.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Donnie Darko (DVD)
A RESPONSE AND A SLIGHT SPOILER

"(Yes, Donny Darko is constantly on anti-depression drugs throughout this movie)"

If you had bothered to go and see the directors cut, you would see the scene where Donnie's psychologist explains that the medication he has been on are placebos.

Also, it's a shame you seem to have spelt "Donnie" wrong, when it's right above the text box as you write a review.

END OF SPOILER.

...and on with the review.

Overall, I cannot think of a thing I would change about this film were I ever given free reign (and be afraid if that should ever happen)

Donnie, the central character, is a troubled individual with various mental problems, which he is on medication for. One night he receives a harrowing message - "the world will end in less than a month's time"

However, in receiving this message, Donnie avoids his own death and plunges into a new universe, where he is the one destined to save the world.

"Donnie Darko... what kind of a name is that... sounds like a superhero..."

"What makes you think I'm not?"

I've rated this film as 4 out of 5, not because it was a bad film, or only 4/5ths as good as it could be, but because the directors cut goes into much more detail, and I would recommend it over the original version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Attention David Lynch Fans, May 20 2005
This review is from: Donnie Darko (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a great mind-bender of a movie. It borrows heavily from David Lynch but in all the right ways. If you are a Twin Peaks fan, Donnie Darko will give you a fix.
It is one of those few movies where after you finish watching it you want and need to watch it again just to figure half of it out.
The dialogue and acting is excellent with one exception. It won't take you too long to figure that one out (hint: it's the one who lacks the ability to act...)
Well worth it for fans of the bizarre and obscure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Donnie Darko: The Director's Cut
Donnie Darko: The Director's Cut by Richard Kelly (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 16.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews