Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!
The DVD is superb -- I do not know what all the complaints about sound, etc. are all about! My goodness, this film is almost 50 years old -- and I think it is in wonderful shape!
I purchased this video because I have become a big James Dean film, but the acting of Elizabeth Taylor, Rock Hudson, Carol Baker, and Dennis Hopper were splendid.
To think that Hudson...
Published on April 22 2004 by Onie Wheeler

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Warner Bros cheaps out on DVD of Giant
First, let's establish that I don't think "Giant" is a classic by any definition. Too long, indifferent acting, too much fluff. That said, I guess I remember it as a spectacle worthy of the total sprucing up it needed to bring it to DVD. Tiomkins rousing score in 5.1 digital sound. Punching up of the very faded VHS tapes film quality and some nice extras...
Published on Aug. 18 2003 by Ronald D. Foster


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Giant Actors=Giant Movie, June 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Giant (DVD)
If you are a fan of James Dean, Rock Hudson, or Elizabeth Taylor, this movie is definitely for you. It is a great showcase of talented actors coming together to create a great story. And seeing as James Dean only starred in 3 movies in his short life, this movie is worht buying just to see one of his great performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars And a giant it is, June 28 2015
By 
Maurice A. Rhodes (BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Giant (Sous-titres franais) (DVD)
This is a great Texas story, true to the book. James Dean turns in his best and last role before his tragic death. As does Rock Hudson and Elizabeth Taylor as the transplanted Virginian. Believe it or not, while I has read the book years before I had never seen the movie.The strongest cjharacter in the movie is none of the above, but Rock's sister "Luz"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The eyes of Texas are upon you, you cannot turn away!, Oct. 30 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Giant (VHS Tape)
A classic film epic of the fifties that blesses the Edna Ferber novel. Here's the way we want to see two late cinema greats, Rock Hudson and James Dean. George Stevens has all the right ingredients necessary here to make an entertaining and unforgettable picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece, Nov. 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Giant (DVD)
James Dean literally steals the movie and give the performance of his life as Jett Rink.his on and off screen battles for recognition explode in Giant and steal the show away from the Benedicts(Rock Hudson and Elizabeth Taylor).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Great, July 22 2003
This review is from: Giant (DVD)
I really like this movie alot. It has such a great story line not to mention the great actors! I love this movie so much. Elizabeth Taylor and Rock Hudson are so excellent in this movie! Its a classic so dont miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A movie that can be watched over and over again. It also appeals to the younger generation. Too bad they have such crap to watch, June 21 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Giant (DVD)
Outstanding motion picture. All of the main stars have left us now. James Dean was in his prime and his acting skills were on a par with Marlon Brando! It is too bad hie lost his life at such a young age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Giant, May 6 2001
By 
Ronald F. Duckworth "Texmsg" (Arlington, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Giant (VHS Tape)
One of the worst movies ever made about Texas and Texans. Dreadful. Awful. Laughable acting and a silly script. Boring but good for a laugh. James Dean as a Texas cowboy indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Giant, Oct. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Giant (VHS Tape)
While the plot was good,
the movie was far too long and in
places downright boring.. However the great
acting from its' cast managed to hold
my interest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Dean-Giant, Oct. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Giant (Sous-titres franais) (DVD)
I loved this film.Jimmy was brilliant as always,actually the entire cast was brilliant.Such a great piece of 1950's Americana.I'd highly recommend 'Giant'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, May 12 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These is such a great film. It's great to watch the family grow and all the crap they have to deal with, from racist people to a drunken oil man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Giant (Sous-titres franais)
Giant (Sous-titres franais) by Various (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 22.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews