Customer Reviews


294 Reviews
5 star:
 (183)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The widescreen edition makes all the difference
Keeping in mind that the success behind the X-Files series was not only the brilliant writing, but also the cinematography and "movie-look" of the directing, it is little wonder that the X-files movie was just a two-hour long, big-budget episode of the t.v. show. As another reviewer pointed out: what else did we really want or expect? However, because this is...
Published on May 30 2004 by Rocco Dormarunno

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid X-Files adventure
"The X-Files: Fight the Future" doesn't answer a lot of the questions that fans were waiting for from the movie. The only difference between this movie and, say, a two or three part X-Files story arc is the size of the budget, effects and the guest stars. The writing, unfortunately, doesn't measure up to the best the series offered. Nevertheless, it's a fine...
Published on July 7 2004 by Wayne Klein


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid X-Files adventure, July 7 2004
This review is from: The X-Files (Widescreen) (DVD)
"The X-Files: Fight the Future" doesn't answer a lot of the questions that fans were waiting for from the movie. The only difference between this movie and, say, a two or three part X-Files story arc is the size of the budget, effects and the guest stars. The writing, unfortunately, doesn't measure up to the best the series offered. Nevertheless, it's a fine theatrical episode of the series.
Thousands of years ago an alien species ruled this planet. Humanity was just an afterthought. It's clear that these aliens want to regain control of the planet and members of the government have made a pact with the devil; humanity will become a slave race to these aliens (and other things you don't want to know about if you haven't seen the movie otherwise it'll spoil plot points).
Somehow all of this is tied into two little boys that discover an ancient underground cavern. One of the boys is infected with some sort of virus as are several rescue workers. In another part of the US, Mulder and Scully are checking out terrorist threat against the US. The building that Mulder and Scully and the rest of the team believe to be the target is a decoy. Mulder and Scully accidently discover the real target. The mystery at the heart of the film is why the terrorist targeted a building that had the agency FEMA in it when there were more vital government agencies they could have hit. Also, the building was evacuated. So how come there were two victims discovered in the rubble?
All of this remains at the heart of the mystery and it does, indeed, play into the alien conspiracy story arc than began to be undcovered in season one of the series. If you're interested in "The X-Files" but haven't seen the entire series, this movie is still comprehensible to the average moviegoer. The ramifications of the plot, however, will be much more important if you've seen the bulk of seasons 2-6 first (season 1 just sets up the conspiracy angle and is important but not a central part of the conspiracy arc).
The picture quality is pretty good considering this came out close to the beginning of the DVD craze. It could be improved with an anamorphic widescreen transfer (higher picture quality)and with a separate disc of extras. The extras aren't bad here they're just not as indepth as they should be. My guess is that Fox plans on re-releasing this on DVD when the new X-Files movie comes out in 2006 and/or within the next year or two because they've finally got the entire series on DVD.
Well worth picking up for fans but for casual new viewers, I'd suggest starting with seasons 2-6 to fully understand the consequences of this film's plot line. Carter's script isn't his best but there are enough gems in the script to make it worthwhile for fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad. Not great either., Dec 4 1999
This review is from: X-Files, the (VHS Tape)
Those who haven't seen the show before will find this movie to be totally confusing. Even X-philes will be perplexed about what the deal is. I became a fan of the show for many reasons- series creator Chris Carter's unorthodox takes on society & myth, the acting of David Duchovney and Gillian Anderson, and the show's quirky humor. This movie really doesn't showcase any of those things.
For the movie Carter wrote a decent story which never really breaks free from its moorings. The potential scope and grandeur of the story is hinted at but never seen. While the directing is decidedly second-rate, the music is quite good- appropriately dark and moody. Anderson & Duchovney make what they can of Agents Mulder & Scully, but the story too often leaves the Agents reacting to events more than acting upon them.
The supporting cast is badly under-served as well. While Martin Landau has some nice scenes as Mulder's latest informant, the Lone Gunmen have little more than a cameo. Cigarette-Smoking Man & Skinner (both complex characters important to the show) are both left with small parts that are hardly relevant to the story. John Neville's Well-Manicured Man may have the best role in the movie as the man who brings Mulder closer to the truth than he has ever been.
Based on this film, Fox's strategy of bringing the show onto the big screen seems fated to failure.
Carter would do well to turn the screenwriting duties for his next film over to X-Files scribe Vince Gillighan or even Duchovney, a talented writer himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The widescreen edition makes all the difference, May 30 2004
By 
Rocco Dormarunno (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Files, the (VHS Tape)
Keeping in mind that the success behind the X-Files series was not only the brilliant writing, but also the cinematography and "movie-look" of the directing, it is little wonder that the X-files movie was just a two-hour long, big-budget episode of the t.v. show. As another reviewer pointed out: what else did we really want or expect? However, because this is the X-Files Movie, it would be wrong-minded to buy anything but the widescreen edition. As with the series, Chris Carter knows how to effectively fill a screen. And the movie is just as visually efficient. None of the edges are lost on this edition, as they are on the other VHS edition. And maybe it's me, but the sound is a little crisper too. In any event, if you're going to buy this film, this is the edition to get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable move to the "big screen", June 17 2004
By 
Mitch Weaver (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The X-Files (Widescreen) (DVD)
The X-Files "Fight the Future" takes place after the end of season five when the X-Files have been shut down. FBI agents Fox Mulder (David Duchovny) and Dana Scully ( Gillian Anderson) are assigned to a Federal building in Dallas to locate a bomb. Unfortunately, the bomb goes off before it can be defused, and an FBI agent as well as three fireman and a boy are killed in the explosion. The FBI needs someone to blame for what happened and look to Mulder and Scully. Wanting to find out what really happened to save their careers, Mulder starts searching for clues. He soon encounters a paranoid doctor ( Martin Landau) who reveals to Mulder a conspiracy dealing with a deadly virus that could be alien in origin - and capable of destroying all life on earth. Mulder and Scully are soon forced to put their careers and lives on the line, when they are pitted against a powerful group of men known as the Syndicate, who are somehow connected with the virus and willing to kill to keep their secrets safe.
The X-Files film "Fight the Future" offers a very enjoyable transition from the television series to the big screen. I first saw the film, back when it was released in theaters. I had never seen a single episode from the show, and even though there were some things I did not understand, like who the Lone Gunmen were, the Syndicate's role in the overall conspiracy, etc., the film managed to entertain me. Now that the prices on the DVD sets for the show have been reduced, I was able to go back and finally watch the first five seasons. I recently watched the film again, and I really enjoyed it because I was finally able to understand all the smaller details that eluded me the first time around. David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson are in fine form once again as Mulder and Scully. Martin Landau was very good as well. Fans of the show will be happy with the film, because it does a very good job expanding on the overall mythology, as well as bringing in characters from the show like Assitant Director Skinner played by Mitch Pillegi, the Lone Gunmen, and the Cigarette Smoking Man played by William Davis. The special effects, action sequences, and suspense this film brings will entertain people who have never seen the show.
In my opinion, "Fight the Future" can be enjoyed by hardcore fans of the show, as well as a person who has never seen the show. I know this from experience because I was able to watch the film from both points of view. In fact, it was seeing the film the first time around that made me want to watch the show in the first place. The DVD itself offers top notch picture and sound quality, as well as commentary from Chris Carter, and an in-depth featurette on the making of the movie and the transition from the show to the big screen.
A solid 5 stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Movie and Series, June 4 2004
By 
S. Brown "tinkkytone" (La Mesa, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The X-Files (Widescreen) (DVD)
...not just movie.
See when I first saw the movie I was hyped by the phenomena of the X files. Though, I had never seen a single series. And, I was totally lost. I remember watching the movie with a sense of 'duh' on my face and in my mind.
Yet, after I was introduced to the series the movie took on a whole new life. I understood everything and everything made sense. Since I was able to watch the series, along with the movie in order of the precedent it was meant to be seen, I felt extremely privileged to finally be apart of the whole X files mania.
Even the last remaining seasons took on a new dimension for me. I thought the movie was great...in the context of the seasons. Without them, however, the movie will seem lackluster.
Now, why did I give the movie four stars. Well, because it is a good movie. It's ambitious and funny, and the two actors playing the role believe in the characters they are playing. You can see this through out the movie. Also, the movie is made very well. The camera action and storyline are engaging. Seriously, it's a good movie.
Don't watch trying to understand, just watch because it's a good movie. Yet, if you want to understand everything then buy or rent the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet., May 4 2004
By 
This review is from: The X-Files (Widescreen) (DVD)
Here we go: The X-Files movie. When I bought it, all I knew was that it took place between seasons 5 and 6. But upon watching it, they didn't really take anything from the last episode of season 5 and put it into the movie. Like the little psychic boy, Gibson. But that's ok, as Fight the Future is a great movie that all X-Files fans will enjoy. And, as everyone keeps saying, people who've never seen the show can get into this and not be lost in the sea of the plot.
Sure, the movie is pretty much a longer episode, but would you want anything else? I wouldn't. And the movie isn't a stand-alone deal, it comes into play with the main plot, which answers a lot of questions. One of which being the origin of the black oil. I was really surprised to see where it came from. The writing, as usual, is fantastic. The characters don't reintroduce themselves to us old fans, but they explain (very cleverly) who they are and why they're where they are to new fans in the snap of a finger. And the special effects were better than any movie from that same summer pretty much. UFOs and trains don't look the least bit CG for the most part. Mark Snow, of course, provides us with an excellent soundtrack. It's a lot more epic than the series.
There aren't many special features. You get a half hour behind-the-scenes look at the movie with some short interviews with the cast. Of course there's the staple in dvds: theatrical trailers. And we get three of them here. But there's also the commentary. Chris Carter man, don't do a commentary like this again. You just spoon-fed us what was going on the whole movie. "This is where Scully talks to Mulder on her phone" isn't anything special. At least he said a few smart things here and there. One of which is the official word that a certain someone is dead in the series. Plus he tells us that there are going to be a few more movies to continue the series. So that's cool. But the commentary...I seriously almost fell asleep a few times while listening to it...at 3 pm...after drinking 3 cans of Mountain Dew.
I only have two small complaints about the movie. One being that the editing in some scenes is kind of sloppy. Watch the scene with the bees when Mulder and Scully evacuate the base, and you'll see that she puts her shirt over her head about 4 times. It's not for a repeating effect of drama or anything either, it was just bad timing on the edit. The other would be that some of the bigger characters of the series (Skinner, The Lone Gunman) are in the movie for probably a total of 10 minutes, if that. Other than that, I thought the movie was awesome, and I look forward to the future X-Files movies that are coming out to expand upon the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From the "Gypsy Rose Lee School of Filmmaking", Feb. 21 2004
By 
Reginald D. Garrard "the G-man" (Camilla, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For the uninitiated, Gypsy Rose Lee was a famous fan dancer that was able to strategically twirl fans about her unclothed body, never revealing anything to her ogling audiences.
In other words, she was the ultimate tease...until this movie came out.
Fans of the show flocked in droves to see a movie that didn't really answer a single "question" from the series. Seeing Mulder and Scully, as well as Director Skinner, The Cigarette Smoking Man, The Well-Manicured Man, and the Lone Gunmen, do the "movie-thing" is a treat, although the story could've been fleshed out a bit more. Creator Chris Carter promised a film that was a transitiion from season five to season six, but this film, while enjoyable is a definite "dangling carrot".
Acting wise, stars Duchovny and Anderson do no more with their film incarnations than they do on television and, perhaps, that's as it should be. Oscar winner Martin Landau basically does the wild-eyed, seeing conspiracies around every corner quirky scientist-thing. None of the other actors has enough screen time to access their performances.
The film does possess the look of a big budget theatrical film but there was more tension, suspense, and horror in the small screen outings.
If Carter thought this film would gain converts to the X-Files mythology, he was sadly mistaken.
It's a film only for those already hooked...of which I am one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth Is Out There, And It Says This Is A Great Movie!, Nov. 21 2003
By 
Scott Kolecki (Brooklyn, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Before seeing "Fight the Future", I had never had much interest in the X-files. I had always wanted to get into the series, but had been told by "philers" (X-file followers) that you really needed to see the series from the beginning to understand all the lore and mythology that was developed by series creator and producer, Chris Carter.
Despite this, I went to see "X-Files: Fight the Futre" and I became an immediate fan. The movie is a great starting point for people unfamiliar with the series. The movie, through some clever dialogue and settings, gives a brief back history of the characters and events that have led up to the film, which served as a bridge between seasons 5 and 6 of the televison program. Fans of the series criticized the film, stating that the movie simplifed the immense conspiracy that had been developed by the series, but I found that, having no background with the X-files, it was just the catalyst I needed to launch my interest and give me the foundation for following the series.
The story introduces us to Agents Fox Mulder (David Duchovney) and Dana Scully (Gillian Anderson), members of a classified agency within the heart of the F.B.I. that investigates paranormal and extra-terrestrial activities. It is established early in the film that Mulder and Scully have been removed from the X-files, for reasons which were established in the television series. Despite this fact, they stumble across an "incident" that occurs in Texas, where a cover-up has been put into motion that will lead them to some extraordinary discoveries that nearly costs them their lives.
My synopsis of the film is deliberately vague, and for those of you reading this for understanding, I can say only that it is better that you come into this film with an open mind about it, as I did when I first saw it. The reason I give for this is that the story is not merely an independent film, but part of a much larger storyline that encompasses a generational television series, with this film serving as one of the high point in the series plot. You need to approach it without a pre-conceived notion as to what the film is about, because, as I experienced with my inital viewing of the film, the movie left me with as many questions as it answered, and because of my interest in the film, I went in search of a greater understanding of the stories and characters found within the X-files.
The film was obviously produced on a much larger production budget than that of the television show, but, to its credit, the movie does not spend a lot of time using special effects to create tension. Instead, the tension of the film is built in the same way it is done in the television show-by providing paranoia that stems from shadowy agents within the Federal Government who act in the interest of their private agendas. The resulting effect is a movie that works well on creating paranoia and leaves you anticipating, but never really knowing, whats going to happen next.
The film features much of the production talent of the series, including direction for Carter, as well as a great soundtrack by Mark Snow, who had the aid of an orchestra to amplify his classic television scoring. In addition, all of the principles of the series are present.
This movie, in this reviewers opinion, arrived at a time when the X-files was at the prime of its success and popularity, and it is definitely a strong installment in the X-files franchise. Since my initial viewing of this film, I have become an avid fan, a "philer" if you will, and I still find the film to be a great installment in a series which implored that the audience "TRUST NO ONE". Well make an exception and trust me when I say that "X-Files: Fight the Future" is a worthwhile film, and a great adventure for fans of the series, or for those who have never before experienced the adventures and investigations of Mulder and Scully.
Scott Kolecki
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE epic culmination "episode", July 26 2003
This review is from: X-Files, the (VHS Tape)
I agree with a number of other reviewers in saying 'X-Files: The Movie' is built for anyone; even if you have not seen a single X-Files episode. But what separates this movie from the endless chapters of alien chasing and studying is its epic magnitude. Most people know that Mulder had been claiming aliens abducted his sister from day one. What this film does is put that issue to rest (amongst others). So, in essence, this movie offers closure to what has been building from the very first episode. This film is by no means perfect, as it seems the formulaic ideas of Hollywood are being squeezed in for good measure. At one point in this movie, there is a connection between Mulder and Scully that hints at a lost romance that never occurred, but should've, between the two stars. Sure, it lasted only about ten seconds, but the longtime fan might be forced to let out a soft chuckle at how unfitting it was. Also, even in a movie about extraterrestrials, a few action sequences seemed to go over-the-top. Watching Mulder dangle and recover like Sylvester Stallone in 'Cliffhanger' was something we could've done without.
Once you get passed the few over-exaggerated aspects of the film, everything else seems to work perfectly. The very beginning of the movie is excellent, a definite attention getter. And from there the movie works in the same fashion that an episode would. But it's almost like you're watching four episodes in a row. And since they don't have to cram a whole x-file into one 30 minute bit, the movie becomes more elaborate and a bit more calm. Some people might cite this as bad, but others might love it. The story is well scripted and the acting by everyone is flawless. Duchovny and Anderson are as good as ever, and other actors like Martin Landau and Mitch Pileggi (as Skinner) do great justice to the movie's brilliant casting.
'X-Files: The Movie' has a pretty apparent target audience. The average diehard X-fan will obviously enjoy every moment and love it (if they haven't seen it already). And on the other hand, anyone who hates Fox Mulder, Dana Scully, and every episode they stumbled upon while channel surfing should do their best to avoid this one. Finally, there's the people in the middle (like me). If you have seen numerous installments of the X-Files on TV, but don't live and die by them, you will most likely benefit from this film in the same manner that the diehards do. It is extremely enjoyable, well written from start to finish--minus the few exaggerations--and, again, is an epic culmination that just about every admirer can say they've been waiting for. Highly recommended... but know what you like beforehand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disclosure of the XF., June 17 2003
By 
JediFonger "JediFonger" (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The X-Files (Widescreen) (DVD)
i eagerly awaited June 3rd for this disc to come out. forget T2 extreme edition, forget Animatrix. GIMME X FILES! i keep wondering if i'm the last X-Files fan left on Earth.
regarding the story itself, it's pretty bland. at the end of season 5 the "x files dept" of the fbi was disbanded and mulder+scully are "reassigned" onto other departments of which is the beginning of this movie "fight the future". this movie feels like an episode of the x-files, a very very bad one, that doesn't even surpass the widescreen bermuda triangle episode. at the end of this movie (i won't spoil it) takes you to season 6 and so on and so forth. as a standalone movie chris carter is trying to do waaay too much. if you were making a movie, just make a GOOD one. don't give me the "let me attract both new audiences and fanboys" cause you will fail miserably! and that's what happened to "fight the future". you can't be BOTH! just make the best possible movie without trying to please anyone but yourself! the moment you try and target a artistic medium to an 'audience' is th moment the artist himself sold out. we got another very 'dumb+dumberer' 2 episodes of the series itself contained in a movie. well what's the point? with just a few minutes of character interaction in the first half hour then the rest of th movie is spent as one big action sequence after another with little character building. i mean a movie should be BIG and epic but this one feels so SMALL and insignificant! pick any season opener/ending of the series X Files and the small television screen will display the larger scope of the X Files. what i mean is it's the moments of character interaction LEADING up to the action sequences that make a movie important, not the action itself. i hope they don't try to please everyone again with the sequel to the X Files movie. in fact let's hope they spend all these years since '98 working on the script/idea of pleasing themselves (or in Chris's case himself) instead of trying to appease everyone else.
i was going to go right out to the store and buy it right on that date instead of ordering here on Amazon but then i thought... i don't think i would be able to find it since it's such an obscure title in the grand scheme of movies such as Gladiator or Matrix. so i gave up and ordered. and it didn't take long (thx Amazon ;) nearly a few days after i popped in the movie into my huge 5.1 surround sound HTPC (Home Theater Personal Computer)... it doesn't disappoint at all! the visual quality was awe-inspiring. the anamorphic transfer dipped into 9megabits/second at times! that means you it's a VERY high resolution transfer (just like superbits) i tried the Dolby Digital 448kps and DTS 768kps and the surround sound is unbelievable. i liked how the implosion of the fed building rocked my subwoofer. i also liked the hovering ship at the end but i won't spoil you further.
the positives aside i was vastly disappointed that the deleted scenes and extras from the pervious incarnation of this movie on DVD weren't included. the original disc was simply letterboxed, that means less resolution of the movie, and the Dolby Digital was 300ish, lackluster compared to DTS. i never bought that DVD cause i knew one day Fox or Chris Carter was bound to update the XF disc into a "SE". i always liked to own the "definitive" edition of things. like T2, i tohught "Ultimate Edition" was it but now i come to find out there's another one. anyway i thought this disc was it. now that date has arrived but they stripped out everything that was on the 'frist edition' DVD that came out. there wasn't even a 2nd disc with extras on it. this disc plays like a bastard child that has weathered more share of trouble in its life. it comes out on top at the end with very nice quality presentation. that's why i'm giving it 2 stars. for me... it was an emotional roller coaster ride, i waited half a decade for a DVD of The X-Files Fight the Future and this is what came my way? it's apparent to me now that Chris Carter+gang do not really care much for the fans of th series just like George Lucas. even if XF2 movie comes out i doubt it'll ever surpass the first 5 years of the X-Files series on television. Carter told us to Trust No One but now We can't trust Carter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The X-Files: Fight the Future
The X-Files: Fight the Future by DVD (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews