Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Outstanding ... Incredible Cast
Wow, I was literally guilted into seeing this in the theatre; and what a good thing it was that I went.

I have this on DVD now and the documentary is excellent. This CANADIAN made movie (shot in Manitoba, NWT, and BC) has shot to the top of my favorite list. Everyone I show it too is stunned by the terrific cast, photography, and outstanding story (quality...
Published on June 21 2004 by Glenn Laycock

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars good movie bad dvd
I saw this movie with the cast and director during the Vancouver Film Festival a couple of years ago. It was a great film. It was filmed in a 2.35 : 1 aspect ratio. Unfortuately the dvd is cropped down to 1.85 : 1, thus cutting of a lot of the picture. Its too bad because the film utilizes the very widescreen extremely well to show off the vast Canadian landscape of the...
Published on March 24 2005 by Kwokmando


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Outstanding ... Incredible Cast, June 21 2004
By 
Glenn Laycock (Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Snow Walker (DVD)
Wow, I was literally guilted into seeing this in the theatre; and what a good thing it was that I went.

I have this on DVD now and the documentary is excellent. This CANADIAN made movie (shot in Manitoba, NWT, and BC) has shot to the top of my favorite list. Everyone I show it too is stunned by the terrific cast, photography, and outstanding story (quality A1).

Berry Pepper (I did not know any of the cast before) is absolutely outstanding. Annabelle Piugattuk (has so much chemistry with the media...film) it hits the viewer hard; there is something about her that extremely likeable (same for Berry); the the two work together in a wonderful way (so rare).

I know that the storyline looks tough to take (winter, cold) but I guarantee that this one will delight. The Pilot is essentially reborn, or transformed, by his experience. Men will like Barry's performance as it is not at all mush ... tough and believable.

After watching it about 3 times, some noteworthy things. The Owl, I think symbolizes someone watching (the girl?); the pilot's flashbacks to the war; the last flashback hits me so hard; don't know why but I just well up now with the change that occurs in it (what does the Raven mean?). The message I think is that "we are not alone". Feminists will love it of course, Annabella is something like 4'8" tall and amazes all. Again, the sight of her makes me well up ... maybe I'm just an emotional wreck these days.

The Director is Charles Martin Smith -- from The Untouchables, or American Graffitti (the one that got so sick from drinking).

Oh, if you have Home Theatre Speakers the talk with the Raven (I think it is a Raven) will sound awesome on your speakers .. it was cool in the theatre). Interesting, the words you hear whispered, were accidentally recorded when Annabella was practicing quietly with herself and the microphone was left on -- they said they actually found it when going throught the tapes.

So buy this DVD; outstanding!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canadian classic, Aug. 22 2004
By 
Jeff Jacques (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Snow Walker (DVD)
Charles Martin Smith fell in love with the Canadian north when he starred in "Never Cry Wolf" 21 years ago. Now he returns to that beautiful, stark landscape as a director, and his love of the land is shown in the beautiful panoramic vistas that almost become a character unto themselves.
"The Snow Walker" is a simple story about cocky courier pilot Charlie (Barry Pepper) who reluctantly agrees to fly a young Inuit woman (Annabelle Piugattuk), sick with TB, to the hospital in Yellowknife. Naturally, things do not go as planned. The plane goes down and the two characters must fend for themselves in the barren landscape, their divergent personalities and cultural differences making things difficult at times, yet also enlightening. As days drag into weeks, a respectful bond grows between the pair and Charlie gradually comes to care for his companion, a member of a people Charlie had previously treated with cruel indifference.
Pepper, as always, is great, turning in a real performance as Charlie, a man facing his own survival and prejudices in the northern wilderness. And newcomer Piugattuk is delightful as the Inuit woman, her impressive performance showing us a culture we rarely have the opportunity to see. Small supporting roles by James Cromwell and Kiersten Warren are effective as well.
All in all, a very satisfying movie of survival and friendship against all odds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Stunning, Nov. 11 2006
By 
Kyle Jensen (Edmonton, Ab Can) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
The Snow Walker is a simple film which embodies the human spirit and teaches us to accept others for who they are.

Directed by Charles Martin Smith, this Canadian film is about a cocky bush pilot in the Canadian Arctic during the 1950's and the struggles he, and his extra passanger, endure after their plane goes down in the harsh, unforgiving tundra. During a routine run, Charlie (played by Barry Pepper), comes across a fishing party of Inuit people. After two of the men help Charlie with his cargo, he agrees to see something as per their request. What he discovers is a young Inuit girl. She is badly sick and needs to be in a hospital. After initial denail, the Inuit men persuade him with some ivory walrus tusks, a hefty trade he cannot refuse.

On their way to Yellowknife to find a hospital, their plane goes down because of engine failure. Unable to contact the outside world, this arrogant bigot, but somehow likeable man, is forced to try to survive on the unforgiving land.

The duo endure many hardships and Charlie learns that this young girl is far better off then he is. Even after his selfishness, she still helps him and heals him. What grows is an unbelieveable relationship (totally platonic) between the two people and really ends up and the centrepeice of the film.

An excellent film with great acting, directing, writing, everything is brilliant. Every frame you watch, you can see the love and respect Smith has for the beautiful land. An excellent feel-good film that should not be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Canadian masterpiece, Nov. 21 2009
By 
Maurice A. Rhodes (BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
This film is verity. For anyone who has flown in the Arctic and sub-Arctic areas of Canada will recognize the stoicism of the Innuit, the raw courage and dash of most bush pilots. One will remember the the bleak wastes of the North and its cruelties and beauty whether in summer or winter.

The loss of his engine and the crash of his plane have stripped him of the ability to survive when searchers fail to find him as he is not in the search area. Disdain by the bush pilot for his tubercular Innuit hitch-hiker who saves his life slowly transforms to admiration, respect, tenderness and perhaps even a bit more.

The symbolism of the bush-pilot meeting other humans (Innuit) at the ending is heart-warming. One would like to think that he has found the people of his faithful guide, she who walked to her death into the Arctic wastes when she realized that, coughing tubercular blood, she could go no longer. It is implicit that he survives after all have given up hope for him and have actually had his funeral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly moving, Dec 28 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
While not a big Farley Mowat fan (OK, I think he's an insufferable, preachy blowhard 9 times out of 10), I was familiar with The Snow Walker's director, Charles Martin Smith, in Never Cry Wolf, and found out about this movie as an instructive survival story.

The story, cast, direction and production values are all outstanding. I found the film particularly moving as someone very important to me looks very much like Annabella Piugattuk, and acts to a great extent like Kanaalaq, and I could easily see this woman doing what Kanaalaq does near the end of the trek.

This film deserved wider exposure, and is a credit to Canadian film making (albeit with an excellent American director), high praise from me since I am no booster of the usually mediocre output of "Canadian Culture". Hopefully, Canadian Barry Pepper will continue to build on his excellent performances, most recently in True Grit, and that Annabella Piugattuk can build further on her success here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to live in the north, Oct. 30 2009
By 
omatik (Goderich, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
I just loved this film, and I've mentioned this film many times to family and friends.

This is a good example of the expression "never judge a man until you've walked a mile in his moccasins"... literally in this case.

The other reviewers here have provided a good synopsis of the film.

There are so many memorable scenes that depict the huge differences between "modern man" with his technology and equipment vs. the "simple" way of life of the people that have lived in the north for centuries. Some of my favorites: the morning the pilot wakes up and is greeted by "a few" flying critters, and the hunting scene.

This film also works well for anyone who does not understand english so well... there is not a lot of dialouge.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I would have liked the end to be a bit more telling though, Nov. 15 2014
By 
College Pooch (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
A very powerful and moving story about survival and developing a friendship across culture. I would have liked the end to be a bit more telling though, and though the movie is entitled "Snow Walker", that situation of walking on snow only made up the last 5 to 10 minutes of the movie. So I thought the name really didn't fit the story though I understand why. A better title would have been "Against All Odds", but a very enjoyable movie nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great scenery shots, Sept. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
it is a Farley Mowat Movie, so you get a decent idea of what to expect. The movie was more than i had expected....great scenery shots, good performances and a wonderful storyline which fits everything very neatly together. Truly enjoyed this movie of survival in the Arctic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Snow Walker - True Canadian Brilliance, Sept. 27 2010
This review is from: The Snow Walker (DVD)
Great stuff - pure Canadiana - that weaves a good tale with a mix of adventure, romance and drama in the True White North. A good investment of 2 hours and a few bucks. Great acting and a strong story line - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing delivery time, May 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Snow Walker (DVD) (DVD)
this dvd arrived in record braking time.
when it got here it was in amazing shape and our customer was very happy to have it in their hands
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW Snow Walker (DVD)
CDN$ 5.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews