Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Tosca
Beautiful setting - historically accurate. Marvellous singers and gorgeous costumes and sets!

A young powerful Domingo in signature role for him. Spectacular!
Published 8 months ago by Susan Harrison

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Great Performance Ruined By Bad Mixing
This was beautifully filmed and wonderfully performed. Unfortunately, I would not recommend this to anyone because when they mixed it, the orchestra came out much, much louder than the singers. Consequently, to hear the singers clearly, you have to play it back at a volume level that I found almost deafening. Compared to the playback settings for all my other opera...
Published on July 11 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Great Performance Ruined By Bad Mixing, July 11 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tosca Domingo (DVD)
This was beautifully filmed and wonderfully performed. Unfortunately, I would not recommend this to anyone because when they mixed it, the orchestra came out much, much louder than the singers. Consequently, to hear the singers clearly, you have to play it back at a volume level that I found almost deafening. Compared to the playback settings for all my other opera DVDs, I must make major volume adjustments in order to play this one back. And I never do find a satisfying level. With regret, I would not recommend this DVD solely for that reason. Otherwise, like I say, it was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tosca, Aug. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Giacomo Puccini:Tosca (DVD)
Beautiful setting - historically accurate. Marvellous singers and gorgeous costumes and sets!

A young powerful Domingo in signature role for him. Spectacular!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kabaivanska is good, but not the greatest Tosca of all time, Sept. 14 1999
This review is from: Tosca [Import] (VHS Tape)
This is a beautiful, spectacular film which uses the real locations in Rome where the opera takes place. Domingo and Milnes give wonderful performances. As for Kabaivanska, I thought she was very good, but certainly not the greatest Tosca of all time. To the reviewers who said Kabaivanska was the greatest of all time: have you seen Maria Callas? For me, Callas is the greatest ever. But Kabaivanska is a good actress and gives a moving performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic!, Dec 10 2002
By 
Z. Yang (Hockessin, DE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tosca Domingo (DVD)
Needless to say that the star is Raina Kabaivanska, a beautiful, graceful Tosca, whose soprano is very expressive - a voice that can be glorious and tender as well. She sings high pianissimo beautifully and her trills are brilliant in "Vissi d'arte". In contrast to other's acting, her acting is full of details and subtleties, dramatizing a proud, fiery, and willing-to-die-for-love Tosca wonderfully. Domingo's approach to Cavaradossi is heroic, poetic, and quite attentive. His voice is silvery; he looks virile, although a bit too wide his girth for a young Cavaradossi. "Recondita armonia" is sung with passion and graceful turns. In "E lucevan le stelle" he conveys the farewell to life with deep emotions and climaxes the aria in a wonderful outburst of "E non ho amato mai tanto la vita". Sherrill Milnes sings Scarpia with a powerful baritone, only if he could add some varieties in reflecting the character's human side, other than just evil. Also, did he really need that ugly unnatural-looking nose?
The film was exquisitely made, from the interior of the grand chapel to the crystals on Scarpia's dining table, everything was carefully chosen. Adding the effect of performing on locations where the story actually took place, this surely is an epic production of Tosca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A successful and compelling interpretation of Tosca, Jan. 1 2003
By 
Ron D. "Ron D." (Baltimore, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tosca Domingo (DVD)
This production will seize you and not let you go; it is so powerful. The inate dramatic intensity that is "Tosca" is successfully transferred into this actual full-fledged film. I think this is achieved in part through its filming at the actual sites in Rome where the story takes place, using costumes and props as the people would actually have had in Rome around 1800. There is little, if any, fledgling experimental interpretation here. Everything has been carefully crafted, as if the audience member watching the production were thrown into exactly how Puccini would have imagined it, if one could make such a claim.
Placido Domingo's performance is as to be expected. We find him here at the very height of his career, full of youthful splendor: a seemingly effortless, yet brilliant delivery. Kabaivanska commands a quite compelling role of Tosca, as well. Although I've watched this production a countless number of times, I still say "wow" every time she finishes the very much underrated withing operatic criticism, in my opinion, aria "Vissi d'arte" in the second act. Stronger performances of Tosca's vocal part can be heard on other recordings, though. Try anything with Kiri Tekanawa, for instance, who sings with much more of the dark resonance that is Tosca. However, the real catcher is that of Scarpia with Milnes performing. Scarpia actually is a very demanding role, especially for a baritone, a fact not really widely accepted. But Milnes really shines in his role and, I think, makes the most striking impression of the three leads.
Flaws with this production include the relatively poor video quality. Yes, it's true that there are constant white spots that show up on the screen throughout the piece. The final scene also can be a little disappointing. The soldiers do not march in step, although they try to, and this clutter can distract from the ultimate emotional climax that Puccini achieves here. The orchestra also does not play together in the final echo of the flagship theme of the opera, which makes the whole opera come to an unsteady close. These are nevertheless details, and probably wouldn't be noticed the during the first few viewings.
All in all, I would definitely recommend buying this production because overall it very much achieves the quintessential dramatic splendor of Tosca and is thus worth owning your own copy to view over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, Oct. 12 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tosca Domingo (DVD)
Great singing, acting, and, especially, beautiful filming, on location. In this "political" opera, that counts. I can't imagine a better version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performances, DVD transfer could be better, April 6 2002
By 
pm444 "pm444" (Okemos, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tosca Domingo (DVD)
I agree with the other reviewers here who have praised the performances of Kabaivanska, Domingo, and Milnes. All three sing well and are convincing as actors. Shooting the opera on location is effective and adds to the dramatic power.
The DVD transfer, however, is not the best I have seen. There are frequent white spots and "dirt", as well as places where the picture seems to skip a frame or two. Considering the relatively recent date of the original filming, it is hard to believe that the DVD transfer came from the best source available. I have a DVD of Furtwangler's "Don Giovanni" which was filmed in 1954, and the transfer is much cleaner than this.
However, the sound is excellent, with the wide dynamic range one would expect from a DVD, and the slightly substandard video quality is not enough to give this anything less than a full 5-star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb opera for TV, Jan. 28 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tosca Domingo (DVD)
I think I have seen Tosca more than 10 times, including a performanece by the ultimate Scarpia Tito Gobbi. However, no performance carries the absolute dramatic experience of this production in the actual scenery where the opera scenes are taking place. From the barroque interior of the the Barberini Chapel in the church of Sant'Andrea della Valle, to the ornate room of Scarpia at the Palazzo Farnese, to Hadrian's mausoleum (Castel Sant'Angelo), this film follows the action all over Rome. A magnificent performance by a young and expressive Domingo, a dramatic and powerful Kabaibanska and the forceful ultra-evil portrayal of Scarpia by Milnes, and the magnificent prodution, make this my favorite opera in film.
A must in any serious opera collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kabaivanska's Tosca in an interesting movie, Nov. 25 2001
This review is from: Tosca Domingo (DVD)
In 1976, Gianfranco de Bosio shot this film in locations in Rome. Many may think that the style here is a bit exaggerated, with strong colours and sterotypic gestures from the actors - but I think that all that is part of the right aesthetics of what is in origine grand-guignol. The fact that we are watching the actual places where the event of the story take place is also very endearing and Bartoletti, aided by the excellent New Philharmonia Orchestra, gives a competent account of Puccini's score. However, the main interest here is that the incredibly neglected Raina Kabaivanska is taking the title role. Not only she is in excellent voice and copes with the extreme difficulties of the role with no effort, but also it is a sensational voice - uniquely bright and powerful with unbelievably floating pianissimi, while also dealing with the most outspoken moments with good taste and dramatic engagement. She also looks gorgeous. Domingo is also in fresh and young voice - he's only a bit chubby here. Milnes, as the rest of the team, is in great voice and goes for a totally evil Scarpia, with a made-up nose that makes him look quite mean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My first exposure... and still my favorite ever, Oct. 3 2000
By 
Leigh Ann Hussey "motogrrl" (SF Bay Area, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tosca [Import] (VHS Tape)
I'd never experienced opera before seeing this treatment of Tosca, more years ago than I like to think, on PBS. I was captivated. Tosca remains my favorite opera ever -- and this version of it is still my favorite, even after the many I've seen subsequently. Yes, the scenery is terrific, Domingo and Kabaivanska are polished and effective... but for me, the most exciting performance was delivered by Milnes. Unlike every Scarpia I've seen subsequently (all of whom played the police chief as an aging roué who's been-there-done-that and come out the worse for wear), Milnes plays him as a man in his prime, with animal appetites and amorality -- a Scarpia who /does/ have attraction and power, and Tosca must fight with herself and her love for Cavaradossi to resist him. She wants him, though she knows she shouldn't, that he'll use her up and throw her away like his empty wineglass. That's an interpretation I've never seen anywhere else. I'd only be happier if it were a DVD...
Wrote this review in October of 2000, and as of 2 Apr 2002: Oo! Hooray, lookit that! It /is/ a DVD! I am /so/ all over that action. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac04848c)

This product

Giacomo Puccini:Tosca
Giacomo Puccini:Tosca by Gianfranco De Bosio (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 29.95 CDN$ 29.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews