Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another quirky movie of hits and misses from Wes Anderson
Saying that a movie starring Bill Murray is strange hardly seems a revelation, but "The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou" is certainly out there in its own little universe. The obvious cinematic reference point for this 2004 film is 2001's "The Royal Tenenbaums," since Wes Anderson directed both of them, but this quirky film has a better payoff, although I would be hard...
Published on May 31 2005 by Lawrance M. Bernabo

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It wasn't a real Criterion
It's a replica of a Criterion Collection and It is made in mexico, it is not a real Criterion film, perhaps this movie is wonderful.
Published 4 months ago by Ken Allaire


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another quirky movie of hits and misses from Wes Anderson, May 31 2005
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Saying that a movie starring Bill Murray is strange hardly seems a revelation, but "The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou" is certainly out there in its own little universe. The obvious cinematic reference point for this 2004 film is 2001's "The Royal Tenenbaums," since Wes Anderson directed both of them, but this quirky film has a better payoff, although I would be hard pressed to argue out exactly how that is accomplished. Murray is the hook to get people to see this movie, but the rest of the fishing paraphernalia belongs to Anderson.
Steve Zissou (Murray) is either a parody of, or a homage to deep sea explorer Jacques Cousteau (it works either way but I lean towards the latter interpretation). Zissou has been making documentaries for decades, but now his star is in decline and to add insult to injury, his best friend is devoured by a "Jaguar Shark." This turns Zissou into Captain Ahab but before he can set sail on the good ship "Belafonte" (famous for his calypso singing, which, it turns out, was the name of Cousteau's own good ship), a couple of newcomers show up for the ride. Ned Plimpton (Owen Wilson), appears to be the son that Zissou never knew he had, and Jane Winslett-Richardson (Cate Blanchett) is a journalist who is doing an article on Zissou and his quest. Zissou is smitten with Jane, who takes a fancy to Ned. Meanwhile Zissou's estranged wife, Eleanor (Angelica Huston), continues to be the brains behind Team Zissou, Klaus (Willem Dafoe) remains Zissou's right-hand man, Bill (Bud Cort) is along to count the money, and even rival Alistair Hennessey (Jeff Goldblum) lends assistance, even if he does not know about it until it is too late to say "no."
Henry Selick ("The Nightmare Before Christmas") does the animation for all of the underwater sea life in glowing pastel colors, and that aspect of the film helps to clue us into the wry surrealism of its humor. The other big clue is that one of the crewmembers sings David Bowie songs in Portuguese. Oh, and then there is the fact that the there are scenes taking place on a cutaway version of the "Belafonte" that would also be a clue. The problem is that there are patches where you think we are supposed to be taking things more seriously than we are, especially when the title character emerges from his lethargy to try and do something about all the down spiraling in his life. Still, despite the steady sense of unease that afflicted me through most of the movie, I liked the ending of "The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou," both in terms of the underwater climax and the on shore resolution. Just do not ask me to show my work on how I came up with the rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch this!, July 4 2014
By 
Cory Denton "Dyroc" (Saskatoon, Sk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is an awesome display of cinematic art. The comedy is smart and subtle at times. One of my favorites for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Life Aquatic, June 28 2005
By 
Sara August "Sara" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought is was kinda goofy, but made me giggle. Bill Murray is my hero and all he has to do is stand there and I find him amusing. The cartoon creatures are quite original too.
Great soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Criterion Collection, June 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved this movie and once again Criterion did an excellent job. I have bought several Criterion releases and throughly enjoyed them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great Blu Ray for any Wes Anderson fan!, June 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I actually didnt expect as much as the disc has in special features really, but anyway... The interns shared a glock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wes Anderson is THE BEST!, May 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou (The Criterion Collection) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Another great film by Wes Anderson! I can watch this one over and over and live it more each time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Life Aquatic - a classic., Jan. 15 2014
By 
Some Bloke (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou (The Criterion Collection) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I grew up on Cousteau... I get the humour. Bowie in Brazilian Portuguese....awesome..... I need a blu-ray of this!!! when will it come???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Parfait, Dec 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou (The Criterion Collection) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Le dvd était en parfait état, tel que décrit. Je suis très satisfaite. Il est arrivé rapidement et était très bien emballé.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Murray still very funny, Oct. 17 2012
This review is from: The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou (The Criterion Collection) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Very funny bill, would tell everyone to watch. Is one of my favorate movies.......non stop laughs all the way through. Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Funny, May 31 2005
By A Customer
This is Bill Murray at his best. Incredible cast. Interesting story. Beautiful Scenery. SUPER FUNNY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou (The Criterion Collection) (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews