Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Approach with caution
Prancer is a Christmas story and it is a touching depiction of innocent faith and hope but this doesn't mean you can just plop your kid down in front of it and wander off. The little girl heroine in Prancer has just lost her mother and her grieving father isnt' much help. Her sorrow and her father's pain is honestly shown and this may disturb very young or nervous...
Published on Nov. 10 2002 by Kimberley Wilson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Prancer
Hey, people. This is what I call a Christmas disapointment! For a 1987 film, it looks really old and the acting just isn't very well. I would call it a B movie. I personally don't like this movie, but everybody is different, so you might. So, watch, if you dare...
Published on May 8 2002 by Steven P. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Approach with caution, Nov. 10 2002
By 
Kimberley Wilson (VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Prancer is a Christmas story and it is a touching depiction of innocent faith and hope but this doesn't mean you can just plop your kid down in front of it and wander off. The little girl heroine in Prancer has just lost her mother and her grieving father isnt' much help. Her sorrow and her father's pain is honestly shown and this may disturb very young or nervous children. Of course the movie wraps up with a happy ending for one and all but it is for either adults or older kids only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Classic., Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent scripting, directing and performances from everyone. A heartfelt uplifting movie for the whole family. The teens in my classes all loved it, too. Recommended for young to old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, Jan. 3 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prancer 89 (DVD)
This is a lovely movie for children & adults alike. A very heartwarming story for Christmas with good morals. I would recommend this movie as a holiday keepsake for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovwly Christmas Film, Nov. 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Sam Elliott and a real reindeer - that has to be a great xmas movie!
It's one that we watch again every other year in December.
I wish there would be more like this.
It's a favorite together with "Home Alone" and "A Christmas Story" (Peter Billingsley) and the wonderful old classics like "Miracle on 34th Street" (Natalie Wood) and "It's a Wonderful Life" (James Stewart).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful holiday film, Nov. 29 2002
By A Customer
This is my favorite holiday movie with such innocence through a child's eyes that makes it very refreshing to watch. But I do agree with another reviewer here that some of the issues presented (death of mother, grieving father who wants to send his child away to live with her aunt, etc...) may not be for young children. There is a scene with the little girl interacting with her mother's photograph that is very quiet and soft while being just a little bit heartbreaking. As a 17-year-old, I consider this something fun to watch now that I'm older, to recapture that innocence and better understand some of the deeper parts of it.
Rebecca Harrell gives a very convincing portrayal of Jessica Riggs, an 8-year-old little girl who is lonely after the death of her mother and just trying to do what she can to help her family make it through. Her grieving father is trying to save the farm, deal with his own pain, and raise two children all at once. He is clearly more concerned about little Jessica than he is about his son Steve, for Steve could help him around the farm, but Jessica is still so young and, in her father's eyes, needs something else. No doubt that he loves her and wants what's best for her, but he is embarrassed of himself and feels inadequate for raising a little girl, whereas all she wants is to stay with him. Through Jessica's pain and hurt, she finds a wounded reindeer in the forest and believes it's Santa's "Prancer." She takes him home, hides him from her father, and nurses him back to health, slowly but surely working to get everyone believing.
I loved Rebecca Harrell as Jessica. She annoyed me a lot when I saw this movie the first few times, but she really grows on you. She really does act like a real child: cheerful, assertive, and vigorous in her beliefs. Jessica believes that there is a Santa, and she is not going to give up on that. Harrell did very well at bringing to life a very realistic young character.
If you want an innocent holiday movie filled with "the true meaning of Christmas" and if you like that kind of stuff, "Prancer" is not a waste of money in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, Oct. 13 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prancer 89 (DVD)
This product arrived on time and in excellent condition. I would most definetly order from this seller again. I'm very pleased with my order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you believe... so shall it be, April 17 2004
By 
S. Prince "unilover36" (Varnell, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the best Christmas movies to be released since the Rankin/Bass classics of yesteryear. It touches every heart, young and old. Christmas has become so commercialized, and this brings us back to reality in a fantasy sort of way. When you have faith in something as much as you see in this film, anything is possible. Heart warming, family oriented, and just a great story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Ending Kept It From Being 5 Stars, Dec 19 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Prancer (VHS Tape)
12/19/03 Purchased this VHS recently from a supermarket which carries "archival videos" at discount. I found the story entriguing ,mainly because of the strong thread around the "hope" that the little girl(Jesse) with the help of her brother(Steve) and her dad was going to evolve away from the more agressive behaviour that she'd picked up in this household (of "boys and men") excluding herself and the aunt who lived 30 miles away from this struggling farm,who came ongoingly to help them who wanted to take her to live with her husband and herself away to the better environment for a little girl.By the end of the movie you're starting to be concerned for the Reindeer,that missed her father's bullets early in the movie ,not as a "deer hunter" but as "a mercy killer" since the deer's leg was wounded (named Prancer),she does odd jobs for ecentric neighbor(played by Cloris Leachman)to get Oat money for the reindeer,gives the dept. store Santa a letter to give to "the real Santa" to inform him that she's got "Prancer" safely stodded away";unfortunately the letter exposes to all the whereabouts of the Reindeer and just when things are looking"good"(for the Reindeer)[ her dad gets paid $200 for the Reindeer to promote the Xmas Tree business], alas they give the "tree merchant" his money back,take the reindeer out of the Xmas trees merchant's safe environment to take him back to "the Antler Ridge" which is usually used for "deer hunting" and let his little hoof prints imprint that "blizzard of a snow storm" up to a cliff as she(Jesse) then wonders did he survive a fall over the cliff..the last seen is a cameo of "the Santa & his reindeer fleet" flying across the sky with a full moon in the background.Besides the movie "All My To Give"(about a group of kids whose mother dies and the oldest kid has the task to give the kids to various families whom he thinks are best for raising his brothers and sisters):made sadder with a chained melody of flute music in the background ,this movie "Prancer" was one of the "most thought provoking "children's movies" I've seen through the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prancer, Dec 6 2003
By 
H. Row "in1ear" (Arvada, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A really nice movie for kids and adults during the Christmas season. This isn't a Hollywood blockbuster like Cat in the Hat , etc. The only extra on this DVD is the movie trailer. There also wasn't any reading material included. But the movie is so well made you won't miss any of the usual bells and whistles. The quality of both sound and picture are up to what DVD viewers have come to expect.
I'm pleased with this purchase. It has good entertainment value for everyone in my family.
John Row
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Met BOO-Prancer is real!, Dec 19 2002
By 
L. Newman (Bradford, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prancer (VHS Tape)
Up in Randolph, NY, I met the REAL Star of "Prancer", BOO! He is one of several reindeer kept by a Nice man who dresses as Santa Claus and also goes with a Sleigh to libraries, schools, and nursing homes. What a Thrill to meet a real, live Movie Star like Prancer(BOO), and find out there is also a real nice man who owns him, and other reindeer. Also, another reindeer, Dancer, starred in a movie "A Christmas Secret" and you might like it as much as I liked "Prancer". 5 out of 5 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad16566c)

This product

Prancer 89
Prancer 89 by DVD (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 7.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews