Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cast In An Early Coppola Film
I saw this in the theatre with a parent when I was a youngster and enjoyed it very much. Picking up the DVD is certainly a pleasant trip back in time for me. Great picture quality and interesting extras are featured on the disc.
Published 4 months ago by Movieman, Montreal

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the dancing gone?
My mother saw this movie in the theatre and has the original soundtrack on record, so it seemed a great gift idea to buy her this movie years back on VHS. But they CUT parts of the movie out! The song "Necessity", which is on the record, is missing from the VHS tape and apparently many of Fred Astaire's dancing scenes have been shortened or removed, apparently at the...
Published 21 months ago by kathleen Armstrong


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cast In An Early Coppola Film, March 15 2014
By 
Movieman, Montreal - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Finians Rainbow (DVD)
I saw this in the theatre with a parent when I was a youngster and enjoyed it very much. Picking up the DVD is certainly a pleasant trip back in time for me. Great picture quality and interesting extras are featured on the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the dancing gone?, Oct. 30 2012
By 
kathleen Armstrong (Nepean, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Finians Rainbow (DVD)
My mother saw this movie in the theatre and has the original soundtrack on record, so it seemed a great gift idea to buy her this movie years back on VHS. But they CUT parts of the movie out! The song "Necessity", which is on the record, is missing from the VHS tape and apparently many of Fred Astaire's dancing scenes have been shortened or removed, apparently at the insistence of Mr. Astaire's family. Or at least that was the reason given at the time. (Apparently at a Gala for Ginger Rogers they were unable to show any of her dance scenes with Fred Astaire without paying a large sum of money.) It's sad that only people who saw the original in theatres have seen the complete movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finian's Rainbow, April 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finians Rainbow (DVD)
Despite formal reviews, I find this movie light, fun and entertaining. It's one of my favorite musicals. If you are a musical fan at all and have not seen this one.... "it's a Buyer!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bizzare 60's Musical, May 14 2004
By 
HeadbangerDuh (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Finians Rainbow (VHS Tape)
Although the story is very complicated, I will try to tell it the best I can. Two Irish immigrants move to a backwoods town of bizarros, in order to bury some stolen gold. The guy who the gold was stolen from, (in this case a leprechaun), has tailed them to the backwoods to take it back. Between songs and dances like 'Woody's Here' and 'How Are Things In Glocka Morra' the town battles against the intense, ramshackle house-living Senator, played by Keenan Wynn. This is quite bizzare for the usual light-hearted, song-and-dance musical, but I really wouldn't expect anything else to come out of the late 1960's. If you are interested in a queer, sly movie, get this. But you won't really go for this if you are a fan of Seven Brides For Seven Brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an enchanting film, May 5 2003
This review is from: Finians Rainbow (VHS Tape)
Finnian's Rainbow," is a truly enchanting and magical film. It involves romance comedy and a leprecaun with a pot of gold. Fred Astaire is wonderful in it. So is all the other cast. It's a must see for the entire family. Tommy Steele is great as the lebracaun. Petula Clark has such a beautiful voice and she is so very pretty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an enchanting film, May 5 2003
This review is from: Finians Rainbow (VHS Tape)
Finnian's Rainbow," is a truly enchanting and magical film. It involves romance comedy and a leprecaun with a pot of gold. Fred Astair eis ownderful in it. So is all the other cast. It's amust see for the entire family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'll dance out the questions, and you dance out the answers!, April 23 2003
By 
This review is from: Finians Rainbow (VHS Tape)
People seem to either love or hate this movie. And that's understandable. On the one hand we have beautiful cinematography, and some truly classic songs sung and danced by top talent. I LOVE the title song Look to the Rainbow. But then on the other we have a director who can't seem to make up his mind whether he wants to film this movie in the great outdoors (get a load of those huge musical numbers featuring enough people to have a convention), or indoors (in sets that feel like they were swiped from Camelot or Brigadoon). On the one hand we have some great actors Fred Astaire, Tommy Steele, and Petula Clark (I think I'm in love). And let's not forget the at times hilarious dialog ("It's an angel! An Irish angel.)
But what really makes this a great movie is the way everyone involved put all their heart and soul into their role. That and the glorious use of widescreen and color (why this movie isn't out on dvd I will never know).
But again, the switching back and forth from studio set to outdoor helicopter shot feels...strange. And one or two of the musical numbers and do seem to drag (just a bit). And man, the plot of this movie sure is out there (burying gold stole from faery-land near Fort Knox as an experiment?) Some of the characters are a little hard to strange as well (a lovely mute girl who talks by dancing and a Leprechaun who finds himself turning into a human?). But if you can get over the low points (or perhaps just unusual points) and just embrace it for what it is (and especially if you love musicals), I think you'll find Finian's Rainbow to be worthy purchase. Now if only they would just release it widescreen on DVD...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Performances In A Deeply Flawed Film, April 10 2003
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Finians Rainbow (VHS Tape)
Opening on Broadway in 1947 with music by Burton Lane and lyrics by E.Y. "Yip" Harburg (who wrote the lyrics for 1939's THE WIZARD OF OZ), FINIAN'S RAINBOW was an unexpected smash that generated one pop classic after another--"How Are Things In Glocca Morra?," "Old Devil Moon," and "Look To The Rainbow" to name but three. But when talk turned to a film version, not a single studio in Hollywood would touch it: although the story was fantasy, it was also extremely satirical, contained elements that had a decidedly socialist edge, and made one of the most wickedly funny statements on racism seen up to that time. With Hollywood operating under the production code and the nation drifting into the communist paranoia of the 1950s, the whole thing was impossibly hot. And so FINIAN'S RAINBOW remained off the screen for over twenty years... until 1968, when a sudden splash of popular screen musicals prompted Warner Brothers to bankroll it.
The plot is deliberately ridiculous, and finds Irishman Finian McLonergan (Fred Astaire) and his long suffering daughter Sharon in Tennessee, where Finian plans to bury a crock of gold stolen from a leprechan (Tommy Steele) on the theory that the land around Fort Knox will make the gold grow. But things take an unexpected turn when they arrive in Rainbow Valley, where they encounter a commune-like community of black and white tobacco sharecroppers who are doing battle with a viciously bigoted Senator (Keenan Wynn.) And when daughter Sharon is outraged by the Senator's racism and happens to be standing by the hidden crock of gold--she accidentally "wishes" the Senator black!
Unlike the 1947 stage show, the big screen version of FINIAN'S RAINBOW tanked at the box office, and it is little wonder: both producers and then-novice director Francis Ford Coppola made a host of very basic mistakes with the material, the first of which was not keeping the film consistently within its original 1940s context; they instead give it a 'contemporary' tone that not only undercuts the fanciful storyline but makes many of the story's elements seem heavy-handed. In the process they manage to blunt the edge of the original in a very significant sort of way. There are also a number of cinematic problems with the movie, which feels awkwardly filmed and still more awkwardly edited, and the film visibly shifts between outdoor set-ups and studio soundstage sets in a very uncomfortable sort of way.
All of that said, there is still a great deal to enjoy in FINIAN'S RAINBOW--the aforementioned score for one and the truly memorable performances for another. Astaire is timeless, Tommy Steele almost walks away with the show, Keegan Wynn--in spite of some rather ill-advised make-up--gives a memorable performance as the bigoted Senator, and Al Freeman Jr. is absolutely hilarious in the sequence where he applies for the job of butler in the Senator's home--I laugh just thinking about it! But the real revelation here is Petula Clark. Best known as a pop singer, Clark is perfection as Sharon McLonergan; it is a tremendous pity that she was never again so well-cast on screen. And together they manage to gloss over most of the film's weaknesses; if you're a musical fan, you're likely to enjoy it.
A word of warning, however. At present, FINIAN'S RAINBOW exists only on videotape, and while the VHS release is not bad per se, it is also pan-and-scan. Admittedly, the cinematography wasn't much to begin with, but purists (of which I am one when it comes to ratios) will be frustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Really strange musical, Dec 18 2002
By 
Andre M. "brnn64" (Mt. Pleasant, SC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Finians Rainbow (VHS Tape)
Some of the songs are pretty good (Look to the Rainbow and How are things in Gloca Morra) and it's always nice to hear Petula Clark and watch Fred Astaire do his thing. Tommy Steele's leprechaun is also appealing in an offbeat way. But the film itself is strange as it tries to tell too many stories at once without a cohesive conclusion. The racism angle comes off as really patronizing today, as the Black characters appear unable to help themselves in the film. Incidents and characters come and go without rhyme or reason, and too many songs coming too close behind each other doesn't help either. Overall, an interesting, but uneven effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite musicals, July 26 2002
By 
This review is from: Finians Rainbow (VHS Tape)
I love this movie; it's adorable. I never get tired of it, though I've seen it 10+ times. The choreography and songs are worth it alone; Fred Astaire doesn't miss a step (pardon the pun). This movie will enchant you no matter what your age. WHEN IS IT GOING TO COME OUT ON DVD??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finians Rainbow
Finians Rainbow by Francis Ford Coppola (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 21.99
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews