Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Closest to New Who?
Ghost Light is part of the final season of the original run of Doctor Who, and one that falls in the middle of the strongest run of stories in years.

A dark, old house with a mysterious past; strange creatures; an alien intelligence? How can the Doctor resist? Coupled with more character development for Ace (laying the framework for the New Who companions of...
Published 23 months ago by Trytek

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Exit the Doctor
Ghost Light was the last Dr. Who produced at the BBC and ended 26 years of regular time travelling for the Doctor. If one was to describe the story in one word that word would be 'confusing'. The sets and guest cast are typically top notch for the BBC, however the plot appears to have gone missing in action.The direction is uneven and McCoy is not handled well. The viewer...
Published on Sept. 29 2002 by Glenn Ogden


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Closest to New Who?, Aug. 30 2012
By 
Trytek - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghost Light (DVD)
Ghost Light is part of the final season of the original run of Doctor Who, and one that falls in the middle of the strongest run of stories in years.

A dark, old house with a mysterious past; strange creatures; an alien intelligence? How can the Doctor resist? Coupled with more character development for Ace (laying the framework for the New Who companions of the 21st century, this is a gripping tale.

The actors are all brilliant and the set is highly atmospheric - the contruction of a working lift on set really helps to sell the location. This one scared the living daylights out of me when I was young, and isn't that the hallmark of a really good Doctor Who story? The plot is nice and tight, being spread across only three episodes, so there's very little filler. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Science fiction with strong elements of reality!, Feb. 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghost Light (VHS Tape)
I would have given it more stars if I could. This story makes you wonder why Ace is feeling so troubled. This show has a psychological element, which is hard to describe. Sort of like the movie "Panic Room", only better. I found myself so fascinated watching it, that I went back and viewed it several more times. There is something about this show that sort of defies explanation yet viewing it brings to light understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic., May 12 2002
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghost Light (VHS Tape)
Watch this once, and you might not work it all out. But this really is video generation Dr Who, one of the most densely-plotted and sophisticated episodes ever made. Virtually every line of dialogue has some kind of significance or deeper meaning. McCoy's Doctor and Sophie Aldred's Ace continue to prove they are one of the strongest Doctor-and-companion duos in the series' history, the Doctor taking his unsuspecting sidekick back into Victorian Perivale to confront childhood demons. The Victorian house looks like it could have been designed for an expensive period drama, there are strong performances from all the cast, the soundtrack is one of the most moodily atmospheric ever written for the series. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is True Doctor Who, Feb. 23 2004
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghost Light (VHS Tape)
Dont let those one star reviews fool you. What is so great about Doctor Who is that each new actor gives his own "expression" to the main title role. Each new Doctor has his own quirks, his own shadows, his own mystery about him. Think about it, there have been eight Doctors and that is wonderful.
While Tom Baker was a great Doctor, for example, he was only one of many Doctors. I have to give Sylvester McCoy a standing ovation. While I loved the Colin Baker stories, all of them, and I hated to see him end before he could truly shine, S MyCoy gives a new additive and a new dimension to the role of the Doctor.
The Doctor by now has returned to his mystery. Just who is the Doctor? Just what is the Doctor? Yes we think we know where he comes from, we think we know why he left his world. But do we? Do we indeed? That's what's so great about Sylvester. He's awesome as the Doctor. He's funny and yet he can be almost terrifying at the same time. Think, for example, how comical he acts at first in the Greatest Show in the Galaxy, and yet suddenly he shows that he knows just what is happening and why.
Ghost Light is a wonderful additive to any and all Doctor Who collections. The story is rich, it is advanced. The story is haunting and so fast pace at times. While I dont agree with the Evolution lauding of the storyline (as a Christian I am a Creationist), as a fiction story, I love how it is produced in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Exit the Doctor, Sept. 29 2002
By 
Glenn Ogden (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghost Light (VHS Tape)
Ghost Light was the last Dr. Who produced at the BBC and ended 26 years of regular time travelling for the Doctor. If one was to describe the story in one word that word would be 'confusing'. The sets and guest cast are typically top notch for the BBC, however the plot appears to have gone missing in action.The direction is uneven and McCoy is not handled well. The viewer is left to piece together meaning from a few scaps of plot exposition. Ultimately the viewer is left unsatisfied although the story does leave behind some strong visual impressions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eerie... i wouldn't stay in this house after dark!, Feb. 14 2002
By 
Chris Letempt (Bentonville, AR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghost Light (VHS Tape)
This is a really good story. We find out some of Ace's past and also get some quirky haunted house story going on. Sylvester McCoy is a really excellent Doctor. Ace is pretty cool, too. If you like bizarre stories, this is one you will love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let there be light!, Jan. 16 2002
By 
Margaret (Buffalo, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghost Light (VHS Tape)
A tight script, excellent characters, a wonderful musical score and direction that gives the piece the feel of a stage play rather than "TV" make this story worth watching. Everything takes place within a Victoria house, giving the story an almost claustrophobic feel, which only adds to the feeling that everyone is "trapped" within the walls of Gabriel Chase. In fact, there is so much packed into the three episodes that a second viewing is a must. It is worth noting that even though this was the third episode of the season when origianlly aired, this was, in fact, the LAST Doctor Who story filmed by the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor at his best., July 1 2001
By 
S. Lehman "inspired to read" (wilmington, delaware United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghost Light (VHS Tape)
What can I say, probably one of the best episodes of Doctor Who. It had great surprises like, Light, and the aliens at the bottom of the house. Also change is something that will play a part in this adventure. Then there is a freaky lady and a story with the family. Also the Doctor takes Ace back to the house so she can confront her biggest fear. Overall Ghost Light could be the best Doctor Who ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good thing they cancelled the show shortly after..., Oct. 3 2001
By 
"cptr11" (Bellingham, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghost Light (VHS Tape)
...so they couldn't tarnish the show's name anymore.
For me the episode is divided into two plot lines:
(1)-Ace and the Doctor: It's succeeds rarely, but none the less for this era, 5 minutes being worthwhile is saying something.
(2)-The house and it's mystery:
Unbelievably poor writing, simplistic but sloppy, plot structure.
The characters are an absolute waste of time, although they did succeed in almost convincing me that I was so wrong for ever watching Dr. Who. The Tom Baker episode "the Stones of Blood" is similar in most all counts and superior in all.
This goes down with: "The Twin Dilemma" and "Paradise Towers" as the ones to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Ghost Light
Doctor Who: Ghost Light by DVD (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 95.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews