Customer Reviews


264 Reviews
5 star:
 (218)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demo quality DTS
While the 2.0 track is very good, the true star of this DVD is the soundtrack in DTS version. Make sure you have a killer subwoofer, turn it up, and close your eyes when the string intro to "Hotel California" kicks in and you'll think you're in the audience at the concert. Amazing sound quality, superb performances and very good choice of songs, from their old...
Published on June 8 2003 by G. Marengo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The eagles at their best
Great show, i recommend to watch with DTS track. The sound is extraordinary. picture is low definition so it look fuzzy on actual 1080p tv, that's why i remove two stars. Not available on bluray :(
Published 1 month ago by Mart666


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Picture Quality, April 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Eagles - Hell Freezes Over: Live 1994 (DVD)
The picture quality wasn't as good as the Eagles dvd concert in Australia. It was very grainy and not as sharp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD, Jan. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Eagles - Hell Freezes Over: Live 1994 (DVD)
Enjoy this DVD. Have watched a family members dvd for many years...finally decided to get my own.. Happy to have it my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything U Have Ever Heard About This Dvd Is True!, Oct. 30 2012
I Finally got around to buying this dvd after hearing nothing but good things about this Eagles production for years. This recording makes a surround sound system come alive, i'm also struck by the great visuals on display for a dvd filmed back in 1994. The audio/visual content that the viewer gets to enjoy on this dvd is the yard stick all other dvd/blu-ray are judged against! Give your eyes and ears some Eagles candy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Listening Experience, April 4 2009
By 
Footeprint "Footeprint" (St. John's, Newfoundland Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eagles,the Hell Freezes Over (DVD)
Very enjoyable and relaxing listening experience. The 5.1 DTS Surround sound is exceptional. One of those rare DVD concert experiences that is as enjoyable watching it for the 20th time as it was for the first. Highly recommend it to anyone with a quality surround sound system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It All Works, Nov. 30 2003
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There is a reason this is the best selling music DVD on the market. The Eagles have reunited after 14 years to give a spot-on performance. It is not what you may have expected, however. The first 10 minutes are a barrage of interviews with various members of the band, as to why they decided to get back together. It seems somewhat forced, but at least they reconciled old differences enough to band together again. The rest of the DVD contains (17) seventeen songs in an intimate setting that is sparse with a simple lighting arrangement. The vocals and instrumentals are near perfect and it's hard to imagine that this much time has passed.
The first several songs, "Hotel California", "Tequila Sunrise" and "Help Me Through The Night" are not as upbeat as on record, but contain some extended instrumentals as nice surprises. It isn't until "Take It Easy" (13 thirteen songs later) that the band really kicks into gear. With "Life In The Fast lane", "In The City" and the new, self effacing, "Get Over It", the concert really continues to rock. Closing the set is the timeless, "Desperado", sung with pure emotion. It's a simple set, but well worth the admission.
There is only one extra - the video to "Seven Bridges Road". I would have expected more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best music DVD period., Jan. 8 2004
By 
slydog (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
You owe it to yourself to own this DVD. I own about 50 music titles and have watched another 100. This one is by F-A-R, THE VERY BEST !

Picture quality is astonishing and finally a DTS track that actually sounds like DTS should always sound like.

This is a live show and I usually end turning down the volume for applauds, not this one, the applauds come mainly from the rear speakers not to bust your ears at the end of every song.

Without a doubt, the best made so far!!!

UPDATE : July 2011... Even after 7 years, this is still the best music DVD in history ( sound and picture ), period!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars extreme mellowness, June 17 2004
The music in the concert, filmed in April of 1994, is lovely and exquisitely performed, but somewhat underwhelming in its presentation.
The strength of the Eagles is in their wonderful songs and masterful musicianship, but anyone looking for a razzle-dazzle performance should look elsewhere; these are laid back performers to the point of sometimes being as exciting as watching a CD spin. It would have helped had they ditched the stools for the first 6 songs, varied the lighting a bit in the middle section, which is cast in an almost steady dark blue, and mixed in a few up-tempo songs, instead of the first 12 selections being of approximately the same speed and mood; it picks up with last 5 songs starting with "Take it Easy", with brighter lighting and more energy projected from the musicians, and even a rousing new song, "Get Over It".
Highlights for me are a gorgeous arrangement of my favorite Eagles song, "Hotel California", "New York Minute", with its Gershwinesque string section intro and jazzy horn solo, and "Life in the Fast Lane", one of the 3 up-tempo songs.
The first 15 minutes of this film are about the preparation for this concert, and include interviews with the Eagles who are: Glenn Frey / Don Henley / Joe Walsh / Don Felder / Timothy Schmit. The sound is great and total running time is 100 minutes.
Song list:
"Hotel California"
"Tequila Sunrise"
"Help Me Through the Night"
"The Heart of the Matter"
"Love Will Keep Us Alive"
"Learn to be Still"
"Pretty Maids All on a Row"
"The Girl from Yesterday"
"Wasted Time"
"I Can't Tell You Why"
"New York Minute"
"The Last Resort"
"Take it Easy"
"Life in the Fast Lane"
"In the City"
"Get Over It"
"Desperado"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not an eagles fan but WOW, Dec 28 2004
By 
kirkrumble (ontario canada) - See all my reviews
Anytime I want to show off my home theater equipment this is what I put on.As far as sound reproduction, there is no equal.The music is spot on,no mistakes, perfection or close to it. The talent level of this band is un-equaled. Any person with medium to high end equipment it is a MUST!!!!!!This is the dvd of choice for the smart salesman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Video, Jan. 8 2012
This review is from: The Eagles - Hell Freezes Over: Live 1994 (DVD)
I bought this as a gift for Christmas. It was a superb gift. The video qualtiy as well as the sound quality were awesome. 5 out of 5 for this for sure!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eagles still hot after a "fourteen year vacation.", June 21 2011
This review is from: The Eagles - Hell Freezes Over: Live 1994 (DVD)
Eagles: Hell Freezes Over is the reunion concert that wasn't a reunion. As frontman Glenn Frey explains, "For the record, we never broke up; we just took a fourteen year vacation."

Maturity has allowed the group to re-form, and to work together to revive one of the most innovative and best sounds of the 1970s. The playing is crisp, the solos intelligent, and overall the music is not only as good as ever, but even better.

I must say that the audience disappointed me. The concert opens with a classical-style guitar lead-in to Hotel California, which the audience fails to recognize! It isn't until the traditional lead-in riff starts that the audience recognizes the song and cheers.

However, as the concert continues the audience is responsive and appreciative.

This is classic Eagles which, like a fine single malt Scotch, has only improved with age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3658ec4)

This product

The Eagles - Hell Freezes Over: Live 1994
The Eagles - Hell Freezes Over: Live 1994 by Beth McCarthy-Miller (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 33.99 CDN$ 22.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews