Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Way good movie!
Fella's at work were always talking about this movie. I totally know why now that I've seen it. Title is misleading. It's not a horror flick. If your not moved by this movie you are as cold as a fish inside. Just excellent I reckon.
Published 1 month ago by Jamie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars doesnt live up to the hype.
meh, waaaaaaay to aaarrgh, whats the word im looking for...derivative, thats it.

story has been told enough times already, so its too predictable...take out JT Walsh and Dwight Yoakum, and its only 1 star.

bonus pts for John Ritter, i didnt know it was him til the credits, duh...
Published on Sept. 2 2010 by Razzle Dash Dazzle


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Under rated movie that is well worth seeing., July 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sling Blade [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Very well done movie and good acting. Good story line and it was clean without the usual swearing that seems to be the norm in films these days. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Way good movie!, June 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sling Blade [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Fella's at work were always talking about this movie. I totally know why now that I've seen it. Title is misleading. It's not a horror flick. If your not moved by this movie you are as cold as a fish inside. Just excellent I reckon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Bob Thornton's Best!, Sept. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sling Blade: Director's Cut (DVD)
This movie to Billy Bob Thornton is what "Dances With Wolves" is to Kevin Costner....simply the best work he's ever done and probably will ever do...I can't see Mr Thorton outdoing this absolutely fantastic film. Written, directed and acted by Thorton, the viewer quickly becomes involved in the character of Carl, a mentally handicapped man & the people he meets and becomes involved with & forget that it's Mr Thornton in the staring role. Superb acting throughout the film, believable characters & a story that will tear at your heart. You will love to hate Dwight Yokum as the abusive boyfriend involved with the family who befriends Carl & will be touched by John Ritter in his last movie role. A superb film by anyone's standards, I would rate it a 5 +++++ if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, March 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sling Blade: Director's Cut (DVD)
Classic movie
Billy Bob Thornton at his best.
Lucas Black plays a very believeable role as well.
I recommend this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A legendary performance for Billy Bob Thornton, June 20 2004
By 
J. Hayes (AL, United States) - See all my reviews
Sling Blade starts out at a mental home where Karl, played by Thornton, is being released after 25 years. He killed his mother and a boyfriend after he caught them having sex and he didn't think it seemed right. But Karl is deemed to be safe for society and he is also a man with a good heart that when asked if he will do it again replies,"I don't reckon I got no reason to kill nobody." Karl, by the way is somewhat mentally challenged. So it is time to be released, and Karl returns to the town he used to call home with no place to go and no one to return to (except a father who will not recognize him).
Karl befriends a young boy named Frank, and the two are friends from the start. Both of them share some of the same emotional issues, but in Frank's case it is due to his mother's abusive boyfriend Doyle (played by Dwight Yoakam). Karl gets a job working on small engines at a local garage and lives there for a while, but Frank and his mother agree it would be good for Karl to live with them. From the first time Karl meets Doyle, he begins to see what a terrible person he is. Doyle is constantly belittling Frank and Vaughn (a friend of Frank's mother who is gay), and is verbally and physically abusive to Linda (Frank's mom). Karl appears to be a very simple man, but it is apparent that his mind is always at work analyzing the people around him. Doyle grows worse and worse, and Karl becomes increasingly fed up with him. Karl always remains calm no matter the situation, but we start to see that he is the only one who can make things better for Linda, Frank and Vaughn and that as the movie progresses Karl realizes something must be done. I will spare you the ending, but the final conflict revolves around Karl's love for Frank and Linda and with him making a choice, a choice that could send him back to the mental hospital.
This is an incredible movie that deserves all of the notariety is has collected since its release. It won many awards, and deservingly so. There is a little bit of dark comedy here, some tragedy (like when Karl is talking about his brother he had to bury when he was just born), but most of all it is a disturbing examination of internal conflict in one simple man that really is a good guy at heart. It is pretty disturbing at times, so you have been warned. The movie is nothing short of perfect though and it is definately one that you need to see in your lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A darker, more sinister Forrest Gump, June 16 2004
By A Customer
Thornton portrays a man whose apparent stupidity masks a deeper understanding of morals and circumstance than the common man. Everyone treats him as, and calls him, a "retard", yet he sits in his own presence watching and learning...taking in his surroundings to figure out who is decent, and who isnn't. He just wants to get on with his life, yet, he befriends a young boy by happenstance who he can relate to through common toils and emotion, who he can share his innermost thoughts and dark history with, and who he can - within his own diminished capacity- protect in full with his own paternal....no fraternal....regards.
This movie will make you laugh, it will make you cry, it will make you cringe. But it won't let you go until you see it in its entirety, and question the fact - is it okay to kill if it's for a better cause?
A must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billy Bob does everything but sell the popcorn, July 12 2004
By 
Mark J. Fowler "Let's Play Two!" (Blytheville, Arkansas (The "the" is silent)) - See all my reviews
Billy Bob Thornton took his screenplay and directed himself in this unforgettable film.
Thornton's Karl Childers became one of the Icons of American cinema, and I still hear people doing Karl's gravel-throated mumble which gets an immediate look of recognition from the people around.
Karl is an essentially good man who is mentally challenged. He recognizes good and bad in others, and he seems to understand his place in the world, even if the intricacies of complex human relationships pass by him as unnoticed as the ozone layer.
As the movie opens we learn that Karl is being held in a State Mental Hospital many years after he has killed a couple of people he thought were doing wrong. I'd say more here, but I think it might spoil some of your enjoyment of the movie to learn more - so just watch the movie! We also learn that Karl is being released because they've "cured him".
He goes back to his home town with all his worldly belongings in a sack. A kindly Doctor from the institution gets him a job as a lawn-mower mechanic and he meets a little boy who is friendly to him.
This is a movie of characters, and simply describing them would not do the characters justice. Karl is a simple man with a pretty well-developed sense of right and wrong. The little boy has lost his father, and the boy's mother, Linda, (portrayed in a wonderfully understated performance by Natalie Canerday) has taken up with a hard drinking, bad-mouthing redneck played by Dwight Yoakam. The late John Ritter is almost unrecognizable playing the soft-spoken crew-cut manager of the store where Linda works. Ritter's Vaughan is devoted to Linda and the little boy, Frank (played by Lucas Black), but Vaughan is also a homosexual in a small town in the south, and his social status is precarious.
There are many serious and tender and hilarious and moving scenes, and most of them involve Billy Bob's Karl. For example, there is one scene where Vaughan invites Karl to the diner where Vaughan proceeds to pour his heart out to the uncomprehending Karl. Vaughan goes on about the difficulties he has had in life, and with his father, and being a homosexual. The entire time Karl sits silently, eating his "french-fried 'taters".
Vaughan finally pauses and says "You always seem to be deep in thought. Tell me, what are you thinking right now?"
Karl replies: "I was thinkin', I'm gonna take me some of these taters home with me."
This movie will stick with you long after you have seen it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Oct. 19 2010
This review is from: Sling Blade [Import] (DVD)
I realize we're probably not supposed to write a movie review, but this film is brilliant! Thornton exceeded all expectations with this performance, and Yoakam is stunning.

And regarding the services, delivery was quick (even though I live in the middle of nowhere, literally, I'm in Dawson City, Yukon) the film is pristine and my boyfriend is thrilled. Does it get better than that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars doesnt live up to the hype., Sept. 2 2010
By 
Razzle Dash Dazzle (Cariboo, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sling Blade [Import] (DVD)
meh, waaaaaaay to aaarrgh, whats the word im looking for...derivative, thats it.

story has been told enough times already, so its too predictable...take out JT Walsh and Dwight Yoakum, and its only 1 star.

bonus pts for John Ritter, i didnt know it was him til the credits, duh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A glamorous debut for Thorrnton as screenplayer, May 27 2004
By 
Hiram Gomez Pardo (Valencia, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Billy BobThornton and James Woods are one the most original and challenging actors in the american cinema.
Thornton won a deserved award as best screenplayer in 1996. The script turns around ritarded man who paid a sentence by a murder.
Since this point of view; our character is a veryu isolated man who suddenly befriends with a child emotionally hurted. The links between them will grow, till the time will come for him to make another justice act.
In this state of things , at the end of the movie you'll still be thinking if the justice could have been better done in a rational world. There are many important issues in that film; specially the depict of characters.
Thornton is so well screnplayer as an actor. We really expect much more about his future works. He keeps to date as true promising hope.
Watch this one. It's a little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sling Blade [Import]
Sling Blade [Import] by Billy Bob Thornton (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 25.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews