Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better late then never
I fell in love with the music of "Phantom" when i bought my 1st Sarah Brightman cassete many years ago. I have waited these many years for the play to make it to film and at long last it has.
There will be many who grumple that "Webber" deliberatly delayed the making of this film to deny "Brightman" her film immortality in a movie...
Published on May 5 2005 by J. Thompson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Effort.... but a lackluster Final Product
I love the Phantom, and since I saw it live a few years ago I thought I would give the film version a chance. So, I bought the bare-bones Full-Screen DVD and watched it. I was very impressed with the visuals, the score (of course) and the effects. But the casting was WAY off. Gerrard Butler is a terrible Phantom. He cannot sing, and I do applaud him for giving the role...
Published on April 17 2012 by Mahjong123


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better late then never, May 5 2005
By 
J. Thompson (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I fell in love with the music of "Phantom" when i bought my 1st Sarah Brightman cassete many years ago. I have waited these many years for the play to make it to film and at long last it has.
There will be many who grumple that "Webber" deliberatly delayed the making of this film to deny "Brightman" her film immortality in a movie adaptation of the greatest play and greatest music she has had or ever will have in her astonishing career. Maybe there is truth somewhere here a lingering bitterness of their failed marriage or what ever. I too would have liked to have seen the original Broadway cast reprise their roles on the big screen, but for whatever reason that window was closed forever.
However, that being said it in no way lessens the visual & audio impact of this new movie. Gerald Butler captures the essence of the troubled and lonely Phantom and his vocals of "music of the Night" and indeed throught out the movie leave nothing to be desired. Emmy Rossum is young , fresh and the perfect Christine. Her voice is true and crisp and she need never feel she failed to raise to the challange left her by Brightman, she met that challange head on and matched it beautifully. Her rendition of "wishing you were here" performed in the grey mist of a cemetary will reach down deep in anyone who loves good music well performed. Her duet with Patrick Wilson "say you'll love me" well it just dosen't get any better then that.
If you don't have your copy BUY IT you will never regret the purchase price. However, one cavet of advice buy it it "wide screen" NOT full screen for the sheer grandeur of the visual aspects of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mon film préféré, June 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Un film a posséder tant pour la musique que pour les images. C'est un de mes top 10 de films a écouter et ré-écouter souvent. Même la version francaise est bien réussie ou que ca ne parais pas dans le doublage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars You can't win them all, June 3 2014
By 
Steph (Brantford, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Phantom of the Opera (Bilingual) (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Christine and Raoul are great. The set is lovely. The phantom is terrible. Tell me, why pick a hunky actor to play the part of a man who spends his entire performance behind a mask??? Shouldn't the voice be the thing? Gaston Leroux's Opera Ghost would be horrified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a powerful, spellbinding and emotional film, May 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Phantom of the Opera (Bilingual) (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I loved this movie and cried through the phantom scenes. The powerful emotions brought through loss are well played by Gerry Butler and Emmy Rossum. Gerry's talent shines in his role as Erik, the Phantom of the Opera as he himself has lost a parent and I think the emotion comes through in his acting. I've watched other movies that he is in including 300, Olympus has Fallen, The Ugly Truth and The Bounty Hunter and I think Phantom of the Opera and Chasing Mavericks bring out hidden depths of what Gerry actually is. I didn't know he could sing but I thought the vocals throughout (except the first Carlotta) were fantastic and couldn't tear myself away. Patrick Wilson delivers an exceptional performance as Raoul and his singing with Emmy is fantastic. Supporting cast do a tremendous job of bringing a wonderful story to life. I've never seen this done in theater but I'd recommend it as a great movie - just keep a box of tissues handy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nicely done movie, April 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Phantom of the Opera (Bilingual) (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
The cast and acting is good. Saw the opera a few times in real, but years ago only when I watched this movie version, I felt it went much smoother and told the story in a more understandable and logical way. Decided to purchase the DVD for friends and myself. Singing could be a bit better, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cast!, Jan. 30 2014
Fantastic movie. Great acting and singing. Of course, wonderful songs! Great cast. Can't say enough about this film. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, Jan. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
5 out 5
saw the movie on tv one night and wanted to see it without commercials.
would recommend to anyone who likes this type of video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, Jan. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Spectacular sets, fantastic music and incredible voices! Loved every minute of this movie. Greatly surprised and amazed by Gerard Butler's voice. It's understandable why he received such praise from critics for his performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Face the Music. This Phantom May Take Your Breath Away., Sept. 25 2013
By 
E. Valero "Eterno" (Woodbridge, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Phantom of the Opera (Bilingual) (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
"The Phantom of the Opera" (2004) is a visually spectacular film which remains loyal to the stage production despite some changes to the characters and story. The set design and costumes are sumptuous and Webber's music is beautiful..

The cast, for the most part is excellent. The standout performer is Emmy Rossum who gives an praise worthy performance as the young soprano Christine Daaé. Although her voice is no match to the others who have played the role on stage such as the sublime Rebecca Caine, Sierra Boggess, Rebecca Luker, Claire Moore to name a few it is still lovely. Her tone is delicate and sweet ("Angel of Music") and at times powerful (the cadenza at the end of "Think of Me") and many times throughout the score, she achieves moments of great vocal beauty (the rooftop scene). She breezes through most of the score effortlessly with a few exceptions (there are moments of strain during the "Think of Me" and during the Phantom's "Point of No Return"). I always keep in mind that she is probably one of the youngest sopranos to ever perform these songs. All the other (stage) Christine's have been at least 10 years older than Miss Rossum and to have someone this young sing these songs is impressive as the score calls for the singer to jump octaves and sing high B's, C's and E's (in this case an E flat). Her physical presence is also worth noting. Physically she is the perfect Christine as her age and look is suited well for the role. Admittedly, I have not read the original novel but I am suspecting Ms. Daaé of Leroux's imagination was close in age to Rossum. If not, she should have been, as it is far more believable to have a young girl, not yet reaching true maturity, succumb to the Phantom's influence.

The title role was given to Gerard Butler who gives a strong dramatic performance but vocally, he is the weakest singer in the bunch. His voice is still competent in parts but many will argue a Phantom with a weak voice is not believable to which they have a point since it is he who teaches Christine how to sing however, like in Rossum's case and since film is a different medium, suspension of disbelief must come into play. If not, the hard-nosed critic will most likely have a difficult time listening to Butler struggle with most of the score. Another distraction that may or will arise is Butler's looks since his Phantom looks more of a Harlequin romance version and not the grotesque creature originally portrayed in the novel or the countless horror films the book inspired. Since this is the musical "Phantom" and not the horror-esque version of the 20's, 40's, 60's and 80's, it works for me. He is not suppose to scare the pants off the audience. If it's scares you want then I suggest you stick with Lon Chaney. Lloyd Weber's Phantom is suppose to seduce the audience and make the audience sympathize with him and Mr. Butler succeeds. Webber himself has stressed in earlier interviews that what attracted him to this piece was the romance, not the hokey horror tale. So while other versions focus on the horror, this one focuses on the romance.

Others in the cast include Patrick Wilson who turns in a solid performance as the love-struck but rather wooden Raoul. His voice is good yet his character remains the least sympathetic despite the film-makers attempt to make him more interesting than his stage counterpart. Minnie Driver's over-the-top but hilarious portrayal of the diva and Christine rival "La Carlotta" is a scene stealer. Driver was the only cast member who did not do her own singing.

Directed by the now infamous-for-putting-nipples-on-Batman-Joel Schumacher, the film is an assault on the senses. The elaborate sets, the glittering costumes, the cinematography are all spectacular and beautiful to behold and Webber's score is gorgeous. Many of Webber's simplest tunes turn out to be his most beautiful works. In the case here, the hauntingly beautiful "Angel of Music" is a standout. This song is repeated throughout the musical and the lovely tune is enhanced by Rossum's delicate soprano and fantastic orchestrations. Other musical highlights include the title track (although many have expressed disappointment in the omission of the last verse), the energetic "Masquerade", the lovely duet "All I Ask of You" (which is spectacular on film) and the Phantom's opera "Don Juan Triumphant" followed by what many call one of Webber's best tunes "Point of No Return".

The film was nominated for "Best Cinematography", "Best Song" and "Best Art Direction" at the 2005 Oscars. Surprisingly, it was not nominated for "Best Costume Design".

The 2 disc DVD contains a making of documentary which is interesting enough, the theatrical trailer and if you do some investigative work, you should discover an Easter egg. The one disc DVD's contain only the trailer as an extra.

For the millions of fans who have not experienced Schumacher's vision of Andrew Lloyd Webbers musical, do not hesitate. It is a glorious production that does the stage show justice despite some cast controversy and narrative changes. It is a remarkable documentation of the show and as a movie musical, it is almost perfect. Musical theatre has never been this spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars skipppy, Aug. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Phantom of the Opera (Bilingual) (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
a bit long but still enjoy the music. Its been 20 years since I saw it in Toronto, wanted to see it again in London but didn't have the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Phantom of the Opera (Bilingual) (Widescreen Edition)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews