Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinderella (blu ray combo)…a timeless classic with a simple, charming fairy tale & pure Disney’s magic!
VIDEO:

Cinderella (Diamond Edition) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.33:1 encode. Pristine, colorful, and absolutely gorgeous, this video presentation is nothing short of a dream. The picture is clean, sharp, and crisp offering a splendid high-def image. Clarity is superb. Contrast is well balanced and black levels remain deep and inky throughout. The...
Published 21 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
The DVD arrived on schedule and the DVD itself played fine. However, it was stated in the description that the DVD was 'like new', which it was not. The packaging was quite worn (I would not give this item to someone as a gift) and there were a few scratches on the DVD itself which caused it to skip (sometimes) when viewing.
Published on July 3 2011 by KACH22


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinderella (blu ray combo)…a timeless classic with a simple, charming fairy tale & pure Disney’s magic!, Oct. 3 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
VIDEO:

Cinderella (Diamond Edition) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.33:1 encode. Pristine, colorful, and absolutely gorgeous, this video presentation is nothing short of a dream. The picture is clean, sharp, and crisp offering a splendid high-def image. Clarity is superb. Contrast is well balanced and black levels remain deep and inky throughout. The overall animation style is rather simple and does not exactly lend itself to loads of fine detail. The colour palette provides a pleasing mixture of pastel hues and bright, bold tones, washing the image in vivid radiance. The Evil Stepmother's green eyes glare from the screen with chilling intensity, and Cinderella's moonlit dance with Prince Charming is cast in ethereal blue tints. Beautifully restored and essentially spotless, the movie looks like it was made yesterday. (5/5)

AUDIO:

Cinderella is presented with a new English DTS-HD MA 7.1 track, and a DTS-HD MA 1.0 rendition of the original theatrical mix. Offering a solid but very subtle expansion, the 7.1 track is pleasing but perhaps a bit too respectful to the original mono mix. Dialogue and vocals are mostly clean. The 7.1 mix doesn't really offer the upgrade most might be expecting, but the music's expanded dimension is welcome, giving the movie's timeless songs an extra dash of grandeur. There are many timeless songs in this movie, including Bibbidi-Bobbidi-Boo, which was nominated for Best Original Song. Cinderella was also nominated for 3 other Oscars, including Best Score, Best Sound, Recording (Walt Disney Sound Dept. and C.O. Slyfield). (4/5)

TRIVIA:

Walt Disney had not had a huge hit since Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. The production of this film was regarded as a major gamble on his part. At a cost of nearly $3,000,000, Disney insiders claimed that if this movie had failed at the box office, it would have been the end of the Disney studio. The film was a big hit. The profits from its release, with the additional profits from record sales, music publishing, publications and other merchandise gave Disney the cash flow to finance a slate of productions (animated and live action), establish his own distribution company, enter television production and begin building Disneyland during the decade.

Not only is the name of the Prince never revealed, he is nowhere in the film mentioned as "Prince Charming".

If you really pay close attention, you will notice that the carriage that Cinderella and the Prince take after the wedding has an emblem of a sword and two hidden Mickey Mouse heads around it, and when Cinderella is singing "Sing, Sweet Nightengale", three bubbles form the head and ears of Mickey Mouse!

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Cinderella is a simple but charming fairy tale classic. It is one of those rare films that works for all ages, sparking the imagination of the very young, while allowing the old to once again believe. It doesn't quite reach the same heights as the studio's very best efforts, but it gets remarkably close. Exceedingly simple but full of sincerity, heart, and love, the movie has and will continue to remain a timeless treasure. No matter what packaging you pick, Cinderella is pure magic and is highly recommended.

As per our usual Amazon.ca tradition, reviews for the standard DVD from many years ago are sometimes included in the blu ray section. Please read the date of review first, before you waste time in reading out-dated reviews.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An oldie but still goodie, June 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cinderella (Bilingual) (DVD)
Our granddaughter (about to head off to French immersion kindergarten) loves this classic tale and its catchy tunes. The bilingual format makes it all-purpose - she can watch it in French as a painless language lesson or in English with her friends. The production is high quality and it plays well on a multi-format DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, May 18 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was the first movie I saw when a child and it is my grand-daughter's favourite. We really enjoy the clarity of Blu-ray. The music stays in your mind and even though I hate mice, the mice characters are adorable. I am sure we will watch this movie endless times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cinderella, April 27 2014
By 
Gloria Fidler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a gift and that person enjoys this movie very much. She is a huge fan of Disney movies especially the 'Oldies'. I give it a five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, March 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Though I have yet to watch the movie, it is obviously a genuine original Disney DVD. This copy does not come with a cardboard sleeve but I'm really not too concerned with that. It was in brand new condition with the vaccuum sealed plastic wrap all DVDs come in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Feb. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cinderella (Disney Special Platinum Edition) (DVD)
The cd is clean, no scratch, the image is neat. The case is a little broken, it should have been mention, but still, a good quality, the two CDs are in there and even the booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pour ma petite-fille, Feb. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cinderella (Disney Special Platinum Edition) (DVD)
C'est un moment spécial pour nous deux de regarder ce film et rêver... J'apprécie la musique qui s'y retrouve et la belle voix de Cendrillon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!, Nov. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Appropriate for children, great storyline, and this movie makes a fantastic addition to our disney collection. Kids love the music too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase!, Nov. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very happy w this purchase! Love this movie, and love that I could get this through Amazon so I did not have to go to the store, but still paid store price :) Works great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless gem, Oct. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cinderella (Disney Special Platinum Edition) (DVD)
A beautiful and timeless Disney classic. I loved this story as a young girl and this movie instantly became my three year old daughter's very favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cinderella (Disney Special Platinum Edition)
Cinderella (Disney Special Platinum Edition) by Wilfred Jackson (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 39.99 CDN$ 23.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews