Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!
The DVD is superb -- I do not know what all the complaints about sound, etc. are all about! My goodness, this film is almost 50 years old -- and I think it is in wonderful shape!
I purchased this video because I have become a big James Dean film, but the acting of Elizabeth Taylor, Rock Hudson, Carol Baker, and Dennis Hopper were splendid.
To think that Hudson...
Published on April 22 2004 by Onie Wheeler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Giant? Giant perhaps in its neglect of Jett...
While I'm still working on my glowing review for Rebel Without a Cause, I think I'll do this one for Giant. To say it bluntly, the film left me disturbed and unsettled, as movies generally do when I don't feel they've been finished. Whatever happened to Jett? It's not enough for me to see him lying in a drunken stupor under a fallen table. His part of the story needed to...
Published on Nov. 26 2001 by Susan


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Giant Actors=Giant Movie, June 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Giant (DVD)
If you are a fan of James Dean, Rock Hudson, or Elizabeth Taylor, this movie is definitely for you. It is a great showcase of talented actors coming together to create a great story. And seeing as James Dean only starred in 3 movies in his short life, this movie is worht buying just to see one of his great performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The eyes of Texas are upon you, you cannot turn away!, Oct. 30 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Giant (VHS Tape)
A classic film epic of the fifties that blesses the Edna Ferber novel. Here's the way we want to see two late cinema greats, Rock Hudson and James Dean. George Stevens has all the right ingredients necessary here to make an entertaining and unforgettable picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece, Nov. 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Giant (DVD)
James Dean literally steals the movie and give the performance of his life as Jett Rink.his on and off screen battles for recognition explode in Giant and steal the show away from the Benedicts(Rock Hudson and Elizabeth Taylor).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Great, July 22 2003
This review is from: Giant (DVD)
I really like this movie alot. It has such a great story line not to mention the great actors! I love this movie so much. Elizabeth Taylor and Rock Hudson are so excellent in this movie! Its a classic so dont miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Giant, May 6 2001
By 
Ronald F. Duckworth "Texmsg" (Arlington, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Giant (VHS Tape)
One of the worst movies ever made about Texas and Texans. Dreadful. Awful. Laughable acting and a silly script. Boring but good for a laugh. James Dean as a Texas cowboy indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Giant, Oct. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Giant (VHS Tape)
While the plot was good,
the movie was far too long and in
places downright boring.. However the great
acting from its' cast managed to hold
my interest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Dean-Giant, Oct. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Giant (Sous-titres franais) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I loved this film.Jimmy was brilliant as always,actually the entire cast was brilliant.Such a great piece of 1950's Americana.I'd highly recommend 'Giant'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, May 12 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These is such a great film. It's great to watch the family grow and all the crap they have to deal with, from racist people to a drunken oil man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GIANT, April 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Giant (Sous-titres franais) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I loved this movie from the first time that I saw it, and, now, 50 years later, it is still a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A DISGRACE, Dec 29 2003
By 
Matthew J. Gallagher (Wilton, Connecticut United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Giant (DVD)
Please heed the one brave reviewer who also found this DVD of GIANT a disgrace - and it is. Don't be mislead! The sound quality is terrible. The colors are, in some scenes, almost completely washed out, which make the images appear as if they were once in black and white and then colorized. In several scenes, you can actually see flashes of lines, as if the print was lifted off a television screen. There was NO attempt to upgrade, enhance or preserve this wonderful, classic film. The extras? Nothing special. Certainly not worth the cost of buying this terrible DVD expecting a top grade enhancement and then finding that you have something that wouldn't even be shown on TCM! My question is, where did TCM get THEIR print?? Please heed this advice. Buy the 1985 VHS tape before you waste your money on what has to be one of the worst rip-offs in DVD retail yet. By comparision: check out the terrific quality of the "North by Northwest" DVD. Beautifully done, lovingly preserved. This disgrace should never have been released. I wasted my money on this. It's TERRIBLE. Poor sound, poor colors, poor everything ... except for a great film getting a very poor treatment. Stay away! A disgrace. An absolute disgrace. Shame on these other reviewers. What were they looking at? From the opening scene you can hear how bad the sound is, how disappointing the colors are, how terrible the whole thing is. The DVD of "Giant" is "Little."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Giant (Sous-titres franais) (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 22.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews