countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
71
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$31.85+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 16, 2003
James Dean literally steals the movie and give the performance of his life as Jett Rink.his on and off screen battles for recognition explode in Giant and steal the show away from the Benedicts(Rock Hudson and Elizabeth Taylor).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2003
I really like this movie alot. It has such a great story line not to mention the great actors! I love this movie so much. Elizabeth Taylor and Rock Hudson are so excellent in this movie! Its a classic so dont miss it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2003
george stevens really earned his award for this grande of a movie. I really sat threw the 2 tapes and watched the 200 minutes of it and I tel you it payed off good. lots of nicely shot footage of the western country. James Dean as Jett Rink is the treat here. He is the likable character in this piece. Hudson and Taylor do good jobs as well. romantic, dramatic and exciting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2015
Outstanding motion picture. All of the main stars have left us now. James Dean was in his prime and his acting skills were on a par with Marlon Brando! It is too bad hie lost his life at such a young age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2000
words really cant describe what a great movie experience thisis.... not only does this movie encapsulate the american dream, butalso comments on problems with society of the era with many stillbeing relavent today. after seeing this movie, you'll realize justhow bad you are getting ripped off at the theatre today with most ofthe current releases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2000
I first HAD to see this movie because my dad MADE me. I'm not into old movies like this but, after i finished seeing it, WOW this was a great movie. The sceneries are great and if you see this movie your mind will just open up, I would give this movie 10 stars out of 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 the best. SEE THIS MOVIE AT LEAST ONCE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 1999
A classic film epic of the fifties that blesses the Edna Ferber novel. Here's the way we want to see two late cinema greats, Rock Hudson and James Dean. George Stevens has all the right ingredients necessary here to make an entertaining and unforgettable picture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
I loved this film.Jimmy was brilliant as always,actually the entire cast was brilliant.Such a great piece of 1950's Americana.I'd highly recommend 'Giant'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2015
These is such a great film. It's great to watch the family grow and all the crap they have to deal with, from racist people to a drunken oil man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2016
This is the uncut version that was cut to satisfy the biggest distributor in Texas who objected to Texans being portrayed as racist bigots.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse