Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For early Cure and post punk fans
I loved the punky Wallace and Gromit inspired video for A Honest Mistake!! If you loved early Cure stuff before Robert Smith developed a weirdo thing for bad makeup and unflattering hockey jerseys like some sort of tranny Run-DMC then you might like The Bravery.
Sam Endicott's singing style is Robert Smith-ish and the music is full of jangly type guitars I love so...
Published on June 27 2005

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice try..but mediocre at best
I saw these guys at CMJ in New York last year. Not only were they jerks they were terrible live. The album is okay. Honest Mistake and Unconditional are really great catchy tracks. But the rest of the album falls short. They sound tired already, jumping on the whole new wave/post punk revival. Better bands out there to spend your cash on.
Published on April 28 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For early Cure and post punk fans, June 27 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bravery (Audio CD)
I loved the punky Wallace and Gromit inspired video for A Honest Mistake!! If you loved early Cure stuff before Robert Smith developed a weirdo thing for bad makeup and unflattering hockey jerseys like some sort of tranny Run-DMC then you might like The Bravery.
Sam Endicott's singing style is Robert Smith-ish and the music is full of jangly type guitars I love so much. I pretty well like every track on this CD except maybe two and those are not that bad either just that A Honest Mistake, PDA, Fearless, Unconditional are better songs. If these guys are wankers I dont really care as the CD is the best thing to come out in awhile amist the coma inducing crap from so called punk princesses and idols.
If you like the Smiths, Cure, early U2, even The Killers and other guitar driven bands with a synth touch then you might like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, March 26 2005
By 
kelsey (Freddie, New Brunswick Canada!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bravery (Audio CD)
The Bravery is gonna be hot, I can tell. I just saw the new vid on Tv (honest mistake) and after the first listen, I was hooked! the song is kinda familiar sounding- but the techno and sketchy beats inside the song give it edge! buddy's got an elvis look going on, and the whole image is hot!! "Honest mistake" is most likely the best, and unconditional teaches ya somethin when ya listen to it. all the songs are so individual sounding its crazy! cant wait to hear more from them! "out of line" and HOT PERSUIT are the next best ones! "tyrant" is mellow-ish and great! love them!! can even describe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Direction, April 7 2007
By 
Andria Roy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bravery (Audio CD)
Great album. The Bravery has taken what came before and added to it for the better, just like every great piece of music.

Listen up haters, sure you were cool when you were the first kid in school to like the smiths but no one cares!

Its called influence not rip offs, you take away from the bands influencing new music when you fail to come up with any factual critiques and just claim rip off. Do us a favor and ask your parents before you use their computer.

Oh yeah,if you like this CD then get 'The Sounds' they rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From start to finish, a truly great release...., April 28 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bravery (Audio CD)
Great band, great sound, great music. If you're intrigued at all by the editorial reviews, they are quite accurate. Having said that, if you like any of these bands by comparison, then don't second guess buying The Bravery. I assure you, you won't be dissappointed. The whole CD is pretty cool; but some favs are Swollen Summer, An Honest Mistake, No Brakes & Unconditional - all super-great tracks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars friggen amazing, March 29 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bravery (Audio CD)
this is an amazing cd, from an amazing band, that i can't wait to make part of my collection. No Brakes, Swollen Summer, Tyrant are my favourite tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice try..but mediocre at best, April 28 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bravery (Audio CD)
I saw these guys at CMJ in New York last year. Not only were they jerks they were terrible live. The album is okay. Honest Mistake and Unconditional are really great catchy tracks. But the rest of the album falls short. They sound tired already, jumping on the whole new wave/post punk revival. Better bands out there to spend your cash on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars alternative's music middle of the road, Dec 12 2005
By 
MJB (MONTREAL, QUEBEC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bravery (Audio CD)
How to create a buzz for your new album
1. be the opening act for Depeche Mode
2. sing like Robert Smith of the Cure
3. listen to lots of New Order and Joy Division, and steal some atmospherics
4. look the part
5. write the smiths a thank you letter
6. be on a record label trying to cash in on label mates like the killers
The album, given it's many influences is actual listenable, the problem is it may be to contrived. The first single "It was an honest mistake" is actually good, as is much of the album. After a few listens though, it lacks the depth lyrically and musicaly to be remembered as anything substantial. This is alternative fast-food at it's best. If you are ready for a proper meal break out, Technique by New Order, Violator by Depeche Mode, and Disintegration by the Cure. The holy trinity of late 80's alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ouch., Aug. 16 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bravery (Audio CD)
It's like a poor rip-off of Morrissey and Robert Smith. The music's terrible too. Do not waste your money on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bravery
Bravery by Bravery (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews