Customer Reviews


248 Reviews
5 star:
 (157)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Funniest Movie Ever!!!
Spaceballs, a comic masterpiece directed by Mel Brooks, is one of the funniest movies that I have ever seen. I own the trilogy of Star Wars and I watched every movie in the trilogy before I viewed this movie. After I watched Spaceballs, I found myself in a state of pure laughter as I saw Mel Brooks and John Candy imitating the trilogy of Star Wars. Anyone that wants a...
Published on May 15 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars because good is dumb
although not a mel brooks masterpiece this film does not suffer solely from lack of comedic inspiration. in fact i find it to be one of his best. its main problem, in my opinion, was the shift in audiences. for the most part films such as Blazing Saddles and Young Frankenstein catered to an audience that was, by 1987, much older and focusing on family life. plus, brooks'...
Published on May 31 2004 by Big Scary


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Funniest Movie Ever!!!, May 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaceballs (DVD)
Spaceballs, a comic masterpiece directed by Mel Brooks, is one of the funniest movies that I have ever seen. I own the trilogy of Star Wars and I watched every movie in the trilogy before I viewed this movie. After I watched Spaceballs, I found myself in a state of pure laughter as I saw Mel Brooks and John Candy imitating the trilogy of Star Wars. Anyone that wants a good funny movie to view should buy Spaceballs today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars because good is dumb, May 31 2004
This review is from: Spaceballs (DVD)
although not a mel brooks masterpiece this film does not suffer solely from lack of comedic inspiration. in fact i find it to be one of his best. its main problem, in my opinion, was the shift in audiences. for the most part films such as Blazing Saddles and Young Frankenstein catered to an audience that was, by 1987, much older and focusing on family life. plus, brooks' comedic venom was now aimed at a less familiar target in Star Wars. intially, even i had a hard time time convincing myself it was worth seeing. but after repeated viewings i realized that it was as funny as many of brooks' best. now dont get me wrong, you wont laugh as often as you did for High Anxiety but you'll laugh none the less. sadly, the core players of previous films are missing here (Harvey Corman & Madeline Kahn) and it suffers becasue of it but the times were changing and so were the films. only later on did brooks really get into a stupor with Robin Hood: Men In Tights and Dracula: Dead and Lving It, starring the one dimensional Leslie Nielsen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hail, Scroob!, Jan. 14 2004
By 
Timothy Michael Resh (Roswell, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spaceballs (DVD)
Mel Brooks nails the sci-fi genre, particularly the Star Wars Trilogy, with this hilarious spoof. Brooks' movies have traditionally been hit-or-miss, but like Blazing Saddles and History of the World Part I, Brooks has his subject matter dead in his satirical sights.
Rick Moranis makes a perfect Dark Helmet, a young Bill Pullman pulls of a sufficiently roguish "Lone Star," and John Candy is well-suited as the Barf the Mawg. Joan Rivers also does the voice for "Dot Matrix," a robot who is vaguely reminiscent of another famous golden skinned druid. Brooks himself makes hilarious appearances as General Scroob and Yogurt, and every sight gag seems to perfectly poke fun at the Holy Trilogy, from "combing the desert" to "ludicrous speed." The film also takes smaller, but nonetheless obvious jabs at other classic sci-fi, including the transforming "Mega-Maid," obvious bows to "Planet of the Apes" and "Alien," and a faulty transporter a-la Star Trek.
As usual, only Brooks could get away with producing a movie featuring a spoiled "Druish princess," men fighting with light swords held in decidedly phallic positions, and jawa-like little people whose language consists of various inflections of "dink." Brooks makes us revel in the sheer political incorrectness of it all, for we know that this is unabashed theater of the absurd.
A hoot and a half from start to finish, this inexpensive DVD should be part of the collection of anyone who enjoys good science fiction or extremely silly but high quality spoof comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brooks Star Wars spoof sure ain't Blazin' (Saddles), Dec 10 2003
By 
Alex Diaz-Granados "fardreaming writer" (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spaceballs (DVD)
In Hollywood, parody is perhaps one of the more sincere forms of admiration, and every genre has inspired at least one satirical or at least zany parody, and for years Mel Brooks was the undisputed King of Kitsch.
Brooks' best films in this category are, of course, Blazing Saddles (a spoof of Westerns) and Young Frankenstein, his hilarious black-and-white take on Universal's 1930s "creature features." Both of these films launched frequent Brooks' player Gene Wilder into comic-leading man stardom for a while, and no other Brooks film since has been as successful or laugh-till-your-sides-ache funny, although a few of his later parody-driven films are still amusing and worth a look.
One of the few is 1987's Spaceballs, which takes on the sci-fi/space opera genre -- specifically, the Star Wars saga -- and takes every cliche and plot device ever used in those films. Starting with a Star Wars-like title crawl and taking comic license with the famous opening shot from Episode IV (a seemingly endless starship rumbles across the screen for what seems like an hour and sporting the cheeky bumper sticker "We Brake For Nobody") and climaxing with the obligatory final showdown between hero and villain, Spaceballs crams references from the Classic Star Wars Trilogy and tosses in bits of Star Trek, Alien and everything in between.
Bill Pullman (Lone Starr) fares well as the hero figure (who is a cross between Luke Skywalker and Han Solo), who flies across the stars on his Space Winnebago. His copilot and pal Barf (the late, great John Candy) is a "mog" -- half man, half dog -- who's his "own best friend." Together, this odd duo is caught up in the slight plot pitting the evil Spaceballs against the peaceful (if rather bland) inhabitants of Planet Druidia. The Spaceballs want to steal the Druids' air, and under the command of Dark Helmet (Rick Moranis), they send a huge starship to carry out their dastardly plan.
But when they abduct Princess Vespa (Daphne Zuniga) as she flees her own wedding, the Spaceballs get more than what they bargained for. Feisty and bratty, she proves to be more than a match for Dark Helmet, and when she is rescued by Lone Starr and Barf, all kinds of fireworks explode.
The cast is rounded out by Dick Van Patten, George Wyner, Joan Rivers (as the voice of Vespa's droid Dot Matrix) and, of course, Mel Brooks in a double role, the Spaceballs' incompetent President Skroob and the wise sage Yogurt.
As in all Mel Brooks' films of this vein, the gags are fast, furious and are a mixture of salacious humor, ridiculous one-liners, in-jokes and visual puns. Some are ho-hum, but there are enough funny bits in this movie to make it watchable. Still, this parody just doesn't reach the comic heights of Blazing Saddles.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always Set At Ludicrous Speed, Nov. 10 2003
This review is from: Spaceballs (DVD)
A film that never gets old, I've been watching "Spaceballs" since I was a kid, and I just recently bought the DVD.
"Spaceballs" is a comedy by Mel Brooks which, while creating mini-parodies on several franchises throughout the movie, from "Star Trek" to "Planet of the Apes," it is essentially a spoof on "Star Wars," and it is a hilarious one at that.
The movie revolves around the exploits of Lone Starr and his companion Barf (half man, half dog) in their encounter with Princess Vespa of the Planet Druidia and her robot (droid) Dot Matrix. Druidia has become the target of the Spaceballs, an "empire" of sorts that wants the planet's air supply for themselves, ruled by the evil President Skroob. The adventure leads through many familiar settings of other movies, mainly from "Star Wars."
The comedy never fails and the movie creates several moments that will stick solidly in the viewer's memory, from the jump to ludicrous speed to the climactic Shwartz battle between Lone Starr and the ruthless Dark Helmet. It's a movie that markets watching over and over.
As for the DVD, while not as completely fleshed as some other discs, has plenty more extras than most. The opening menu is great, with eerie music playing, as if it were a serious film... and broken by a cow flying by or an astronaut yelling "Help me!" There is a theatrical trailer, a Making-Of documentary, and an audio commentary by Mel Brooks. Everything is informative and often hilarious. Despite the hardships of the film, you can tell everyone had fun making it.
This DVD is definitely worth your money. While it may run out of laugh-out louds after a while (or maybe it's just me though; I tend to see comedies run out of steam after multiple viewings) it will never cease to amuse you; and the extras will keep you entertained, making this DVD stand the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LAUGH IT UP!, Oct. 19 2003
By 
Sarah Rieder (La Plume, PA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spaceballs (DVD)
When my sister and I were kids, we used to love watching Spaceballs. Then, for years, I didn't see it. When I found in a local store, I decided to buy it. When I put it in, all my memories of the movie came back.
I like to play Spaceballs after a hard week becuase it makes me laugh and forget my troubles when I see the ridculous situations this lot finding themselves in. Rick Moranis is perfectly cast as Dark Helmet, a dorky and silly version of Darth Vader. It is so funny, what happens to him and his oversized, hard-to-breathe-in helmet. Let's not forget John Candy as Barf, a maog, half-man and half-dog. I love his costumes with the turning ears and his bushy, getting-in-the-way tail. And Mel Brooks kicks it up as the President, one like you have never seen before.
As always, there has to be a love story. This one is between Lone Star, captian of a space-flying Winnebago, and Princess Vespa, the beautiful and snobby princess with an oversized hair dryer and her infamous matched trunks and bags. In spite of their differences, Vespa and Lone Star find true love.
The plot is full of fun, romance, laughs, and adventure. Dark Helmet and President Skoorb trying to steal Drudia's suuply of fresh air to save their own planet, Spaceball. In order to do so, they must capture Princess Vespa to hold her until the airshield code is revealed. Lone Star saves the princess from their evil grasp, however, he loses her again to the Spaceballs. It is up to him to free her from the unwelcome grasp of Dark Helmet. A funny yet dramatic climax arises, but the good eventually triumphs over evil. Do not miss the little details in this movie, they are so funny. A spin-off of Star Wars, this movie is so funny. Don't miss out on this, watch it at least two times in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spaceballs: The DVD - Worth the purchase price, Oct. 9 2003
By 
S. Lawrenz "Lendorien" (Milwaukee, WI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spaceballs (DVD)
Synopsis:
Spaceballs follows Princess Vespa (Daphne Zuniga), running away from a wedding she doesn't want to go through with because she doesn't love the groom. She is captured by the notorious spaceballs in a plot to steal all the air from her home planet. Luckily, she is rescued in the nick of time by Lone Star (Bill Pullman) and his side-kick Barf (Jon Candy), a mog, half man, half dog and his own best friend. They are chased by the Spaceballs, led by Dark Helmet (Rick Moranis), a pint sized Darth Vader wannabe. Add Mel Brooks styled comedy and satirical movie references and you have Spaceballs.
About the Movie
Spaceballs is easily one of the most entertaining Sci-fi spoofs ever made. Mel Brook's films have a way of never taking themselves too seriously. This film certainly doesn't, and it works wonders on the gut. There's a sort of comic genius in Spaceballs, and it's hard to know why it works so well.
Spaceballs makes fun of the entire Sci-fi genre, from Star Wars, the Alien movies, Planet of the Apes, to Star Trek and other classic sci-fi fare. What makes it so entertaining is that it combines elements of all of these, one-liners, exaggerations, sight joke, and twists on elements in the movies it is lampooning, to make a solid story line that holds together while at the same time being extremely funny.
While the comedic writing certainly contributes to what makes this film so good, the best aspect of this film is the cast. Somehow, every actor manages to have perfect comic timing (though film editing undoubtedly helps). The cast is led by several great comic actors, including the late John Candy, Rick Moranis, George Wyner and Mel Brooks himself.
Rick Moranis is probably the most notable of the bunch, the perfect casting choice for a glasses wearing caricature of Darth Vader. Watching him trot around the Spaceball ship in that oversized Vader helmet is hilarious, as he brings a sort of goofy pretentiousness to the role. He is easily the star of the film, though by no means the only one.
Dick Van Patton and Joan Rivers also play major roles if the film, as Princess Vespa's Father and the voice of Vespa's personal droid (modeled after C3PO of Star Wars), respectively. Joan Rivers is perfect in her role, her gravely New York accent is so incongruent from what we'd expect from a brass colored droid.
If you love Sci-fi or slapstick comedies, you'll probably enjoy this one. It's a delight to watch and pretty darn funny.
About the DVD
"Spaceballs: the DVD" comes in a hard case on a double sided DVD with both widescreen and fullscreen versions of the film. The case itself contains a two page leaflet that gives a few interesting production notes about the movie.
The picture and sound quality of this release are both pretty good. The animated menus are humorous and are among the best of the features of the DVD. The movie is translated into French and Spanish and has French and Spanish subtitles. Strangely enough, there are no English subtitles.
For special features, the DVD comes with a short vintage featurette about the making of the movie, and a commentary by Mel Brooks. The featurette is the "behind the scenes" type that was often released on TV shortly before a movie comes out. It contains a few actor interviews that give the sort of congratulatory remarks towards the director that are common in these sort of featurettes. Over all it's rather unexciting and doesn't provide much entertainment or information about the film.
The director's commentary appears to be the one that originally came with the Laserdisc release of this film in the late 80's and early 90's. If you actually happen to be one of the few people who had this movie on laserdisc, you'll find nothing new here.
As far as commentaries go, this one, done by Director Mel Brooks is mediocre at best. Directors who make commentaries should really watch the movie at least once BEFORE they make the commentary. It's clear that Brooks hadn't seen the movie in years, and it hurts the commentary's quality.
Brooks spends most of the time telling us who the actors are (repeatedly), complimenting them for their senses of humor and laughing at the in movie jokes. If that's what you like in a commentary, great, but I would have preferred a more meaty information about the production. There is some of this in the commentary, but not a lot.
Bottom Line: A 5 star movie on a 3 star DVD release. 4 Stars. Definitely worth picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars what's the matter Sanders?... Chicken?, Feb. 14 2003
This review is from: Spaceballs (DVD)
Spaceballs was one of the truly towering movie experiences of my youth. Forced to read during one of those interminable home room "quiet reading" times of my sixth grade school year, I first encountered the novelization of this movie. It was pretty funny...but it was not the movie (which I later rented).
The comedy of Mel Brooks has always been sheer buckshot. There are no "smart bombs" in his arsenal. He throws everything he's got out there and if it hits, so be it.
Spaceballs hits consistently.
From Druish Princesses, Colonel Sanders, and Schwarz jokes (which inspired some pretty stupid crank calls-before caller I.D.) to Dark Helmet and Pizza the Hut-this movie is hilarious. Even Joan Rivers has some good lines.
This movie specializes in the kind of one-liner that you will find yourself quoting (often inappropriately) for years to come. I would place Spaceballs somewhere between Monty Python and the Holy Grail and The Princess Bride in my Pantheon of "quotable" movies. I have never been able to confront plain yogurt without my thoughts drifting to this movie.
For those of you wondering whether you should upgrade from a VHS copy to a DVD the answer is a definite yes. The commentary alone is worth the price of admission. The menu screen is priceless.
Before I go, I must make a nod to Rick Moranis. Spaceballs is probably his second best movie after Strange Brew. The role of Dark Helmut shows him at the height of his comedic powers. The final battle with (as he says it) "Loooone Star" still leaves me rolling with laughter.
God has a sense of humor. Otherwise we wouldn't have movies as great as Spaceballs. Get a copy today and share in the cosmic laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic space spoof, Jan. 26 2003
This review is from: Spaceballs (DVD)
Mel Brooks has created some great satires, his best being Young Frankenstein. But Spaceballs, his spoof of space movies, is also a good film. There are jokes coming every 30 seconds, and while all of them don't hit, many do, and there are several really good ones. Rick Moranis steals the show as Dark Helmet, and Brooks puts in a solid performance as President Scroob, leader of the Spaceballs. The effects are pretty good, considering how ... the movie feels (believe it or not, it cost 25 million to make, or so Brooks says). Star Wars and Star Trek have so inundated American pop culture that Brooks satire of the genre has become a classic (and he spoofed Planet of the Apes, Wizard of Oz, and Lawrence of Arabia among other filmsas well). The dvd is put together to make a funny package. There is a short behind the scenes featurette and a commentary track by Brooks. The commentary track is pretty much worthless. You don't get many new insights, and in fact Brooks doesn't seem to realize just what a commentary is for. Still, the film is what you buy the dvd for, and it is a good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worse than can be easily imagined., Oct. 29 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaceballs (DVD)
Putting this movie in your player can clear a room faster than a Fire Alarm. It was apparent when HISTORY OF THE WORLD PART I was released that Mel Brooks had blown his comedic gift, but I doubt anyone expected the man behind the truly great YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN to bottom out as completely as he did here. Witless and torturously unfunny, with nearly every tired, corny gag ponderously telegraphed minutes in advance, (It's...the...Statue...of...Liberty... "Planet...Of...the...Apes"...joke...coming...up...in...a...moment).There's really no way for me to convey how unremittingly awful SPACEBALLS is. When I saw it in the theater, I can recall only two genuine laughs in the entire picture: The never-endingly long spaceship that just keeps on passing by at the beginning, and the "One Froggy Evening" / Looney Tunes reference during the ALIEN parody. I believe I spent the rest of the time retching.You'd be better off watching your toenails grow than punishing yourself by sitting through this mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spaceballs
Spaceballs by Mel Brooks (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 29.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews