Customer Reviews


256 Reviews
5 star:
 (199)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning Of It All
Yeah, this is where it all began for the mighty Zeppelin, and what a great first album! It's also probably their rawest, but it's still great and you don't need to skip any tracks either. It's also amazing that they even recorded this before they actually had a record deal. "Good Times, Bad Times" is a killer opening track because it showcases every...
Published on July 7 2004 by The Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Landmark Rock 'n Roll Event
This albumn is frequently considered to be a watershed event in Rock 'n Roll. Give the credit to Jimmy Page who concieved this sound and put this band together on the fly.
Considering the impact this record had, it's chronology is rather amazing. Zeppelin was formed under the auscpices of finding new members of the Yardbirds, who were still a working band. Original...
Published on Sept. 18 2002 by James L. Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning Of It All, July 7 2004
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
Yeah, this is where it all began for the mighty Zeppelin, and what a great first album! It's also probably their rawest, but it's still great and you don't need to skip any tracks either. It's also amazing that they even recorded this before they actually had a record deal. "Good Times, Bad Times" is a killer opening track because it showcases every musician's talent very well. You've got great guitar work by Jimmy Page, excellent bass lines by JPJ, great drum work by Bohnam, and of course Plant's vocals are also showcased well. "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You" starts out in a folksy acoustic way, then crescendoes into the full band (a precusor to "Stairway"), and another killer track. "You Shook Me" is a great workout of a Willie Dixon standard and features great guitar solos by Page, great organ solos by Jones, and pretty good harmonica by Plant, but then it transitions into "Dazed and Confused," arguably the best track on the album. You've got a classic bass riff to start it out, then you've got Page's violin bow solo in the middle, and then the guitar solo to finish it out. It provides the template for their improvisation that they did in concert, where they usually stretched it out to about 30 minutes. Another interesting note is that the Yardbirds performed this song, with different lyrics, under the title "I'm Confused", and it actually sounds pretty close to this version. "Your Time Is Gonna Come" is another stellar track beginning with an organ solo by John Paul Jones. From there, the album moves on to "Black Mountain Side," a two minute instrumental with guitar and tabla, which makes for a very eastern-sounding song. It's also similar to Bert Jansch's "Black Water Side." "Communication Breakdown" is the next track, and is a real rocker that is even better played live. "I Can't Quit You Baby" is another excellent workout of a Willie Dixon song, and really demonstrates Jimmy Page's gutiar skills (his solos are magnificent). The last track is "How Many More Times" which is another great rocker that has some great solos by Page (he also uses the violin bow again, but he didn't use it live).
So all in all, this was the Big Bang that started it all for Led Zeppelin, and if you want to start a Led Zeppelin collection, you have to start here, not at Four Symbols, and not at II. You gotta start from the beginning, and work your way through the catalog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Landmark Rock 'n Roll Event, Sept. 18 2002
By 
James L. Phillips (Mill Valley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
This albumn is frequently considered to be a watershed event in Rock 'n Roll. Give the credit to Jimmy Page who concieved this sound and put this band together on the fly.
Considering the impact this record had, it's chronology is rather amazing. Zeppelin was formed under the auscpices of finding new members of the Yardbirds, who were still a working band. Original members Kieth Relf and Jim McCarty quit the band in July of '68. Until August, Yardbird Chris Deja was to be a member of the band. Deja and Page had no clue as to who they wanted to replace the old Yardbird members. They went after Steve Marriot of Small Faces to sing. He reccomended another singer who reccomended 19-year-old Robert Plant. Deja and Page hired Plant who reccomended Jon Bonham to play the drums, whom they also hired. In mid-August, Deja quit. Page hired John Paul Jones, an associate from his session days to play bass and keyboards.
The Yardbirds had concert obligations which the new band had to fulfill. Their first concert was Sept. 7th. They recorded this albumn in mid-October in only 30 hours. The next month they embarked on a U.S. tour.
Page's 2-year stint with the Yardbirds was an uninspired period. Page as a creative force seemed to pale vs. his predeccessor, Jeff Beck. So how did this albumn come about? It's like nothing the Yardbirds, who were entrenched in quasi-psychadelia, were doing a the time. Page went back to the raw blues sound of the early Yardbirds, but added guitar dynamics of the Hendrix, John McGlaughlin era. That he was able to find Plant and Bonham, whose power was so well suited for Zeppelin, in two weeks, is astonishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ce box set est tout simplement magnifique une piece de ..., June 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
ce box set est tout simplement magnifique une piece de collection a se procurer led zeppelin sera toujours present musicalement meme après toutes ces annees cette musique traversera les epoques a venir encore et encore la remasterisation des enregistrements est tres bien fait et le cd bonus en vaut la chandelle avec un spectacle a paris en 1969
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of a change in rock, March 28 2013
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
LED ZEPPELIN'S excellent debut album is the strongest debut album by any band ever. Inspired by the works of Cream and starring the (in)famous Jimmy Page of the YARDBIRDS fame, LED ZEPPELIN will forever be among the greats of rock. Inspiring bands all over the world including AC / DC and RUSH, the combination of Page's masterful guitar hooks, mixed with the super frenetic drumming by the late, great John Bonham will shatter you're senses, as well as your windows. The bass by Jon Paul Jones is the fattest sounding bass in the history of music. The only one who comes close is Geddy Lee. After you listen to LED ZEPPELIN'S first four albums, the blend of smooth blues, relaxing folk and hard - hitting rock will surely make you clamor for more. This is where it all started. This is rock at it's finest. This is LED ZEPPELIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like that old time rock n roll!!, Aug. 21 2006
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
INTRO:Led Zeppelin is one of the greatest band who ever walked on this planet great albums,songs,carreer Zeppelin did it all but back in 1968 when they got together they had nothing. Zeppelin was made by Jimmy Page who played with one of the most famous band in the 60s the Yardbirds after the band broke up Jimmy recruted musicians Robert Plant at vocals,John Bonham at drums and John Paul Jones at bass.The band quickly fit and chose Led Zeppelin as their name taken from`Lead Zeppelin`changed into `Led`.

First Recording:The first album was made very fast.Some covers,originals but they let the music speak for itself.They then were able to get a recording contract with Atlantic records and their first album self-titled Led Zeppelin came out in early january `69.Zeppelin were on the charts in no time and were touring America for the first time,but were struggling to get attention at home.Zeppelin made one of their finest recordings here Best or Not is not the question,my questions is do you have it?If not buy it... now!

SONGS:Some covers overs but mostly originals songs are great from begening to end.`Comunication breackdown` is great, memorable songs here `Your time is gonna come`,`I cant quit you babe`,`How many more times`,`dazed and confused and so on...So you bought it yet?

`69:When he band started as the new Yardbirds and eventually changed their name to Led Zeppelin.The first album was made in 68 and released the following year.They first toured America in 69.By the end of`69 Atlantic was screaming for another album the band did so and was named`II`.69 has been a great begening year and it Zepppelin only starting giving a little taste of what 70`s rock would be like.The band would latter achieve ``legends``status and inspired many...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY IMPRESSIVE ZEP CD, July 7 2004
By 
Matt Daigle "Pantera\m/" (Auburn, ME United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
I bought this CD last, after In Through The Out Door. If I would of known how good of a CD LedZep1 was before I bought In Through The Out Door, I would of bought it first.
This CD has some of my other favorite Led Zeppelin songs (every CD holds about 5 for me..), such as Good Times Bad Times, where the Pagemaster roars out his riffs in perfect tune and John Bonham bangs away at those bass drums.
Another favorite off this album is Communication Breakdown. This may of been the very first song I heard by Zepp (either that or Stairway to Heaven, though it probably was Communication Breakdown). This song has so much energy inside it. Every time I listen to it, it makes me wanna headbang.
But, out of every song on the album (and there's not a huge amount either....), my favorite song would have to be Dazed and Confused. I first heard this song at my friends house. I then heard it again on a movie I saw. The song became attached to me.I think the lyrics are very cool and Jimmy Page does a wonderful guitar (again) on the guitar.
The people that give this album 5 stars are absolutely correct. Anyone who gives less doesn't appriciate Zepp for their true music talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin (I), June 26 2004
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin had a fully formed, distinctive sound from the outset, as their eponymous debut illustrates. Taking the heavy, distorted electric blues of Jimi Hendrix, Jeff Beck, and Cream to an extreme, Zeppelin created a majestic, powerful brand of guitar rock constructed around simple, memorable riffs and lumbering rhythms. But the key to the group's attack was subtlety: It wasn't just an onslaught of guitar noise, it was shaded and textured, filled with alternating dynamics and tempos. As Led Zeppelin proves, the group was capable of such multi-layered music from the start. Although the extended psychedelic blues of "Dazed and Confused," "You Shook Me," and "I Can't Quit You Baby" often gather the most attention, the remainder of the album is a better indication of what would come later. "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You" shifts from folky verses to pummeling choruses; "Good Times Bad Times" and "How Many More Times" have groovy, bluesy shuffles; "Your Time Is Gonna Come" is an anthemic hard rocker; "Black Mountain Side" is pure English folk; and "Communication Breakdown" is a frenzied rocker with a nearly punkish attack. Although the album isn't as varied as some of their later efforts, it nevertheless marked a significant turning point in the evolution of hard rock and heavy metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first re-birth of blues, June 19 2004
By 
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
A lot of people look down on Led Zeppelin for their use of not-so-original lyrics. This album contains quite a few blues rip-offs lyric-wise, however, it more than makes up for it with the raw power in which the band plays, and in which the band would come one of the greatest rock bands in history.
This album has a lot of blues, and many different styles. From the folk-tinged Babe I'm Gonna Leave You, Black Mountain Side and Your Time is Gonna Come, to the raw blues such as You Shook Me, I Can't Quit You Baby, and the fantastic finale jam How Many More Times. They showed signs of their direction in Communication Breakdown and Good Times Bad Times, which reflect on the heavier riffs that would come in the extremely popular album Led Zeppelin II. The one song that really shines is the immensly popular hit Dazed and Confused. This song seems to tell a story in the music... it begins soft and quiet with Robert Plant's vocals fluctuating from whispers to screams... and a while into the song guitarist Jimmy Page takes a short break on guitar (being played with a violin bow)... and the rest of the band comes back with a rejuvinated beat. This song is really quite a trip whenever I listen to it, and it remains to me the highlight of the album.
All in all, there is not a bad song on this CD. This album is a truly amazing debut by the band that took the blues and made it hard, raw, rock'n'roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first re-birth of blues, June 19 2004
By 
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
A lot of people look down on Led Zeppelin for their use of not-so-original lyrics. This album contains quite a few blues rip-offs lyric-wise, however, it more than makes up for it with the raw power in which the band plays, and in which the band would come one of the greatest rock bands in history.
This album has a lot of blues, and many different styles. From the folk-tinged Babe I'm Gonna Leave You, Black Mountain Side and Your Time is Gonna Come, to the raw blues such as You Shook Me, I Can't Quit You Baby, and the fantastic finale jam How Many More Times. They showed signs of their direction in Communication Breakdown and Good Times Bad Times, which reflect on the heavier riffs that would come in the extremely popular album Led Zeppelin II. The one song that really shines is the immensly popular hit Dazed and Confused. This song seems to tell a story in the music... it begins soft and quiet with Robert Plant's vocals fluctuating from whispers to screams... and a while into the song guitarist Jimmy Page takes a short break on guitar (being played with a violin bow)... and the rest of the band comes back with a rejuvinated beat. This song is really quite a trip whenever I listen to it, and it remains to me the highlight of the album.
All in all, there is not a bad song on this CD. This album is a truly amazing debut by the band that took the blues and made it hard, raw, rock'n'roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zeppelin's debut is a masterpiece, June 17 2004
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin (1969.) Led Zeppelin's first album.
In the latter half of the sixties, Jimmy Page was left without a band since his previous one, The Yardbirds, had disbanded. However, he wasn't about ready to be done rocking and rolling. He put together a new band with vocalist Robert Plant, bassist John Paul Jones, and drummer John Bonham. He appropriately called this new band The New Yardbirds. However, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out this isn't a very good band name. Fortunately, the band received inspiration from The Who drummer Keith Moon. He had an expression - "This gig is going down like a lead Zeppelin." Liking this term, they changed their name to Led Zeppelin. And in 1969, one of the great years in rock and roll history, these four young men released their self-titled debut album. How does it measure up? Read on and see.
Good Times Bad Times opens the album. It's a solid, classic hard rocking tune, with a slight bluesy touch. The most underrated member of Led Zeppelin is John Paul Jones, and his bass here really must be heard to be appreciated. Babe Im Gonna Leave You is a slower, mostly acoustic tune about heartbreak. Every musical artist, regardless of genre, has to do a few heartbreak tunes - and here Led Zeppelin serves up one of the finest the world has ever seen. You Shook Me is a cover song. To put it simply, this is a slower track, but it's still a hard rocker. I'm not too crazy about this one, but it's still a decent song. Dazed And Confused features the band serving up an excellent example of classic psychedelic hard rock. This is one of the most popular songs that can be found on the band's debut album - and why not? This song ROCKS! Your Time Is Gonna Come kicks off with an organ solo by Jones, which is nothing short of excellent. It's not long before we have a melodic rocker that almost certainly won't fail to please. This here is what we call an underrated masterpiece. Black Mountain Side is short but sweet acoustic instrumental. Jimmy Page is a guitar god, but the acoustic stuff he does never seems to get the proper credit for some odd reason. Communication Breakdown is straight-up classic hard rock, this one is a premonition to the heavy metal that would slowly begin to surface in the seventies. This one is arguably my favorite song on the album. I Cant Quit You Baby is another cover song. This here is a slower, bluesy rocker featuring some excellent guitar riffs by the one and only Jimmy Page. The bass is also excellent, and it really makes me wonder why John Paul Jones is the most underrated person in the band! How Many More Times is yet another cover song. To put it in the simplest terms possible, this is a slow rocker - but it's still hard rock. It's a shame this track never got the proper credit, because the band couldn't have finished the album off with a better track!
There have been numerous issues of this album released over the years, but really, they're all the same other than their packaging. Don't bother shelling out the extra cash to get one of those foreign LP-style replica packages - it's just not worth it. The domestic versions are exactly the same and cost considerably less.
Led Zeppelin's self-titled 1969 debut is one of classic rock's essential masterpieces. Even after all these years, it still stands the test of time. If this little gem is missing from your rock and roll library, I suggest you add it as soon as possible. I don't know if I can call this the band's finest album (it's tough playing favorites with these guys), but it's damn fine nonetheless - and well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Led Zeppelin 1
Led Zeppelin 1 by Led Zeppelin (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews