Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Recall (1990)(Ultimate Rekall Edition)(blu ray)…significant improvement over earlier edition!
There are two versions of Total Recall (blu ray): The Mind-Bending Edition with one disc, and the Ultimate Rekall Edition (blu ray + DVD combo). I bought the Ultimate Rekall Edition for $10 when it was first announced, but now the price has gone up to $23.99 from seller, while the one disc Mind-Bending Edition is still $10. The two versions are apparently the same...
Published on Aug. 20 2012 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst. Shipping packaging. Evar.
First, I'd like to make this clear, the product is excellent and it's one of my favorite movies of all time. 5 stars for the steel book. My 1 star rating is for what they want me to do, "review your purchases". Purchasing from Amazon.ca seems to have been a mistake. On a side note, I've recently purchased some blu-rays from the American site because for the same...
Published 8 months ago by Daniel Pettipas


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Recall (1990)(Ultimate Rekall Edition)(blu ray)…significant improvement over earlier edition!, Aug. 20 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
There are two versions of Total Recall (blu ray): The Mind-Bending Edition with one disc, and the Ultimate Rekall Edition (blu ray + DVD combo). I bought the Ultimate Rekall Edition for $10 when it was first announced, but now the price has gone up to $23.99 from seller, while the one disc Mind-Bending Edition is still $10. The two versions are apparently the same.

VIDEO:

Total Recall (1990) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. The original Total Recall blu ray was released in 2007 with disastrous results. This new Rekall Edition is much improved, supposedly taken from the original elements according to information from Lionsgate and approved by director Paul Verhoeven as the way he intended the film to look. As evidenced by the restoration comparison included on this Blu-ray as a supplement, the results are rather dramatic. Contrast is markedly better in this presentation, as is colour timing and especially saturation. We can see more of the finer details in the background. Besides, this goes back to the deliberate photography of Jost Vacano ('Das Boot,' 'Robocop') and Verhoeven, wanting the feel of a dystopic, lifeless and morose future. The colour palette is severely affected by these artistic decisions, also looking fairly glum and downcast, but primaries are cleanly rendered and stable. (4.0/5)

AUDIO:

This DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 lossless track is also an improvement from the last edition. It has a wide dynamic range. The English track is an incredibly visceral experience, completely immersive and wonderfully nuanced. Dialogue and Jerry Goldsmith's nicely bombastic score are well prioritized and are delivered cleanly and clearly. (4.0/5)

TRIVIA:

Total Recall (1990) has an estimated budget of $65 million, but grossed $261 million worldwide.

Arnold Schwarzenegger suffered several hand-related injuries during the shoot. When filming the scene where Quaid smashes a train window, a tiny explosive in the glass was supposed to shatter the glass a fraction of a second before Schwarzenegger struck it, but it didn't go off and Schwarzenegger hit the glass for real, badly cutting himself. When filming the fight scene inside Quaid's Hilton suite (immediately after Quaid shoots Dr. Edgemar), Schwarzenegger broke a finger on his right hand and had to get a cast fitted. As a result, most of his scenes shot afterward kept his injured hand off-screen.

The subway scenes were filmed in the Mexico City subway system, specifically, the Insurgentes station of the Line 1: Constituyentes-Pantitlan.

Some of the large ads seen after Quaid gets off the subway were real signs featured above the Insurgentes subway station in Mexico City, most noticeable the Fuji Film and Coca Cola signs, the Coca Cola sign still stands today.
All of the crew fell ill due to food poisoning during production in Mexican City, with the exception of Arnold Schwarzenegger and Ronald Shusett (Screenplay writer). Schwarzenegger escaped because he always had his food catered from the US. This was because three years earlier, he had fallen ill due to drinking tap water in Mexico during production of Predator. As for Shusett, he took extreme health precautions, such as only brushing his teeth with boiled or bottled water and insisting on getting a weekly vitamin B12 shot. Shusett was even mocked by the crew until they all got sick themselves.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I am still very fond of the Mars-surfaced-colour tin-can of the Special Limited Edition DVD. But this latest Ultimate Rekall Edition, being released to coincide with the 2012 Total Recall, is significantly improved over the 2007 release, and is the definitive version of this movie as far as video and audio are concerned. The blu ray disc is highly recommended.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Recall (1990)(Mind-Bending Edition)(blu ray)…significant improvement over earlier edition and really cheap!, Aug. 20 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
VIDEO:

Total Recall (1990)(Mind-Bending Edition) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. The original Total Recall blu ray was released in 2007 with disastrous results. This new Mind-Bending Edition is much improved, supposedly taken from the original elements according to information from Lionsgate and approved by director Paul Verhoeven as the way he intended the film to look. As evidenced by the restoration comparison included on this blu ray as a supplement, the results are rather dramatic. Contrast is markedly better in this presentation, as is colour timing and especially saturation. We can see more of the finer details in the background. Besides, this goes back to the deliberate photography of Jost Vacano ('Das Boot,' 'Robocop') and Verhoeven, wanting the feel of a dystopic, lifeless and morose future. The colour palette is severely affected by these artistic decisions, also looking fairly glum and downcast, but primaries are cleanly rendered and stable. (4.0/5)

AUDIO:

This DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 lossless track is also an improvement from the last edition. It has a wide dynamic range. The English track is an incredibly visceral experience, completely immersive and wonderfully nuanced. Dialogue and Jerry Goldsmith's nicely bombastic score are well prioritized and are delivered cleanly and clearly. (4.0/5)

TRIVIA:

Total Recall (1990) has an estimated budget of $65 million, but grossed $261 million worldwide.

Arnold Schwarzenegger suffered several hand-related injuries during the shoot. When filming the scene where Quaid smashes a train window, a tiny explosive in the glass was supposed to shatter the glass a fraction of a second before Schwarzenegger struck it, but it didn't go off and Schwarzenegger hit the glass for real, badly cutting himself. When filming the fight scene inside Quaid's Hilton suite (immediately after Quaid shoots Dr. Edgemar), Schwarzenegger broke a finger on his right hand and had to get a cast fitted. As a result, most of his scenes shot afterward kept his injured hand off-screen.

The subway scenes were filmed in the Mexico City subway system, specifically, the Insurgentes station of the Line 1: Constituyentes-Pantitlan.

Some of the large ads seen after Quaid gets off the subway were real signs featured above the Insurgentes subway station in Mexico City, most noticeable the Fuji Film and Coca Cola signs, the Coca Cola sign still stands today.

All of the crew fell ill due to food poisoning during production in Mexican City, with the exception of Arnold Schwarzenegger and Ronald Shusett (Screenplay writer). Schwarzenegger escaped because he always had his food catered from the US. This was because three years earlier, he had fallen ill due to drinking tap water in Mexico during production of Predator. As for Shusett, he took extreme health precautions, such as only brushing his teeth with boiled or bottled water and insisting on getting a weekly vitamin B12 shot. Shusett was even mocked by the crew until they all got sick themselves.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I am still very fond of the Mars-surfaced-colour tin-can of the Special Limited Edition DVD. But this latest Mind-Bending Edition, being released to coincide with the 2012 Total Recall, is significantly improved over the 2007 release, and is the definitive version of this movie as far as video and audio are concerned. But the most attractive part is the price…$10!!! IWhat a bargain. Get it before the price goes up. The blu ray disc is highly recommended.

As per the usual Amazon.ca tradition, reviews of the standard DVD edition and the 2007 blu ray editions are also included in this latest edition column. Please read the date of review before wasting time in reading out-dated materials.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst. Shipping packaging. Evar., April 9 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
First, I'd like to make this clear, the product is excellent and it's one of my favorite movies of all time. 5 stars for the steel book. My 1 star rating is for what they want me to do, "review your purchases". Purchasing from Amazon.ca seems to have been a mistake. On a side note, I've recently purchased some blu-rays from the American site because for the same blu-rays as you can get on the Canadian site, the prices are so dramatically less that even after paying for shipping (with the Canadian site I get free shipping) AND paying import duty fees they STILL cost less then if I GE them from my country's site. This makes absolutely no sense but that's another story. I've ordered items like this from multiple places and they always come well packed, usually in a tight fitting cardboard box to prevent damage. When this item and Goodfellas came together in not even a decent quality but a cheap bubble envelope, I knew there would be trouble. Goodfellas had a dent in the slipcover, which isn't a big deal but could have been avoided but what sucks the most, a huge dent in the Total Recall steelbook. When you fork out the extra cash to get a nice steelbook, the biggest thing to be avoided is getting one with a dent and they took zero precautions to prevent this from happening. I'm not nearly as anal as a lot of people who collect blu-rays are but I'm still disappointed. I'm going to just end up keeping them because to return them is a timely pain in the arse that wouldn't be an issue if they had just been sent properly like everyone else does, the first time. Your only other option is to click 20 different links on the site until you finally find a "review our packaging" link where they will never contact you about the problem, they just use your bad experience as a learning experience to improve in the future. I'm honored to be a test subject for this but at the end of the day I paid full price for 2 damaged items. I don't think I'll be ordering from here again unless they start using adequate packaging. I thought I would throw that out there as I know many of you are hardcore collectors and don't appreciate recieveng your steelbooks dented to hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Beautiful!!!, Oct. 30 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
This movie has an excellent quality! I totally recommend! Better than the non mind-bending version. And also much better than the 2012 one, but that's my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Total Recall, Sept. 7 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Total Recall: Special Edition (DVD)
I've always enjoyed the original version. It was cutting edge at the time it came out and Michael Ironside was one of my favourite actors. His intensity is palatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive version of this classic, Aug. 18 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Total Recall: Special Edition (DVD)
While I haven't taken a look at the Blu-ray version of this movie, I can however safely say that this is the best DVD version of the movie you can own. Not only does it feature crisp and clear audio and video, but it also comes with some pretty wonderful special features, including a hilarious and somewhat insightful commentary track with Arnie and Verhoeven.

If you love Total Recall, what can I say, buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great recent SF thrillers, Dec 29 2003
By 
John S. Ryan "Scott Ryan" (Cuyahoga Falls, OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Total Recall (Widescreen) (DVD)
Paul Verhoeven took it on the chin from fans of Philip K. Dick for this film (just as he did from Heinlein fans for his odd take on _Starship Troopers_).
But this nonstop SF action-thriller -- besides being, as its legion of fans will attest, a helluva lot of fun to watch -- is actually a fair translation to the screen of Dick's 'We Can Remember It For You Wholesale'. I won't give away any spoilers here, but watch it carefully: are you _sure_ that by the end of the movie you know what's real and what isn't?
Readers of Dick's brilliant short story probably wouldn't have cast Arnold in the lead role, either. But all that proves is that we aren't Paul Verhoeven. The movie works.
Arnold is in terrific form here as Douglas Quaid, a guy who wants to go to Mars so badly that the subject has become an obsession. He nips off to Rekal, Incorporated, to get a set of false memories implanted, and the rest is SF film history.
The special effects are extremely good and the Martian landscape is pretty well realized (although some portions of the 'science' part of the science fiction are decidedly lacking). The supporting cast is magnificent, from Sharon Stone and Rachel Ticotin to Michael Ironside and Ronny Cox. As we expect from Verhoeven, the dialogue includes quite a bit of profanity and the action includes a lot of gory violence. But if you weren't okay with that, you wouldn't be looking for an Arnold movie, would you?
I have the Special Limited Edition (the one with the Mars-shaped metal box). The 'special' features are nice; Schwarzenegger and Verhoeven provide some good commentary and the 'making-of' documentary is worth watching once.
But the real star is the movie itself, which (despite some cliches) manages to stay fresh after numerous repeated viewings. Pop it in and crank it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Arnie's finest, Dec 1 2003
By 
Greekfreak (Pusan Korea (South)) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Total Recall (Widescreen) (DVD)
He may be governor of California now, but Arnold's past is studded with high points, and this is one of them.
The storyline, everybody knows by now; it's a tale of faulty memory and as Arnold finds out more about his past, so does the audience. The climax of the film is suitably epic, and this may be one of the last great films to use miniatures instead of CGI. In any event, the effects look fantastic, even to this day.
But the acting and casting is on par with the FX, thankfully. Ronny Cox continues his association with director Paul Verhoeven (from "Robocop" fame) to play the villain once more, and we've got Sharon Stone RIGHT before she broke big. Rachel Ticotin is capable, and thankfully, we've got veteran Canadian character actor Michael Ironside as Cohagen's chief henchman, Rictor.
Arnold would go on to replicate elements of this story in "The Sixth Day", but to less impressive effect. 15 years of advancement in CGI graphics can't replace a good story, and here's the proof.
As far as the DVD treatment goes, this one is almost as good as the "Conan The Barbarian" set; one of the finest on the market. I can't believe that in a film like this there aren't any deleted scenes, but in any event, the sound and picture quality are excellent.
One of my favourite movies to watch every now-and-then. A classic action/sci-fi movie that's aged pretty well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Phillip Dick/Arnold Sci-Fi Film, Nov. 30 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Total Recall (Widescreen) (DVD)
Like most of Phillip Dick's stories, this story contains a lot of depth and quite a bit of morality, too. This sci-fi movie focuses on one of the life's deepest questions: what actually exists, and how can we determine the answer?
For Arnold Schwarzenegger, who plays Quaid, answering this question is rather complicated. It is rather difficult to determine what is real and what isn't.
Quaid wakes up one morning and realize that he's had a horrible dream. His wife wakes him up, and she's jealous of the dream. The dream! This first scene is important for the entire movie because it results in Quaid waking up, upset over the dream, and his wife, also upset, mainly because she thinks he was cheating with a woman in his dreams!
It seems as though dreams are a way for Quaid to think about things that are not available in his everyday life. That's one reason why he chooses to go traveling -- through the experience of "recalling" it, rather than actually going on a full trip. This causes him trouble since the company Recall does not appear legitimate in his friend's and co-workers. From there, the movie is focused on Quaid's taking steps to understand what he has done in the past, on Mars, even though he has no recollection of it. Lots of action occurs. The deep message within the movie is that there are times when you need to believe quite strongly in your dreams, and others when you must believe it's false. How do you determine which is which is left up to each person's perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars classic '80s sillyness..., Nov. 28 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Total Recall (Widescreen) (DVD)
I really do adore this film, but I found it difficult to give it more than three stars, not only out of respect for myself, but for the many other films that deserve the full five. Sin-of-sins, I actually prefer it to "Blade Runner", but I'd still give Scott's sci-fi outing more stars than Verhoeven's. They are poles apart in terms of plot, pallette and directorial subtlety. This is mostly just nostalgia for my part (I watched this film a lot when I was a kid), but "Total Recall" is simply more FUN. Buy it if you're not out for anything too radical in the brain stakes.
The most interesting thing about this film is actually a piece of conjecture that I stumbled across in literary fiction that could drive a more suggestable person to a five star rating. What if the bad guy is not half as stupid as we're led to believe by the rather em...strange ending? Allow me to explain.
Mars is a remarkably large body, but after about twenty seconds worth of oxygen spurting from a mountain (I won't even go into the bad science behind that), it turns from the nasty vacuum packed red planet we know from the science books, into a rather pleasant looking national park kind of a place. That's exhibit one.
Before all this, Arnie and his mad-dog sqaw are thrown out into said vacuum where their eyes, as one would expect, begin to pop out of their head. Uch. Less expected though, is the miraculous recovery they make after all this excitement has past. They get up, dust themselves down, and head off to start a new life on the until-recently-red planet. That's Exhibit two. Need I go on?
The whole scenario's a bit crazy; a bit far fetched; a load of nonsense..."Ah-hah", he drawled triumphantly wagging his finger.
What if Co-Haagen, supposedly not so lucky with HIS dose of heamoragic eye trouble, isn't really dead? What if he's not even on Mars? What if even Arnie's not on Mars?
That horribly evil chap behind the whole starve-the-people-of-oxygen thing could still have Arnie in that nasty leather chair contraption. Arnie's character would just be lying there drooling, completely out of Co-Haagen's way. Not only that, but the last vestige of his conscience would actually think he'd WON!
Brilliant stuff. That little scenario could really boost the intellectual credability of this flick, and I hope you're all happy that I pointed it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Total Recall [Import]
Total Recall [Import] by DVD (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 17.99 CDN$ 8.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews