Customer Reviews


279 Reviews
5 star:
 (218)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of a change in rock
LED ZEPPELIN'S excellent debut album is the strongest debut album by any band ever. Inspired by the works of Cream and starring the (in)famous Jimmy Page of the YARDBIRDS fame, LED ZEPPELIN will forever be among the greats of rock. Inspiring bands all over the world including AC / DC and RUSH, the combination of Page's masterful guitar hooks, mixed with the super frenetic...
Published 21 months ago by DeanWinchester79

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Blimp Takes Flight... (3 STARS)
1969 gave us a debut album created by four guys who had just barely met. About 2 weeks after practicing with their new singer Robert Plant, they toured the U.S. under the name The New Yardbirds. In the meantime, they were writing some long, bluesy numbers that would become tracks on their debut album. That Zeppelin Blimp on the cover of the album called "I"...
Published on Jan. 13 2002 by JWK


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of a change in rock, March 28 2013
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
LED ZEPPELIN'S excellent debut album is the strongest debut album by any band ever. Inspired by the works of Cream and starring the (in)famous Jimmy Page of the YARDBIRDS fame, LED ZEPPELIN will forever be among the greats of rock. Inspiring bands all over the world including AC / DC and RUSH, the combination of Page's masterful guitar hooks, mixed with the super frenetic drumming by the late, great John Bonham will shatter you're senses, as well as your windows. The bass by Jon Paul Jones is the fattest sounding bass in the history of music. The only one who comes close is Geddy Lee. After you listen to LED ZEPPELIN'S first four albums, the blend of smooth blues, relaxing folk and hard - hitting rock will surely make you clamor for more. This is where it all started. This is rock at it's finest. This is LED ZEPPELIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome disc, June 4 2014
By 
Dave MacDonald (Orleans, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent remastering job by Jimmie Page; companion discs are icing on the cake. Very little noise, crystal clear reproduction. Looking forward to releases of remastered versions of their later recordings. Definitely a must have for Zeppelin fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning Of It All, July 7 2004
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
Yeah, this is where it all began for the mighty Zeppelin, and what a great first album! It's also probably their rawest, but it's still great and you don't need to skip any tracks either. It's also amazing that they even recorded this before they actually had a record deal. "Good Times, Bad Times" is a killer opening track because it showcases every musician's talent very well. You've got great guitar work by Jimmy Page, excellent bass lines by JPJ, great drum work by Bohnam, and of course Plant's vocals are also showcased well. "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You" starts out in a folksy acoustic way, then crescendoes into the full band (a precusor to "Stairway"), and another killer track. "You Shook Me" is a great workout of a Willie Dixon standard and features great guitar solos by Page, great organ solos by Jones, and pretty good harmonica by Plant, but then it transitions into "Dazed and Confused," arguably the best track on the album. You've got a classic bass riff to start it out, then you've got Page's violin bow solo in the middle, and then the guitar solo to finish it out. It provides the template for their improvisation that they did in concert, where they usually stretched it out to about 30 minutes. Another interesting note is that the Yardbirds performed this song, with different lyrics, under the title "I'm Confused", and it actually sounds pretty close to this version. "Your Time Is Gonna Come" is another stellar track beginning with an organ solo by John Paul Jones. From there, the album moves on to "Black Mountain Side," a two minute instrumental with guitar and tabla, which makes for a very eastern-sounding song. It's also similar to Bert Jansch's "Black Water Side." "Communication Breakdown" is the next track, and is a real rocker that is even better played live. "I Can't Quit You Baby" is another excellent workout of a Willie Dixon song, and really demonstrates Jimmy Page's gutiar skills (his solos are magnificent). The last track is "How Many More Times" which is another great rocker that has some great solos by Page (he also uses the violin bow again, but he didn't use it live).
So all in all, this was the Big Bang that started it all for Led Zeppelin, and if you want to start a Led Zeppelin collection, you have to start here, not at Four Symbols, and not at II. You gotta start from the beginning, and work your way through the catalog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keith Moon Says, "They'll Go Over Like a Lead Balloon!!", Oct. 29 2003
By 
chris meesey Food Czar (The Colony, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
When Keith Moon, wildman drummer for the Who and famous rock critic, heard his Yardbirds mate Jimmy Page was forming a new version of the band with Robert Plant, John Paul Jones, and John Bonham, his response reportedly was "You'll go over like a lead zeppelin," meaning that they would crash and burn and be heard from no more. Well, over 30 years later, Led Zeppelin is still regarded as one of the pioneers of blues rock/hard rock/metal, and Led Zeppelin I was the heavy blues/rock album that set the band's career in motion. As the New Yardbirds (the name under which they played their first two gigs), they were already playing a Page composition entitled "I'm Confused," as a concert showstopper. Recorded here as "Dazed and Confused," this crunching, crashing number set the standard for such later Zep anthems as "Kashmir" and "In The Evening". Led Zeppelin proved the blues wasn't just mellow, 3AM music, but could be played loud and proud, the better to give the listener a chance to work off life's frustrations. Willie Dixon's "You Shook Me," Otis Rush's "I Can't Quit You, Babe," and Howlin' Wolf's "How Many More Times," lose none of their lyric intensity when cranked up to maximum volume, and served to turn on a whole new generation to the power of the blues. Drummer John Bonham is especially good on all these cuts, and John Paul Jones on organ and Robert Plant on harp help make "You Shook Me" shine. There are also, of course, excellent originals: the manic, frantic "Communication Breakdown," with killer Jimmy Page guitar riffs, the crisp "Good Times, Bad Times", with great performances by all, and the Eastern "Black Mountain Side," which is punctuated by tasty tablas. Only "Babe, I'm Gonna Leave You," and "Your Time Is Gonna Come" are good, not great songs, a bit too long and plodding to succeed as great anthems. Still, Led Zeppelin I stands as a monument to the beginning of the blues-rock movement, and, Keith Moon's prediction notwithstanding, should be played for decades to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not "great", but good., May 13 2003
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
Coming out at just about the time when the Beatles were beginning to break up, it seems as if the torch was being passed somehow from the Beatles to Led Zeppelin as being the showcase of rock and roll. I'm fifteen years old, and I think that Led Zeppelin may just be the greatest rock group ever. "Good Times Bad Times" is probably on my list as somewhere in the top 40 rock and roll songs of all time. It does a good job of kicking off Led Zeppelin's career, as it throws in a little bit of rock and blues, both of which would be very prominent in Zeppelin's ten-year or so reign at the top. A very likeable song. Then comes "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You". I feel bad that this wasn't actually written by Jimmy Page, because I'd love to give him credit for yet another great guitar riff. It's quite a cool song. However, "You Shook Me" is absolutely boring, and to sum things up: I hate the song. Too bluesy for me, I guess. "Dazed and Confused" is one of my friend's favorite songs, and with the wonderful vocals of Robert Plant and the loud guitar riff that kicks the song into high gear, I can see why. "Your Time Is Gonna Come" is the most un-Zeppelin like song I think LEd Zeppelin ever played. It's almost gospel-like. A good song, though, nevertheless. "Black Mountain Side" is an awesome instrumental; in fact, it's one of my all time favorite instrumentals. It's got a catchy rythem, and at less that three minutes, it's not too long, either. It is suddenly interrupted by the explosive "Communication Breakdown", which is Zeppelin's second best song after "Rock and Roll" from the untitled album. It's absoluetly fantastic, and is one of my all-time facorite songs. How can you not like it?! Sadly, the momentum is ruined by another ... blues number, "I Can't Quit You Baby". Yuck, just as bad as "You Shook Me" earlier! Ugh... Luckily, the album closes out with the eight and a half minute "How Many More Times". Again, I wish I could credit Page and Plant with the songwriting, but I'm afraid I can't. Anyway, this is one of my favorite Zeppelin songs, simply because it's unceasingly full of good rock and roll. And good rock and roll is like good candy - one of life's essentials for happiness.
Yes, you should buy this album, but beware of "You Shook Me" and "I Can't Quit You Baby". But other than that, this is an instantly likeable album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ce box set est tout simplement magnifique une piece de ..., June 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
ce box set est tout simplement magnifique une piece de collection a se procurer led zeppelin sera toujours present musicalement meme après toutes ces annees cette musique traversera les epoques a venir encore et encore la remasterisation des enregistrements est tres bien fait et le cd bonus en vaut la chandelle avec un spectacle a paris en 1969
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One, two and three, not for me . . ., Sept. 12 2014
Did not like the concept for the remastering on these three albums. Added original scratchy background and distortion to add the realism of the vinyl, and messed with the reverberation etc.
On a reproduction I look for improved sound quality, for the ability to turn it up and enjoy superior clarity and fullness of the highs, mid-range and the lows. I want it to sound wicked on the advanced equipment of today . . . Hear the subs pound, and still get the crisp reality of a cymbal, as well as making out the lyrics as if he was talking to you in a quiet room!

Good buy I guess, if you are wanting to listen to the original vinyl release. And it will never get scratched!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like that old time rock n roll!!, Aug. 21 2006
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
INTRO:Led Zeppelin is one of the greatest band who ever walked on this planet great albums,songs,carreer Zeppelin did it all but back in 1968 when they got together they had nothing. Zeppelin was made by Jimmy Page who played with one of the most famous band in the 60s the Yardbirds after the band broke up Jimmy recruted musicians Robert Plant at vocals,John Bonham at drums and John Paul Jones at bass.The band quickly fit and chose Led Zeppelin as their name taken from`Lead Zeppelin`changed into `Led`.

First Recording:The first album was made very fast.Some covers,originals but they let the music speak for itself.They then were able to get a recording contract with Atlantic records and their first album self-titled Led Zeppelin came out in early january `69.Zeppelin were on the charts in no time and were touring America for the first time,but were struggling to get attention at home.Zeppelin made one of their finest recordings here Best or Not is not the question,my questions is do you have it?If not buy it... now!

SONGS:Some covers overs but mostly originals songs are great from begening to end.`Comunication breackdown` is great, memorable songs here `Your time is gonna come`,`I cant quit you babe`,`How many more times`,`dazed and confused and so on...So you bought it yet?

`69:When he band started as the new Yardbirds and eventually changed their name to Led Zeppelin.The first album was made in 68 and released the following year.They first toured America in 69.By the end of`69 Atlantic was screaming for another album the band did so and was named`II`.69 has been a great begening year and it Zepppelin only starting giving a little taste of what 70`s rock would be like.The band would latter achieve ``legends``status and inspired many...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY IMPRESSIVE ZEP CD, July 7 2004
By 
Matt Daigle "Pantera\m/" (Auburn, ME United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
I bought this CD last, after In Through The Out Door. If I would of known how good of a CD LedZep1 was before I bought In Through The Out Door, I would of bought it first.
This CD has some of my other favorite Led Zeppelin songs (every CD holds about 5 for me..), such as Good Times Bad Times, where the Pagemaster roars out his riffs in perfect tune and John Bonham bangs away at those bass drums.
Another favorite off this album is Communication Breakdown. This may of been the very first song I heard by Zepp (either that or Stairway to Heaven, though it probably was Communication Breakdown). This song has so much energy inside it. Every time I listen to it, it makes me wanna headbang.
But, out of every song on the album (and there's not a huge amount either....), my favorite song would have to be Dazed and Confused. I first heard this song at my friends house. I then heard it again on a movie I saw. The song became attached to me.I think the lyrics are very cool and Jimmy Page does a wonderful guitar (again) on the guitar.
The people that give this album 5 stars are absolutely correct. Anyone who gives less doesn't appriciate Zepp for their true music talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin (I), June 26 2004
This review is from: Led Zeppelin I (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin had a fully formed, distinctive sound from the outset, as their eponymous debut illustrates. Taking the heavy, distorted electric blues of Jimi Hendrix, Jeff Beck, and Cream to an extreme, Zeppelin created a majestic, powerful brand of guitar rock constructed around simple, memorable riffs and lumbering rhythms. But the key to the group's attack was subtlety: It wasn't just an onslaught of guitar noise, it was shaded and textured, filled with alternating dynamics and tempos. As Led Zeppelin proves, the group was capable of such multi-layered music from the start. Although the extended psychedelic blues of "Dazed and Confused," "You Shook Me," and "I Can't Quit You Baby" often gather the most attention, the remainder of the album is a better indication of what would come later. "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You" shifts from folky verses to pummeling choruses; "Good Times Bad Times" and "How Many More Times" have groovy, bluesy shuffles; "Your Time Is Gonna Come" is an anthemic hard rocker; "Black Mountain Side" is pure English folk; and "Communication Breakdown" is a frenzied rocker with a nearly punkish attack. Although the album isn't as varied as some of their later efforts, it nevertheless marked a significant turning point in the evolution of hard rock and heavy metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Led Zeppelin 1
Led Zeppelin 1 by Led Zeppelin (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews